#202 Posted : Friday, March 13, 2020 2:48:48 PM

mpobiz wrote:
winmak wrote:
I was watching CNN yesterday, so, this virus can have a longer incubation period than 2 weeks and also, some carriers don't display any symptoms. So with that knowledge, should we still be let the Chinese to continue coming in in drones as is the case now, quarantine them for 2 weeks then release them into the general population? I think we're joking with fire. But I can't see us holding this back this thing for long with our corrupt systems and especially immigration.

19,000 Kenyans die from lack of sanitation every year. 11,000 Kenyans die from Malaria every year. This year 100,000 Kenyans might did from starvation as a result of the locust invasion.

Think about that before spreading panic about a small chinese flu.

Really!Where is this data from?

100,000 may die from starvationEh? Eh? Eh?

Malaria deaths in Kenya

lack of sanitation deaths in Kenya - see section 4.1

It's officially here

Every year I contract the common flu coutless times. I never stop to do my usual business. It has brought panic around the world just because a certain race is more vulnerable than others. We forget that the BBI is more dangerous to us than even all the viruses combined.
Let us be told that more flugone and panadol extra will be available and let's contine with our parte after parte

Common cold is not the flu.

This one 10 times deadlier than the flu. But you can be our Guinea pig and catch it so that we can test you
#203 Posted : Friday, March 13, 2020 3:01:05 PM

Baratang wrote:
A lady jets in from US via London in company of 100+ passengers on 5th March 2020...tragedy no. 1.
Then she travels to her home in one of the small towns many miles from Nairobi using public means...tragedy no. 2
Finally at home, she interacts with family members, neighbour's, relatives and friends for a whole 7 days since arrival...tragedy no. 3
...and the genius Mutahi Kagwe thinks we have only one infected personSad Sad

British airways can provide a list of passengers, the passenger can say if she was picked up by relatives or if she ubered, and then map out who else she interructed with. If the government is serious they can easily do this. The community spread is the worst, which is what is happening in Italy
#204 Posted : Friday, March 13, 2020 3:05:31 PM

Baratang wrote:
A lady jets in from US via London in company of 100+ passengers on 5th March 2020...tragedy no. 1.
Then she travels to her home in one of the small towns many miles from Nairobi using public means...tragedy no. 2
Finally at home, she interacts with family members, neighbour's, relatives and friends for a whole 7 days since arrival...tragedy no. 3

British airways can provide a list of passengers, the passenger can say if she was picked up by relatives or if she ubered, and then map out who else she interructed with. If the government is serious they can easily do this. The community spread is the worst, which is what is happening in Italy

And coz we're more social than whites the spread could be rapid
wukan
#205 Posted : Friday, March 13, 2020 3:05:59 PM

Baratang wrote:

Confirmed case means it's been tested. In case you had not noticed there was dry coughing on nairobi streets over the last week. This lady opted to come forward and go to hospital. All the other people I've been hearing coughing in supermarkets have decided to man it out.

Wash your hands.
#206 Posted : Friday, March 13, 2020 3:12:16 PM

Baratang wrote:

He owns a PR firm so he is still at his default settings. He will be worse in this pandemic than Ole Lenku of the famous Westgate burning mattresses joke.

With no single respiratory masks in KE all we can do is to pray.
#207 Posted : Friday, March 13, 2020 3:23:12 PM

Gathige wrote:
Baratang wrote:

He owns a PR firm so he is still at his default settings. He will be worse in this pandemic than Ole Lenku of the famous Westgate burning mattresses joke.

With no single respiratory masks in KE all we can do is to pray.

Those containers that were imported by Uhuru's relatives should come in handy now
#208 Posted : Friday, March 13, 2020 4:36:34 PM

The ignorance exhibited by the new Heath CS is mind boggling'
C&P

"We have sent a rapid response team to Ongata Rongai area where she lives for that purpose. There should be no panic."

Kagwe praised the woman for going to the hospital.
"I want to thank her because the minute she started feeling unwell she felt she needed to go to a hospital," he said.
#209 Posted : Friday, March 13, 2020 4:56:16 PM

Gathige wrote:
C&P

"We have sent a rapid response team to Ongata Rongai area where she lives for that purpose. There should be no panic."

"I want to thank her because the minute she started feeling unwell she felt she needed to go to a hospital," he said.

Where is the ignorance? I guess I am ignorant toosmile

Meanwhile Arsenal Manager Mikel Arteta has tested positive meaning the entire gunners team could be infected!
#210 Posted : Friday, March 13, 2020 5:04:50 PM

Gathige wrote:
C&P

Meanwhile Arsenal Manager Mikel Arteta has tested positive meaning the entire gunners team could be infected!

I'm wondering about the ignorance part too. On this one, let's keep our politics aside.

It was not a matter of if, but when it would come to Kenya.

Now it's a matter of how many catch it before we have an overrun health system.

Going by what I saw at Carrefour today, I'm guessing Kenyans just love hyperbole. The doctors I know have advised me that it's not a matter of if I'll catch it but what I'll do before and after I catch it.

Let's keep focus and stop mbrogging on this one.

Let's help the health professionals who are trained in these matters do their work. We are citizens and should also do our part.

It's like the borg. Resistance is futile. You can either sit there yapping about how your gov't has failed you, or you can be proactive and protect yourself and your family from suffering the misery any disease can cause if you are not prepared.

Good luck everyone.

Thus far, Mutahi has done an exceptional job. Compare him to Trump for a second.

#211 Posted : Friday, March 13, 2020 5:33:10 PM

Gathige wrote:
C&P

I'm wondering about the ignorance part too. On this one, let's keep our politics aside.

Going by what I saw at Carrefour today, I'm guessing Kenyans just love hyperbole. The doctors I know have advised me that it's not a matter of if I'll catch it but what I'll do before and after I catch it.

Let's help the health professionals who are trained in these matters do their work. We are citizens and should also do our part.

It's like the borg. Resistance is futile. You can either sit there yapping about how your gov't has failed you, or you can be proactive and protect yourself and your family from suffering the misery any disease can cause if you are not prepared.

Good luck everyone.

Thus far, Mutahi has done an exceptional job. Compare him to Trump for a second.

A response team should be at JKIA, she passed through the cracks
#212 Posted : Friday, March 13, 2020 5:58:40 PM

Gathige wrote:
C&P

Good luck everyone.

Yes and so have others.

Even in China they are now working on a theory that it started a full 2 months before the initial reports.

Don't forget, the wife of the PM of Canada has it.

It's too late now to discuss the failure or otherwise of our airport. We have discussed their incompetence enough on Wazua already.

Right now, we need sober minds leading this thing. Not boogeymen.

this thing has no political affiliations or emotions. You are either taking precautions you and your family otherwise you shall die.

#213 Posted : Friday, March 13, 2020 6:14:36 PM

#214 Posted : Friday, March 13, 2020 6:16:10 PM

In the past, other major epidemics or pandemics with origins outside Africa have also seen significant delays in reaching the continent, and have reached in much smaller numbers compared to other regions.

For instance, in 2002-2003, SARS entered Africa 5 months after it first spread in China, with South Africa becoming the 17th country in the world to report. No other country on the continent reported a case thereafter.
In 2009, H1N1 reached 60 countries outside of Africa before Egypt reported its first case two months after its initial discovery in Mexico. H1N1 eventually spread to 41 African countries, with over 8000 cases and 160 deaths on the continent. Overall, the deaths across Africa represented 1% of the total reported deaths worldwide.

We are seeing exactly the same patterns with COVID19, simply repeated in a new decade.

Why? Africa is simply less connected to the rest of the world, including China, especially in people-to-people flows. While the Lancet study helpfully explored which countries within Africa do have stronger links to China in terms of tourism flows in particular, what the authors didn’t do was put that in context.

Africa gets approximately 5% of global tourism flows, and an even smaller 4% of China’s tourists.

There are also flows of workers to Africa from all other areas of the world, including China, but these are also fairly insignificant.
Of the total Chinese workers that went abroad to deliver projects in 2017, only 16% went to Africa, and 23% of those went to one country – Algeria.
In this context, the reason why Africa is not yet being strongly affected by COVID19 is not that the continent is somehow more resilient, or that screening from flights and other necessary detection and management tools are poor.

Right now, African countries are, as they have been with other epidemics in past decades, effectively “onlookers” with regards to COVID19 because its relationship with both China and the rest of the world is far behind others.

More evidence for this has been provided by the fact that the seven African countries that have been affected so far have relatively more developed tourism sectors and/or more international residents.

Only four were on the list of 11 “vulnerable” African countries identified by the aforementioned Lancet study, and only two on a similar WHO list of “vulnerable” African countries that have been prioritised for screening and other preparedness support (although this low number is partly due to the fact that WHO classifies some of the North African countries as outside of the “Africa” region).

So, what now? Can the other 48 African countries not yet affected relax? Can those with the fewest international links on the continent reduce their preparation efforts?

The answer to that is they absolutely must not relax. History suggests that now, once on the continent, the virus may spread across borders. Only yesterday, Algeria reported four new confirmed cases of the virus, the first cases not “imported” from elsewhere.

The time for all African countries to get seriously prepared is right now.

The WHO, the AU and others need to extend their support across the continent, rethinking their original modeling beyond the initial 13 “priority” countries, and ensuring there is very clear, consistent messaging on how to measure and contain the virus – both to governments and the public.

https://www.theafricarep...Hh9j-E5haf75rBr3v2kJAzC8
#215 Posted : Friday, March 13, 2020 6:39:34 PM

Gathige wrote:
C&P

Good luck everyone.

Yes and so have others.

Even in China they are now working on a theory that it started a full 2 months before the initial reports.

It's too late now to discuss the failure or otherwise of our airport. We have discussed their incompetence enough on Wazua already.

this thing has no political affiliations or emotions. You are either taking precautions you and your family otherwise you shall die.

Mortality has been said to be low.

Let's take care and if we get it,its not a death sentence.We shall come out of it.
radiomast
#216 Posted : Friday, March 13, 2020 7:53:23 PM

mpobiz wrote:

Every year I contract the common flu coutless times. I never stop to do my usual business. It has brought panic around the world just because a certain race is more vulnerable than others. We forget that the BBI is more dangerous to us than even all the viruses combined.
Let us be told that more flugone and panadol extra will be available and let's contine with our parte after parte

Some of you should audition for Vioja Mahakamani
#217 Posted : Friday, March 13, 2020 7:57:45 PM

Gathige wrote:
C&P

Good luck everyone.

Yes and so have others.

Mortality has been said to be low.

Let's take care and if we get it,its not a death sentence.We shall come out of it.

Be prepared. Its better to be realistic instead on hanging on lose hope

The federal government’s top infectious disease expert told lawmakers Wednesday that the novel coronavirus spreading across the globe is 10 times more lethal than the seasonal flu.

I mean people always say, 'Well, the flu does this, the flu does that,'” Dr. Anthony Fauci, director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID), said Wednesday during a hearing before the House Oversight and Reform Committee.

“The flu has a mortality rate of 0.1 percent. This has a mortality rate of 10 times that. That’s the reason I want to emphasize we have to stay ahead of the game in preventing this,” he added.

Fauci warned that the outbreak in the U.S. is going to get worse before it gets better and said the U.S. must act quickly to stem the spread of the coronavirus.

Boris Johnson warned the British public to prepare to “lose loved ones before their time” on Thursday, as scientists admitted that up to 10,000 people could already have coronavirus in the UK.

The prime minister said anyone with symptoms, including a “new, continuous” cough or high temperature, must stay at home for seven days as of today, as the government officially moved its strategy from the “contain” to “delay” phase.

But despite describing the threat of coronavirus as “the worst public health crisis for a generation”, Mr Johnson said he would not follow the example of Ireland and Italy and close schools and ban sporting events to limit the spread of the disease.

Now where are the scientists we dont need politicians when it comes to matters of life and death
#218 Posted : Friday, March 13, 2020 8:19:11 PM

@Murchr my fear is that we don't go the US way. Those people have become so political they don't seem to realize that they will be the hardest hit country in the whole world.

What we need Mutahi Kagwe to do is take a plane to South Korea, Singapore and Nigeria. If he can't then go camp at their embassies. Then remind the Chinese that we didn't chase their aeroplane as Alai wanted us to do.

These countries have gone the route of testing everyone including the pet mouse their homes. The scientific way without the racist methods of shutting down borders. You test as many people as you can, inform those that have it to isolate themselves, then have the gov't take care of the very sick.

That method has worked. Actually the statistics are day and night. Those that use scientific methods to contain this thing are coming to a plateau. Those on the other hand spending the whole day politicking are dying and numbers rising daily.

We need the gov't to quickly fund testing for as many Kenyans as possible. f*** the BBI, fake stadiums and even paying suppliers. and even that big five. Pay for testing kits. Borrow from the damn Chinese if you have to.

That's the only thing I have seen working worldwide.

Hii ingine of politicking and blaming sijui who is killing those Americans daily. Lord have mercy if that crazy president already has it. Today he blamed Obama.

Let's get tested as soon as is practically possible. Siasa baadaye.

Jump-steady
#219 Posted : Friday, March 13, 2020 10:00:24 PM

Being a virus coming from very cold areas and being brought by those coming from there, will the virus shy from coming out in the tropics and claim victims in a strange land Or will it mutate to fit in the new environment?
#220 Posted : Friday, March 13, 2020 10:46:05 PM

@Murchr my fear is that we don't go the US way. Those people have become so political they don't seem to realize that they will be the hardest hit country in the whole world.

What we need Mutahi Kagwe to do is take a plane to South Korea, Singapore and Nigeria. If he can't then go camp at their embassies. Then remind the Chinese that we didn't chase their aeroplane as Alai wanted us to do.

These countries have gone the route of testing everyone including the pet mouse their homes. The scientific way without the racist methods of shutting down borders. You test as many people as you can, inform those that have it to isolate themselves, then have the gov't take care of the very sick.

That method has worked. Actually the statistics are day and night. Those that use scientific methods to contain this thing are coming to a plateau. Those on the other hand spending the whole day politicking are dying and numbers rising daily.

We need the gov't to quickly fund testing for as many Kenyans as possible. f*** the BBI, fake stadiums and even paying suppliers. and even that big five. Pay for testing kits. Borrow from the damn Chinese if you have to.

That's the only thing I have seen working worldwide.

Hii ingine of politicking and blaming sijui who is killing those Americans daily. Lord have mercy if that crazy president already has it. Today he blamed Obama.

Let's get tested as soon as is practically possible. Siasa baadaye.

He should just let the health experts run the show.

But a country that is still plagued by cholera...we have a long way to go