Coronavirus
#101 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2020 3:39:42 AM

It's still puzzling experts on why African cases are too few
https://news.yahoo.com/v...eems-few-115150596.html

To my knowledge, only one black person has gotten it - that Cameroonian student. OK?
We know that the disease is spread by close contact. Here are some possibilities -
1) Maybe African students in China are not that well integrated.
2) Africans fear a lot... I am sure no African is doing unsafe things in China right now... they are doing it by the book!
3) Let's face it - it's quite possible that we overestimate our popularity... So maybe we think that the Chinese people that we see around are "many"... Maybe they are really really really fewer. This is not their choice destination! maybe!! just maybe

but... It's a matter of time before it happens... that italian man in Naija points to the possibility of it coming from the western world while we are busy focusing on the east!

Kama tuta shikwa it will be from Europe not China.

But remember, it's a flu like disease, it's possible that the environment at the moment is not conducive for the virus to thrive. We're heading to the rain season and biting njeve in June July August, hoping it will be completely eradicated by then.

My thinking kama ni baridi then it affects everybody the african population particularly in hard hit wuhan the figures could have presumably been higher.
This article was written a month ago

African officials are scrambling to prepare the Wuhan coronavirus potential spread among Africans living in China.

but time will tell
#102 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2020 9:41:21 AM

Low infection rates in Africa could be as mysterious as the Ebola case in Nigeria few years ago.
The Ebola victim was diagnosed in USA having traveled from Nigeria and the USA employed so much resources to minimize spread of the virus.
Nigeria did nothing but no other case was recorded.
radiomast
#103 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2020 5:14:35 PM

'
radiomast
#104 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2020 5:16:31 PM

[quote=sqft]Africans are immune to many of these things. I remember when there was bird flu and the world was saying that Africans would be most affected because they sleep in the same rooms with chicken but that never happened. Even this flu, we will prevail, there's no cause for alarm.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih...mc/articles/PMC1370994/[/quote]

Africans need to remain vigilant. Every virus is different. Are Africans also immune from HIV ?
#105 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2020 7:15:12 PM

radiomast wrote:
[quote=sqft]Africans are immune to many of these things. I remember when there was bird flu and the world was saying that Africans would be most affected because they sleep in the same rooms with chicken but that never happened. Even this flu, we will prevail, there's no cause for alarm.

Africans need to remain vigilant. Every virus is different. Are Africans also immune from HIV ?

Experts are puzzled
https://www.france24.com...e-puzzles-health-experts
radiomast
#106 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2020 10:03:08 PM

Low infection rates in Africa could be as mysterious as the Ebola case in Nigeria few years ago.
The Ebola victim was diagnosed in USA having traveled from Nigeria and the USA employed so much resources to minimize spread of the virus.
Nigeria did nothing but no other case was recorded.

Eti Nigeria did nothing?
In fact that Nigerian Centres for Disease Control (NCDC) received a lot of praise from Europe with regard to the swiftness with which they moved to contain Ebola and the fact that 60% of people who contracted Ebola recovered.
#107 Posted : Tuesday, March 03, 2020 6:12:30 AM

Senegal has reported it's first case - a French citizen who has lived in Senegal for 2 years.

Let's take a bet... I think it's a matter of 'when' not 'if' - thus...where will our first case of Corona come from? I say - Italy!! some tourist/resident heading for North Coast will be our first case.
#108 Posted : Tuesday, March 03, 2020 7:54:46 AM

Senegal has reported it's first case - a French citizen who has lived in Senegal for 2 years.

Let's take a bet... I think it's a matter of 'when' not 'if' - thus...where will our first case of Corona come from? I say - Italy!! some tourist/resident heading for North Coast will be our first case.

Yesterday's local news was claiming that some Germans at the coast tested positive.
#109 Posted : Tuesday, March 03, 2020 8:41:36 AM

The shoe is on the other foot now:
Travellers from countries with severe coronavirus outbreaks who arrive in Guangdong province, an economic and export powerhouse in the south, must undergo a 14-day quarantine - state media reported on Tuesday.
#110 Posted : Tuesday, March 03, 2020 1:07:01 PM

Yesterday's local news was claiming that some Germans at the coast tested positive.

It's a matter of time before this strand of RNA makes it to our shores. Maybe it's already here and we are largely asymptomatic people. Once some old people with cardiovascular issues die of it - we attribute it to some random thing (maybe even witchcraft or evil eyes).
#111 Posted : Tuesday, March 03, 2020 2:29:11 PM

It's a matter of time before this strand of RNA makes it to our shores. Maybe it's already here and we are largely asymptomatic people. Once some old people with cardiovascular issues die of it - we attribute it to some random thing (maybe even witchcraft or evil eyes).

Actually, it could be spreading. How many Kenyans go to get checked because of homa or 'malaria'? People could be self medicating as usual while passing it along. But hoping for the best.
#112 Posted : Tuesday, March 03, 2020 2:49:40 PM

A sect called Shincheonji has found itself in the middle of the worst case of Corona outside China...

https://www.ft.com/conte...-11ea-8033-fa40a0d65a98

Apparently this sect accounts for 60% of Koreas cases. and a 61-year-old member is responsible for the big outbreak in the city of Daegu.
wukan
#113 Posted : Tuesday, March 03, 2020 3:10:36 PM

Actually, it could be spreading. How many Kenyans go to get checked because of homa or 'malaria'? People could be self medicating as usual while passing it along. But hoping for the best.

I don't think it is spreading. In severe cases patients end up drowning in their own mucous. At that stage the sick will be begging to be rushed to hospital. It would have been picked up in some hospital by now if it was spreading.

Most likely corona will behave like the spanish flu. Mild at first then disappears and then reappears in a more dangerous wave after it adapts and learns how to attack african cells.

2nd wave of the spanish flu is what devastated africa. Look for the you-tube on spanish flu that thing was deadly. A patient would show symptoms at 4 pm and be dead by 10 pm. It passed, this too shall pass

#114 Posted : Tuesday, March 03, 2020 3:47:07 PM

Rahatupu wrote:
The shoe is on the other foot now:
Travellers from countries with severe coronavirus outbreaks who arrive in Guangdong province, an economic and export powerhouse in the south, must undergo a 14-day quarantine - state media reported on Tuesday.

makes a lot of sense. they can't risk a re-infection.
#115 Posted : Tuesday, March 03, 2020 5:09:20 PM

wukan wrote:

I don't think it is spreading. In severe cases patients end up drowning in their own mucous. At that stage the sick will be begging to be rushed to hospital. It would have been picked up in some hospital by now if it was spreading.

Most likely corona will behave like the spanish flu. Mild at first then disappears and then reappears in a more dangerous wave after it adapts and learns how to attack african cells.

2nd wave of the spanish flu is what devastated africa. Look for the you-tube on spanish flu that thing was deadly. A patient would show symptoms at 4 pm and be dead by 10 pm. It passed, this too shall pass

Where did you get that?
#116 Posted : Tuesday, March 03, 2020 6:58:41 PM

While they focused their lenses in china kumbe the virus has been spreading chini ya maji in the mighty USA so far 100 cases plus with 6 dead

https://www.nbcnews.com/...nfirmed-across-n1124546

In this societies where order is the norm kunaweza kuwa na some serious breakdown as people scramble for supplies

The UK has now put the army on standby

https://www.aljazeera.co...ead-200303113248092.html
#117 Posted : Tuesday, March 03, 2020 9:37:42 PM

Sirkal!!
#118 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2020 9:51:24 AM

[quote=radiomast]

Experts are puzzled
https://www.france24.com...-puzzles-health-experts[/quote]

I am puzzled too. Iko kitu.
wukan
#119 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2020 12:57:14 PM

wukan wrote:

Where did you get that?

Soma hapa on this link https://www.nationalgeog...virus-does-to-the-body/

These holes are likely created by the immune system’s hyperactive response, which creates scars that both protect and stiffen the lungs.

When that occurs, patients often have to be put on ventilators to assist their breathing. Meanwhile, inflammation also makes the membranes between the air sacs and blood vessels more permeable, which can fill the lungs with fluid and affect their ability to oxygenate blood.

“In severe cases, you basically flood your lungs and you can’t breathe,” Frieman says. “That’s how people are dying.”
T-Bag
#120 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2020 2:10:00 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tSP606slnWQ
I AM trust in GOD, I AM belief in THYSELF