wazua Sat, Jan 18, 2025

15 Pages123>»
Thika Road Expansion was a Mistake
#1 Posted : Monday, July 05, 2010 3:22:21 PM

If they had asked me, I'd have suggested that we spend all that money in improving the railway link between Thika and Nairobi.

The problem is not the size of the road; it is the number of cars using it. The way to reduce this number is to provide an good alternative to road transportation.

Watch this space: as soon as the expanded highway is opened, the traffic jams will return. Simple reason being that people will have moved from Nairobi to Thika enmase

Have you seen the developments going on along this highway...all waiting for it to open?
Wa_ithaka
#2 Posted : Monday, July 05, 2010 3:40:28 PM

Absolutely agree. Infact if u catch Nai-Thika traffic kitu 5-6pm, utalia, there is usually 6 lanes of traffic. Xmas eve, I was stuck just before Githurai 45(?) for almost 2hrs.

I think money was mispent.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
jamplu
#3 Posted : Monday, July 05, 2010 3:57:03 PM

mukiha wrote:
If they had asked me, I'd have suggested that we spend all that money in improving the railway link between Thika and Nairobi.

The problem is not the size of the road; it is the number of cars using it. The way to reduce this number is to provide an good alternative to road transportation.

Watch this space: as soon as the expanded highway is opened, the traffic jams will return. Simple reason being that people will have moved from Nairobi to Thika enmase

Have you seen the developments going on along this highway...all waiting for it to open?

@mukiha It wasn't such a big mistake its good for the area at least some kenyans will benefit. The biggest mistake is failure for those inharge to foresee the bigger problem ahead if nothing is done to the infrastructure in nairobi in the next 2 years.
They just have to get rid of the annoying roundabouts and at least provide alternative link roads for the time being cauz honestly i don't see the railway idea happening in 2 years.
Mkimwa
#4 Posted : Monday, July 05, 2010 4:28:29 PM

@ Mukiha,

I respect your view on this.

While traffic jams will return, they will be only one way.. coming into town, in the morning.

In the evening, there will be no traffic from NRB-Thika, because once you get onto Thika Road, there is no blockage point. Beyond Westlands roundabout, have you ever experienced traffic (except due to accidents) from Nairobi-Limuru on Waiyaki way?

So we have solved half a problem. Not good use for 27bn KES.

The better way to solve this is to encourage government, and businesses to move away from Nairobi, and decentralize services, similar to what banks have done.
yekeyeke
#5 Posted : Monday, July 05, 2010 4:29:02 PM

@Mukiha. Wewe ni P***u. If you have a plane to take you to various places, why do you want us, wealth earners on thika road to use trains? Have you ever in your short life been inside a train?. Bure kabisa.

The KES 26B thats being spent on thika road is the best money ever to be spent on any road in kenya.

I supporse that you also strongly feel that the bypass money should also have been spent on a project of your choice?

Did you ever study ecomonics in school? Do you know the link between GDP growth and infstructure?

Wewe you need some serious prayers.

Trains and people of thika road do not mix. We are not cows!!!!!! to ride on trains.

Wewe nyamaza tu to see the road get completed and then you can move to thika road as well. We have seen property appreciate in nairobi, only in areas where there is infrastructure.

Kama Thika road inajaa, una shida gani. Kama umeona Green intashindwa kwa referndum, ulituletee sisi.

Wacha barabara ijengwe.
-How do you go shoping with a train?
-How do kids go to school in a train?
-How do you deliver produce in a train?
-How do you ask +80K cars users a day to use a train.
-Wewe ni P***u!!!!

#6 Posted : Monday, July 05, 2010 4:55:31 PM

@yekeyeke;
Cool down bro/sis. The problem with insults is that they tend to cover the good points. And you do have some good points...

The people of Thika road can ride in Trains if the carriages are comfortable, clean and run on a reliable timetable. In fact, the trains don't have to be the "High Speed" kind in order to "out-run" the dilapidated Matatus that the people use. Don't forget that there are no traffic jams on the railway line - cars must stop to let the train pass.

Yes; I have ridden in a comfortable train. This was the "InterCity 125" of the UK way back in the 1980s. It had two claases [1st for the rich and 2nd for the common Mwananchi]. If you do go to the UK, try it... these days the call it "Class 43"

No; I do not feel that the bypass money should have been spent elsewhere.

No; I did not study economics in school at any level. However, I do know that the phrase "transport infrastructure" includes railways, airports etc. Oh; and roads as well!!

Amongst all these, roads are the most inefficient mode of mass-transportation of goods and people.

#7 Posted : Monday, July 05, 2010 4:59:20 PM

I choose to disagree with mukiha. Those flyovers at the bottlenecks were long overdue. And this being the busiest highway in East/Central Africa, something had to be done. The railway should follow, to compliment rather than substitute the road system. As for the self praising yekeyeke, I think he is the real idiot....no apologies whatsoever.
#8 Posted : Monday, July 05, 2010 5:02:40 PM

I choose to disagree with mukiha

Why? Enlighten me
majimaji
#9 Posted : Monday, July 05, 2010 5:07:51 PM

I disagree with Mukiha too. Nairobi is not yet crowded...it will get crowded and then in say 20 years we shall have to do a similar new highway ABOVE the new thika rd.
fantony
#10 Posted : Monday, July 05, 2010 5:10:49 PM

fact of life.. based on a scientific study in the US... it takes 5 years for a newly constructed road to fill up...

so just go to thika and buy land at whatever prices.. you will make your money back.. from the appreciation of value..

the government will make its 24B back from trade spurred by road... the town itself is going to be able to breath again with the industries getting a jolt..

and next year.. Flame tree park will sell at 5,000,000
#11 Posted : Monday, July 05, 2010 5:11:08 PM

I just wish the expansion included the pot-holed crowded Kenol-Makutano section....too busy as meru and nyeri highway traffic converge here.
B.Timer
#12 Posted : Monday, July 05, 2010 5:23:36 PM

Road expansion was and still is absolutely necessary.
Statistics were taken, whose result indicated that the sheer numbers - cars that plied the road dictated that the road be expanded.
Seriously any busy road anywhere in serious world is four/six lane as necessary.

This ofcorse does not negate the need to have the rail way network improved not only the link to Thika but many other places.

I guess the new owners/concessionaires of the Train industry have that on the cards.
Dunia ni msongamano..
#13 Posted : Monday, July 05, 2010 5:23:43 PM

Is it not interesting how we have come to assume that a bigger road is the best solution to traffic congestion. That's the point I have a problem with.

In my view; an alternative mode of transport provides a more effective solution. A bigger road just invites more cars and soon enough it is also congested.

I think that improvement of the railway link would have cost about the same amount of money and take the same amount of time to complete. Its useful un-congested life, however, would be much longer than that of the road.

At this juncture, I recall a comment made by my [late] professor many years ago: "At which point of human civilisation did we accept that it is OK to take 1,000kg of metal with you when you go on a journey - however short?"
yekeyeke
#14 Posted : Monday, July 05, 2010 5:26:03 PM

Mukiha.

So umekaa UK eh?!. That is where ilipata tambia mbaya!!!

Its very simple. We do not want trains for now at all!!!!. Leave this road to be built. Trains can come in baadaye. We have suffered enough jams, with short nights and long days. If you want peace leave the chinese to finish their job and handover the 12 lane road for us to use.

As a tax paying kenyan I would like to use my car in the same stress free manner as the person living in muthaiga, to go to and from work. Dont take that away from me whatever wacky ideas you may have gotten from the land of gordon brown, who managed to greatly cock up the UK economy with his military and political wars.

You can there after get the train of your dreams to go to your picknicks, just that those mzungu you have borowed ideas from.

On economics. pls take time to visit wilipedia and familiarize your self with terms such as GDP and its co relationsip with infrastructure development.

After the 2nd wolrd war the US congress passed billions of USD for the construction of a road network thats today called the interstate. Read wikipedia and you can see the reasons why they did this. They did not pour money for the construction of your prefered rail network..... sk your self Why?
#15 Posted : Monday, July 05, 2010 5:26:08 PM

fantony wrote:
fact of life.. based on a scientific study in the US... it takes 5 years for a newly constructed road to fill up...

Inappropriate statistics.

1] This is a different country - not the USA - with different social-economic parameters.

2] That statistic is about NEWLY constructed roads; not expanded ones.
#16 Posted : Monday, July 05, 2010 5:31:33 PM

yekeyeke wrote:
Mukiha.

So umekaa UK eh?!. That is where ilipata tambia mbaya!!!

Its very simple. We do not want trains for now at all!!!!. Leave this road to be built. Trains can come in baadaye. We have suffered enough jams, with short nights and long days. If you want peace leave the chinese to finish their job and handover the 12 lane road for us to use.

As a tax paying kenyan I would like to use my car in the same stress free manner as the person living in muthaiga, to go to and from work. Dont take that away from me whatever wacky ideas you may have gotten from the land of gordon brown, who managed to greatly cock up the UK economy with his military and political wars.

You can there after get the train of your dreams to go to your picknicks, just that those mzungu you have borowed ideas from.

On economics. pls take time to visit wilipedia and familiarize your self with terms such as GDP and its co relationsip with infrastructure development.

After the 2nd wolrd war the US congress passed billions of USD for the construction of a road network thats today called the interstate. Read wikipedia and you can see the reasons why they did this. They did not pour money for the construction of your prefered rail network..... sk your self Why?

Again; your insulting language is not adding value to the debate.

Are you suggesting that we use 2nd world war era economic thinking? Gosh!

Please; please; please; make your points without using bad language.
Ephy
#17 Posted : Monday, July 05, 2010 5:32:58 PM

I concur totally with Mukiha.As much as a smoother wider road is good,it is not the ultimate solution.The government should have done more research.How many cars use the road daily? How many of these are trailers,matatus e.t.c

For the last 2,a railway sytem is the best option.Because the biggest problem now with kenyan roads is congestion.For us to achieve vision 2030 we need to high jump to some solutions.See what 2nd world countries did,and improve and implement better solutions.

By the time they think of a railway,the economic activities on thika road will have increased,then there will be more cars,people and goods..so a railway link is MANDATORY.
See what everyone has seen,but think what nobody has thought. Albert Szent-Gyorgyi
#18 Posted : Monday, July 05, 2010 5:36:13 PM

Perhaps we are forgetting that the objective is to move PEOPLE & GOODS from point A to B; not cars and lorries.

In another forum; that would be called circular reasoning - when you present the absence of your solution as the problem!
#19 Posted : Monday, July 05, 2010 5:42:46 PM

yekeyeke wrote:
@Mukiha. Wewe ni P***u. If you have a plane to take you to various places, why do you want us, wealth earners on thika road to use trains? Have you ever in your short life been inside a train?. Bure kabisa.

The KES 26B thats being spent on thika road is the best money ever to be spent on any road in kenya.

I supporse that you also strongly feel that the bypass money should also have been spent on a project of your choice?

Did you ever study ecomonics in school? Do you know the link between GDP growth and infstructure?

Wewe you need some serious prayers.

Trains and people of thika road do not mix. We are not cows!!!!!! to ride on trains.

Wewe nyamaza tu to see the road get completed and then you can move to thika road as well. We have seen property appreciate in nairobi, only in areas where there is infrastructure.

Kama Thika road inajaa, una shida gani. Kama umeona Green intashindwa kwa referndum, ulituletee sisi.

Wacha barabara ijengwe.
-How do you go shoping with a train?
-How do kids go to school in a train?
-How do you deliver produce in a train?
-How do you ask +80K cars users a day to use a train.
-Wewe ni P***u!!!!

@yekeyeke:

Not the way to voice your opinions. Shame on you

I disagree with you. A rail network, from Thika to Nairobi would have been a better idea. Safer. Surer. More economical. More intelligent.

Government planning is short-sighted. We build because we have a certain demand NOW. Instead of thinking about Nairobi and Thika in 2040. 26 Billion can go a long way in building infrastructure FOR THE FUTURE, not just 6 lanes of tarmac and a couple of fly-overs.
sheep
#20 Posted : Monday, July 05, 2010 5:57:56 PM

Why do people in Wazua have so big egos...relax guyz respect each other opinions...however "crazy" yet sensible(like mine he he he)

Ujanja ya kuishi Nairobi imeisha...when majority of the people get "smart" en mass...the way kenyans are buying cars u would think they are investments...land prices everywhere shooting up eti "price discovery"...this is a land speculative mania(I own a few pieces myself just to show how bad it is)..

Kwanza in ten years ngata will be sh.200 a liter or so,ujanja ya kuishi 40-60kms away from CBD kwisha,guyz spending 30-50% of salo on fuel...4hr jams will be nothing out of the ordinary...kuamka 4.00am just ku beat the rush

Nairobi is becoming too expe to live in...it should be decentralized
administrative capital should be moved to another town..legislative to another...just like in S.A

someone should start building condos in cbd...bla bla bla

NB:THIS ARE PERSONAL OPINIONS AND SHOULD NOT BE REPLIED TO BY WAZUA GENIUSES.

The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.