Investor
Economy
Tax evasion using M-Pesa
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,350 Location: Nairobi
Fyatu wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Fyatu wrote:I have noticed a trend when you ask to lipa-na-mpesa you are asked to either send the money to the shopowners line or in case of some pubs you are asked to withdraw money to an agent number provided by the waiter/bar tender.Funny enough is that these shops and pubs have paybill numbers.
And i am speaking about high-end shops huko Sarit, Garden city, Two-rivers etc owned by people of other races considered superior to Africans but not superior to Wazungus(i speak in code).
The pubs that are asking patrons to send money to an agent number as if they are withdrawing money have names of a noisy bird and are usually found at petrol stations formerly owned(minority owned) by @VVS and @Marehemu Totalman a.k.a The bull of Auckland.
Can Safaricom, KRA and DCI investigate this? Seems widespread. https://twitter.com/DrKa...182521407823069185?s=20
Hehehehe...Kenya is damned. The system is rotten to the core. Restoring discipline and adherence to rule of law among citizens has to be top government priority. Kenyans of goodwill should not cease to whistle blow. If you see something, say something. Name and shame. Start right here, right now. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:Fyatu wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Fyatu wrote:I have noticed a trend when you ask to lipa-na-mpesa you are asked to either send the money to the shopowners line or in case of some pubs you are asked to withdraw money to an agent number provided by the waiter/bar tender.Funny enough is that these shops and pubs have paybill numbers.
And i am speaking about high-end shops huko Sarit, Garden city, Two-rivers etc owned by people of other races considered superior to Africans but not superior to Wazungus(i speak in code).
The pubs that are asking patrons to send money to an agent number as if they are withdrawing money have names of a noisy bird and are usually found at petrol stations formerly owned(minority owned) by @VVS and @Marehemu Totalman a.k.a The bull of Auckland.
Can Safaricom, KRA and DCI investigate this? Seems widespread. https://twitter.com/DrKa...182521407823069185?s=20
Hehehehe...Kenya is damned. The system is rotten to the core. Restoring discipline and adherence to rule of law among citizens has to be top government priority. Kenyans of goodwill should not cease to whistle blow. If you see something, say something. Name and shame. Start right here, right now. Name and shame, yet the same Gava officials will be bribed. You think they don't know, looks like you have never involved yourselves with business ventures. Everybody in the chain benefits. In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/20/2015 Posts: 2,811 Location: Mombasa
Angelica _ann wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Fyatu wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Fyatu wrote:I have noticed a trend when you ask to lipa-na-mpesa you are asked to either send the money to the shopowners line or in case of some pubs you are asked to withdraw money to an agent number provided by the waiter/bar tender.Funny enough is that these shops and pubs have paybill numbers.
Hehehehe...Kenya is damned. The system is rotten to the core. Restoring discipline and adherence to rule of law among citizens has to be top government priority. Kenyans of goodwill should not cease to whistle blow. If you see something, say something. Name and shame. Start right here, right now. Name and shame, yet the same Gava officials will be bribed. You think they don't know, looks like you have never involved yourselves with business ventures. Everybody in the chain benefits. Tell them the bitter truth @AA . Most of this 8-5 o'clock Wazuans are clueless. John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
VituVingiSana wrote:[quote=Fyatu]I have noticed a trend when you ask to lipa-na-mpesa you are asked to either send the money to the shopowners line or in case of some pubs you are asked to withdraw money to an agent number provided by the waiter/bar tender.Funny enough is that these shops and pubs have paybill numbers.
Can Safaricom, KRA and DCI investigate this? Seems widespread. https://twitter.com/DrKa...182521407823069185?s=20[/quote] 1. Benign view: MPESA transfer charges are around 1-1.6% for the typical bar bill between 1-2.5K. https://www.safaricom.co...ng-started/m-pesa-rates
This is the charge to the customer. I can only imagine that the MPESA Till Number charges are the same. If running a genuine bar with razor-thin margins, a 1-2% charge on your top line can really hurt your business. That's one of the reasons businesses prefer cheque payments TO their vendors as there are no transfer charges. 2. Less benign view: those people selling to you could be ripping off their employer / business partners / daddy / mommy when they direct payments elsewhere 3. Least benign view: Yes, tax evasion. But this can still be effected even with a till number based on how you manage the business....(additional info for $).
Truly speaking Kenyans are fighting any attempts to bring in more people into the tax net, those inthe net are trying very much to get out or squeeze as much as they can, very few firms or Kenyans are taking advantage of the few tax incentives available mostly because you need to be compliant, this country won't grow on informal juakali, jamani tulipe ushuru, the presidents birthday is near. To Each His Own
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,350 Location: Nairobi
Angelica _ann wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Fyatu wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Fyatu wrote:I have noticed a trend when you ask to lipa-na-mpesa you are asked to either send the money to the shopowners line or in case of some pubs you are asked to withdraw money to an agent number provided by the waiter/bar tender.Funny enough is that these shops and pubs have paybill numbers.
Hehehehe...Kenya is damned. The system is rotten to the core. Restoring discipline and adherence to rule of law among citizens has to be top government priority. Kenyans of goodwill should not cease to whistle blow. If you see something, say something. Name and shame. Start right here, right now. Name and shame, yet the same Gava officials will be bribed. You think they don't know, looks like you have never involved yourselves with business ventures. Everybody in the chain benefits. If that is directed at me then I can only  until I cry at your stand-up routine. I asked @Fyatu to name and shame given his complaints. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/20/2011 Posts: 1,820 Location: Nakuru
VituVingiSana wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Fyatu wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Fyatu wrote:I have noticed a trend when you ask to lipa-na-mpesa you are asked to either send the money to the shopowners line or in case of some pubs you are asked to withdraw money to an agent number provided by the waiter/bar tender.Funny enough is that these shops and pubs have paybill numbers.
Hehehehe...Kenya is damned. The system is rotten to the core. Restoring discipline and adherence to rule of law among citizens has to be top government priority. Kenyans of goodwill should not cease to whistle blow. If you see something, say something. Name and shame. Start right here, right now. Name and shame, yet the same Gava officials will be bribed. You think they don't know, looks like you have never involved yourselves with business ventures. Everybody in the chain benefits. If that is directed at me then I can only  until I cry at your stand-up routine. I asked @Fyatu to name and shame given his complaints. I can only name the pub/chain of pubs. The Muhindi in the mall is now my buddy and actually confessed that things are hard hence if the customer don't ask for ETR they are very happy. The chain of pubs i am talking about are usually found in Kenol/kobil petro stations and in some hoods like Umoja and Buru Buru. The pubs are named after a noisy bird with an awkward bill (hint hint) Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
Fyatu wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Fyatu wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Fyatu wrote:I have noticed a trend when you ask to lipa-na-mpesa you are asked to either send the money to the shopowners line or in case of some pubs you are asked to withdraw money to an agent number provided by the waiter/bar tender.Funny enough is that these shops and pubs have paybill numbers.
Hehehehe...Kenya is damned. The system is rotten to the core. Restoring discipline and adherence to rule of law among citizens has to be top government priority. Kenyans of goodwill should not cease to whistle blow. If you see something, say something. Name and shame. Start right here, right now. Name and shame, yet the same Gava officials will be bribed. You think they don't know, looks like you have never involved yourselves with business ventures. Everybody in the chain benefits. If that is directed at me then I can only  until I cry at your stand-up routine. I asked @Fyatu to name and shame given his complaints. I can only name the pub/chain of pubs. The Muhindi in the mall is now my buddy and actually confessed that things are hard hence if the customer don't ask for ETR they are very happy. The chain of pubs i am talking about are usually found in Kenol/kobil petro stations and in some hoods like Umoja and Buru Buru. The pubs are named after a noisy bird with an awkward bill (hint hint) So even your naming and shaming is selective and therefore you are a Kenyan, just like all of us - whenever you are benefit your look the other way. VVS, my comment was a general observation of what normally happens. You whistle blow, the individual/outlet is harassed, they talk and things are then 'home-how' normalized and you are left egg-faced. In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Fyatu wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Fyatu wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Fyatu wrote:I have noticed a trend when you ask to lipa-na-mpesa you are asked to either send the money to the shopowners line or in case of some pubs you are asked to withdraw money to an agent number provided by the waiter/bar tender.Funny enough is that these shops and pubs have paybill numbers.
Hehehehe...Kenya is damned. The system is rotten to the core. Restoring discipline and adherence to rule of law among citizens has to be top government priority. Kenyans of goodwill should not cease to whistle blow. If you see something, say something. Name and shame. Start right here, right now. Name and shame, yet the same Gava officials will be bribed. You think they don't know, looks like you have never involved yourselves with business ventures. Everybody in the chain benefits. If that is directed at me then I can only  until I cry at your stand-up routine. I asked @Fyatu to name and shame given his complaints. I can only name the pub/chain of pubs. The Muhindi in the mall is now my buddy and actually confessed that things are hard hence if the customer don't ask for ETR they are very happy. The chain of pubs i am talking about are usually found in Kenol/kobil petro stations and in some hoods like Umoja and Buru Buru. The pubs are named after a noisy bird with an awkward bill (hint hint) Personally,I wouldn't be bothered by a tax evader because even if I whistleblow,the MCAs,MPigs and other corrupt people will still eat cash.Why undertake a thankless task?Debts soon to be at sh9t and exxagerated SGR bills,its not worth it.
In fact,if I can get a tax loophole,I would do the same.
Investor
Economy
Tax evasion using M-Pesa