Investor
Stocks
KQ hy19 loss doubles 8.6bn; negative equity 16.2bn
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/25/2009 Posts: 4,534 Location: Windhoek/Nairobbery
Looks like bad results already baked into share price...
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,517 Location: nairobi
the deal wrote:Looks like bad results already baked into share price... Absolutely! A price recovery could happen.. Not likely, but possible HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/20/2015 Posts: 2,811 Location: Mombasa
obiero wrote:the deal wrote:Looks like bad results already baked into share price... Absolutely! A price recovery could happen.. Not likely, but possible Even if you want to participate riding in the purportedly price recovery which may never happen very soon you as a person @obiero I assure you will remain a loser because your ABP is monumental.Averaging down alone to bring price to around KES 4.50 will cost you a fortune chasing a monkey! I always insist #watch and unlearn your current trading strategies. Things @obiero and crew MUST unlearn about KQ to stay synchronized in NSE profit making: 1.that The Pride of Africa is too big to fail because of government bailouts and guarantees. Government involvement has never stopped share price from dropping down like a rotten egg. 2. that loose change after the cost of Boeing 777 or 787 engine can buy NSE monkey MSC . How is this kind of reasoning adding value on KQ financial performance? 3. that there is a likelihood of a jump in revenue growth and KQ has potential of over KES 100bn revenue...this is very risk because analyzing one element in the profit equation is vague 4. that the chairman of the board is no-nonsense MJ...Yes he can be a genius but the competition in aviation industry is global and telcos is mostly local 5. that big boys are trapped inside therefore I am not alone...this can not be a trading strategy. KQLC were caught unawares and were forced to carry a cross of others[KQ poor management] John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
"We watch in code" as sub 2bob comes our way. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Spikes wrote:obiero wrote:the deal wrote:Looks like bad results already baked into share price... Absolutely! A price recovery could happen.. Not likely, but possible Even if you want to participate riding in the purportedly price recovery which may never happen very soon you as a person @obiero I assure you will remain a loser because your ABP is monumental.Averaging down alone to bring price to around KES 4.50 will cost you a fortune chasing a monkey! I always insist #watch and unlearn your current trading strategies. Things @obiero and crew MUST unlearn about KQ to stay synchronized in NSE profit making: 1.that The Pride of Africa is too big to fail because of government bailouts and guarantees. Government involvement has never stopped share price from dropping down like a rotten egg. 2. that loose change after the cost of Boeing 777 or 787 engine can buy NSE monkey MSC . How is this kind of reasoning adding value on KQ financial performance? 3. that there is a likelihood of a jump in revenue growth and KQ has potential of over KES 100bn revenue...this is very risk because analyzing one element in the profit equation is vague 4. that the chairman of the board is no-nonsense MJ...Yes he can be a genius but the competition in aviation industry is global and telcos is mostly local 5. that big boys are trapped inside therefore I am not alone...this can not be a trading strategy. KQLC were caught unawares and were forced to carry a cross of others[KQ poor management] I will average down because I do have the money, which apparently is my own money 1. KQ is too big to fail and that's why GoK has given it time, attention, massive resources 2. It's a fact that KQ has monumental expensive assets 3. Turnover for KQ has been growing thus supporting the turnaround journey 4. Management is everything! In a local kiosk or multinational 5. Big boys will always support funding.. Look at past cash calls HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Rank: Member Joined: 1/18/2019 Posts: 185 Location: kenya
obiero wrote:Spikes wrote:obiero wrote:the deal wrote:Looks like bad results already baked into share price... Absolutely! A price recovery could happen.. Not likely, but possible Even if you want to participate riding in the purportedly price recovery which may never happen very soon you as a person @obiero I assure you will remain a loser because your ABP is monumental.Averaging down alone to bring price to around KES 4.50 will cost you a fortune chasing a monkey! I always insist #watch and unlearn your current trading strategies. Things @obiero and crew MUST unlearn about KQ to stay synchronized in NSE profit making: 1.that The Pride of Africa is too big to fail because of government bailouts and guarantees. Government involvement has never stopped share price from dropping down like a rotten egg. 2. that loose change after the cost of Boeing 777 or 787 engine can buy NSE monkey MSC . How is this kind of reasoning adding value on KQ financial performance? 3. that there is a likelihood of a jump in revenue growth and KQ has potential of over KES 100bn revenue...this is very risk because analyzing one element in the profit equation is vague 4. that the chairman of the board is no-nonsense MJ...Yes he can be a genius but the competition in aviation industry is global and telcos is mostly local 5. that big boys are trapped inside therefore I am not alone...this can not be a trading strategy. KQLC were caught unawares and were forced to carry a cross of others[KQ poor management] I will average down because I do have the money, which apparently is my own money 1. KQ is too big to fail and that's why GoK has given it time, attention, massive resources 2. It's a fact that KQ has monumental expensive assets 3. Turnover for KQ has been growing thus supporting the turnaround journey 4. Management is everything! In a local kiosk or multinational 5. Big boys will always support funding.. Look at past cash calls Good luck @Obiero, terribly wrong move but I wish you all the best.
sparkly wrote:Spikes wrote:obiero wrote:chiaroscuro wrote:There are two ways to value a company:
1] what it owns versus what it owes - net assets 2] What it earns and what it CAN earn in future - current AND future profits
Why would anyone in their right mind buy a company that owes more than it owns, isn't making profit and has no promise of ever becoming profitable?
Now I know why they say that common sense is not very common! True. Its odd for anyone in right senses to claim that a firm that once obtained annual profit in excess of KES 6B; has no promise of ever becoming profitable Most young investors are tired of a long wait and hoping things will be ok. Eti hope pia ni strategy tuliachia wazee pamoja na hiyo long wait. @Spikes, this has nothing to do with age. We the elders are also disappointed in @Obiero's code speak. However, we follow the African code which states that an elder should not be caned in public, infront of children and women. I assure you that we will convene soon and summon @Obiero for discipline. Chastise @obiero coz he is embarrassing Wazua elders and if the trend continues he will become a disgrace to his family and those who take him seriously to buy KQ stock. John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
Spikes wrote:sparkly wrote:Spikes wrote:obiero wrote:chiaroscuro wrote:There are two ways to value a company:
1] what it owns versus what it owes - net assets 2] What it earns and what it CAN earn in future - current AND future profits
Why would anyone in their right mind buy a company that owes more than it owns, isn't making profit and has no promise of ever becoming profitable?
Now I know why they say that common sense is not very common! True. Its odd for anyone in right senses to claim that a firm that once obtained annual profit in excess of KES 6B; has no promise of ever becoming profitable Most young investors are tired of a long wait and hoping things will be ok. Eti hope pia ni strategy tuliachia wazee pamoja na hiyo long wait. @Spikes, this has nothing to do with age. We the elders are also disappointed in @Obiero's code speak. However, we follow the African code which states that an elder should not be caned in public, infront of children and women. I assure you that we will convene soon and summon @Obiero for discipline. Chastise @obiero coz he is embarrassing Wazua elders and if the trend continues he will become a disgrace to his family and those who take him seriously to buy KQ stock. I'm your father young man. I brought you into the world via nocturnal activity with you mother. You have no option but to respect me. Note that I have asked no one to buy KQ but I choose to be a shareholder in it, you cannot guide me in my choice. Simply give an alternative view and leave it there, you clown.. HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
obiero wrote:Spikes wrote:sparkly wrote:Spikes wrote:obiero wrote:chiaroscuro wrote:There are two ways to value a company:
Now I know why they say that common sense is not very common! True. Its odd for anyone in right senses to claim that a firm that once obtained annual profit in excess of KES 6B; has no promise of ever becoming profitable Most young investors are tired of a long wait and hoping things will be ok. Eti hope pia ni strategy tuliachia wazee pamoja na hiyo long wait. @Spikes, this has nothing to do with age. We the elders are also disappointed in @Obiero's code speak. However, we follow the African code which states that an elder should not be caned in public, infront of children and women. I assure you that we will convene soon and summon @Obiero for discipline. Chastise @obiero coz he is embarrassing Wazua elders and if the trend continues he will become a disgrace to his family and those who take him seriously to buy KQ stock. I'm your father young man. I brought you into the world via nocturnal activity with you mother. You have no option but to respect me. Note that I have asked no one to buy KQ but I choose to be a shareholder in it, you cannot guide me in my choice. Simply give an alternative view and leave it there, you clown.. Today there 1% jump in share price after a dip following the announcement of deplorable financial performance. @obiero can not refuse to call a spade a big spoon after dead cat bounce! Add more KQ stock @obiero...You will miss out in the upcoming circus rally. John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
sparkly wrote:chiaroscuro wrote:There are two ways to value a company:
Now I know why they say that common sense is not very common! 3] trading price of companies with comparable performance. In case of KQ, listed companies in losses, negative equity and cashflows are trading circa 50 cents. Sure, and the only perplexing thing is that @obiero is waiting for the bird to land properly to average down vigorously and courageously 😂. At times a captain do jettsion his ship if it is a definite situation of everyman for himself and God for us all, a golden window to eject but running out quite fast. 4) knowledge of the lead choirmaster of the company and his near past track record. ,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
muandiwambeu wrote:sparkly wrote:chiaroscuro wrote:There are two ways to value a company:
Now I know why they say that common sense is not very common! 3] trading price of companies with comparable performance. In case of KQ, listed companies in losses, negative equity and cashflows are trading circa 50 cents. Sure, and the only perplexing thing is that @obiero is waiting for the bird to land properly to average down vigorously and courageously 😂. At times a captain do jettsion his ship if it is a definite situation of everyman for himself and God for us all, a golden window to eject but running out quite fast. 4) knowledge of the lead choirmaster of the company and his near past track record. Hii pesa ni yangu bwana @muandiwambeu.. Musikonde! HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
obiero wrote:chiaroscuro wrote:There are two ways to value a company:
Now I know why they say that common sense is not very common! True. Its odd for anyone in right senses to claim that a firm that once obtained annual profit in excess of KES 6B; has no promise of ever becoming profitable KQ occasionally used to make profits from trading fuel contracts which is something they don't do any more. Their core business has been loss making for as long as I remember. Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/8/2018 Posts: 2,211 Location: DC (Dustbowl County)
Mumias style losses yet -astoundingly- more lemmings are STILL investing in the casino. This world is crazy! Reminds me of the dot com bust of 2001. Stocks like JDSU were shooting up at unholy rates DAILY. The wise ones cashed out of it and many more when there were zero fundamentals to justify the irrational superboom in the market. When the crash came, amazingly, the pundits were advising the lemmings to "hold" kina JDSU, WCOM and others because "it was just a market correction and -the funniest lie of all - over the long term stocks always rebound and provide the highest returns of any investment." Wapi? 18 years on those who held those stocks are still "waiting" for them to rebound
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/25/2009 Posts: 4,534 Location: Windhoek/Nairobbery
Oops I have alot of shares...if I start selling now...1 bob will come...I will just wait for GoK's offer...I also have a feeling this could be KQ's last bad results...revenues are growing at double digits...once new routes mature e.g NBO-NY ...losses will start shrinking...
Rank: Member Joined: 1/18/2019 Posts: 185 Location: kenya
the deal wrote:Oops I have alot of shares...if I start selling now...1 bob will come...I will just wait for GoK's offer...I also have a feeling this could be KQ's last bad results...revenues are growing at double digits...once new routes mature e.g NBO-NY ...losses will start shrinking... Your feeling is wrong because the perennially high cost structure at KQ will never allow it to make a profit. The only way KQ can be profitable is through subsidies/nationalisation. Look at how hard Sebastian has worked on the revenue side but the cost side has defeated him. The only reason ET is profitable is because of their cost structure and I suspect a huge part of that is due to subsidies in fleet financing and maintenance plus their cheap labour costs.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 10,684 Location: NAIROBI
https://kenyanwallstreet...rts-search-for-new-ceo/
Kenya Airways is seeking to replace Mikosz who leaves the firm in December. Sebastian Mikosz issued a resignation letter in May citing personal reasons for his resignation. According to the board chairman, it is high time the firm starts the replacement process before the December deadline when the CEO seat will be vacant. The board will come up with a decision soon and announce the recruitment criteria. Sebastian Mikosz’s tenure was to end in June 2020. Under his tenure, KQ launched direct flights to New York, Mauritius, Libreville, and Mogadishu leading to revenue growth of 12 percent to KSh58 billion. In addition, he oversaw a plan where banks converted their debt into equity. KQ is cash strained and made losses amounting to KSh8.5 billion in the first half of 2019. Part of the reason is flight cancellations and delays that have seen KQ spend KSh118 million from January to July to cater for accommodation. Furthermore, KQ’s crew mismanagement has led to crew shortage and crew no show leading to the cancellation of 182 flights. In addition, Competition from Ethiopian Airlines and Qatar Airways poses a threat to Kenya Airways. Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Ericsson wrote:https://kenyanwallstreet.com/kq-kickstarts-search-for-new-ceo/
Kenya Airways is seeking to replace Mikosz who leaves the firm in December. Sebastian Mikosz issued a resignation letter in May citing personal reasons for his resignation.
According to the board chairman, it is high time the firm starts the replacement process before the December deadline when the CEO seat will be vacant. The board will come up with a decision soon and announce the recruitment criteria.
Sebastian Mikosz’s tenure was to end in June 2020. Under his tenure, KQ launched direct flights to New York, Mauritius, Libreville, and Mogadishu leading to revenue growth of 12 percent to KSh58 billion. In addition, he oversaw a plan where banks converted their debt into equity.
KQ is cash strained and made losses amounting to KSh8.5 billion in the first half of 2019. Part of the reason is flight cancellations and delays that have seen KQ spend KSh118 million from January to July to cater for accommodation.
Furthermore, KQ’s crew mismanagement has led to crew shortage and crew no show leading to the cancellation of 182 flights.
In addition, Competition from Ethiopian Airlines and Qatar Airways poses a threat to Kenya Airways. This is an opportunity for real believers in this monkey @obiero...to take the reins and execute in line with the business case they rely on to justify investing in KQ
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,103 Location: Nairobi
According to The Star... DCI is investigating KQ's downfall which entails investigating Naikuni and Friends. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:According to The Star... DCI is investigating KQ's downfall which entails investigating Naikuni and Friends. I am 110% they will get something... Supply chain and Finance guys hao kwisha... possunt quia posse videntur
Investor
Stocks
KQ hy19 loss doubles 8.6bn; negative equity 16.2bn