wazua Sun, Apr 12, 2026

5 Pages<12345>
Most water secure Nairobi suburb...
#21 Posted : Wednesday, August 28, 2019 4:18:05 PM

Baratang wrote:
I have water at some spot in my shamba. I spoke to someone calling themselves an expert and they said the water is perfect for drinking. Someone mentioned that I might need to visit NEMA for a "permit" to use this water....is this true? Also, any expert here with advice on how i can secure the place to prevent contamination and access(pump) this water some meters upstream for family use? Appreciated.

Is the water held on a surface well, shallow well, deep well or borehole?

I think surface/shallow well easily accessible quantities go down when in drought.

make amends with neighbors share with them.thats the securest way

Neighbor has his own they fetch water using jerrycans

I'd also want to test the water but I dont know where to start without reaching out to the fleecing water organizations. Are there testing kits available?
kuku3
#22 Posted : Wednesday, August 28, 2019 4:24:53 PM

Where in Nairobi are you most assured of never running out of water?

While you are at it please also comment on the area with the most reliable power supply.

Utawala is water secure. Though few places have City council/county water. Mostly boreholes with a unit going for between Kshs 100 -130
... a fool and his money are soon parted...
#23 Posted : Wednesday, August 28, 2019 4:48:11 PM

kuku3 wrote:
Where in Nairobi are you most assured of never running out of water?

While you are at it please also comment on the area with the most reliable power supply.

Utawala is water secure. Though few places have City council/county water. Mostly boreholes with a unit going for between Kshs 100 -130

Borehole water can be very toxic esp where there is no working sewer system. Water in both the boreholes and septic tanks/broker sewers freely mix and the resultant cocktail if filthy.
MugundaMan
#24 Posted : Wednesday, August 28, 2019 4:59:07 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
Kusandikika,
Didnt you read my post hapo juu?
Water fresh and nywee, then distilled for double measure. Sewerage pipes are old antiquated things from a bygone era my bradza. Thats how you end up with feces in your water. Biodigesters are the most efficient and environmentally friendly waste disposal method. Get with the times mfana wami.

You are telling us the only source of water in Kitengela is rain water with underground storage? I had heard something about EPZ getting water from Kilimanjaro. Does this line have connections to peoples houses?

For those with boreholes, what is yield and how far do you have to go to get it? Has the water table changed over the years?

You are still talking of contaminated salt water from boreholes, antiquated piping systems and yields when I have given you a very dot com solution?Laughing out loudly Shauri yako! Keep drinking feces and flouride laden water and crying serikali saindia to bring microbe infested water in bpa pipes from Kilimanjaro!
#25 Posted : Wednesday, August 28, 2019 5:15:43 PM

I'd also want to test the water but I dont know where to start without reaching out to the fleecing water organizations. Are there testing kits available?

Davis and Shirtliff?
#26 Posted : Wednesday, August 28, 2019 5:50:02 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
Kusandikika,
Didnt you read my post hapo juu?
Water fresh and nywee, then distilled for double measure. Sewerage pipes are old antiquated things from a bygone era my bradza. Thats how you end up with feces in your water. Biodigesters are the most efficient and environmentally friendly waste disposal method. Get with the times mfana wami.

You are telling us the only source of water in Kitengela is rain water with underground storage? I had heard something about EPZ getting water from Kilimanjaro. Does this line have connections to peoples houses?

For those with boreholes, what is yield and how far do you have to go to get it? Has the water table changed over the years?

You are still talking of contaminated salt water from boreholes, antiquated piping systems and yields when I have given you a very dot com solution?Laughing out loudly Shauri yako! Keep drinking feces and flouride laden water and crying serikali saindia to bring microbe infested water in bpa pipes from Kilimanjaro!

This here states the average annual rainfall in Kitengela is 592 mm per year. Is this enough for a family of 4 for a year without any other source?

https://en.climate-data....jiado/kitengela-927009/
MugundaMan
#27 Posted : Wednesday, August 28, 2019 7:28:45 PM

This here states the average annual rainfall in Kitengela is 592 mm per year. Is this enough for a family of 4 for a year without any other source?

https://en.climate-data....jiado/kitengela-927009/

What sort of question is this papaLaughing out loudly ? Surely, even from primary school basic maths, one is able to compute what storage capacity, roof area and perhaps even install additional catchment to make sure they are water secure year round ama? Drool If a guy can live in the ARIZONA DESERT and is water secure, jameni what is your excuse?
Let's move out of the stone age Kenyans and get with the times!

#28 Posted : Wednesday, August 28, 2019 8:21:08 PM

@Shambaman asante.

When is the wedding? Wanawake wana maswali mengi kuliko haya ya maji, so start practicing not getting irritated by questions. Good luck.
MugundaMan
#29 Posted : Wednesday, August 28, 2019 8:46:19 PM

@Shambaman asante.

When is the wedding? Wanawake wana maswali mengi kuliko haya ya maji, so start practicing not getting irritated by questions. Good luck.

Gila gitu ni bole bole my bradza.
All in good timing like water flowing shwuuuuuuuu from gutters to underground tanks in rainy season. A glorious sound!!
#30 Posted : Sunday, September 22, 2019 4:14:03 PM

5 Pages<12345>