wazua Thu, Mar 19, 2026

5 Pages«<2345>
Taking the Village out of the Villager
#31 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2019 9:21:18 PM

Some people here think we are trying to convince them to stop using their vernacular in public spaces... We are not... We cannot fix that bug! We cannot undo your raising. That's why I started this thread by saying you can take the monkey from the tree but not the tree from the monkey. Mti is a stronghold to some. We understand you... most of you cannot be helped. What this thread is supposed to do is to tell you - the behavior you consider normal... is not! We are telling you EXACTLY what we think of you and how where we place you. Ndio usishangae when we frown upon you!
#32 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2019 10:00:39 PM

Some people here think we are trying to convince them to stop using their vernacular in public spaces... We are not... We cannot fix that bug! We cannot undo your raising. That's why I started this thread by saying you can take the monkey from the tree but not the tree from the monkey. Mti is a stronghold to some. We understand you... most of you cannot be helped. What this thread is supposed to do is to tell you - the behavior you consider normal... is not! We are telling you EXACTLY what we think of you and how where we place you. Ndio usishangae when we frown upon you!

This hasira (frowning) itakuumiza matumbo bure. Live and let live. There is actually a silver lining to not understanding what people around you are saying. You can have very private moments in public which is quite refreshing.
#33 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2019 10:45:26 PM

I am at the pub. So should I go and ask the guys sitting on the left to stop speaking in kisii coz it's offensive and also talk to the mzungus on the right and demand that they stop speaking in polish coz this is kenya and we dont want funny languages in public places and that they should only speak in a language we can understand ie kiswahili or english?

#34 Posted : Friday, June 21, 2019 6:24:18 PM

I am at the pub. So should I go and ask the guys sitting on the left to stop speaking in kisii coz it's offensive and also talk to the mzungus on the right and demand that they stop speaking in polish coz this is kenya and we dont want funny languages in public places and that they should only speak in a language we can understand ie kiswahili or english?

Are you part of those groups?
Mucher
#35 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2019 2:57:54 PM

Many people speak several languages these days. Everyone wants to learn English because it has become the language of global education and commerce. But your mother tongue should always come first. No matter where we go and what we learn our mother tongue must never lose its significance.
#36 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2019 3:37:32 PM

hamburglar wrote:
We really really really really need to ban these stupid retrogressive mother tongue languages. They add zero value to our country and are one of the biggest reason for hate amongst Kenyans. I lived in the States for a long long time and the tribalism there is probably tenfold that in Kenya. It is unbelievably TOXIC. Around election times people stop talking to each other and in some extreme cases, form tribal groups that meet over the weekends at their fellow tribesmen houses to incite each other. Absolute takataka. Tribes and mother tongues are very primitive and people who insist of grouping themselves along tribal lines in a cosmopolitan setting are the worst. Then you see the same people complaining about racism in the West yet they were busy conducting a church service in their mother tongue on Sunday. You can’t comprehend the level of stupidity in some people. Complete bunch of morons.

The languages are not the problem. African languages are rich and interesting, and are our identity. What you hold is hate. You are hating the wrong people for being themselves, but thank God, they don't care.

I suspect you & Masukuma wanted to talk about mannerisms. You want to change people's behaviour overnight. Well, good luck with that.
#37 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2019 5:23:08 PM

hamburglar wrote:
We really really really really need to ban these stupid retrogressive mother tongue languages. They add zero value to our country and are one of the biggest reason for hate amongst Kenyans. I lived in the States for a long long time and the tribalism there is probably tenfold that in Kenya. It is unbelievably TOXIC. Around election times people stop talking to each other and in some extreme cases, form tribal groups that meet over the weekends at their fellow tribesmen houses to incite each other. Absolute takataka. Tribes and mother tongues are very primitive and people who insist of grouping themselves along tribal lines in a cosmopolitan setting are the worst. Then you see the same people complaining about racism in the West yet they were busy conducting a church service in their mother tongue on Sunday. You can’t comprehend the level of stupidity in some people. Complete bunch of morons.

The languages are not the problem. African languages are rich and interesting, and are our identity. What you hold is hate. You are hating the wrong people for being themselves, but thank God, they don't care.

I suspect you & Masukuma wanted to talk about mannerisms. You want to change people's behaviour overnight. Well, good luck with that.

I have stated over and over again... there is no way of changing this people.. there is no way of plucking the tree from the monkey. I was just informing them that many consider it undesirable and quite uncouth - whether they care about it or not... is a separate matter.
#38 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2019 5:36:18 PM

hamburglar wrote:

It's not easy but it can be done. None of my kids speak my mother tongue. Their grandma complained until she gave up. Their friends are from all over.
For me, it is simply a practical decision. For the 40-plus years I have been alive, not a single door or opportunity has been opened for me on account of my ability to speak kikuyu or being a kikuyu. Actually, several doors have been slammed shut because of being a kikuyu.

I would rather my kids learn French, Spanish, german, Chinese and sign language rather than kikuyu. I also keep hoping they marry outside the tribe.

This cultural identity is a very abstract concept to me.
#39 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2019 5:48:01 PM

hamburglar wrote:

It's not easy but it can be done. None of my kids speak my mother tongue. Their grandma complained until she gave up. Their friends are from all over.
For me, it is simply a practical decision. For the 40-plus years I have been alive, not a single door or opportunity has been opened for me on account of my ability to speak kikuyu or being a kikuyu. Actually, several doors have been slammed shut because of being a kikuyu.

I would rather my kids learn French, Spanish, german, Chinese and sign language rather than kikuyu. I also keep hoping they marry outside the tribe.

Shindwe! What kind of a man hates his tribe and culture - which includes language? You are KIKUYU FIRST before you are Kenyan. You do not loose your kikuyuness just because a mzungu came to your village 100yrs ago and told you that kikuyus and surrounding tribes will now be called kenyans.

Also which kind of father wishes that his kids marry outside so that his tribe and culture can be wiped off the face of the earth. Bure kabisa.
#40 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2019 6:05:21 PM

hamburglar wrote:

Grounding in a physical place is in my opinion more important than an abstract cultural identity. If you live in Githioro Nyandarua county you should be able to understand who you are, where you are and be able to communicate with those that you live with. If you live in Kileleshwa Nairobi you should be able to do the same.

It is quite possible that the guy in Githioro is called Omondi and his parents were born in Homa Bay but it would be extremely important for him to learn and speak Kikuyu. Now if the the guy in Kileleshwa is named Njoroge and is a fluent Kikuyu speaker and insists on speaking it he may alienate himself from the people that he lives with.
5 Pages«<2345>