wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

MPs to earn more!!!
#1 Posted : Wednesday, June 30, 2010 12:54:46 PM

AKIWUMI REPORT on MPs salaries tabled in Parliament and recommends legislators earn Sh1.09m, PM (Sh2.9m), VP (Sh2.19m), Speaker (Sh2.1m)....

http://www.nation.co.ke/...0/-/w981caz/-/index.html
Blackberry
#2 Posted : Wednesday, June 30, 2010 2:06:11 PM

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you SHAME! SHHHHAAAMMEE on these MPIGSShame on you
why cant these guys sign performance contracts Iwekwe kwa constitution!!!Pray Pray Pray

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.

PONDI
#3 Posted : Wednesday, June 30, 2010 2:28:49 PM

wacheni wivu. me, I now want to be an MP. can somebody 'invest' 25M towards this cause? we shall have 5 years of monthly dividends, not to mention the Govt procurement deals we shall organise Via the house committee I will be on. the 'investor' can be chairman of the CDF. hio itakuwa 'petty-cash account' to cater for the mistresses expenses. one young city MP claims to have spent that much...
Jaina
#4 Posted : Wednesday, June 30, 2010 3:16:34 PM

Bishop Wanjiru is about to loose her sit. Is the verdict out??.

Nothing short of a by-election should be the outcome.
Wa_ithaka
#5 Posted : Wednesday, June 30, 2010 5:14:30 PM

Pondi- are you seriously saying you aspire to be the next Mbugua?
Despite all the cash he has access to, dude still has financial issues due to his life-ist ways
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
PONDI
#6 Posted : Wednesday, June 30, 2010 7:02:07 PM

@Wa_ithaka... not to worry, I won't be as financially irresponsible as mbugua. neither do I have 'obtaining by false pretence' court cases hanging over my head. incase you didn't know, the current best 'business' to be playing is politics..control of procurement is just too lucrative...hence why young flashy city businessmen like mike wa buru are 'investing' in acquiring a seat
#7 Posted : Wednesday, June 30, 2010 8:31:02 PM

The silly thing has been passed. They could not even blink when doing it! Am sure BAKS will never sign this
story teller
#8 Posted : Thursday, July 01, 2010 5:59:06 AM

Shame, shame and more shame on these greedy mpigs! Absolutely insatiable while the majority of Kenyans are starving! Politics has become the most lucrative profession.
It's not hard to make decisions when you know what your values are.
#9 Posted : Thursday, July 01, 2010 7:48:16 AM

Is there a clause in the proposed katiba to control these rogues?!!!!!!!
gogeta
#10 Posted : Thursday, July 01, 2010 9:24:03 AM

So for them to pay taxes they have to pass a billd that increases theur salaries?? Do we really have leaders in that August house that care for the welfare of Kenyans..eg Teachers who apparently are not going to be paid their dues?
They are soo useless...its unbelievable!!
Think the unthinkable but wear a dark suit
Soko tele
#11 Posted : Thursday, July 01, 2010 9:52:32 AM

Another reason why i will vote NO. ......the draft is doubling MPS and if it passes we will be spending over 8Bn is MP salaries alone.
God Save Kenya

Fundaah
#12 Posted : Thursday, July 01, 2010 10:06:27 AM

Soko tele wrote:
Another reason why i will vote NO. ......the draft is doubling MPS and if it passes we will be spending over 8Bn is MP salaries alone.
God Save Kenya

On the contrary there is a new institution ..in the draft .....the Salaries and Remuneration Commission, which would set and review salaries and benefits of all state officers – which means that MPs will no longer fix their own salaries (Art.230). And any law passed by Parliament that benefits members of parliament as such (not just because they are also members of the public) could not come into effect until after the following general election (Art. 116(3)) – so that the voters have the chance to throw out the MPs who have benefited themselves in this way before they have reaped the benefit....

Each day I get a better reason to say ....'Yes'
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
#13 Posted : Thursday, July 01, 2010 10:12:43 AM

freiks wrote:
The silly thing has been passed. They could not even blink when doing it! Am sure BAKS will never sign this

What makes you say that?
#14 Posted : Thursday, July 01, 2010 10:27:54 AM

Soko tele wrote:
God Save Kenya

I think we are better off with the new constitution.... what makes you think you are safe with this one when the same MPs have the powers to change the boundaries and dish out constituencies without consulting you? they can increase the numbers and we still wont do anything... As Fundaah says, i think they are trying to beat the constitution by awarding themselves hefty increases so that by the time it passes, it will be odd to review it downwards....

Vote yes with me and we shall have powers to kick the bloody thieves out of their seats if they pull that one on us!
#15 Posted : Thursday, July 01, 2010 10:39:58 AM

...I a tempted not to sympathise with these idiots even when they are sick...!!! Do they even know when I have my head drilled because of falling while fighting to get into a matatu...Silly!!!
Soko tele
#16 Posted : Thursday, July 01, 2010 10:43:13 AM

Fundaah wrote:
Soko tele wrote:
God Save Kenya

On the contrary there is a new institution ..in the draft .....the Salaries and Remuneration Commission, which would set and review salaries and benefits of all state officers – which means that MPs will no longer fix their own salaries (Art.230). And any law passed by Parliament that benefits members of parliament as such (not just because they are also members of the public) could not come into effect until after the following general election (Art. 116(3)) – so that the voters have the chance to throw out the MPs who have benefited themselves in this way before they have reaped the benefit....

Each day I get a better reason to say ....'Yes'

The said institution can't adjust the salaries downwards since the same document says that no benefits that will be adjusted to disfavour the office holders.

peglo
#17 Posted : Thursday, July 01, 2010 10:46:45 AM

I agree with @Wendz. Our society and institutions needs change and our only home for change is via the new constitution. That way we can have a say in the way we are governed including recalling an MP who we feel has gone against what he / she promised during the campaigns.

My vote is a strong YES!!

Soko tele
#18 Posted : Thursday, July 01, 2010 10:47:29 AM

Soko tele wrote:
God Save Kenya

Vote yes with me and we shall have powers to kick the bloody thieves out of their seats if they pull that one on us!

The same MPs will legislates how an MP can be kicked out...........you tell me how objective that ACT will be. I can bet on my boda boda that they will make it near impossible to recall any of their own...........

Fundaah
#19 Posted : Thursday, July 01, 2010 10:53:36 AM

Soko tele wrote:
The said institution can't adjust the salaries downwards since the same document says that no benefits that will be adjusted to disfavour the office holders.

But atleast with the new draft .....they wont have the powers to go higher than where they have put themselves .....With the current constitution and their shameless selves ....they can give themselves more...than the paltry Kshs 8billion
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
kizee
#20 Posted : Thursday, July 01, 2010 11:54:17 AM

Soko tele wrote:
God Save Kenya

I think we are better off with the new constitution.... what makes you think you are safe with this one when the same MPs have the powers to change the boundaries and dish out constituencies without consulting you? they can increase the numbers and we still wont do anything... As Fundaah says, i think they are trying to beat the constitution by awarding themselves hefty increases so that by the time it passes, it will be odd to review it downwards....

...i guess if we have a new constitution we will have to pay these salos for an extra 100 mps ama? so shud we really vote yes on these grounds?