Culture
RIP Joe Kadenge
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/19/2010 Posts: 3,504 Location: Uganda
Impunity wrote:essyk wrote:2012 wrote: May he rest in peace. He was my friend and cab driver for many years. in hurlingham? May he rip. If you make it through jun- Aug thank God. I read here that nature has a way of taking out the aged population. God see us through. I didn't know you are aged. Thanks though. anything above 35 isn't youth anymore.she is right . anyone who has mentioned or heard kadenge na mpira is definitely of age. punda amecheka
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
[quote=Bigchick]We have sat down as a family. We have also estimated the funeral expenses and it comes to KSh 5 million from mortuary to transport of the body to rural home," family spokesman Chris Mbwamba said on Tuesday, July 9. Read more: https://www.tuko.co.ke/3...MPKk3bTxTB3zzNWI#309896[/quote] Peculiar habits of Kenyans. They see you struggle with poverty and disease but want to spend 5m on you after you die. Life is short. Live passionately.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
sparkly wrote:[quote=Bigchick]We have sat down as a family. We have also estimated the funeral expenses and it comes to KSh 5 million from mortuary to transport of the body to rural home," family spokesman Chris Mbwamba said on Tuesday, July 9. Read more: https://www.tuko.co.ke/3...MPKk3bTxTB3zzNWI#309896[/quote] Peculiar habits of Kenyans. They see you struggle with poverty and disease but want to spend 5m on you after you die. And billionaire Bob Collymore spent Zilch on his cremation. I listened to his last interview with Jeff and he was concerned about funeral costs in UK. Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
newfarer wrote:Impunity wrote:essyk wrote:2012 wrote: May he rest in peace. He was my friend and cab driver for many years. in hurlingham? May he rip. If you make it through jun- Aug thank God. I read here that nature has a way of taking out the aged population. God see us through. I didn't know you are aged. Thanks though. anything above 35 isn't youth anymore.she is right . anyone who has mentioned or heard kadenge na mpira is definitely of age. I think some people confuse father and son:Joe and Francis.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/27/2012 Posts: 2,256 Location: Bandalungwa
The likes of Kadenge ended up living in poverty largely due to exploitation. In those days Moi and Jomo would award cash prices to sports achievers. But the money would disappear into the pockets of officials before it ever made it to the intended recipient. Players were often forbidden from endorsements and prize money unless sports bigwigs got a cut.
Things have improved but slightly. Even recently at the 2016 Olympics, NOCK officials went home with millions of Ksh each while the team went without uniforms, lived in a squalid hotel and technical staff had to beg for food.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
newfarer wrote:Impunity wrote:essyk wrote:2012 wrote: May he rest in peace. He was my friend and cab driver for many years. in hurlingham? May he rip. If you make it through jun- Aug thank God. I read here that nature has a way of taking out the aged population. God see us through. I didn't know you are aged. Thanks though. anything above 35 isn't youth anymore.she is right . anyone who has mentioned or heard kadenge na mpira is definitely of age. Kadenge died aged 84 yrs meaning he was born in 1935. He must have been at his prime playing up to 35yrs. So does this mean wazuans were watching him play in 1970?
hardwood wrote:newfarer wrote:Impunity wrote:essyk wrote:2012 wrote: May he rest in peace. He was my friend and cab driver for many years. in hurlingham? May he rip. If you make it through jun- Aug thank God. I read here that nature has a way of taking out the aged population. God see us through. I didn't know you are aged. Thanks though. anything above 35 isn't youth anymore.she is right . anyone who has mentioned or heard kadenge na mpira is definitely of age. Kadenge died aged 84 yrs meaning he was born in 1935. He must have been at his prime playing up to 35yrs. So does this mean wazuans were watching him play in 1970? No wazuan saw Joe Kadenge play. A few saw his son Francis play for AFC in the 1980s and most must have seen his other sons including Oscar in late 90s. Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/8/2013 Posts: 4,068 Location: At Large.
hardwood wrote:newfarer wrote:Impunity wrote:essyk wrote:2012 wrote: May he rest in peace. He was my friend and cab driver for many years. in hurlingham? May he rip. If you make it through jun- Aug thank God. I read here that nature has a way of taking out the aged population. God see us through. I didn't know you are aged. Thanks though. anything above 35 isn't youth anymore.she is right . anyone who has mentioned or heard kadenge na mpira is definitely of age. Kadenge died aged 84 yrs meaning he was born in 1935. He must have been at his prime playing up to 35yrs. So does this mean wazuans were watching him play in 1970? No most did not see him play,but he was a household name and footbalk/soccer was referred to as Kadenge na Mpira. If I remember well there was an advert for sawa ya misuli done on radio with Leonard Mambo Mbotelas voice over........ Love is beautiful and so are those who share it.With Love, Marriage is an amazing event in ones life time, the foundation of joy, happiness and success.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/20/2011 Posts: 1,820 Location: Nakuru
Alba wrote:The likes of Kadenge ended up living in poverty largely due to exploitation. In those days Moi and Jomo would award cash prices to sports achievers. But the money would disappear into the pockets of officials before it ever made it to the intended recipient. Players were often forbidden from endorsements and prize money unless sports bigwigs got a cut.
Things have improved but slightly. Even recently at the 2016 Olympics, NOCK officials went home with millions of Ksh each while the team went without uniforms, lived in a squalid hotel and technical staff had to beg for food. Joe Kadenge served as Team manager of Harambee stars in the late 80's when Arap Moi would perform the ritual of pepeta-ing the ball 10 times before the start of Harambee stars matches and then lift his rungu to cheering masses. This implies that he was one of the officials that exploited akina Peter Dawo, Sammy Onyango Jogoo, George Zangi Okello, David Kamongo Ochieng etc...If you look at those photos, you will see he was mtu round fupi an indicator that life was good. What Kenya should do is educate these sportspeople, actors, musician how to make hay while the sun shines ...they should be made to understand early in their careers that Kenyan taxpayers owe them nothing because every Kenyan i believe is trying to make ends meet and it is not easy. Hii culture ya reparations should end immediately otherwise the likes of Mbusi-deh, Mbonokoh-deh and Githeri-man and any other random man or woman might blame my kids for not taking care of them in the future just because they coined the term "Kuhololiwa" or "Kadenge na mpira" or played for Harambee stars that never won any notable honors etc. Afterall, Kadenge has never lifted AFCON or major football cup in Africa(CECAFA sio okombe). The only people who have brought glory are Shujaa(kenya 7's),Gor Mahia, Eliud Kipchoge and a host of other athletes who have broken world records and dominated races such as the 3000m steeplechase to the extent of it known as the "Kenyan race" worldwide. Kenya must lift the bar of what national glory is, and define clearly with no uncertain terms who a national hero is. Again, i reiterate my respect for the man for being an elder and his contribution in nation building just as i respect wazuans who wake up early everyday to build the nation and create employment for two or three Kenyans hapa na pale etc. Ni hayo tu kwa sasa. Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
Fyatu wrote:Alba wrote:The likes of Kadenge ended up living in poverty largely due to exploitation. In those days Moi and Jomo would award cash prices to sports achievers. But the money would disappear into the pockets of officials before it ever made it to the intended recipient. Players were often forbidden from endorsements and prize money unless sports bigwigs got a cut.
Things have improved but slightly. Even recently at the 2016 Olympics, NOCK officials went home with millions of Ksh each while the team went without uniforms, lived in a squalid hotel and technical staff had to beg for food. Joe Kadenge served as Team manager of Harambee stars in the late 80's when Arap Moi would perform the ritual of pepeta-ing the ball 10 times before the start of Harambee stars matches and then lift his rungu to cheering masses. This implies that he was one of the officials that exploited akina Peter Dawo, Sammy Onyango Jogoo, George Zangi Okello, David Kamongo Ochieng etc...If you look at those photos, you will see he was mtu round fupi an indicator that life was good. What Kenya should do is educate these sportspeople, actors, musician how to make hay while the sun shines ...they should be made to understand early in their careers that Kenyan taxpayers owe them nothing because every Kenyan i believe is trying to make ends meet and it is not easy. Hii culture ya reparations should end immediately otherwise the likes of Mbusi-deh, Mbonokoh-deh and Githeri-man and any other random man or woman might blame my kids for not taking care of them in the future just because they coined the term "Kuhololiwa" or "Kadenge na mpira" or played for Harambee stars that never won any notable honors etc. Afterall, Kadenge has never lifted AFCON or major football cup in Africa(CECAFA sio okombe). The only people who have brought glory are Shujaa(kenya 7's),Gor Mahia, Eliud Kipchoge and a host of other athletes who have broken world records and dominated races such as the 3000m steeplechase to the extent of it known as the "Kenyan race" worldwide. Kenya must lift the bar of what national glory is, and define clearly with no uncertain terms who a national hero is. Again, i reiterate my respect for the man for being an elder and his contribution in nation building just as i respect wazuans who wake up early everyday to build the nation and create employment for two or three Kenyans hapa na pale etc. Ni hayo tu kwa sasa. Kadenge was not poor by Kenya standards. He had a family and lived to old age. Others have not been so lucky.Former Tusker striker Patrick Nachok was found dead on the streets on August 3, 2002. His body was taken to Nairobi City Mortuary where it stayed unclaimed for over a month.Davies Oyiela and Henry Omondi of AFC also died young. Henry omondi's body was transported in a tipper lorry from Nairobi to Western Kenya.Ken Simuyu who scored against Nigeria in late 90s also died of illicit drink complications. Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
kaka2za wrote:Fyatu wrote:Alba wrote:The likes of Kadenge ended up living in poverty largely due to exploitation. In those days Moi and Jomo would award cash prices to sports achievers. But the money would disappear into the pockets of officials before it ever made it to the intended recipient. Players were often forbidden from endorsements and prize money unless sports bigwigs got a cut.
Things have improved but slightly. Even recently at the 2016 Olympics, NOCK officials went home with millions of Ksh each while the team went without uniforms, lived in a squalid hotel and technical staff had to beg for food. Joe Kadenge served as Team manager of Harambee stars in the late 80's when Arap Moi would perform the ritual of pepeta-ing the ball 10 times before the start of Harambee stars matches and then lift his rungu to cheering masses. This implies that he was one of the officials that exploited akina Peter Dawo, Sammy Onyango Jogoo, George Zangi Okello, David Kamongo Ochieng etc...If you look at those photos, you will see he was mtu round fupi an indicator that life was good. What Kenya should do is educate these sportspeople, actors, musician how to make hay while the sun shines ...they should be made to understand early in their careers that Kenyan taxpayers owe them nothing because every Kenyan i believe is trying to make ends meet and it is not easy. Hii culture ya reparations should end immediately otherwise the likes of Mbusi-deh, Mbonokoh-deh and Githeri-man and any other random man or woman might blame my kids for not taking care of them in the future just because they coined the term "Kuhololiwa" or "Kadenge na mpira" or played for Harambee stars that never won any notable honors etc. Afterall, Kadenge has never lifted AFCON or major football cup in Africa(CECAFA sio okombe). The only people who have brought glory are Shujaa(kenya 7's),Gor Mahia, Eliud Kipchoge and a host of other athletes who have broken world records and dominated races such as the 3000m steeplechase to the extent of it known as the "Kenyan race" worldwide. Kenya must lift the bar of what national glory is, and define clearly with no uncertain terms who a national hero is. Again, i reiterate my respect for the man for being an elder and his contribution in nation building just as i respect wazuans who wake up early everyday to build the nation and create employment for two or three Kenyans hapa na pale etc. Ni hayo tu kwa sasa. Kadenge was not poor by Kenya standards. He had a family and lived to old age. Others have not been so lucky.Former Tusker striker Patrick Nachok was found dead on the streets on August 3, 2002. His body was taken to Nairobi City Mortuary where it stayed unclaimed for over a month.Davies Oyiela and Henry Omondi of AFC also died young. Henry omondi's body was transported in a tipper lorry from Nairobi to Western Kenya.Ken Simuyu who scored against Nigeria in late 90s also died of illicit drink complications. Team sports in Kenya are career disasters. If you are Kenyan, you are best in individual sports or you get lucky and get picked by a team in a foreign league like Wanyama. Kenya government has too many issues to care for youth and sports. BBI will solve it :)
Fyatu wrote:
Joe Kadenge served as Team manager of Harambee stars in the late 80's when Arap Moi would perform the ritual of pepeta-ing the ball 10 times before the start of Harambee stars matches and then lift his rungu to cheering masses. This implies that he was one of the officials that exploited akina Peter Dawo, Sammy Onyango Jogoo, George Zangi Okello, David Kamongo Ochieng etc...If you look at those photos, you will see he was mtu round fupi an indicator that life was good.
What Kenya should do is educate these sportspeople, actors, musician how to make hay while the sun shines ...they should be made to understand early in their careers that Kenyan taxpayers owe them nothing because every Kenyan i believe is trying to make ends meet and it is not easy.
Hii culture ya reparations should end immediately otherwise the likes of Mbusi-deh, Mbonokoh-deh and Githeri-man and any other random man or woman might blame my kids for not taking care of them in the future just because they coined the term "Kuhololiwa" or "Kadenge na mpira" or played for Harambee stars that never won any notable honors etc. Afterall, Kadenge has never lifted AFCON or major football cup in Africa(CECAFA sio okombe). The only people who have brought glory are Shujaa(kenya 7's),Gor Mahia, Eliud Kipchoge and a host of other athletes who have broken world records and dominated races such as the 3000m steeplechase to the extent of it known as the "Kenyan race" worldwide.
Kenya must lift the bar of what national glory is, and define clearly with no uncertain terms who a national hero is. Again, i reiterate my respect for the man for being an elder and his contribution in nation building just as i respect wazuans who wake up early everyday to build the nation and create employment for two or three Kenyans hapa na pale etc.
Ni hayo tu kwa sasa.
Your post misrepresent Kadenge and did not address the issue I raised. In fact technical bench officials are the most exploited group. Ask anyone who has been coach or team manager in Kenya and they will tell you that they are still owed money. This includes big coaches like Amrouche. The people who pocket the money are the federation and ministry officials. For example, at the Olympics, technical staff like Anzrah who coincidentally is Kadenges brother had to beg for food while Arap Soi, the NOCK chairman pocketed millions of sponsorship money from Nike. I'm not asking for reparations. I'm asking that we stop exploiting players. Instead invest the money in developing players and providing them infrastructure and paying players what they deserve. In the 1980s for example, Abbas had an endorsement deal with Orbitsports. He had to forfeit a cut to federation officials. I agree that Kadenge is a tad overrated. In terms of achievement, Mulamba, Ayoyi, Dawo Oliech, Ogolla, Abbas ...... achieved far more for the country.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/20/2011 Posts: 1,820 Location: Nakuru
Alba wrote:Fyatu wrote:
Joe Kadenge served as Team manager of Harambee stars in the late 80's when Arap Moi would perform the ritual of pepeta-ing the ball 10 times before the start of Harambee stars matches and then lift his rungu to cheering masses. This implies that he was one of the officials that exploited akina Peter Dawo, Sammy Onyango Jogoo, George Zangi Okello, David Kamongo Ochieng etc...If you look at those photos, you will see he was mtu round fupi an indicator that life was good.
What Kenya should do is educate these sportspeople, actors, musician how to make hay while the sun shines ...they should be made to understand early in their careers that Kenyan taxpayers owe them nothing because every Kenyan i believe is trying to make ends meet and it is not easy.
Hii culture ya reparations should end immediately otherwise the likes of Mbusi-deh, Mbonokoh-deh and Githeri-man and any other random man or woman might blame my kids for not taking care of them in the future just because they coined the term "Kuhololiwa" or "Kadenge na mpira" or played for Harambee stars that never won any notable honors etc. Afterall, Kadenge has never lifted AFCON or major football cup in Africa(CECAFA sio okombe). The only people who have brought glory are Shujaa(kenya 7's),Gor Mahia, Eliud Kipchoge and a host of other athletes who have broken world records and dominated races such as the 3000m steeplechase to the extent of it known as the "Kenyan race" worldwide.
Kenya must lift the bar of what national glory is, and define clearly with no uncertain terms who a national hero is. Again, i reiterate my respect for the man for being an elder and his contribution in nation building just as i respect wazuans who wake up early everyday to build the nation and create employment for two or three Kenyans hapa na pale etc.
Ni hayo tu kwa sasa.
Your post misrepresent Kadenge and did not address the issue I raised. In fact technical bench officials are the most exploited group. Ask anyone who has been coach or team manager in Kenya and they will tell you that they are still owed money. This includes big coaches like Amrouche. The people who pocket the money are the federation and ministry officials. For example, at the Olympics, technical staff like Anzrah who coincidentally is Kadenges brother had to beg for food while Arap Soi pocketed millions of sponsorship money from Nike. I'm not asking for reparations. I'm asking that we stop exploiting players. Instead invest the money in developing players and providing them infrastructure and paying players what they deserve. In the 1980s for example, Abbas had an endorsement deal with Orbitsports. He had to forfeit a cut to federation officials. I agree that Kadenge is a tad overrated. In terms of achievement, Mulamba, Ayoyi, Dawo Oliech, Ogolla, Abbas ...... achieved far more for the country. Fair enough...i had missed your point a big one Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
2012 wrote:[quote=kaka2za]
[quote=Fyatu]
Team sports in Kenya are career disasters. If you are Kenyan, you are best in individual sports or you get lucky and get picked by a team in a foreign league like Wanyama. Kenya government has too many issues to care for youth and sports. Government is largely to blame. They are the ones who condone corruption and they are the ones who always appoint incompetent sports ministers like Echesa. The mentality is that sports are just a joke so even illiterate people can be appointed Government need not fund sports. There is enough sponsorship money. But many sponsors like safaricom and sportpesa have withdrawn sponsorship due to official corruption. Nike alone sponsored NOCK to the tune of $5.7 million which was Ksh 587 million. And where are the Olympic development programs? This money could be used to train future Olympians while they are still in secondary school. Why does the sports minister allow kina Arap Soi to pocket this money? Sports minister wario was actually furious with a journalist who asked him questions about the Rio scandal . That's what happens when you appoint a sport minister who doesn't even care about sports
Rank: New-farer Joined: 12/23/2018 Posts: 38 Location: germany
Rest in peace, legendary Joe. He was the greatest football player Kenia ever had! Truly an inspirational person. He will forewer stay in our hearts and midns
Yliett wrote:Rest in peace, legendary Joe. He was the greatest football player Kenia ever had! Truly an inspirational person. He will forewer stay in our hearts and midns really?
Culture
RIP Joe Kadenge