wazua Sun, Jan 5, 2025

Traditional Kenya
#1 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2019 7:55:41 PM

100 years ago! We have come a long way....this is the Akamba.

The Kavirondo

#2 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2019 9:42:39 PM

And the way the kavirondoans (joluo) boast about their expensive English suits and German automobiles. One would think they discovered Mercedes and suits. Kumbe they were walking naked just the other day. Shame!
Sansa
#3 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2019 11:41:06 PM

And the way the kavirondoans (joluo) boast about their expensive English suits and German automobiles. One would think they discovered Mercedes and suits. Kumbe they were walking naked just the other day. Shame!

Why shame? You think they were the only naked ones?
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2019 12:31:07 AM

Sansa wrote:

Why shame? You think they were the only naked ones?

They were naked but sparkling clean.

hamburglar
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2019 3:12:47 AM

What kind of hateful observation is this? Some people here are undercover tribalists who can’t hide their spite for some tribes.
Iganamagana
#6 Posted : Friday, June 21, 2019 7:54:29 AM

Shame? Who amongst the Kenyan people wasn't walking naked? I remember there were boys in my boyhood who didn't wear shorts but had long shirts.Shorts were meant for school.
#7 Posted : Friday, June 21, 2019 9:25:04 AM

Shame? Shame on you, tribal bigot!
thuks
#8 Posted : Friday, June 21, 2019 9:53:59 AM

Shak wrote:

Shame? Shame on you, tribal bigot!

True @shak
I care!
#9 Posted : Friday, June 21, 2019 10:14:12 AM

Yaani one can't make a factual statement without being branded a tribalist?

#10 Posted : Friday, June 21, 2019 11:17:48 AM

I think mwafrika has a mental problem. How could one mzungu make 20 africans to happily carry him around for hundreds of miles though the african bush as he explored Africa?

#11 Posted : Friday, June 21, 2019 11:36:07 AM

This is why i respect Idi Amin Dada, the conquerer of the British Empire, for giving mzungus a taste of their own medicine and restoring dignity to africans. They had to kneel before him and carry him around. Amin akikohoa mzungu anaitika. But because it was so embarrassing for mzungu they started calling him a buffoon who was mentally unstable. Mzungu couldn't believe the turn of events.

#12 Posted : Saturday, June 22, 2019 11:33:29 AM

I think mwafrika has a mental problem. How could one mzungu make 20 africans to happily carry him around for hundreds of miles though the african bush as he explored Africa?

There's little reason to believe the interpretation you're giving to the picture is necessarily true for all times and all contexts.

Finally, I think we should reexamine what we mean by 'mental problems'. A person with a mental problem can't be happy. If Africans were happy to do a task that you find annoying, why do you think it's your prerogative to assume that you have a better mental status?

In this case I believe that you're actually the one with a mental problem. A serious one at that if you consider how you're projecting values with authority and violence...
#13 Posted : Sunday, June 23, 2019 5:44:24 AM

Mombasa 1920...buzzing with activity

#14 Posted : Sunday, June 23, 2019 5:54:01 AM

This is why i respect Idi Amin Dada, the conquerer of the British Empire, for giving mzungus a taste of their own medicine and restoring dignity to africans. They had to kneel before him and carry him around. Amin akikohoa mzungu anaitika. But because it was so embarrassing for mzungu they started calling him a buffoon who was mentally unstable. Mzungu couldn't believe the turn of events.

small and pointless victories.
#15 Posted : Sunday, June 23, 2019 1:11:44 PM

There's little reason to believe the interpretation you're giving to the picture is necessarily true for all times and all contexts.

Finally, I think we should reexamine what we mean by 'mental problems'. A person with a mental problem can't be happy. If Africans were happy to do a task that you find annoying, why do you think it's your prerogative to assume that you have a better mental status?

In this case I believe that you're actually the one with a mental problem. A serious one at that if you consider how you're projecting values with authority and violence...

O U C H !
#16 Posted : Sunday, June 23, 2019 9:34:30 PM

Porters were usually paid
#17 Posted : Monday, June 24, 2019 7:52:13 AM

small and pointless victories.

@mavegs, step aside, this is not for you, you are a coward of the county...