US universities locking out Chinese students
#21 Posted : Wednesday, June 05, 2019 7:34:40 PM

Rollout wrote:
Am really wondering what you are talking about d'oh! . The Jack Ma they keep talking of and even the "Huawei daughter" are Harvard graduates, practically every rich Chinese educates their child in the US and all great scientist innovators have been there. Why? In China, you are not allowed to "think" about some things or even "know" some things like tianaman square etc. "Academic Freedom" is a monster that really fights back! You cannot build great academic institution's without allowing people to think (debate) freely. Socrates was killed because of thinking and sharing his thoughts, teaching westerners to think which they live on till today, John the baptist and even Christ ( i.e God himself), the temple was then an academic institution where the sanhendrin sent people to trap him with "questions" and the academic freedom there enabled him to answer everything leaving them with only option to way lay him outside "politically" by paying a mob of political sycophants to "boo him", rather than discuss. You are not allowed to use google, or facebook, yet people complain when the US takes a little similar action on China. It's some slavery of sorts. How can you have "good universities" without "Academic Freedom", uwongo.. If you have something "noteworthy" to say, you are free to do it in an American institution, so intellectuals are pulled there. "The secret to America success today (Americas Secret Weapon) is the H1B visa" Dr. Michio Kaku, Re-known Theoretical Physicist/Scientist.

The Chinese situation is of course very sensitive because you don't want a 1 billion people revolt e.t.c in such a huge country that can destabilize the globe, but think about it, is it governments duty to tell you, Don't go to facebook, don't go to google, don't eat pork, don't smoke bhangi, don't drink phombe, don't have another baby, don't wear a short skirt, don't read the bible, e.t.c as if you are a baby. Even if you declare you are controlling people in God's name, will God be then obligated to accept all your citizen's into heaven? Government cannot be therefore a "religious sponsor", those who want to worship Satan must be allowed to do so as long as they don't interfere with anyone. What is governments work and what are it's limits? Adam Smith after studying several historians, said it is 1. To make sure no one interferes with the other personal freedom and space, including outsiders coming to interfere with your freedom, i.e defence 2. To meet the expenses which an individual( including enterprise e.t.c) cannot meet, in Kenya an example is transport infrastructure, buying all wananchi condoms e.t.c. Lecturing adults about what they should do within their personal space can never ever be governments job and perpetuating such think is only prolonging/to post-pone failure.

China has to think fast and Change first and adopt a peaceful, free atmosphere and promote peace - not militarism and threatening Japan and global security over a boundary dispute - as the long term solution to their problem.

I keep telling people. America shall die because of Trump. Actually America is dead. They just don't know it yet.

I know personally what makes America great. Not the movies. The people. All of them.

Now how can we do that in Kenya and replicate it and multiply it?

If you have never lived in USA you are allowed to make those comments, US is so far apart from other countries that it will take China a century to get to where US is. Name another country that 1000s of self-made multi-Millionaires of under 30 pops up every year. Name another country where over 50 universities have billions of dollars of endowments for research, basically their funding will never run dry and don't need government to support it's research. Name another country where almost half of over 16 year old high school students drive their own cars to high school. Name another country where median household income is over $50,000 per year. Name another country where the entire health system is self sustaining without Government grants. Name another country whose minimum hourly pay is in double digit. The commerce that goes on in USA is unmatched by any other economy in the world.

Which America are you talking about?

The largest shares of total health spending were sponsored by the federal government (28.1 percent) and the households (28.0 percent). The private business share of health spending accounted for 19.9 percent of total health care spending, state and local governments accounted for 17.1 percent, and other private revenues accounted for 6.8 percent.

Most Kenyans who go to America go to the coastal areas and more so big cities. Most are also college graduates. Many are also too busy working to interact with ordinary Americans to understand just how their country works.

68% of US adults do not have a college degree and they live a different life than the one a college educated graduate working in the financial industry lives. Spend some time in small town USA and you will see a different America. Wacha kukaa tu New york city, tembea Lima OH, South Bend Indiana, Florence SC, Jackson TN etc. Meet and talk to people who have never seen the ocean.

The government sponsored program is called Medicare, you pay into the program during your working years and receive the benefit when you turn 65 years; I am paying for medicare right now even when I am not using it. The local government is called Medicaid, you get the benefit if you fall below poverty line ( ~ $19,000-25,000 per year or you are disable, every working person pays a tax to fund Medicaid program, I am paying into the program even though I am not using it. In short, the government is collecting money for the working population and administering the program, the government is not giving grants for these. NHS in UK is different

You don't need college degree to succeed in USA. The biggest problems a lot of Kenyans here struggle with is they are unable to disconnect from Kenya education system that's why you can find a Kenya in USA with a PhD and doesn't have a professional job. Kenyans a lot of time default to getting more degrees instead of getting that first job after undergraduate, I know Kenyans who were applying for masters before they finished their undergraduate when their classmates were applying for internships and first jobs. What I tell young Kenyans in US is, don't get your masters until you have at least 4 years of professional work experience. Don't graduate until you have at least 3 months of internship. Forget about extra classes during summer breaks and go find some work.

You said that the US healthcare system runs without Government grant. I put it to you that Medicare and Medicaid are government grants regardless of your explanation of how they are funded. Once the government takes your money it is gone forever and it counts as government revenue.

You say you pay into Medicare and you will receive the service once you reach 65. Tell me, do you get a statement from the government telling you how much you have contributed so that you know how much you have to spend when you reach 65? If you live to be 90 years old and have not gone to hospital will the government give you a check because they had taken money from you and you did not spend it? Can you tell the government, I don't want to be taken care of when I reach 65, Mimi nitajipanga, so I don't want to pay this Medicare deduction? If the answer in no to all the above then whatever the government takes from you is called tax regardless of the name of the deduction you see on your paycheck. The UK government may not have a line on the paycheck deduction that reads NHS but it still comes from taxes.
#22 Posted : Wednesday, June 05, 2019 8:03:29 PM

Rollout wrote:
Am really wondering what you are talking about d'oh! . The Jack Ma they keep talking of and even the "Huawei daughter" are Harvard graduates, practically every rich Chinese educates their child in the US and all great scientist innovators have been there. Why? In China, you are not allowed to "think" about some things or even "know" some things like tianaman square etc. "Academic Freedom" is a monster that really fights back! You cannot build great academic institution's without allowing people to think (debate) freely. Socrates was killed because of thinking and sharing his thoughts, teaching westerners to think which they live on till today, John the baptist and even Christ ( i.e God himself), the temple was then an academic institution where the sanhendrin sent people to trap him with "questions" and the academic freedom there enabled him to answer everything leaving them with only option to way lay him outside "politically" by paying a mob of political sycophants to "boo him", rather than discuss. You are not allowed to use google, or facebook, yet people complain when the US takes a little similar action on China. It's some slavery of sorts. How can you have "good universities" without "Academic Freedom", uwongo.. If you have something "noteworthy" to say, you are free to do it in an American institution, so intellectuals are pulled there. "The secret to America success today (Americas Secret Weapon) is the H1B visa" Dr. Michio Kaku, Re-known Theoretical Physicist/Scientist.

The Chinese situation is of course very sensitive because you don't want a 1 billion people revolt e.t.c in such a huge country that can destabilize the globe, but think about it, is it governments duty to tell you, Don't go to facebook, don't go to google, don't eat pork, don't smoke bhangi, don't drink phombe, don't have another baby, don't wear a short skirt, don't read the bible, e.t.c as if you are a baby. Even if you declare you are controlling people in God's name, will God be then obligated to accept all your citizen's into heaven? Government cannot be therefore a "religious sponsor", those who want to worship Satan must be allowed to do so as long as they don't interfere with anyone. What is governments work and what are it's limits? Adam Smith after studying several historians, said it is 1. To make sure no one interferes with the other personal freedom and space, including outsiders coming to interfere with your freedom, i.e defence 2. To meet the expenses which an individual( including enterprise e.t.c) cannot meet, in Kenya an example is transport infrastructure, buying all wananchi condoms e.t.c. Lecturing adults about what they should do within their personal space can never ever be governments job and perpetuating such think is only prolonging/to post-pone failure.

China has to think fast and Change first and adopt a peaceful, free atmosphere and promote peace - not militarism and threatening Japan and global security over a boundary dispute - as the long term solution to their problem.

I keep telling people. America shall die because of Trump. Actually America is dead. They just don't know it yet.

I know personally what makes America great. Not the movies. The people. All of them.

If you have never lived in USA you are allowed to make those comments, US is so far apart from other countries that it will take China a century to get to where US is. Name another country that 1000s of self-made multi-Millionaires of under 30 pops up every year. Name another country where over 50 universities have billions of dollars of endowments for research, basically their funding will never run dry and don't need government to support it's research. Name another country where almost half of over 16 year old high school students drive their own cars to high school. Name another country where median household income is over $50,000 per year. Name another country where the entire health system is self sustaining without Government grants. Name another country whose minimum hourly pay is in double digit. The commerce that goes on in USA is unmatched by any other economy in the world.

The largest shares of total health spending were sponsored by the federal government (28.1 percent) and the households (28.0 percent). The private business share of health spending accounted for 19.9 percent of total health care spending, state and local governments accounted for 17.1 percent, and other private revenues accounted for 6.8 percent.

Most Kenyans who go to America go to the coastal areas and more so big cities. Most are also college graduates. Many are also too busy working to interact with ordinary Americans to understand just how their country works.

68% of US adults do not have a college degree and they live a different life than the one a college educated graduate working in the financial industry lives. Spend some time in small town USA and you will see a different America. Wacha kukaa tu New york city, tembea Lima OH, South Bend Indiana, Florence SC, Jackson TN etc. Meet and talk to people who have never seen the ocean.

The government sponsored program is called Medicare, you pay into the program during your working years and receive the benefit when you turn 65 years; I am paying for medicare right now even when I am not using it. The local government is called Medicaid, you get the benefit if you fall below poverty line ( ~ $19,000-25,000 per year or you are disable, every working person pays a tax to fund Medicaid program, I am paying into the program even though I am not using it. In short, the government is collecting money for the working population and administering the program, the government is not giving grants for these. NHS in UK is different

You don't need college degree to succeed in USA. The biggest problems a lot of Kenyans here struggle with is they are unable to disconnect from Kenya education system that's why you can find a Kenya in USA with a PhD and doesn't have a professional job. Kenyans a lot of time default to getting more degrees instead of getting that first job after undergraduate, I know Kenyans who were applying for masters before they finished their undergraduate when their classmates were applying for internships and first jobs. What I tell young Kenyans in US is, don't get your masters until you have at least 4 years of professional work experience. Don't graduate until you have at least 3 months of internship. Forget about extra classes during summer breaks and go find some work.

You said that the US healthcare system runs without Government grant. I put it to you that Medicare and Medicaid are government grants regardless of your explanation of how they are funded. Once the government takes your money it is gone forever and it counts as government revenue.

You say you pay into Medicare and you will receive the service once you reach 65. Tell me, do you get a statement from the government telling you how much you have contributed so that you know how much you have to spend when you reach 65? If you live to be 90 years old and have not gone to hospital will the government give you a check because they had taken money from you and you did not spend it? Can you tell the government, I don't want to be taken care of when I reach 65, Mimi nitajipanga, so I don't want to pay this Medicare deduction? If the answer in no to all the above then whatever the government takes from you is called tax regardless of the name of the deduction you see on your paycheck. The UK government may not have a line on the paycheck deduction that reads NHS but it still comes from taxes.

There are 2 requirements to qualify for Medicare
    a) You must have been a U.S. citizen or permanent resident for more than 5 years, AND
    b) You must have paid Medicare taxes for at least 10 years.

If you fulfill these requirements, then you become automatically enrolled into Medicare Part A when you reach the age of 65 and become eligible for Social Security. You’ll also qualify for Medicare Part B, but you’ll need to manually sign-up and get approved for it.

If you are younger than 65 years then you MAY qualify for Medicaid (if you live on the poverty line incomes) unless you are permanently disabled

Its a myth that medicare is free - there are copays and premiums that go with treatment. Premiums are based on how much taxes you have pain in time.

Rollout
#23 Posted : Wednesday, June 05, 2019 8:42:25 PM

Rollout wrote:

That's ridicules, Medicare function just like an insurance product. When you insure you can, do you get your money back when you don't get an accident?
#24 Posted : Wednesday, June 05, 2019 9:17:56 PM

muchr and kusadikika you are arguing with a kid.

Let me tell you again. If health is your issue, please go to Canada. And they are actually better humans than this Trump fella.

There is no America the dream anymore.

You shall waste your life going to the US. Go Europe.

These people are not good. Obama worked on the issue of medicare and medicde on the one point of ":you had a cough when you were 16. Now that you are 60, we can't pay."

US universties are over rated.

Go Europe. you shall get a job kesho..

America is dead and useless. Last time I saw their president, he was tweeting about having lunch with the Queen

Useless!!!!!!!

#25 Posted : Wednesday, June 05, 2019 9:30:43 PM

When government takes your money and you have no option to opt out, it is tax. They can call it anything they want.

They can build the hospital and employ doctors directly like Kenya or the UK or they can pay private hospitals and doctors to take care of you like in the US. In either case you have Government involvement.

In the US they have a convoluted,inefficient and expensive system but even there the Federal, State and City governments combined are the biggest funders of healthcare..... or as Margaret Thatcher would say healthcare is paid by tax payers money.

Rollout
#26 Posted : Wednesday, June 05, 2019 9:46:48 PM

muchr and kusadikika you are arguing with a kid.

Let me tell you again. If health is your issue, please go to Canada. And they are actually better humans than this Trump fella.

There is no America the dream anymore.

You shall waste your life going to the US. Go Europe.

These people are not good. Obama worked on the issue of medicare and medicde on the one point of ":you had a cough when you were 16. Now that you are 60, we can't pay."

US universties are over rated.

Go Europe. you shall get a job kesho..

America is dead and useless. Last time I saw their president, he was tweeting about having lunch with the Queen

Useless!!!!!!!

First, Trump is not the US of A, the country continue to function even when Trump is not doing his job as the President.

Secondly, Obama was not working on Medicare and Medicaid, Obama was working on ACA which is different

Third, I don't know who rates/rank universities so I have no opinion other than to point out that google, facebook, Apple, Amazon, Yahoo, Microsoft are product of work done in US universities by students

Fourth, Western Europe is closely tied together with US in some many ways, if one is dead, all of them are dead

Fifth, Canada is actually a good country, I have significant investments in 2 of their largest weed growers, I also visit Canada a lot to gamble and smoke pot, living in Toronto is like living in NYC, majority of their entrepreneurs live in silicon valley, CA and not Canada.