wazua Mon, Jul 21, 2025

US universities locking out Chinese students
Mseto binti
#1 Posted : Tuesday, June 04, 2019 10:40:52 PM

How far can a tiff be allowed to go? Till it begins to affect the future of a generation? Did not think this Huwaee manenos will get Dump locking out Chinese students out of American unis...Shame on you

Hii upuuus iishe
I found meaningful work🤓
#2 Posted : Wednesday, June 05, 2019 12:30:32 AM

Locking the barn door after the horse has bolted.

https://www.forbes.com/s...fographic/#67a80818268a
#3 Posted : Wednesday, June 05, 2019 9:10:24 AM

That's really low of the US. But China has great universities too.
I now understand what Trump meant by building a wall. It was to enclose and isolate the US. China built a wall, enclosed herself for years and they almost collapsed.

#4 Posted : Wednesday, June 05, 2019 10:15:24 AM

Am really wondering what you are talking about d'oh! . The Jack Ma they keep talking of and even the "Huawei daughter" are Harvard graduates, practically every rich Chinese educates their child in the US and all great scientist innovators have been there. Why? In China, you are not allowed to "think" about some things or even "know" some things like tianaman square etc. "Academic Freedom" is a monster that really fights back! You cannot build great academic institution's without allowing people to think (debate) freely. Socrates was killed because of thinking and sharing his thoughts, teaching westerners to think which they live on till today, John the baptist and even Christ ( i.e God himself), the temple was then an academic institution where the sanhendrin sent people to trap him with "questions" and the academic freedom there enabled him to answer everything leaving them with only option to way lay him outside "politically" by paying a mob of political sycophants to "boo him", rather than discuss. You are not allowed to use google, or facebook, yet people complain when the US takes a little similar action on China. It's some slavery of sorts. How can you have "good universities" without "Academic Freedom", uwongo.. If you have something "noteworthy" to say, you are free to do it in an American institution, so intellectuals are pulled there. "The secret to America success today (Americas Secret Weapon) is the H1B visa" Dr. Michio Kaku, Re-known Theoretical Physicist/Scientist.

The Chinese situation is of course very sensitive because you don't want a 1 billion people revolt e.t.c in such a huge country that can destabilize the globe, but think about it, is it governments duty to tell you, Don't go to facebook, don't go to google, don't eat pork, don't smoke bhangi, don't drink phombe, don't have another baby, don't wear a short skirt, don't read the bible, e.t.c as if you are a baby. Even if you declare you are controlling people in God's name, will God be then obligated to accept all your citizen's into heaven? Government cannot be therefore a "religious sponsor", those who want to worship Satan must be allowed to do so as long as they don't interfere with anyone. What is governments work and what are it's limits? Adam Smith after studying several historians, said it is 1. To make sure no one interferes with the other personal freedom and space, including outsiders coming to interfere with your freedom, i.e defence 2. To meet the expenses which an individual( including enterprise e.t.c) cannot meet, in Kenya an example is transport infrastructure, buying all wananchi condoms e.t.c. Lecturing adults about what they should do within their personal space can never ever be governments job and perpetuating such think is only prolonging/to post-pone failure.

China has to think fast and Change first and adopt a peaceful, free atmosphere and promote peace - not militarism and threatening Japan and global security over a boundary dispute - as the long term solution to their problem.
Meru Holiness
#5 Posted : Wednesday, June 05, 2019 2:47:24 PM

Am really wondering what you are talking about d'oh! . The Jack Ma they keep talking of and even the "Huawei daughter" are Harvard graduates, practically every rich Chinese educates their child in the US and all great scientist innovators have been there. Why? In China, you are not allowed to "think" about some things or even "know" some things like tianaman square etc. "Academic Freedom" is a monster that really fights back! You cannot build great academic institution's without allowing people to think (debate) freely. Socrates was killed because of thinking and sharing his thoughts, teaching westerners to think which they live on till today, John the baptist and even Christ ( i.e God himself), the temple was then an academic institution where the sanhendrin sent people to trap him with "questions" and the academic freedom there enabled him to answer everything leaving them with only option to way lay him outside "politically" by paying a mob of political sycophants to "boo him", rather than discuss. You are not allowed to use google, or facebook, yet people complain when the US takes a little similar action on China. It's some slavery of sorts. How can you have "good universities" without "Academic Freedom", uwongo.. If you have something "noteworthy" to say, you are free to do it in an American institution, so intellectuals are pulled there. "The secret to America success today (Americas Secret Weapon) is the H1B visa" Dr. Michio Kaku, Re-known Theoretical Physicist/Scientist.

The Chinese situation is of course very sensitive because you don't want a 1 billion people revolt e.t.c in such a huge country that can destabilize the globe, but think about it, is it governments duty to tell you, Don't go to facebook, don't go to google, don't eat pork, don't smoke bhangi, don't drink phombe, don't have another baby, don't wear a short skirt, don't read the bible, e.t.c as if you are a baby. Even if you declare you are controlling people in God's name, will God be then obligated to accept all your citizen's into heaven? Government cannot be therefore a "religious sponsor", those who want to worship Satan must be allowed to do so as long as they don't interfere with anyone. What is governments work and what are it's limits? Adam Smith after studying several historians, said it is 1. To make sure no one interferes with the other personal freedom and space, including outsiders coming to interfere with your freedom, i.e defence 2. To meet the expenses which an individual( including enterprise e.t.c) cannot meet, in Kenya an example is transport infrastructure, buying all wananchi condoms e.t.c. Lecturing adults about what they should do within their personal space can never ever be governments job and perpetuating such think is only prolonging/to post-pone failure.

China has to think fast and Change first and adopt a peaceful, free atmosphere and promote peace - not militarism and threatening Japan and global security over a boundary dispute - as the long term solution to their problem.

Hapo umedanganya kidogo.

From Jack Ma's Wikipedia page:

Ma was born on 10 September 1964 in the Chinese calendar, 15 October Gregorian calendar, in Hangzhou, Zhejiang, China. He began studying English at a young age by conversing with English-speakers at Hangzhou international hotel. He would ride 70 miles on his bicycle to give tourists tours of the area to practice his English for nine years. He became pen pals with one of those foreigners, who nicknamed him "Jack" because he found it hard to pronounce his Chinese name.[14]

Later in his youth, Ma struggled attending college. The Chinese entrance exams are held only once a year and Ma took four years to pass. Ma attended Hangzhou Teacher's Institute (currently known as Hangzhou Normal University) and graduated in 1988 with a B.A. in English.[15][16] While at school, Ma was head of the student council.[17] After graduation, he became a lecturer in English and International Trade at Hangzhou Dianzi University.

Business career

Ma applied for 30 different jobs and got rejected by all. "I went for a job with the police; they said, 'you're no good'", Ma told interviewer Charlie Rose. "I even went to KFC when it came to my city. Twenty-four people went for the job. Twenty-three were accepted. I was the only guy ...".[18] In addition to this, he applied ten times to Harvard Business School (HBS) and got rejected.[19]

https://www.businessinsi...me-10-times-2015-9?IR=T

Meng Wanzhou (Daughter of Huawei founder Ren Zhenfei) was born 13 February 1972[9] in Chengdu, Sichuan, China.[10][5] She is the daughter of Ren Zhengfei and his first wife Meng Jun. She adopted her mother's surname when she was 16.[11]

After graduating from college in 1992, she worked for China Construction Bank for a year before joining Huawei, a startup founded by her father, as a secretary.[11][12] She attended graduate school in 1997 and earned a master's degree in accounting from the Huazhong University of Science and Technology.[13] She moved to Vancouver, Canada, and obtained permanent residency in 2001,[14] which expired in 2009.[15] Meng also has had Hong Kong permanent residence since at least 2011.[14]

Pedes
#6 Posted : Wednesday, June 05, 2019 2:51:16 PM

Japan, S. Korea usually act and behave like appendages of US, China is apt to be suspicious of them. Majority of Chinese are contented with their leadership (as long the economy is afloat) as US citizens are content with theirs when it comes to attacks from without. China has the child policies, techs green dam, uighurs discrimination etc, the way US has , violent gun culture, inappropriate black jailing system, mass surveillance etc. The age of unipolar is weakening, bipolar power system will be the norm, unless there is a world war that resets that. As to religion sponsor, US has no qualms with Saudi Arabia or Vatican for that matter.In terms of intellectual curiosity and discourse Greek was exemplary saa hii......
If you stay ready, no need to get ready.
#7 Posted : Wednesday, June 05, 2019 3:43:30 PM

Is it the US locking Unis from China access or its the Chinese govt that advised it's citizens to seek education elsewhere?
#8 Posted : Wednesday, June 05, 2019 3:48:20 PM

I keep telling people. America shall die because of Trump. Actually America is dead. They just don't know it yet.

I know personally what makes America great. Not the movies. The people. All of them.

Now how can we do that in Kenya and replicate it and multiply it?

Rollout
#9 Posted : Wednesday, June 05, 2019 4:35:42 PM

I keep telling people. America shall die because of Trump. Actually America is dead. They just don't know it yet.

I know personally what makes America great. Not the movies. The people. All of them.

If you have never lived in USA you are allowed to make those comments, US is so far apart from other countries that it will take China a century to get to where US is. Name another country that 1000s of self-made multi-Millionaires of under 30 pops up every year. Name another country where over 50 universities have billions of dollars of endowments for research, basically their funding will never run dry and don't need government to support it's research. Name another country where almost half of over 16 year old high school students drive their own cars to high school. Name another country where median household income is over $50,000 per year. Name another country where the entire health system is self sustaining without Government grants. Name another country whose minimum hourly pay is in double digit. The commerce that goes on in USA is unmatched by any other economy in the world.
Sansa
#10 Posted : Wednesday, June 05, 2019 5:16:08 PM

Rollout wrote:
Name another country whose minimum hourly pay is in double digit.

Hourly minimum wage is double digits in the whole country?
#11 Posted : Wednesday, June 05, 2019 5:17:19 PM

Rollout wrote:

If you have never lived in USA you are allowed to make those comments, US is so far apart from other countries that it will take China a century to get to where US is. Name another country that 1000s of self-made multi-Millionaires of under 30 pops up every year. Name another country where over 50 universities have billions of dollars of endowments for research, basically their funding will never run dry and don't need government to support it's research. Name another country where almost half of over 16 year old high school students drive their own cars to high school. Name another country where median household income is over $50,000 per year. Name another country where the entire health system is self sustaining without Government grants. Name another country whose minimum hourly pay is in double digit. The commerce that goes on in USA is unmatched by any other economy in the world.

Unlike someone you like a lot, I work for my money.

Your thesis became useless in your first statement.

You live or try to make a life off $10 an hour in the US, then bring you kiherere here.

The only reason a Kenyan should leave Kenya to go to the US is education and tourism. That country is f***ed up. Go to Canada.

And yes, tell the Embassy guys I said so.

Pedes
#12 Posted : Wednesday, June 05, 2019 5:23:02 PM

Rollout wrote:

\

1. Millionaire population isn't necessarily an indicator of broad national wealth, nor is consumerism

2. "Name another country where median household income is over $50,000 per year", they are quiet a number in Europe.

3. The Us middle class that has long been purveyor and engine of broad US growth is shrinking year in year.

4. A country is destroyed from without unless it is from within, US's waning power is of its own doing.

If you stay ready, no need to get ready.
#13 Posted : Wednesday, June 05, 2019 5:23:03 PM

Rollout wrote:

You live or try to make a life off $10 an hour in the US, then bring you kiherere here.

The only reason a Kenyan should leave Kenya to go to the US is education and tourism. That country is f***ed up. Go to Canada.

@alma kaa ligi yako. @Drunkard aka Rollout was making $100K at 25...he doesn't know what to do with the money any more.

I think Rollout is right in saying any person who has not lived in the US would make an ignorant comment as yours.

America is not likely to die. Even China which is a close 2nd is years from becoming what America is right now. But the US even be greater without the bigot in the WH.
#14 Posted : Wednesday, June 05, 2019 5:28:07 PM

Rollout wrote:

@alma kaa ligi yako.

I think Rollout is right in saying any person who has not lived in the US would make an ignorant comment as yours.

America is not likely to die. Even China which is a close 2nd is years from becoming what America is right now. But the US even be greater without the bigot in the WH.

Ask the CIA who's now lurking on this post. How many years did I live there? They shall tell you.

I know what I'm saying. Go to Canada.

USA, just watch a movie....Hakuna kitu huko. But education and tourism. Fantastic. But you are better of in Europe for both.

#15 Posted : Wednesday, June 05, 2019 5:38:03 PM

Rollout wrote:

@alma kaa ligi yako.

Ask the CIA who's now lurking on this post. How many years did I live there? They shall tell you.

USA, just watch a movie....Hakuna kitu huko. But education and tourism. Fantastic. But you are better of in Europe for both.

I know you lived in Boston but Key word....ignorant comment.
#16 Posted : Wednesday, June 05, 2019 6:06:18 PM

Rollout wrote:

Which America are you talking about?

The largest shares of total health spending were sponsored by the federal government (28.1 percent) and the households (28.0 percent). The private business share of health spending accounted for 19.9 percent of total health care spending, state and local governments accounted for 17.1 percent, and other private revenues accounted for 6.8 percent.

Most Kenyans who go to America go to the coastal areas and more so big cities. Most are also college graduates. Many are also too busy working to interact with ordinary Americans to understand just how their country works.

68% of US adults do not have a college degree and they live a different life than the one a college educated graduate working in the financial industry lives. Spend some time in small town USA and you will see a different America. Wacha kukaa tu New york city, tembea Lima OH, South Bend Indiana, Florence SC, Jackson TN etc. Meet and talk to people who have never seen the ocean.
#17 Posted : Wednesday, June 05, 2019 6:11:49 PM

Rollout wrote:

@alma kaa ligi yako.

I know you lived in Boston but Key word....ignorant comment.

Pole my brasa.

I just get annoyed with these American movie people. I would suggest that Trump is the best thing for the whole world. Not America. He has made people understand that America is the real shit hole country.

@Kusadikika let this young man continue watching movies. As much as health care is bad in Kenya, just get sick one day in stato then let him come to write his story here.

I say and I say again.

Go to Canada. Washana na these racists who's systems are dying.

Rollout
#18 Posted : Wednesday, June 05, 2019 6:57:49 PM

Rollout wrote:

@alma kaa ligi yako.

People who have lived in USA and talk like you are those you went to USA and failed terribly, you can't plan a country for your own failures. USA give you opportunities it's upto a person to take advantage of it. The system that Canada run is no different from the system that US runs the biggest difference is that there is a lot of social handouts in Canada and high tax. If you are a productive person, you want low tax, but again based on you comment I can tell where you fall in. Sorry
Rollout
#19 Posted : Wednesday, June 05, 2019 7:05:25 PM

Rollout wrote:

Which America are you talking about?

The largest shares of total health spending were sponsored by the federal government (28.1 percent) and the households (28.0 percent). The private business share of health spending accounted for 19.9 percent of total health care spending, state and local governments accounted for 17.1 percent, and other private revenues accounted for 6.8 percent.

Most Kenyans who go to America go to the coastal areas and more so big cities. Most are also college graduates. Many are also too busy working to interact with ordinary Americans to understand just how their country works.

68% of US adults do not have a college degree and they live a different life than the one a college educated graduate working in the financial industry lives. Spend some time in small town USA and you will see a different America. Wacha kukaa tu New york city, tembea Lima OH, South Bend Indiana, Florence SC, Jackson TN etc. Meet and talk to people who have never seen the ocean.

The government sponsored program is called Medicare, you pay into the program during your working years and receive the benefit when you turn 65 years; I am paying for medicare right now even when I am not using it. The local government is called Medicaid, you get the benefit if you fall below poverty line ( ~ $19,000-25,000 per year or you are disable, every working person pays a tax to fund Medicaid program, I am paying into the program even though I am not using it. In short, the government is collecting money for the working population and administering the program, the government is not giving grants for these. NHS in UK is different

You don't need college degree to succeed in USA. The biggest problems a lot of Kenyans here struggle with is they are unable to disconnect from Kenya education system that's why you can find a Kenya in USA with a PhD and doesn't have a professional job. Kenyans a lot of time default to getting more degrees instead of getting that first job after undergraduate, I know Kenyans who were applying for masters before they finished their undergraduate when their classmates were applying for internships and first jobs. What I tell young Kenyans in US is, don't get your masters until you have at least 4 years of professional work experience. Don't graduate until you have at least 3 months of internship. Forget about extra classes during summer breaks and go find some work.
#20 Posted : Wednesday, June 05, 2019 7:15:27 PM

The problem in Kenya is watching too many movies.