shylock
gichohi2@yahoo.com
#1 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 3:39:09 PM

need a shylock within nakuru town....anyone aware ? holla 0724651723
#2 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 3:50:17 PM

You can be helped from Nairobi
#3 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 6:44:21 PM

gichohi2@yahoo.com wrote:
want to commit suicide within nakuru town....anyone aware ? holla 0724651723

Corrected!
#4 Posted : Friday, January 28, 2011 2:38:59 PM

Elder wrote:
gichohi2@yahoo.com wrote:
want to commit suicide within nakuru town....anyone aware ? holla 0724651723

Corrected!

K22
#5 Posted : Friday, January 28, 2011 2:42:44 PM

@Gichohi, unataka pesa ngapi? Na collateral ni nini? I might as well diversify since NSE is sooo slow.... *sigh*

A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man
amga
#6 Posted : Saturday, January 29, 2011 10:08:48 PM

kill me quick ur the reason why financial education is important and esp savings!
#7 Posted : Thursday, May 02, 2019 4:12:58 PM

It seems most people with spare/extra money are now in shylock business? Is this biz profitable? From the 3 people I've spoken to who are in this business, they are charging a minimum of 15% PER MONTH!

How desperate are Kenyans to borrow at such unreasonable rates.

The three claim the default rates are minimal and the risk is captured in that 15%.

One of the "investors" whose clients are mainly traders charges 10% per day and the funds have to be refunded on the same day!

If this is a result of interest rate capping law, Raila should listen to Wanjiku and and advise ohuru to remove that stupid law.
#8 Posted : Thursday, May 02, 2019 5:34:11 PM

It seems most people with spare/extra money are now in shylock business? Is this biz profitable? From the 3 people I've spoken to who are in this business, they are charging a minimum of 15% PER MONTH!

The three claim the default rates are minimal and the risk is captured in that 15%.

One of the "investors" whose clients are mainly traders charges 10% per day and the funds have to be refunded on the same day!

If this is a result of interest rate capping law, Raila should listen to Wanjiku and and advise ohuru to remove that stupid law.

Mobile loans are no better and to consider that people move from one provider to the other month on month. Waiting for tom_boy's prediction of the coming doomsday for these loans.
#9 Posted : Thursday, May 02, 2019 9:19:30 PM

Kenya's banks will never figure out how the informal sector operates. Equity almost did and made a ton of money while at it.

Let me give you a real situation.

I met a mama who sells cabbages in one of the estates in Nairobi. A truck delivers 5,000 cabbages twice a week. Her margin is between 10-15 Bob per cabbage.

She tried to borrow money to buy her own truck and the bank declined. And yet she pays over 400K for transport per month. The snobbish young bankers can't understand her business. A visit to her stall took less than 5 minutes. The young bankers couldn't stand the stench of rotten cabbages.

I advised her to talk to one of the strong shylocks. A quick look at her bank and m-pesa statement and she was ushered in to the office of the CEO/owner. They advanced her 2M. She wants to clear their money within 6 months. Cost of credit is an irrelevant factor to her.
#10 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2019 11:33:34 AM

Mobile loans are no better and to consider that people move from one provider to the other month on month. Waiting for tom_boy's prediction of the coming doomsday for these loans.

Heri mobile loans, they charge btn 4-7% p.m
Metaur
#11 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2019 5:06:08 PM

This thread is a real reason as to why financial education is quite important. Many people just go for any shylock, some even charging interests as high as 20%, just out of being desparet. Mobile money lenders like Mshwari and KCB Mpesa, Tala and so on are not any better. Financial education is what can help
ski
#12 Posted : Thursday, June 13, 2019 10:02:34 PM

Do not let your financial problems put you down. Get convenient Payday loans at http://payday-loans-cash-advance.net to get your financial fixes. What more could you ask for?