Ruto and maize
Angelica _ann wrote:limanika wrote:  Who? Whoever deleted the piece you wrote/posted. I was reading it then what? Hahaha don't take all posts too seriously
Rank: Member Joined: 1/15/2015 Posts: 681 Location: Kenya
limanika wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:limanika wrote:  Who? Whoever deleted the piece you wrote/posted. I was reading it then what? Hahaha don't take all posts too seriously Haiya 60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
https://www.the-star.co....o-eldoret-ncpb_c1858050
Quote:A farm owned by the Ruto family is being investigated by the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission over its supply of maize to the National Cereals and Produce Board.
On October 17, the EACC wrote to the Strategic Food Reserve Trust Fund stating that 62 firms or entities were “of particular interest to EACC enquiries”.
One of the 62 entities listed was Koilel Farm Limited which was registered on October 2, 2015 in the name of the Deputy President William Ruto’s wife Rael Chebet Kimeto and son Nicholas Kipkurgat Ruto.
According to the EACC list, Koilel Fam was paid Sh20.8 million for supplying 11,844 bags of maize to the NCPB. The list does not state when the maize was supplied.
Last month Agriculture CS Mwangi Kiunjuri said he had been given names of 21 individuals who delivered ‘air’ to the NCPB silos
hardwood wrote:https://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2018/11/29/ruto-family-sold-maize-to-eldoret-ncpb_c1858050 Quote:A farm owned by the Ruto family is being investigated by the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission over its supply of maize to the National Cereals and Produce Board.
On October 17, the EACC wrote to the Strategic Food Reserve Trust Fund stating that 62 firms or entities were “of particular interest to EACC enquiries”.
One of the 62 entities listed was Koilel Farm Limited which was registered on October 2, 2015 in the name of the Deputy President William Ruto’s wife Rael Chebet Kimeto and son Nicholas Kipkurgat Ruto.
According to the EACC list, Koilel Fam was paid Sh20.8 million for supplying 11,844 bags of maize to the NCPB. The list does not state when the maize was supplied.
Last month Agriculture CS Mwangi Kiunjuri said he had been given names of 21 individuals who delivered ‘air’ to the NCPB silos Supplying air was not just a preserve of the NYS but also Ministry of Agriculture and Livestock??? Isorite. Sooner or later the IPPs and Kengen will soon be supplying air into the national grid...
Baratang wrote:hardwood wrote:https://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2018/11/29/ruto-family-sold-maize-to-eldoret-ncpb_c1858050 Quote:A farm owned by the Ruto family is being investigated by the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission over its supply of maize to the National Cereals and Produce Board.
Last month Agriculture CS Mwangi Kiunjuri said he had been given names of 21 individuals who delivered ‘air’ to the NCPB silos Supplying air was not just a preserve of the NYS but also Ministry of Agriculture and Livestock??? Isorite. Sooner or later the IPPs and Kengen will soon be supplying air into the national grid... @Hardwood, remember being related to people in gava doesn't prevent you from dealing and supplying stuff to gava. This is what you have always advanced as related to UMK and therefore let us not have double standards. I like and approve of this comment in the article > Kroma>>>>>>>>> So, DP Ruto cannot be a maize farmer and sell maize to a government agency that buys maize from farmers????! In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
This maize scandal is a non-starter. The only people you can arrest are employees of NCPB. The 'farmers' are very well connected and critical in funding 2022 elections campaigns. As Kibaki would say "wewe shida tu hapo". Remember in 2011 baba was in a similar maize scandal of 2b? His accuser then was WSR... BBI will solve it :)
2012 wrote:This maize scandal is a non-starter. The only people you can arrest are employees of NCPB. The 'farmers' are very well connected and critical in funding 2022 elections campaigns. As Kibaki would say "wewe shida tu hapo". Remember in 2011 baba was in a similar maize scandal of 2b? His accuser then was WSR... Have never understood why maize farmers are dictating the price at which the Govt should buy their maize at. Why can't they sell at whatever price they want to any willing buyer. Dairy, cabbage, potatoes, tomatoes etc farmers get market prizes and they produce what they can sell or look for ways dispose the rest excess. Maize is going the sugar way soon. "Things that matter most must never be at the mercy of things that matter least." Goethe
Gathige wrote:2012 wrote:This maize scandal is a non-starter. The only people you can arrest are employees of NCPB. The 'farmers' are very well connected and critical in funding 2022 elections campaigns. As Kibaki would say "wewe shida tu hapo". Remember in 2011 baba was in a similar maize scandal of 2b? His accuser then was WSR... Have never understood why maize farmers are dictating the price at which the Govt should buy their maize at. Why can't they sell at whatever price they want to any willing buyer. Dairy, cabbage, potatoes, tomatoes etc farmers get market prizes and they produce what they can sell or look for ways dispose the rest excess. Maize is going the sugar way soon. Because Moi came up with this genius way of rewarding his tribesmen. It's just not practical. How can maize be more expensive than potatoes? You can eat potatoes without accompaniment like in chips, crisps etc. but you need beans or sukuma for maize or the unga. This unga which is not even healthy after processing. BBI will solve it :)
2012 wrote:Gathige wrote:2012 wrote:This maize scandal is a non-starter. The only people you can arrest are employees of NCPB. The 'farmers' are very well connected and critical in funding 2022 elections campaigns. As Kibaki would say "wewe shida tu hapo". Remember in 2011 baba was in a similar maize scandal of 2b? His accuser then was WSR... Have never understood why maize farmers are dictating the price at which the Govt should buy their maize at. Why can't they sell at whatever price they want to any willing buyer. Dairy, cabbage, potatoes, tomatoes etc farmers get market prizes and they produce what they can sell or look for ways dispose the rest excess. Maize is going the sugar way soon. Because Moi came up with this genius way of rewarding his tribesmen. It's just not practical. How can maize be more expensive than potatoes? You can eat potatoes without accompaniment like in chips, crisps etc. but you need beans or sukuma for maize or the unga. This unga which is not even healthy after processing. The other day there was Ndengu Glut in Kitui and Mama Rainbow was looking for market as far as in India without raising hell that Govt should buy the Ndengus at their price. Its time the maize farmers sold their maize to whoever can buy rather than holding everybody by the balls to buy. Its the high time they moved to Avocados as advised by Murkomen. "Things that matter most must never be at the mercy of things that matter least." Goethe
These people have perfected methods of stealing. In sugar industry they import sugar with an aim of making money. They know the sugar imports will kill local sugar industry hurting the common man but they don't care. Eventually the sugar industry dies, and they convince cabinet that what is needed is bail-out. Once the money is released, they ensure it doesn't even reach the factory. It is transfered account to account in the bank. Same story to maize sector. The money stolen, they take peanuts and donate to churches, schools, etc. Rest they buy sycophants to sing praises, store for future campaigns, build mansions, etc.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
The gloves are off..... https://www.the-star.co....s-to-diversify_c1859148
Quote:Deputy President William Ruto has hit out at North Rift politicians who have opposed calls to diversify to other types of farming other than maize.
“I heard some people say the other day that they are not interested in diversification because you cannot put avocados in a store or you cannot feed avocados on initiates," he said.
“People are producing for markets to export while others are thinking of how to produce to go and put in a store. That is how low some people think in our country."
I dont know why people become angry or afraid when a politician tells the truth. Adoption and diversification is the only way. Even in kiambu coffee bushes are being uprooted for real estate developments Politics is just things to keep the people divided and foolish and put your trust in men and none of them can do nothing for you...
mpobiz wrote:I dont know why people become angry or afraid when a politician tells the truth. Adoption and diversification is the only way. Even in kiambu coffee bushes are being uprooted for real estate developments The only politician speaking the truth in this matter is Moses Kuria. Buying maize from Rift is like buying sugarcane from Western. If you can get better quality maize from Uganda and Tanzania for cheaper inclusive of transport then why pay more and oppress the consumer? At some point we need to decide who is more important between the farmer and the consumer and to me, The sustainable answer is obvious. BBI will solve it :)
Rank: Member Joined: 1/15/2015 Posts: 681 Location: Kenya
2012 wrote:mpobiz wrote:I dont know why people become angry or afraid when a politician tells the truth. Adoption and diversification is the only way. Even in kiambu coffee bushes are being uprooted for real estate developments The only politician speaking the truth in this matter is Moses Kuria. Buying maize from Rift is like buying sugarcane from Western. If you can get better quality maize from Uganda and Tanzania for cheaper inclusive of transport then why pay more and oppress the consumer? At some point we need to decide who is more important between the farmer and the consumer and to me, The sustainable answer is obvious. A developing economy should be a producer lead economy. Key question should be; why are Ugandans and Tanzanians producing at such cheaper costs and what can we do to reduce production costs while increasing producer's margins. 60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
Thitifini wrote:2012 wrote:mpobiz wrote:I dont know why people become angry or afraid when a politician tells the truth. Adoption and diversification is the only way. Even in kiambu coffee bushes are being uprooted for real estate developments The only politician speaking the truth in this matter is Moses Kuria. Buying maize from Rift is like buying sugarcane from Western. If you can get better quality maize from Uganda and Tanzania for cheaper inclusive of transport then why pay more and oppress the consumer? At some point we need to decide who is more important between the farmer and the consumer and to me, The sustainable answer is obvious. A developing economy should be a producer lead economy. Key question should be; why are Ugandans and Tanzanians producing at such cheaper costs and what can we do to reduce production costs while increasing producer's margins. The maize dymanics are quite complex and our politicians, for who they are, won't engage in serious analysis. In Kenya, maize is a staple food for human consumption and a major ingredient in animal feeds . A large population Farms the crop for consumption and local trade. This category is normally silent in maize politics. Another section of large scale farmers engage in production for sale to Government, which is a small buyer compared with production. This is the noisiest category as they borrow epensively, have high input costs and cannot breakeven. In places like UG, maize I see not the staple so they will produce it at low cost and sell it like Marenge. "Things that matter most must never be at the mercy of things that matter least." Goethe
Thitifini wrote:2012 wrote:mpobiz wrote:I dont know why people become angry or afraid when a politician tells the truth. Adoption and diversification is the only way. Even in kiambu coffee bushes are being uprooted for real estate developments The only politician speaking the truth in this matter is Moses Kuria. Buying maize from Rift is like buying sugarcane from Western. If you can get better quality maize from Uganda and Tanzania for cheaper inclusive of transport then why pay more and oppress the consumer? At some point we need to decide who is more important between the farmer and the consumer and to me, The sustainable answer is obvious. A developing economy should be a producer lead economy. Key question should be; why are Ugandans and Tanzanians producing at such cheaper costs and what can we do to reduce production costs while increasing producer's margins. It's politics plus the maize producers feeling entitled plus greed. You could ask that again because their fertilizer is subsidized by government from 4,500/- to 1,500/- while Ugandan farmers pay the full cost including taxes (I'm meant to understand) as farming is considered to be not just a business but a profitable one at that. Basically, (and I heard from someone and it makes a lot of sense) the 3,600/- per bag is supposed to cover the losses and loss of income from the year/s of losses due to bad weather that forced us to import Mexican maize. They believe the government is their insurance company. BBI will solve it :)
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
2012 wrote:Thitifini wrote:2012 wrote:mpobiz wrote:I dont know why people become angry or afraid when a politician tells the truth. Adoption and diversification is the only way. Even in kiambu coffee bushes are being uprooted for real estate developments The only politician speaking the truth in this matter is Moses Kuria. Buying maize from Rift is like buying sugarcane from Western. If you can get better quality maize from Uganda and Tanzania for cheaper inclusive of transport then why pay more and oppress the consumer? At some point we need to decide who is more important between the farmer and the consumer and to me, The sustainable answer is obvious. A developing economy should be a producer lead economy. Key question should be; why are Ugandans and Tanzanians producing at such cheaper costs and what can we do to reduce production costs while increasing producer's margins. It's politics plus the maize producers feeling entitled plus greed. You could ask that again because their fertilizer is subsidized by government from 4,500/- to 1,500/- while Ugandan farmers pay the full cost including taxes (I'm meant to understand) as farming is considered to be not just a business but a profitable one at that... Those farmers did not get fertilizers on time. Planting season already passed and they were forced to buy from the dealers at market price.
It's that time again Dr. WSR Njaa imezidi, tuletee mahindi. BBI will solve it :)
Rank: Member Joined: 11/21/2018 Posts: 564 Location: Britain
2012 wrote:It's that time again Dr. WSR Njaa imezidi, tuletee mahindi. Nasikia huyu mjamaa ana shamba la mahindi Indian ocean
Gathige wrote:2012 wrote:Gathige wrote:2012 wrote:This maize scandal is a non-starter. The only people you can arrest are employees of NCPB. The 'farmers' are very well connected and critical in funding 2022 elections campaigns. As Kibaki would say "wewe shida tu hapo". Remember in 2011 baba was in a similar maize scandal of 2b? His accuser then was WSR... Have never understood why maize farmers are dictating the price at which the Govt should buy their maize at. Why can't they sell at whatever price they want to any willing buyer. Dairy, cabbage, potatoes, tomatoes etc farmers get market prizes and they produce what they can sell or look for ways dispose the rest excess. Maize is going the sugar way soon. Because Moi came up with this genius way of rewarding his tribesmen. It's just not practical. How can maize be more expensive than potatoes? You can eat potatoes without accompaniment like in chips, crisps etc. but you need beans or sukuma for maize or the unga. This unga which is not even healthy after processing. The other day there was Ndengu Glut in Kitui and Mama Rainbow was looking for market as far as in India without raising hell that Govt should buy the Ndengus at their price. Its time the maize farmers sold their maize to whoever can buy rather than holding everybody by the balls to buy. Its the high time they moved to Avocados as advised by Murkomen. I hope NCPB has bought enough of this Ndengu given the food shortage we are staring at. Ama Ndengu si cereal?
Ruto and maize