New deduction to fund govt housing plan
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 10,778 Location: NAIROBI
[quote=Lolest!]Maswali hapa Those earning 150K and avove not part of beneficiaries https://bomayangu.go.ke/Faq[/quote] Dead on arrival.This is Jubilee Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/22/2009 Posts: 2,449 Location: Africa
[quote=Lolest!]Maswali hapa Those earning 150K and avove not part of beneficiaries https://bomayangu.go.ke/Faq[/quote] So they'll have to contribute yet will not benefit?
Shak wrote:So they'll have to contribute yet will not benefit? They benefit from the interest credited into their accounts
Have AHP deductions been implemented? I thought the issue was in court They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
tom_boy wrote:Have AHP deductions been implemented? I thought the issue was in court http://edition.pagesuite...-4232-a74f-9c758db772c5
GOK are real jokers. You are registering for houses that they have not even announced location. These guys might wait till they have 5,000,000 people registered then they announce the big project is starting in Isiolo!!! By the way what happened to that plan to move the Capital City to Isiolo?
Kusadikika wrote:GOK are real jokers. You are registering for houses that they have not even announced location. These guys might wait till they have 5,000,000 people registered then they announce the big project is starting in Isiolo!!! By the way what happened to that plan to move the Capital City to Isiolo? The real jokers are the Kenyans waiting for GOK to build simbas for them. Except the Chinese, no one else trusts Jubilee with cash. They may be building a 2022 war chest in the pretext of mass housing. Anyone who has done even a chicken house knows buildings are not cheap. Hii ni off plan with no site location. "Things that matter most must never be at the mercy of things that matter least." Goethe
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/19/2010 Posts: 3,504 Location: Uganda
Gathige wrote:Kusadikika wrote:GOK are real jokers. You are registering for houses that they have not even announced location. These guys might wait till they have 5,000,000 people registered then they announce the big project is starting in Isiolo!!! By the way what happened to that plan to move the Capital City to Isiolo? The real jokers are the Kenyans waiting for GOK to build simbas for them. Except the Chinese, no one else trusts Jubilee with cash. They may be building a 2022 war chest in the pretext of mass housing. Anyone who has done even a chicken house knows buildings are not cheap. Hii ni off plan with no site location. met a guy who was trying to advise the government that you cannot buid a 3 bedroom house for ksh1.4 million unless ni ya mabati but he was kicked out for telling the truth.. https://www.nation.co.ke...74962-e5ksw2/index.html
COST One-bedroom houses under the social housing programme will cost Sh600,000, with those buying them expected to pay Sh2,500 per month for 25 years. Under the same house category, a two-bedroom house will cost Sh1 million, for Sh4,500 per month, while a three-bedroom house will go for Sh1.4 million, for Sh6,500 per month. punda amecheka
Rank: Member Joined: 1/15/2015 Posts: 681 Location: Kenya
wukan wrote:Shak wrote:So they'll have to contribute yet will not benefit? They benefit from the interest credited into their accounts If monthly repayments are 6,500 per month for 1.4m 25yr-mortgage, interest per year would be circa 1.5% pa🤔🤔 60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
Rank: Member Joined: 1/15/2015 Posts: 681 Location: Kenya
Thitifini wrote:wukan wrote:Shak wrote:So they'll have to contribute yet will not benefit? They benefit from the interest credited into their accounts If monthly repayments are 6,500 per month for 1.4m 25yr-mortgage, interest per year would be circa 1.5% pa🤔🤔 Figures not adding up here. Sometimes back a PS alluded to 2.4Trn having been pledged to this agenda. Anyone with a link to the policy? I volunteer to synthesis it for the republic. 60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
Laws of economics are like law of gravity. You cannot skip people with money. You cannot make something affordable to people who have no money while denying it to people with money. Hiyo laini ishapangwa tayari so if you are going to allocate anything start with allocating it at the top.
If by some miracle they build those houses the real price will rise to market price in a fraction of a second. You think a guy with income of 10,000 a month will live in a house where he pays 6,500 a month. He will quickly rent it or sell it to the guy who earns 100k a month who will gladly offer 20k a month. Then the first guy will move back to Kibera a happy man.
In my opinion the easiest way to do affordable housing is to build no houses at all. Build infrastructure: Roads, sewer, water, power in new places and offer buroti for cheap maguta maguta. Put the current buyers and dividers of land out of business by flooding supply. GOK can do this better because they have more land and can put up better infrastructure. Put restrictions on transfers so that someone cannot sell within 5 years and cannot sell an empty plot but only development on it. Plots can also only be sold to individuals with proven tax returns and only one per person. Then let people develop their place as they wish.
Kusadikika wrote:Laws of economics are like law of gravity. You cannot skip people with money. You cannot make something affordable to people who have no money while denying it to people with money. Hiyo laini ishapangwa tayari so if you are going to allocate anything start with allocating it at the top.
If by some miracle they build those houses the real price will rise to market price in a fraction of a second. You think a guy with income of 10,000 a month will live in a house where he pays 6,500 a month. He will quickly rent it or sell it to the guy who earns 100k a month who will gladly offer 20k a month. Then the first guy will move back to Kibera a happy man.
In my opinion the easiest way to do affordable housing is to build no houses at all. Build infrastructure: Roads, sewer, water, power in new places and offer buroti for cheap maguta maguta. Put the current buyers and dividers of land out of business by flooding supply. GOK can do this better because they have more land and can put up better infrastructure. Put restrictions on transfers so that someone cannot sell within 5 years and cannot sell an empty plot but only development on it. Plots can also only be sold to individuals with proven tax returns and only one per person. Then let people develop their place as they wish. @kusadikika, You have spoken well until this point. Any restrictions in a free market distorts the market, increases rent seeking and defeats the purpose. The ability to transfer assets is what makes the market efficient and ensures the best price allocations among st assets. Once the infrastructure is in place and allocations done, whether of house or plots, the new owners can then be free to engage the markets. "Things that matter most must never be at the mercy of things that matter least." Goethe
Kusadikika wrote:Laws of economics are like law of gravity. You cannot skip people with money. You cannot make something affordable to people who have no money while denying it to people with money. Hiyo laini ishapangwa tayari so if you are going to allocate anything start with allocating it at the top.
In my opinion the easiest way to do affordable housing is to build no houses at all. Build infrastructure: Roads, sewer, water, power in new places and offer buroti for cheap maguta maguta. Put the current buyers and dividers of land out of business by flooding supply. GOK can do this better because they have more land and can put up better infrastructure. Put restrictions on transfers so that someone cannot sell within 5 years and cannot sell an empty plot but only development on it. Plots can also only be sold to individuals with proven tax returns and only one per person. Then let people develop their place as they wish. Yes the kibera man will now be a landlord and has a real stake in the economy to protect. His income will now be 30K and he will enjoy a higher standard of living and have an asset to pass to his kids. It's a no brainer really GoK is building well planned settlements those site and service burotis were tried in Umoja and Dandora-urban planning disaster.
Thitifini wrote:wukan wrote:Shak wrote:So they'll have to contribute yet will not benefit? They benefit from the interest credited into their accounts If monthly repayments are 6,500 per month for 1.4m 25yr-mortgage, interest per year would be circa 1.5% pa🤔🤔 PS Hinga posts on twitter those above 150K will get single digit interest rate mortgages for 25 yrs
GoK should give HFCK and NHC part contract to build and sell these houses at a commission. In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Gathige wrote:Kusadikika wrote:Laws of economics are like law of gravity. You cannot skip people with money. You cannot make something affordable to people who have no money while denying it to people with money. Hiyo laini ishapangwa tayari so if you are going to allocate anything start with allocating it at the top.
In my opinion the easiest way to do affordable housing is to build no houses at all. Build infrastructure: Roads, sewer, water, power in new places and offer buroti for cheap maguta maguta. Put the current buyers and dividers of land out of business by flooding supply. GOK can do this better because they have more land and can put up better infrastructure. Put restrictions on transfers so that someone cannot sell within 5 years and cannot sell an empty plot but only development on it. Plots can also only be sold to individuals with proven tax returns and only one per person. Then let people develop their place as they wish. @kusadikika, You have spoken well until this point. Any restrictions in a free market distorts the market, increases rent seeking and defeats the purpose. The ability to transfer assets is what makes the market efficient and ensures the best price allocations among st assets. Once the infrastructure is in place and allocations done, whether of house or plots, the new owners can then be free to engage the markets. There's an 8 year sale restriction. Check the nyumbayangu link posted earlier
Gathige wrote:Kusadikika wrote:Laws of economics are like law of gravity. You cannot skip people with money. You cannot make something affordable to people who have no money while denying it to people with money. Hiyo laini ishapangwa tayari so if you are going to allocate anything start with allocating it at the top.
In my opinion the easiest way to do affordable housing is to build no houses at all. Build infrastructure: Roads, sewer, water, power in new places and offer buroti for cheap maguta maguta. Put the current buyers and dividers of land out of business by flooding supply. GOK can do this better because they have more land and can put up better infrastructure. Put restrictions on transfers so that someone cannot sell within 5 years and cannot sell an empty plot but only development on it. Plots can also only be sold to individuals with proven tax returns and only one per person. Then let people develop their place as they wish. @kusadikika, You have spoken well until this point. Any restrictions in a free market distorts the market, increases rent seeking and defeats the purpose. The ability to transfer assets is what makes the market efficient and ensures the best price allocations among st assets. Once the infrastructure is in place and allocations done, whether of house or plots, the new owners can then be free to engage the markets. @Gathige, even the most free market enthusiasts always put a little caveat when it comes to land because of the fact that it is finite and is very easy to hoard. The idea is to house many people as owners so I think restricting the buyers to individuals is best. This is because, if you allow corporate ownership, 10 people from Muranga will form a company and buy the whole place and just sit on it without development then sell moja moja bila haraka. 10 years later the place is half developed and the rest of the plots unaffordable. The incentives may vary depending on what works but the idea you want to encourage is to create home ownership rather than trade in land.
My thinking is that they are trying to copy the Singapore model. I've been planning to read more about it but sijapata wakati bado. I do not understand UK's model either. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Deduction starts with this month's payroll. Monies deducted plus employer contribution to be paid by May 9th & 9th of every other month. Source: DN Advert
New deduction to fund govt housing plan