The truth about 1/8 plots
wukan
#21 Posted : Sunday, April 07, 2019 8:23:25 AM

NewMoney wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
madhaquer wrote:
At the end of the day, buying a piece of land and building your own house beats the option of going to the market to buy a ready made house.
Specifically on cost and the choice to design/customize the house to your requirements.

This is a no-brainer to the wise, papa. Only stubborn, delusional or naive pipo cannot see the sublime wisdom of this. Building a house at cost rather than paying market rates. This is why DC is the future because it is ground zero of this beautiful activity as HassConsult reports have shown.

I would never undertake a project to build my own home for the same reason I would never want to build my own furniture, car, e.t.c. I can most definitely do it but at what cost?? The cost will be burnout, time wasted, and a substandard final product. It is much more profitable to get ready-made cars and stuff while I continue making more dollars at what I do best.

I would `Build my own house` only if I don't have other serious things to do and are okay with the substandard quality I will get. Otherwise, there is a reason people need to go to school and get licensed to do these things. And that easily explains why the majority of DC and ushago "maisonettes" and "bungalows" are of poor quality and lacking proper amenities, even though the owners are so blinded by confirmation bias, they could never see it even under the bright light of noon sun.

Price is a very relative thing, and money is an illusion. As long as you pay what feels like less than the value you will derive from the house, you are good. At the end of the day, the most valuable thing in this life is TIME, time is measured and limited, everything else is not

Don't forget that most houses for sale are also very poorly done, so you will want to get one done by real professionals not wannabes

Applause Applause Applause Time is valuable. You only have between age of 30-50 to get your real estate going. Wasting that period building mansions in the wilderness with no proper amenities waiting for Nairobi to come near is a sheer waste of time and effort. Just rent and invest the savings in a decent retirement.
#22 Posted : Sunday, April 07, 2019 10:48:09 AM

NewMoney wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
madhaquer wrote:
At the end of the day, buying a piece of land and building your own house beats the option of going to the market to buy a ready made house.
Specifically on cost and the choice to design/customize the house to your requirements.

This is a no-brainer to the wise, papa. Only stubborn, delusional or naive pipo cannot see the sublime wisdom of this. Building a house at cost rather than paying market rates. This is why DC is the future because it is ground zero of this beautiful activity as HassConsult reports have shown.

I would never undertake a project to build my own home for the same reason I would never want to build my own furniture, car, e.t.c. I can most definitely do it but at what cost?? The cost will be burnout, time wasted, and a substandard final product. It is much more profitable to get ready-made cars and stuff while I continue making more dollars at what I do best.

I would `Build my own house` only if I don't have other serious things to do and are okay with the substandard quality I will get. Otherwise, there is a reason people need to go to school and get licensed to do these things. And that easily explains why the majority of DC and ushago "maisonettes" and "bungalows" are of poor quality and lacking proper amenities, even though the owners are so blinded by confirmation bias, they could never see it even under the bright light of noon sun.

Price is a very relative thing, and money is an illusion. As long as you pay what feels like less than the value you will derive from the house, you are good. At the end of the day, the most valuable thing in this life is TIME, time is measured and limited, everything else is not

Don't forget that most houses for sale are also very poorly done, so you will want to get one done by real professionals not wannabes

Most of the things you've written are right, but a few are waaaaay off.

Most of this professionals and experts will just rip you off and deliver a sub-standard product to you.

NewMoney
#23 Posted : Sunday, April 07, 2019 5:58:06 PM

NewMoney wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
madhaquer wrote:

Most of the things you've written are right, but a few are waaaaay off.

Most of this professionals and experts will just rip you off and deliver a sub-standard product to you.

Sub-standard? never!! rip-off? that is relative, cheap is expensive.
MugundaMan
#24 Posted : Sunday, April 07, 2019 7:24:32 PM

wukan wrote:

Applause Applause Applause Time is valuable. You only have between age of 30-50 to get your real estate going. Wasting that period building mansions in the wilderness with no proper amenities waiting for Nairobi to come near is a sheer waste of time and effort. Just rent and invest the savings in a decent retirement.

Wukan,
Kumbe all this time with your long stories about the RE sector you are busy planning to rent for the rest of your life? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly. What happened to the Kirinyaga Rd and Ngara bedsitters plan?

So it seems I was not far off the mark when I guessed you were a report writer for Cytonn Laughing out loudly . Maanchap!

I will repeat it for the umpteenth time: a huge chunk of Nairobi is already in Dustbowl, so there is no waiting involved hapo. You cheered on the news about a water and sewer system on the way for DC on another thread, so there goes your "no proper amenities argument" DC is surprising even me kila siku with how fast it is poshing up.

And finally sorry to send you the memo but no matter how much you and others hapa HATE the developments that are going on in DC, YOU CAN'T STOP THEM. So whining hapa Wazoo or elsewhere fuaaaaaaaa will not solve anything except soothe your own flagging ego. You know sometimes I get tired talking about simple economics like supply and demand in DC because only someone who doesn't understand what these terms mean will find it hard to believe that in towns like Rongai, Kitengela and Ngong, populations may be doubling every 5-10 years, making them Kenya's fastest growing towns with self-evident implications about the RE sectors there.

This is a bitter pill to swallow for many, so unless one repeals the laws of economics overnight for DC, a long term superboom in the RE sector there is inevitable and arguing against it is like chokozaring a tiger in the anus with a stick and believing it will not maul you in response..yaani being extremely delusional.

Ni hayo maoni yangu tu.

#25 Posted : Sunday, April 07, 2019 9:22:06 PM

More 30x70 plot homes....... from the diaspora. Seems the only limiting thing is imagination.

#26 Posted : Monday, April 08, 2019 2:11:00 AM

wukan wrote:
NewMoney wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
madhaquer wrote:

Applause Applause Applause Wisdom right there. I've seen folk who thought themselves wise, rear at the shock of costly construction mistakes and the jungle that is construction. Fundis will eat you alive, if suppliers don't finish you first

#27 Posted : Monday, April 08, 2019 8:05:03 AM

Mr. Mugundaman

I am in team mugundaman shout now tangatanga...

but I just love your enthusiasm about real estate.

I promise you...

When I buy a property, I shall without a doubt, consult you first.

You are a fantastic man. Wrong 90% of the time, but you are fantastic!!!!

MugundaMan
#28 Posted : Monday, April 08, 2019 8:22:20 AM

mkenyan wrote:
Mr. Mugundaman

I am in team mugundaman shout now tangatanga...

but I just love your enthusiasm about real estate.

I promise you...

When I buy a property, I shall without a doubt, consult you first.

You are a fantastic man. Wrong 90% of the time, but you are fantastic!!!!

Chekeni mpaka mchoke. A few words on Wazoo will not stop DC from booming and MM from investing in real estate every single day.
I am actually enjoying being "wrong" about the superboom in DC. Did you folks think a little empty mcheko will stop DC from booming Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...sts&t=37338&p=1
http://wazua.co.ke/forum...px?g=posts&m=860779

madhaquer
#29 Posted : Monday, April 08, 2019 10:09:10 AM

NewMoney wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
madhaquer wrote:

Obviously you do not become the mason or the architect. You manage the project for yourself, but you consult experts and approve the design and changes for yourself. At the end of the activity, your time is well spent since what you get is your own choice at a much lower cost than walking into a realtors office to buy a house design and built by who knows. Not to mention the amount of learning you come out with after the journey.
Right now I am not sure how value is being calculated for the houses at the market so I do not know if you have an example of a house that feels like less than the value at current market rates.
#30 Posted : Monday, April 08, 2019 10:36:46 AM

madhaquer wrote:
NewMoney wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
madhaquer wrote:

Obviously you do not become the mason or the architect. You manage the project for yourself, but you consult experts and approve the design and changes for yourself. At the end of the activity, your time is well spent since what you get is your own choice at a much lower cost than walking into a realtors office to buy a house design and built by who knows. Not to mention the amount of learning you come out with after the journey.
Right now I am not sure how value is being calculated for the houses at the market so I do not know if you have an example of a house that feels like less than the value at current market rates.

There is always an opportunity cost. The consultation, management, approvals and actual construction take time. Buying an existing house is as simple as checking listings, exchanging money and title and moving in. You can also buy an existing house and modify to suit your taste.
madhaquer
#31 Posted : Monday, April 08, 2019 12:00:54 PM

You are correct, both have costs and associated risks. But now getting back to my original statement, "buying a piece of land and building your own house beats the option of going to the market to buy a ready made house. Specifically on cost and the choice to design/customize the house to your requirements."
#32 Posted : Monday, April 08, 2019 7:42:38 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
Mara oooo service charge; who paid and did not pay. Then there is always those three or four that go "on strike" and refuse to pay service charge. What will you do to make them pay - nada.

Well, you can break their legs....

https://www.standardmedi...776901_1250943521670271

Ms Nyawira suffered a broken leg due to alleged harassment by some of her neighbours, who she claims have been harassing her after she refused to part with Sh2,500 every month for security.

“I was recently attacked by some of my neighbours just because I told them that I could not contribute Sh2,500 every month for security. The neighbourhood management has now instructed the watchmen not to open the main gate for me,” said Nyawira.
The mother of three said she was attacked by six men and women from her neighbourhood late last year after she refused to pay.

Nyawira is now forced to open the gate for herself with her broken leg, regardless of whether it is raining or not since the guards have been instructed not to open the gate for her or her family.

MugundaMan
#33 Posted : Monday, April 08, 2019 8:01:18 PM

madhaquer wrote:
You are correct, both have costs and associated risks. But now getting back to my original statement, "buying a piece of land and building your own house beats the option of going to the market to buy a ready made house. Specifically on cost and the choice to design/customize the house to your requirements."

This is complex kizungu mingi for them. They will never understand it in a million years papa. You would be surprised to learn many who are opposing you are living in bedsitters posting kicheko emoji as response. Hiyo tu. These ferras will just waste your precious time.
MugundaMan
#34 Posted : Monday, April 08, 2019 8:05:43 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
Mara oooo service charge; who paid and did not pay. Then there is always those three or four that go "on strike" and refuse to pay service charge. What will you do to make them pay - nada.

Ms Nyawira suffered a broken leg due to alleged harassment by some of her neighbours, who she claims have been harassing her after she refused to part with Sh2,500 every month for security.

“I was recently attacked by some of my neighbours just because I told them that I could not contribute Sh2,500 every month for security. The neighbourhood management has now instructed the watchmen not to open the main gate for me,” said Nyawira.
The mother of three said she was attacked by six men and women from her neighbourhood late last year after she refused to pay.

Nyawira is now forced to open the gate for herself with her broken leg, regardless of whether it is raining or not since the guards have been instructed not to open the gate for her or her family.

I do not agree with the violence meted on her but I 100% agree with the soft punishment of forcing her to open the gate herself since amekataa security fee. But imagine if these are the sorts of shidas you get in a gated community in membley, imagine the types of shidas you will get in apartment complexes in Lavi or Kilimani with 100+ units! You may find 30% have refused to pay and you have to resort to jambazi tactics to force them. Not worth the headache at all. Better to own your own boundaries and land and beautiful maisonette and live in total peace under the sun that gnash teeth with terrible neighbours who you are stuck with on the same mother title for life!
#35 Posted : Monday, April 08, 2019 8:17:38 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
madhaquer wrote:

This is complex kizungu mingi for them. They will never understand it in a million years papa. You would be surprised to learn many who are opposing you are living in bedsitters posting kicheko emoji as response. Hiyo tu. These ferras will just waste your precious time.

@Mugundaman you "buy, develop and sell" to quote you from another post. You are here yapping how buying and building yourself is better than buying ready made house. I expect you to give us a balanced response on the pros of buying from yoi as a developer.
#36 Posted : Monday, April 08, 2019 10:53:37 PM

MugundaMan wrote:

I do not agree with the violence meted on her but I 100% agree with the soft punishment of forcing her to open the gate herself since amekataa security fee. But imagine if these are the sorts of shidas you get in a gated community in membley, imagine the types of shidas you will get in apartment complexes in Lavi or Kilimani with 100+ units! You may find 30% have refused to pay and you have to resort to jambazi tactics to force them. Not worth the headache at all. Better to own your own boundaries and land and beautiful maisonette and live in total peace under the sun that gnash teeth with terrible neighbours who you are stuck with on the same mother title for life!

so she is not paying for the guards and seem to want them to open for her the gate? this is a difficult neighbour. sounds very unreasonable and unpleasant
NewMoney
#37 Posted : Monday, April 08, 2019 11:27:05 PM

MugundaMan wrote:

True, some neighbours in any gated community whether it is in DC or in the inner city will refuse to pay the service charge. I know a friend who joined hands with neighbours in Athiriver to gate their compounds together and agreed to contribute 1k per month for the shared guard, well he told me some don't pay and the problem is they don't have a management team so the stress trickles down to the ones paying. In places like Kilimani, and Lavington, the headache is always outsourced to a management team contracted by the owners, as long as you pay your share, you will never need to know what commotion is going on if any. Can you imagine how stressed that lady's neighbours had to be to the extent of hurting her??? Life is too short for that kind of drama

When Nairobi finally reaches DC, you will also be forced to start paying for service charges as well so that your shared amenities in the neighbourhood can be properly maintained, otherwise the place will deteriorate into a slum and an easy target for petty thieves. You can never escape service charges in fact, you should be very happy to pay it since it offers some guarantees which improve the quality of your life.
#38 Posted : Monday, April 08, 2019 11:41:06 PM

NewMoney wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

True, some neighbours in any gated community whether it is in DC or in the inner city will refuse to pay the service charge. I know a friend who joined hands with neighbours in Athiriver to gate their compounds together and agreed to contribute 1k per month for the shared guard, well he told me some don't pay and the problem is they don't have a management team so the stress trickles down to the ones paying. In places like Kilimani, and Lavington, the headache is always outsourced to a management team contracted by the owners, as long as you pay your share, you will never need to know what commotion is going on if any. Can you imagine how stressed that lady's neighbours had to be to the extent of hurting her??? Life is too short for that kind of drama

When Nairobi finally reaches DC, you will also be forced to start paying for service charges as well so that your shared amenities in the neighbourhood can be properly maintained, otherwise the place will deteriorate into a slum and an easy target for petty thieves. You can never escape service charges in fact, you should be very happy to pay it since it offers some guarantees which improve the quality of your life.

new apartments and gated town houses in lavington, kile etc nowadays add a clause in their lease that if you don't pay service charge despite notice then you lose the apartment/town house.
#39 Posted : Monday, April 08, 2019 11:49:41 PM

mkenyan wrote:
NewMoney wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

new apartments and gated town houses in lavington, kile etc nowadays add a clause in their lease that if you don't pay service charge despite notice then you lose the apartment/town house.

Whaaaat? How do you lose your 15m apartment due to some 10k petty cash? What if I opt not to be a member of the residents association and instead decide to employ some ferocious moran to stand at my door 24/7 at 7k each month for my security? Or employ no one and leave everything to the almighty and His guardian angels?
Liv
#40 Posted : Tuesday, April 09, 2019 12:43:40 AM

mkenyan wrote:
NewMoney wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

Whaaaat? How do you lose your 15m apartment due to some 10k petty cash? What if I opt not to be a member of the residents association and instead decide to employ some ferocious moran to stand at my door 24/7 at 7k each month for my security? Or employ no one and leave everything to the almighty and His guardian angels?

There is a clause that an owner of an apartment also has 1 share in the company which owns the plot of land where the apartments are built. When you come to selling your apartment or anything that requires charging of the property. The directors of the company will not sign or facilitate before you've paid all the service charges. Why trouble yourself opening the gate for yourself or disposing the garbage yourself.... And eventually these service charges will be paid?