wazua Mon, Jan 20, 2025

LGBTQ Kenya
#41 Posted : Monday, March 25, 2019 10:47:06 AM

Why is it that in our education system, kids must be taught some kind of religion//brainwashing. This should also stop, they should have right of choice.
#42 Posted : Monday, March 25, 2019 11:51:52 AM

Why is it that in our education system, kids must be taught some kind of religion//brainwashing. This should also stop, they should have right of choice.

@AA, at the moment my religious practice is 'complicated'. I don't like it when children are given what I may deem as poison, but how can I solve the practical problems of nurturing a child? For example, what do I say is ethics, or how do I resolve an issue like the purpose of my daughter's life?

At times when I think about this, I thank God that I can teach my child/children how to think and investigate for truth...

Otherwise mambo ya philosophy of education ni ngumu sana.
#43 Posted : Monday, March 25, 2019 12:00:51 PM

While we fulminate at religion, have you noticed that in these serious discourses most of us rarely have a way for knowing what's true or false?

Even our atheists are a pale shadow of serious atheistic thought recorded in history. To me they seem to be a bunch of rumour mongers.

My point? Most of the education we've had, even minus religious education, is one heap of garbage.

So GIGO ndio inatawala area hizi. Cologne ndio inaokoa watu kufa kwa uvundo.
wukan
#44 Posted : Monday, March 25, 2019 12:12:26 PM

We have also been brainwashed out of the hardline stance by Hollywood. I recall watching "Will & Grace" comedy and becoming very tolerant. Now almost all the series teens are watching have some gay theme. Even Game of Thrones had some serious scenes. Culture is always dynamic.
hamburglar
#45 Posted : Monday, March 25, 2019 7:20:14 PM

Mtu Biz wrote:
hamburglar wrote:
They've won round one. What the hell!!! (this one deserves the unabbreviated WTH)

Happy they are winning. Discrimination towards a subset of people based on their sexual orientation has to stop. Say NO to hate. More power to the LGBT community, let them live their lives freely without fear of being judged.

Next in line is us Atheists.

Yet you hate what you affirm does not exist.

Interesting.

How can I hate something that does not exist? d'oh!

Saying something is hogwash does not mean that I hate it. I just don’t care for it. I think this whole god/allah, Christian/Muslim stuff is detrimental to society. Religion has led to more deaths than most diseases.
#46 Posted : Monday, March 25, 2019 7:53:34 PM

hamburglar wrote:
They've won round one. What the hell!!! (this one deserves the unabbreviated WTH)

Happy they are winning. Discrimination towards a subset of people based on their sexual orientation has to stop. Say NO to hate. More power to the LGBT community, let them live their lives freely without fear of being judged.

Next in line is us Atheists...

...then the witches and devil worshipers and beastialitists and paedofiles can follow after you..

Your level of ignorance is very unfortunate.

What's the difference? One man says 'Hey, I'm naturally attracted to other men's

Another says, 'That 🐐, isn't she pretty? Why would I want a human female? Please , gimme a goat, I naturally feel so! It's my choice!'

Maybe you need to look up the meaning of the word consent.

How do you know nanny goat did not consent?

Does the goat consent to giving you milk or dying so that you enjoy nyamchom?

We eat animals to survive, we don’t need to have sex with animals to survive. Big difference. Even in the primitive jungles, lions eat buffaloes without their consent to perpetrate their survival......but you’ll never see them trying to have sex with an antelope because their is no dire need for that. It’s called survival, the most basic of instincts. Sexual gratification in the absence of consent is a crime. It has a fancy name nowadays, it’s called RAPE.

But anyway, to each their own, it’s already enough of an insult to compare atheism to pedophilia and beastiality. Like really???

Vegetarians live longer...

#47 Posted : Monday, March 25, 2019 10:34:37 PM

wukan wrote:

We have also been brainwashed out of the hardline stance by Hollywood. I recall watching "Will & Grace" comedy and becoming very tolerant. Now almost all the series teens are watching have some gay theme. Even Game of Thrones had some serious scenes. Culture is always dynamic.

They are sneaking them into everything. I remember when I was watching the Wire, they ngoja until you are deep into the story and you are enjoying it thoroughly then ghafla bin vuu unaghutukiwa by crazy scenes. Initially I just forwarded but after a few more nikakosa ladha for the whole thing. I miss 24 and Sopranos. Siku hizi you can't have a good series without that stuff.
#48 Posted : Tuesday, March 26, 2019 6:37:34 PM

wukan wrote:

They are sneaking them into everything. I remember when I was watching the Wire, they ngoja until you are deep into the story and you are enjoying it thoroughly then ghafla bin vuu unaghutukiwa by crazy scenes. Initially I just forwarded but after a few more nikakosa ladha for the whole thing. I miss 24 and Sopranos. Siku hizi you can't have a good series without that stuff.

So true! My shocker was Green Book (sorry for being a spoiler for those who haven't watched this brilliant film).

#49 Posted : Tuesday, March 26, 2019 7:34:48 PM

wukan wrote:

So true! My shocker was Green Book (sorry for being a spoiler for those who haven't watched this brilliant film).

That's the reality going forward as far as content is concerned.
wukan
#50 Posted : Thursday, March 28, 2019 1:41:53 PM

Here is the decision of the court. It is really wordy... aki lawyers are wordy.

http://kenyalaw.org/case...r0MJ_9hz6WAY2jqvl4BBP3Y

I found this part by last but one judge in agreement with I had said earlier that human society is about tolerance and you can't just impose your views on others. Very neatApplause Applause

By refusing to accept the names for the proposed NGO, the appellant violated the 1st respondent’s freedom of association. It matters not the views of the appellant that the name of the association was not desirable. In a society as diverse as Kenya, there is need for tolerance. I say so well aware of the preambular provisions in the Constitution that acknowledge the supremacy of the Almighty God of all creation. Further, the constitution recognizes the right of persons to profess religious beliefs and to articulate such beliefs including the belief that homosexuality is a taboo that violates the religious teachings. However, the Constitution does not permit the people who hold such beliefs to trod on those who do not or subscribe to a different way of life. They too have the right not to hold such religious beliefs. It cannot therefore be proper to limit the freedom of association on the basis of popular opinion based on certain religious beliefs that the Board believes amounts to moral and religious convictions of most Kenyans.I do not see how the Bible and Quran verses as well as the studies on homosexuality relied on by the appellant would help its case. Religious texts are neither a source of law in Kenya nor form the basis for denying fundamental rights and obligations.

Apricot
#51 Posted : Thursday, March 28, 2019 2:57:49 PM

wukan wrote:
Here is the decision of the court. It is really wordy... aki lawyers are wordy.

http://kenyalaw.org/case...r0MJ_9hz6WAY2jqvl4BBP3Y

I found this part by last but one judge in agreement with I had said earlier that human society is about tolerance and you can't just impose your views on others. Very neatApplause Applause

By refusing to accept the names for the proposed NGO, the appellant violated the 1st respondent’s freedom of association. It matters not the views of the appellant that the name of the association was not desirable. In a society as diverse as Kenya, there is need for tolerance. I say so well aware of the preambular provisions in the Constitution that acknowledge the supremacy of the Almighty God of all creation. Further, the constitution recognizes the right of persons to profess religious beliefs and to articulate such beliefs including the belief that homosexuality is a taboo that violates the religious teachings. However, the Constitution does not permit the people who hold such beliefs to trod on those who do not or subscribe to a different way of life. They too have the right not to hold such religious beliefs. It cannot therefore be proper to limit the freedom of association on the basis of popular opinion based on certain religious beliefs that the Board believes amounts to moral and religious convictions of most Kenyans.I do not see how the Bible and Quran verses as well as the studies on homosexuality relied on by the appellant would help its case. Religious texts are neither a source of law in Kenya nor form the basis for denying fundamental rights and obligations.

@ Wukan, Have to appreciate your taking the pain of going through the judgement and extracting that passage. I am glad the judge(s) kept their ruling within the spirit and letter of the law; not the passionate popular opinion. It is a win for justice.

And thanks for the link. I hope to read most of the judgement for myself.
First time in history we can save the human race by laying in front of the TV and doing nothing. Let's not screw it up
#52 Posted : Thursday, March 28, 2019 3:12:29 PM

Yes... the Quran and the Bible only bind the adherents of their readers and only TO THE EXTENT each reader desires to be bound by them.
#53 Posted : Thursday, March 28, 2019 6:21:37 PM

Yes... the Quran and the Bible only bind the adherents of their readers and only TO THE EXTENT each reader desires to be bound by them.

What I find interesting that the 3 judges did not seem to like the LGBTQ society that much. One of the judges actually called them queers.

But that was not the issue.

The issue was freedom of association. I too I'm not too fond of queers but I have lived long enough to know that as soon as I started saying that some people are not good enough for the law, is the same day that my rights were trampled upon.

This was a case of freedom of association. Now akina humbugler and the socialists party of Kenya should be let be.

Otherwise, next time Al Shabaab shall rule Kenya and all you of the christian faith must follow. After all, you allowed others be trampled upon.

Mambo ya gays pelekeni kanisani na mskitini. Let others be.

#54 Posted : Thursday, March 28, 2019 6:32:56 PM

What I find interesting that the 3 judges did not seem to like the LGBTQ society that much. One of the judges actually called them queers.

The issue was freedom of association. I too I'm not too fond of queers but I have lived long enough to know that as soon as I started saying that some people are not good enough for the law, is the same day that my rights were trampled upon.

This was a case of freedom of association. Now akina humbugler and the socialists party of Kenya should be let be.

Otherwise, next time Al Shabaab shall rule Kenya and all you of the christian faith must follow. After all, you allowed others be trampled upon.

The Q in LGBTQ actually stands for “QUEER”
#55 Posted : Thursday, March 28, 2019 7:01:35 PM

Nowadays you add plus at the end just to accommodate all Laughing out loudly
#56 Posted : Friday, March 29, 2019 8:49:26 AM

Nowadays you add plus at the end just to accommodate all Laughing out loudly

Yes... anything grownups chose to do to themselves is really none of our business
#57 Posted : Friday, March 29, 2019 11:04:28 AM

@alma, just for your information, the Quran accommodates the Christians and Jews, referred to as People of the Book. The same way Christians accommodate Muslims in their own laws. If you see something Quran forbids, e.g. these Queer things, then the Bible also forbids, which should be agreeable to the true Christian, no conflict even one!
#58 Posted : Monday, April 01, 2019 8:12:44 PM

Hapa ndio hii maneno imefika.

This gay married couple wanted to have a child. Their family members stepped in to help.

Just note the kind of language being used in the article. It is all positive and a non issue. I remember when Obama came to Kenya for the first time as a senator he was "somearing" us about polygamy being outdated. I am sure he would not have a problem sending congratulations here.
#59 Posted : Thursday, April 18, 2019 1:55:37 AM

Coming soon

President and first gentleman of the United States

https://peteforamerica.com/meet-pete/

#60 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2019 7:00:37 PM