President Uhuru Kenyatta 2nd Term - 2017/2022
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
The questions @murchr asks sometimes makes me wonder if he has any understanding
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Let's all be rational, the cost of transporting eggs from Uganda to Nairobi and taxes at the border (if any) should surely compensate for any competitive advantage Ugandan farmers have over their Kenyan counterparts, if it doesn't, then too bad, lets enjoy Ugandan eggs and look for something we are good at. Aye! "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
AlphDoti wrote:The questions @murchr asks sometimes makes me wonder if he has any understanding Try to answer...counter question etc. Still wondering what advantage the Kirinyaga egg farmer has against the one in Kiambu. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Let's all be rational, the cost of transporting eggs from Uganda to Nairobi and taxes at the border (if any) should surely compensate for any competitive advantage Ugandan farmers have over their Kenyan counterparts, if it doesn't, then too bad, lets enjoy Ugandan eggs and look for something we are good at. Aye! As much as you say aye, i am talking about what i have seen with my 'own ' eyes. If you find yourself in Rongo town just ask for stall for 'madam nya alego' who sells eggs - she is known all over coz it is a business she has done for over 20+ years and plus a widow for that matter. It is eggs she has sold that she has used to 'teach' her daughters whom she was left with while in primary school, both are now in University (Primary Boarding Kabarak, then Secondary - Sacho & Kabarak) now KU & JKUAT. Guys can yap business model but i am talking reality. In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/19/2015 Posts: 2,871 Location: hapo
murchr wrote:AlphDoti wrote:The questions @murchr asks sometimes makes me wonder if he has any understanding Try to answer...counter question etc. Still wondering what advantage the Kirinyaga egg farmer has against the one in Kiambu. I would like you to keep chicken in Kirinyaga then come here telling us how fantastic they are doing. This is what is driving farmers crazy and mad. Obi all the way in Japan thinks that it's all about good policies. Nope. Kenyans are over taxed and its going to kill all industries. It is that simple. But like I said, go keep chicken then come here and tell us about this new technology that you have found in Kirinyaga that will make zero rated tax in UG be beaten by 16% VAT in Kenya. Look at the car thing. They will ban 8 year old cars. Instead of increasing the tax on those, they ban them. So that we can buy useless Lancers and VW Polo from mediocre companies. All in the name of saving industries. Heck thousands of jobs are going to be lost in July as we await VW Polo. Reduce tax on locally manufactured cars would be best. But what do I know. I only know chicken feed in Kenya is more expensive in Kenya than UG. I mean they tax everything and we still can't get them to build a bloody dam. Most useless gov't in East Africa by a mile and we are still digging. But heck go on I am sure Pastor Nganga and Owour shall pray for us. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
Angelica _ann wrote:murchr wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Let's all be rational, the cost of transporting eggs from Uganda to Nairobi and taxes at the border (if any) should surely compensate for any competitive advantage Ugandan farmers have over their Kenyan counterparts, if it doesn't, then too bad, lets enjoy Ugandan eggs and look for something we are good at. Aye! As much as you say aye, i am talking about what i have seen with my 'own ' eyes. If you find yourself in Rongo town just ask for stall for 'madam nya alego' who sells eggs - she is known all over coz it is a business she has done for over 20+ years and plus a widow for that matter. It is eggs she has sold that she has used to 'teach' her daughters who were left in primary school, both are now in University. Guys can yap business model but i am talking reality. And like all business....it evolves. So what do you want to tell us about madam nya alego? Is she a trader or farmer? If she's a trader, has she opted for UG eggs over KE eggs? Why? If she's a farmer, What has changed? 16% tax? If its competition, what is the UG farmer doing that she aint? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:murchr wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Let's all be rational, the cost of transporting eggs from Uganda to Nairobi and taxes at the border (if any) should surely compensate for any competitive advantage Ugandan farmers have over their Kenyan counterparts, if it doesn't, then too bad, lets enjoy Ugandan eggs and look for something we are good at. Aye! As much as you say aye, i am talking about what i have seen with my 'own ' eyes. If you find yourself in Rongo town just ask for stall for 'madam nya alego' who sells eggs - she is known all over coz it is a business she has done for over 20+ years and plus a widow for that matter. It is eggs she has sold that she has used to 'teach' her daughters who were left in primary school, both are now in University. Guys can yap business model but i am talking reality. And like all business....it evolves. So what do you want to tell us about madam nya alego? Is she a trader or farmer? If she's a trader, has she opted for UG eggs over KE eggs? Why? If she's a farmer, What has changed? 16% tax? If its competition, what is the UG farmer doing that she aint? I know of 3 farmers who used to keep chicken. They have stopped. They import from UG and TZ. It's damn cheaper. One has even set up his farm in UG. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2010 Posts: 2,220 Location: Sundowner,Amboseli
Folks, the elephant in the room is CURRENCY. 20 years ago, KESTZS was 10, now we are at 23.5. That means, our goods vs Tanzanias are 2.5 times more expensive than they were in 1999, ceteris paribus. KESUGX was 19, mow at 38. @SufficientlyP
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:Folks, the elephant in the room is CURRENCY. 20 years ago, KESTZS was 10, now we are at 23.5. That means, our goods vs Tanzanias are 2.5 times more expensive than they were in 1999, ceteris paribus. KESUGX was 19, mow at 38. Mathematically it sounds logical but factually it isn't. Uganda imports the bloody inputs from Kenya so their costs of production should be higher negating the currency effect. Think about this. Pineapples from Thika...Thika to Nairobi are more expensive than pineapples from Tanzania a place so far you take days to get to. There is a place I can take you called Kenyan ndogo with Kenyan farmers with gumboots. Onions are coming all the way from Rwanda. Eggs from Uganda. Charcoal from Somalia...I mean this has happened in the last 5 years. The number of Kenyan farmers in TZ would surpise you. Input by input, the cost of production of a single onion is at times 10 times lower than Kenya. UG and TZ gov'ts have pulled every stop to protect their farmers. Here,we can't even pay them for maize.. Such a shame. Pineapples for crying out loud. This gov't has systematically killed local production. Now even our brains are being used in TZ and UG. All because they are busy buying towels and booze for strange dams. Pathetic. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:Folks, the elephant in the room is CURRENCY. 20 years ago, KESTZS was 10, now we are at 23.5. That means, our goods vs Tanzanias are 2.5 times more expensive than they were in 1999, ceteris paribus. KESUGX was 19, mow at 38. That only means the regional currencies have lost value. The price of a tray eggs is about 7500 UG Shilling. That's about 200bob Ugandan farmers are also complaining that Kenyans are not buying as much eggs because guess what "Kenyans are also beginning to produce eggs in large scale" My 2cents economics tells me that there could be a glut causing the cost of eggs to go down. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
These are real Kenyan farmers asking questions. Not gov't employees with farms in their heads on on twirra. Quote:Why are the major milk processors in the Country currently paying lowest milk prices ever yet milk supply from the farmers are low due to dry season?
Why is one processor in Uganda controlling almost 20% of milk market share in Kenya yet we know Uganda does not have enough fresh milk to supply that quantity of milk? Are cartels importing powder milk, reconstitute and pack them in Uganda and supply Kenyan Market? Why are we silent on that? Is the Government of Kenya aware? Farmers are becoming wiser to this gov't. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
Our farmers are generally uncompetitive with everything, you can count from Maize, sugar now eggs etc. Why is this the case? I personally don't know but find it unacceptable. Let me tell you about something I learnt about the other day, maize has always been expensive until recently when some farming method called "1 acre farm" (not sure of the name, as I heard it in conversations huko shags with my folks in passing) was introduced. Suddenly the maize yields have increased and kept the prices low. They were complaining about the low prices but also acknowledging that atleast everyone had enough to eat. They then concluded that it was better that atleast everyone had harvested something, they also decided to abandon small scale maize farming and try their luck with a different crop with a better return. My point is production changes every time, maybe our farmers are doing something wrong etc (although I don't think Ug farmers can be ahead of ours with regards to farming tech and knowhow). At the end of the day, low food prices for a country starving like ours is a blessing. I however have to concede that someone needs to explain why our cost of production is always higher than our neighbours/peer country. Whoever talked about brokers could be right. Or maybe we want immediate returns. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
alma1 wrote:murchr wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:murchr wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Let's all be rational, the cost of transporting eggs from Uganda to Nairobi and taxes at the border (if any) should surely compensate for any competitive advantage Ugandan farmers have over their Kenyan counterparts, if it doesn't, then too bad, lets enjoy Ugandan eggs and look for something we are good at. Aye! As much as you say aye, i am talking about what i have seen with my 'own ' eyes. If you find yourself in Rongo town just ask for stall for 'madam nya alego' who sells eggs - she is known all over coz it is a business she has done for over 20+ years and plus a widow for that matter. It is eggs she has sold that she has used to 'teach' her daughters who were left in primary school, both are now in University. Guys can yap business model but i am talking reality. And like all business....it evolves. So what do you want to tell us about madam nya alego? Is she a trader or farmer? If she's a trader, has she opted for UG eggs over KE eggs? Why? If she's a farmer, What has changed? 16% tax? If its competition, what is the UG farmer doing that she aint? I know of 3 farmers who used to keep chicken. They have stopped. They import from UG and TZ. It's damn cheaper. One has even set up his farm in UG. I forgot to mention that before going the Uganda way, she would get her eggs from Nakuru. But along the way she realized that market imports from Uganda. So she went to the source direct!!! PS. This was during Kibaki era. In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Our farmers are generally uncompetitive with everything, you can count from Maize, sugar now eggs etc. Why is this the case? I personally don't know but find it unacceptable.
Let me tell you about something I learnt about the other day, maize has always been expensive until recently when some farming method called "1 acre farm" (not sure of the name, as I heard it in conversations huko shags with my folks in passing) was introduced. Suddenly the maize yields have increased and kept the prices low. They were complaining about the low prices but also acknowledging that atleast everyone had enough to eat.
They then concluded that it was better that atleast everyone had harvested something, they also decided to abandon small scale maize farming and try their luck with a different crop with a better return.
My point is production changes every time, maybe our farmers are doing something wrong etc (although I don't think Ug farmers can be ahead of ours with regards to farming tech and knowhow).
At the end of the day, low food prices for a country starving like ours is a blessing.
I however have to concede that someone needs to explain why our cost of production is always higher than our neighbours/peer country. Whoever talked about brokers could be right. Or maybe we want immediate returns. Government policies have made Kenyan farmers uncompetitive. Farming in UG is mainly at a subsistence level an issue that M7 has been lamenting about. However, more than 80% of land in UG is arable compared with under 40% in Kenya. Land distribution in Kenya is also very skewed where you can find one individual owning 1000 acres of idle and the rest of the community owning 100 x 100 ft plots. Kenya is the best country to live in if you are rich but it is the worst for the poor. Our neighbours jealously protect the poor while Kenya protects the rich Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Our farmers are generally uncompetitive with everything, you can count from Maize, sugar now eggs etc. Why is this the case? I personally don't know but find it unacceptable.
My point is production changes every time, maybe our farmers are doing something wrong etc (although I don't think Ug farmers can be ahead of ours with regards to farming tech and knowhow).
At the end of the day, low food prices for a country starving like ours is a blessing.
I however have to concede that someone needs to explain why our cost of production is always higher than our neighbours/peer country. Whoever talked about brokers could be right. Or maybe we want immediate returns. So how are poultry farmers supposed to make money when for the past over 10yrs eggs have been retailing at @10 bob at the neighbourhood kiosk? Also the price of 1/4 chicken hapo sonford has stagnated for ages. Meanwhile the cost of feeds and everything else has gone up by significantly.
Conquestador wrote:Fyatu wrote:FRM2011 wrote: I have found myself feeling pity for Uhuru, a man I refused to vote for in 2013 and campaigned against in 2017.
When you interact with the people who form the bedrock of his political support, you come across anger and frustration that is almost reaching scary levels.
The economy has tanked badly and I doubt Uhuru knows this. His big 4 is dead even before it starts. Even if he fires all corrupt guys in government and hires clean guys, there is no money to finance the big 4.
For every 100 bob KRA collects debt servicing takes 38 bob. Salaries, pension and counties take the rest. We have maxed out on borrowing. actually we have to restructure some facilities.
In my home county Nyeri, milk prices have dropped from a high of 38 to around 28 bob. And this is the dry season. Farmers are scared stiff what will happen after the rains when we have a milk glut. Broiler and poultry farmers have seen their investments go up in flames. Coffee is history. The new goldmine is macadamia and the prices are stuck at 140 from a high of 220 last season.
Uhuru doesn't have a chance to leave an economic legacy. He doesn't have the willingness or moral authority to fight corruption. He spent the first term undermining the new constitution so he can't leave a legacy of setting a constitutional foundation for Kenya. From where shall he craft his legacy ?
When historians finally write about his term in office, it is doubtful Kenya will ever have a worse presidency than this.
Huko blue section people(myself to be precise) have been waiting for the bull lakini everyday it is doom and gloom as far as economy is concerned. Todays newspapers says cement consumption has gone down.The papers are also reporting that 38% of KRA revenues are going to pay debts for money that has been stolen. Njiraini now wants to tax Lipa na Mpesa paybill after taxing airtime and Mpesa 2018/2019. Saccos are also a big tax target going forward. NSSF statutory reduction is now up to 2000 bob from 200 bob. This is money Atwoli and friends at NSSF are going to fatten-up with proper.They painted thika rd. pink..They even introduced NYS buses for public transport.etcc...i think we need a new thread of Uhuru's flat failure. Meanwhile big 4 now sounds like a tired line. I said it here that big 4 is another hot air. Hata ground breaking ya nyumba za mabati has not happened.Uhuru should just go back to Ruto and together continue insulting Baba in matangas and stop pretending to be looking for legacy. Legacy to me is money in my pocket. Hiyo ingine ni yao Let kumira kumira thurakus eat their jeuri...wacha okuyo na kaleos wakule jeuri yao ya 2017 so people here still believe that presidents and governments make a country or an individual rich? The work of government in a developing country is to tax people at the highest rate it can get away with while providing the lowest possible level of social, security and enabling environment it can get away with. Maybe you are too young, but most of us remember the years between 2003-2013 with nostalgia. Anyone who did not accumulate something those years is beyond help. And yes, the magic was made possible by a third word president called Kibaki. Now everything we accumulated those days is going up in smoke. A president/government can make you rich like Kibaki or poor like Uhuru.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
FRM2011 wrote:Conquestador wrote:Fyatu wrote:FRM2011 wrote: I have found myself feeling pity for Uhuru, a man I refused to vote for in 2013 and campaigned against in 2017.
When you interact with the people who form the bedrock of his political support, you come across anger and frustration that is almost reaching scary levels.
The economy has tanked badly and I doubt Uhuru knows this. His big 4 is dead even before it starts. Even if he fires all corrupt guys in government and hires clean guys, there is no money to finance the big 4.
For every 100 bob KRA collects debt servicing takes 38 bob. Salaries, pension and counties take the rest. We have maxed out on borrowing. actually we have to restructure some facilities.
In my home county Nyeri, milk prices have dropped from a high of 38 to around 28 bob. And this is the dry season. Farmers are scared stiff what will happen after the rains when we have a milk glut. Broiler and poultry farmers have seen their investments go up in flames. Coffee is history. The new goldmine is macadamia and the prices are stuck at 140 from a high of 220 last season.
Uhuru doesn't have a chance to leave an economic legacy. He doesn't have the willingness or moral authority to fight corruption. He spent the first term undermining the new constitution so he can't leave a legacy of setting a constitutional foundation for Kenya. From where shall he craft his legacy ?
When historians finally write about his term in office, it is doubtful Kenya will ever have a worse presidency than this.
Huko blue section people(myself to be precise) have been waiting for the bull lakini everyday it is doom and gloom as far as economy is concerned. Todays newspapers says cement consumption has gone down.The papers are also reporting that 38% of KRA revenues are going to pay debts for money that has been stolen. Njiraini now wants to tax Lipa na Mpesa paybill after taxing airtime and Mpesa 2018/2019. Saccos are also a big tax target going forward. NSSF statutory reduction is now up to 2000 bob from 200 bob. This is money Atwoli and friends at NSSF are going to fatten-up with proper.They painted thika rd. pink..They even introduced NYS buses for public transport.etcc...i think we need a new thread of Uhuru's flat failure. Meanwhile big 4 now sounds like a tired line. I said it here that big 4 is another hot air. Hata ground breaking ya nyumba za mabati has not happened.Uhuru should just go back to Ruto and together continue insulting Baba in matangas and stop pretending to be looking for legacy. Legacy to me is money in my pocket. Hiyo ingine ni yao Let kumira kumira thurakus eat their jeuri...wacha okuyo na kaleos wakule jeuri yao ya 2017 so people here still believe that presidents and governments make a country or an individual rich? The work of government in a developing country is to tax people at the highest rate it can get away with while providing the lowest possible level of social, security and enabling environment it can get away with. Maybe you are too young, but most of us remember the years between 2003-2013 with nostalgia. Anyone who did not accumulate something those years is beyond help. And yes, the magic was made possible by a third word president called Kibaki. Now everything we accumulated those days is going up in smoke. A president/government can make you rich like Kibaki or poor like Uhuru. Leadership is very important. Look at what Zuma did to South Africa and Kagame for Rwanda. Uhuru has reversed most of the gains of Kibaki era but sincerely I never rated him . He would never have become even an MCA were it not for his second name Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Then some of us like me, are ignorant of how these things work. I hope a good Samaritan can have mercy and show how a President generally makes a country poorer or richer, as president.
And if possible, to show how this rule worked for Kibaki, Moi and Uhuru.
Otherwise it appears that those who never had a thing for a certain president will jump on random 'facts' to bolster their personal positions.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/20/2011 Posts: 1,820 Location: Nakuru
FRM2011 wrote:Conquestador wrote:Fyatu wrote:FRM2011 wrote: I have found myself feeling pity for Uhuru, a man I refused to vote for in 2013 and campaigned against in 2017.
Huko blue section people(myself to be precise) have been waiting for the bull lakini everyday it is doom and gloom as far as economy is concerned. Todays newspapers says cement consumption has gone down.The papers are also reporting that 38% of KRA revenues are going to pay debts for money that has been stolen. Njiraini now wants to tax Lipa na Mpesa paybill after taxing airtime and Mpesa 2018/2019. Saccos are also a big tax target going forward. NSSF statutory reduction is now up to 2000 bob from 200 bob. This is money Atwoli and friends at NSSF are going to fatten-up with proper.They painted thika rd. pink..They even introduced NYS buses for public transport.etcc...i think we need a new thread of Uhuru's flat failure. Meanwhile big 4 now sounds like a tired line. I said it here that big 4 is another hot air. Hata ground breaking ya nyumba za mabati has not happened.Uhuru should just go back to Ruto and together continue insulting Baba in matangas and stop pretending to be looking for legacy. Legacy to me is money in my pocket. Hiyo ingine ni yao Let kumira kumira thurakus eat their jeuri...wacha okuyo na kaleos wakule jeuri yao ya 2017 so people here still believe that presidents and governments make a country or an individual rich? The work of government in a developing country is to tax people at the highest rate it can get away with while providing the lowest possible level of social, security and enabling environment it can get away with. Maybe you are too young, but most of us remember the years between 2003-2013 with nostalgia. Anyone who did not accumulate something those years is beyond help. And yes, the magic was made possible by a third word president called Kibaki. Now everything we accumulated those days is going up in smoke. A president/government can make you rich like Kibaki or poor like Uhuru. During the Nyayo "Error" ordinary mwananchi was not buying land. After Kibaki got to power it just took less than 4 years and this nation was transformed.Migundas were "unlocked" and people started building. Lethargic and corruption laden parastatals like Kenya power improved drastically. Banks started lending money etc. A road like Mombasa road was for once repaired/constructed well and my frequent trips mamba ya nyundo became better. Palm wine was legalized through a presidential decree and it became a major economic activity huku. Folks even dared to dream of adding value to mnazi and transporting it to ilovi etc. Huko stocks market watu made money. Heck, even Tanzanians made money and named a major road huko oyster bay/slip way (ndani ya Dar), Mwai Kibaki road.... Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Fyatu wrote:FRM2011 wrote:Conquestador wrote:Fyatu wrote:FRM2011 wrote: I have found myself feeling pity for Uhuru, a man I refused to vote for in 2013 and campaigned against in 2017.
Huko blue section people(myself to be precise) have been waiting for the bull lakini everyday it is doom and gloom as far as economy is concerned. Todays newspapers says cement consumption has gone down.The papers are also reporting that 38% of KRA revenues are going to pay debts for money that has been stolen. Njiraini now wants to tax Lipa na Mpesa paybill after taxing airtime and Mpesa 2018/2019. Saccos are also a big tax target going forward. NSSF statutory reduction is now up to 2000 bob from 200 bob. This is money Atwoli and friends at NSSF are going to fatten-up with proper.They painted thika rd. pink..They even introduced NYS buses for public transport.etcc...i think we need a new thread of Uhuru's flat failure. Meanwhile big 4 now sounds like a tired line. I said it here that big 4 is another hot air. Hata ground breaking ya nyumba za mabati has not happened.Uhuru should just go back to Ruto and together continue insulting Baba in matangas and stop pretending to be looking for legacy. Legacy to me is money in my pocket. Hiyo ingine ni yao Let kumira kumira thurakus eat their jeuri...wacha okuyo na kaleos wakule jeuri yao ya 2017 so people here still believe that presidents and governments make a country or an individual rich? The work of government in a developing country is to tax people at the highest rate it can get away with while providing the lowest possible level of social, security and enabling environment it can get away with. Maybe you are too young, but most of us remember the years between 2003-2013 with nostalgia. Anyone who did not accumulate something those years is beyond help. And yes, the magic was made possible by a third word president called Kibaki. Now everything we accumulated those days is going up in smoke. A president/government can make you rich like Kibaki or poor like Uhuru. During the Nyayo "Error" ordinary mwananchi was not buying land. After Kibaki got to power it just took less than 4 years and this nation was transformed.Migundas were "unlocked" and people started building. Lethargic and corruption laden parastatals like Kenya power improved drastically. Banks started lending money etc. A road like Mombasa road was for once repaired/constructed well and my frequent trips mamba ya nyundo became better. Palm wine was legalized through a presidential decree and it became a major economic activity huku. Folks even dared to dream of adding value to mnazi and transporting it to ilovi etc. Huko stocks market watu made money. Heck, even Tanzanians made money and named a major road huko oyster bay/slip way (ndani ya Dar), Mwai Kibaki road.... Most of these changes you've mentioned, are still on. And, it can't be shown that these were exclusively Kibaki initiatives as president. I fear you're pointing out at a favorable correlation...
President Uhuru Kenyatta 2nd Term - 2017/2022