Investor
Stocks
Centum Full Year results 2017/2018
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,103 Location: Nairobi
Centum owned Sabis School injects Sh1bn for expansion https://www.businessdail...9822-eg8e1ez/index.html
The Runda based elite school which welcomed its first batch of 100 students in September this year expects the second phase of expansion in Runda will raise its admission capacity to a total of 1,200 students. "We expect to admit hundreds of more students starting next year based on the interest recorded from parents," said Mr Kleynhans in a statement. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
@VVS that school fees is some people's annual salary.If the market/demand is there then it's a good investment.
Kalameni wrote:@VVS that school fees is some people's annual salary.If the market/demand is there then it's a good investment. Sabis is in direct competition with other elite learning institutions such as the German School, International School of Kenya, Potterhouse School, Braeburn, Rosslyn Academy, Kenton and St Andrews Turi. The international schools space has recently benefited from a steady growth of the middle class and the large pool of expatriates working for multinationals, foreign governments and global institutions like the UN. The top-of-the-range schools charge annual fees of between Sh200,000 and Sh600,000 for day scholars while those in boarding school pay up to Sh1.7 million a year. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Member Joined: 3/8/2018 Posts: 507 Location: Nairobi
Where is this one going? I was quietly loading up at 28 then it suddenly decides to take off with all supply being cleared up. Sellers come back. Obey the bear and give us a Christmas discount
rwitre wrote:Where is this one going? I was quietly loading up at 28 then it suddenly decides to take off with all supply being cleared up. Sellers come back. Obey the bear and give us a Christmas discount #TukoPamoja Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:rwitre wrote:Where is this one going? I was quietly loading up at 28 then it suddenly decides to take off with all supply being cleared up. Sellers come back. Obey the bear and give us a Christmas discount #TukoPamoja Sigh# Hii imeenda. Current: 35 (High 36.2, Low 33) My regret is not buying more sooner. Anyway 25% gains in about a month is not bad. Still heavily discounted though. Letting it ride before offloading. Of course if it retreats we will pounce on more.
rwitre wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:rwitre wrote:Where is this one going? I was quietly loading up at 28 then it suddenly decides to take off with all supply being cleared up. Sellers come back. Obey the bear and give us a Christmas discount #TukoPamoja Sigh# Hii imeenda. Current: 35 (High 36.2, Low 33) My regret is not buying more sooner. Anyway 25% gains in about a month is not bad. Still heavily discounted though. Letting it ride before offloading. Of course if it retreats we will pounce on more. Yep! Except the off-loading part. I am staying in until we see the fruits harvested. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Closes the week at 37.3 Just over a month ago it was on sale at 28. 33% gain in 5 weeks. Still heavily discounted. Tuendelee kupanda tu polepole. Watu wa "dustbowl is everything" look away. There is no money to be made here. The stock market is a scam. Only gangsters in suits can thrive.
rwitre wrote:Closes the week at 37.3 Just over a month ago it was on sale at 28. 33% gain in 5 weeks. Still heavily discounted. Tuendelee kupanda tu polepole. Watu wa "dustbowl is everything" look away. There is no money to be made here. The stock market is a scam. Only gangsters in suits can thrive. You are looking for the wrath of @mugundaman. In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/21/2010 Posts: 6,183 Location: nairobi
Gaining on speculative volume. "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
mlennyma wrote:Gaining on speculative volume. Sina chapaa but I believe in it for the medium term. Sina insider info I read the Annual Report and the Investor Presentation. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/4/2016 Posts: 1,997 Location: Kitale
Total. liabilities-45,391,000 Total equity-50,897,000 Debt to equity ratio-89% Towards the goal of financial freedom
Ebenyo wrote:Total. liabilities-45,391,000
Total equity-50,897,000
Debt to equity ratio-89% From the Debt you should deduct the cash (and liquid assets) they have. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/4/2016 Posts: 1,997 Location: Kitale
VituVingiSana wrote:Ebenyo wrote:Total. liabilities-45,391,000
Total equity-50,897,000
Debt to equity ratio-89% From the Debt you should deduct the cash (and liquid assets) they have. That means there is some sort of reliance on sidian bank which is loss making. The amount you are saying is titled customer deposit which is 12,832,000. kwani sidian bank only have 12m in deposits? Towards the goal of financial freedom
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 10,684 Location: NAIROBI
Ebenyo wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Ebenyo wrote:Total. liabilities-45,391,000
Total equity-50,897,000
Debt to equity ratio-89% From the Debt you should deduct the cash (and liquid assets) they have. That means there is some sort of reliance on sidian bank which is loss making. The amount you are saying is titled customer deposit which is 12,832,000. kwani sidian bank only have 12m in deposits? As per FY2017 results yes Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,517 Location: nairobi
Trash HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 10,684 Location: NAIROBI
obiero wrote:Trash It is fattened for slaughter Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,517 Location: nairobi
Ericsson wrote:obiero wrote:Trash It is fattened for slaughter Clear manipulation on the provisions as well as commission and fees HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Ebenyo wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Ebenyo wrote:Total. liabilities-45,391,000
Total equity-50,897,000
Debt to equity ratio-89% From the Debt you should deduct the cash (and liquid assets) they have. That means there is some sort of reliance on sidian bank which is loss making. The amount you are saying is titled customer deposit which is 12,832,000. kwani sidian bank only have 12m in deposits? Customer Deposits are 12.8 BILLION. From the 45bn you should deduct the portion at that attributable to bank deposits and bank borrowings given these are not obligations of Centum and Centum does not have direct access to these funds. As an example: If HF goes under, then Britam loses its deposits at HF and the % of its portion of shareholders capital.
45bn - 12.8bn - 3.2bn = 29bn * Deferred Income Tax may or may no be considered a liability for this calculation given it only mature if there is a taxable event. There are other "Minority Shareholders" in the group so let's look at the D:E Ratio for the "Company" which is more representative. Debt: 17.4bn Equity: 48.7bn Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
obiero wrote:Trash Thanks for this information. Very kind of you. Sidian Bank posts Sh22 million profit on income jump https://www.businessdail...4136-wmn7jvz/index.html
I am glad that Sidian has posted its first quarterly profit as far as I can remember after the interest rate cap. This Jan-Mar 2019 results will contribute to the FY19 results for Centum. Let's see how 2Q shapes up but if Sidian keeps up the good work then I see a ongoing contributions to Centum's FY19-23 results. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Investor
Stocks
Centum Full Year results 2017/2018