Age of mtumba cars cut to 3yrs
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
MugundaMan wrote:Speaking of creating cars. Heck, forget even cars but hata piki piki or lawnmowers. How come our Kenyan engineers who have been to Harvard, Stanford, IIT, Oxford etc are unable to create even a simple home grown piki piki to match Boxer or a tattered car to match the Mahindra mkebes from India I usually see on the road. Is it laziness? Ujuaji in theory terms but zero ability to translate to practicality? Surely moulding an engine motor is not rocket science for someone who has gone to MIT and studied engineering, so in over 50 years of independence how come we are unable to produce even a home grown black mamba, jameni? Or is it because our engineers are all at bars, chasing slayqueens and discussing Ruto 2022 succession fuaaaaaaa every day? http://3.bp.blogspot.com...cKQ/s1600/Image0421.jpg And now others think that our engineers (with their useless degrees) can compete with BMW and Toyota in designing and manufacturing cars. We import TVs, phones, washing machines, cookers, fridges, motor cycles etc. Why should we be stopped from importing cars which are also essential equipment.
Njunge wrote:@angela.SA does not import used cars. It has worked for them and I can't see a good reason why it should not(but I guess Omtata will be in court screaming discrimination}... Maybe the the fear here would be seeing slyqueens crammed in a vitz... Or Nyakinyuas like you with wigs bobbing from the rooftop of a Mobius as they rush to office.... Worked perfectly well..... Prices are also so decent. possunt quia posse videntur
hardwood wrote:MugundaMan wrote:Speaking of creating cars. Heck, forget even cars but hata piki piki or lawnmowers. How come our Kenyan engineers who have been to Harvard, Stanford, IIT, Oxford etc are unable to create even a simple home grown piki piki to match Boxer or a tattered car to match the Mahindra mkebes from India I usually see on the road. Is it laziness? Ujuaji in theory terms but zero ability to translate to practicality? Surely moulding an engine motor is not rocket science for someone who has gone to MIT and studied engineering, so in over 50 years of independence how come we are unable to produce even a home grown black mamba, jameni? Or is it because our engineers are all at bars, chasing slayqueens and discussing Ruto 2022 succession fuaaaaaaa every day? http://3.bp.blogspot.com...cKQ/s1600/Image0421.jpg And now others think that our engineers (with their useless degrees) can compete with BMW and Toyota in designing and manufacturing cars. We import TVs, phones, washing machines, cookers, fridges, motor cycles etc. Why should we be stopped from importing cars which are also essential equipment. @Hardwood jamaa wa mashamba is in order.... Explain to me why in 2019 we still import such things...Including solar panels yet we pride ourselves with guys who have gone to the best schools for crying out loud a Kenyan was Head of Engineering at Tesla or whatever his position was... There is something terribly wrong with this country I dont know how we will ever change that.... possunt quia posse videntur
2012 wrote:hardwood wrote:Wrong move.
[TWEET]1085777044347240448/TWEET] I actually think this is a good move. It will create opportunity for motor vehicle manufacture and assembly in our country. Only sad bit is that only the corrupt thieves will be able to afford gazzlers. This is like saying that we manufacture or assemble boda bodas while all we do is import the parts in boxes then employ some jamaas who sit in godowns the whole day with spanners joining the various parts - engine, wheels, chains etc together to make the complete boda bodas. That is how our car manufacturing/assembly currently works. Car manufacturing means sourcing steel and aluminium and moulding them into cars. Just like a tailor would source rolls of fabric from Rivatex (made from locally grown cotton) and transform them to new clothes.
maka wrote:Njunge wrote:@angela.SA does not import used cars. It has worked for them and I can't see a good reason why it should not(but I guess Omtata will be in court screaming discrimination}... Maybe the the fear here would be seeing slyqueens crammed in a vitz... Or Nyakinyuas like you with wigs bobbing from the rooftop of a Mobius as they rush to office.... Worked perfectly well..... Prices are also so decent. Prices in SA are ok eg brand new rav4 at 2.9m, Corolla 2m. In kenya prices are double.
maka wrote:hardwood wrote:MugundaMan wrote:Speaking of creating cars. Heck, forget even cars but hata piki piki or lawnmowers. How come our Kenyan engineers who have been to Harvard, Stanford, IIT, Oxford etc are unable to create even a simple home grown piki piki to match Boxer or a tattered car to match the Mahindra mkebes from India I usually see on the road. Is it laziness? Ujuaji in theory terms but zero ability to translate to practicality? Surely moulding an engine motor is not rocket science for someone who has gone to MIT and studied engineering, so in over 50 years of independence how come we are unable to produce even a home grown black mamba, jameni? Or is it because our engineers are all at bars, chasing slayqueens and discussing Ruto 2022 succession fuaaaaaaa every day? http://3.bp.blogspot.com...cKQ/s1600/Image0421.jpg And now others think that our engineers (with their useless degrees) can compete with BMW and Toyota in designing and manufacturing cars. We import TVs, phones, washing machines, cookers, fridges, motor cycles etc. Why should we be stopped from importing cars which are also essential equipment. @Hardwood jamaa wa mashamba is in order.... Explain to me why in 2019 we still import such things...Including solar panels yet we pride ourselves with guys who have gone to the best schools for crying out loud a Kenyan was Head of Engineering at Tesla or whatever his position was... There is something terribly wrong with this country I dont know how we will ever change that.... Then you meet these guys in the pub and everyone is introducing himself as Engineer so and so. We should see the results of their engineering training.
hardwood wrote:maka wrote:Njunge wrote:@angela.SA does not import used cars. It has worked for them and I can't see a good reason why it should not(but I guess Omtata will be in court screaming discrimination}... Maybe the the fear here would be seeing slyqueens crammed in a vitz... Or Nyakinyuas like you with wigs bobbing from the rooftop of a Mobius as they rush to office.... Worked perfectly well..... Prices are also so decent. Price in SA are ok eg brand new rav4 at 2.9m, Corolla 2m. In kenya prices are double. Yep plus easy access to credit facilities... For crying out loud News Cafe attendants have proper rides...  Btw thats one of the foreign stations that KQ has nice cars.... possunt quia posse videntur
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
hardwood wrote:maka wrote:hardwood wrote:MugundaMan wrote:Speaking of creating cars. Heck, forget even cars but hata piki piki or lawnmowers. How come our Kenyan engineers who have been to Harvard, Stanford, IIT, Oxford etc are unable to create even a simple home grown piki piki to match Boxer or a tattered car to match the Mahindra mkebes from India I usually see on the road. Is it laziness? Ujuaji in theory terms but zero ability to translate to practicality? Surely moulding an engine motor is not rocket science for someone who has gone to MIT and studied engineering, so in over 50 years of independence how come we are unable to produce even a home grown black mamba, jameni? Or is it because our engineers are all at bars, chasing slayqueens and discussing Ruto 2022 succession fuaaaaaaa every day? http://3.bp.blogspot.com...cKQ/s1600/Image0421.jpg And now others think that our engineers (with their useless degrees) can compete with BMW and Toyota in designing and manufacturing cars. We import TVs, phones, washing machines, cookers, fridges, motor cycles etc. Why should we be stopped from importing cars which are also essential equipment. @Hardwood jamaa wa mashamba is in order.... Explain to me why in 2019 we still import such things...Including solar panels yet we pride ourselves with guys who have gone to the best schools for crying out loud a Kenyan was Head of Engineering at Tesla or whatever his position was... There is something terribly wrong with this country I dont know how we will ever change that.... Then you meet these guys in the pub and everyone is introducing himself as Engineer so and so. We should see the results of their engineering training. The most embarassing one is, we even import bicycles! Our political elite do not have the good will for industrialization, hence do not implement favourable policies to reduce cost of production. Who is the problem? Those who elect these mediocre leaders!
AlphDoti wrote:hardwood wrote:maka wrote:hardwood wrote:MugundaMan wrote:Speaking of creating cars. Heck, forget even cars but hata piki piki or lawnmowers. How come our Kenyan engineers who have been to Harvard, Stanford, IIT, Oxford etc are unable to create even a simple home grown piki piki to match Boxer or a tattered car to match the Mahindra mkebes from India I usually see on the road. Is it laziness? Ujuaji in theory terms but zero ability to translate to practicality? Surely moulding an engine motor is not rocket science for someone who has gone to MIT and studied engineering, so in over 50 years of independence how come we are unable to produce even a home grown black mamba, jameni? Or is it because our engineers are all at bars, chasing slayqueens and discussing Ruto 2022 succession fuaaaaaaa every day? http://3.bp.blogspot.com...cKQ/s1600/Image0421.jpg And now others think that our engineers (with their useless degrees) can compete with BMW and Toyota in designing and manufacturing cars. We import TVs, phones, washing machines, cookers, fridges, motor cycles etc. Why should we be stopped from importing cars which are also essential equipment. @Hardwood jamaa wa mashamba is in order.... Explain to me why in 2019 we still import such things...Including solar panels yet we pride ourselves with guys who have gone to the best schools for crying out loud a Kenyan was Head of Engineering at Tesla or whatever his position was... There is something terribly wrong with this country I dont know how we will ever change that.... Then you meet these guys in the pub and everyone is introducing himself as Engineer so and so. We should see the results of their engineering training. The most embarassing one is, we even import bicycles! Our political elite do not have the good will for industrialization, hence do not implement favourable policies to reduce cost of production. Who is the problem? Those who elect these mediocre leaders! Yes shida ni sisi... What do you expect from the likes of Sonko when it comes to supporting manufacturing.... If am not wrong we imported 90k cars last year we assemlbed 4700 there about look at the difference.. There is some Rwandan guy who is hand crafting/building bamboo race bikes and they are quite pricey... http://rwandabamboobike.org/
Actually this is a brilliant idea. But I am afraid my accolades end with that statement. This being jubilee, don't be shocked to realize nobody has sat down and thought this through. We clear an average 7,000 second-hand units per month. At a minimum duty of 300K per unit, that makes 2.1B monthly and 25B annually. That is the bare minimum. Throw in the jobs created by the second hand vehicles market. Do we have a vehicle assembly industry big enough to create this number of jobs and generate as much revenue ?? Again, this is Jubilee, the attitude is "tutajulia mbele".
I heard the minister talking of environmental concerns. How about waive duty for electric vehicles and cut our import bill on fuel, stabilize the KES and utilize the excess power being produced. ERC and KPLC are struggling with excess power production. So much so that they have put on hold the execution of any further PPAs. Norway are on track to stop the sale of internal combustion engine vehicles before the tentative 2040 EU deadline. And to imagine the Norwegians got rich selling fossil fuels.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Having a portion of a population being engineers and having some of the inputs need for manufacture isn't enough for a country to manufacture and export.
If all countries thought in this fashion then I doubt if trade would be possible.
Have we laid the policy and infrastructure to achieve this? In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
The Kenyan government has rescinded the decision to ban the importation of 8-year 1,500cc second-hand vehicles, until further consultations take place. The cabinet secretary for Industry, Trade and Co-operatives, Peter Munya said on18 January 2018 that the directives contained in the Draft National Automotive Policy, will target those above 1,500cc. The directive will be implemented in June 2019. “You continue to import vehicles that are eight years old if they are 1,500 cc. That will not change, for now,” he said in an interview with Citizen TV. Kenyans wishing to import 8-year cars above 1,500cc will be the affected lot, he said. Those with higher capacity engines “will be able to absorb the impact of higher prices and taxes” on the five-year models. The Draft National Automotive Policy directives will be implemented in a systematic manner beginning June 2019. Kenya Vehicle Manufacturers, automobile players and some companies are preparing the policy. Car importers have opposed the move, saying they were never consulted. Eventually, the government hopes to cap the age limit to 3-years by 2021. possunt quia posse videntur
FRM2011 wrote:Actually this is a brilliant idea. But I am afraid my accolades end with that statement. This being jubilee, don't be shocked to realize nobody has sat down and thought this through. We clear an average 7,000 second-hand units per month. At a minimum duty of 300K per unit, that makes 2.1B monthly and 25B annually. That is the bare minimum. Throw in the jobs created by the second hand vehicles market. Do we have a vehicle assembly industry big enough to create this number of jobs and generate as much revenue ?? Again, this is Jubilee, the attitude is "tutajulia mbele".
I heard the minister talking of environmental concerns. How about waive duty for electric vehicles and cut our import bill on fuel, stabilize the KES and utilize the excess power being produced. ERC and KPLC are struggling with excess power production. So much so that they have put on hold the execution of any further PPAs. Norway are on track to stop the sale of internal combustion engine vehicles before the tentative 2040 EU deadline. And to imagine the Norwegians got rich selling fossil fuels. Exactly. But don't be surprised if its some local assembly firm which sold the idea to the ministry (hoping to make a kill with the disruption). The ministry takes idea at face value. Makes sugarcoated presentation at cabinet level (ppt prepared by the businessman) and the idea is adopted pap. No feasibility study no nothing. Like the housing thing.
Rank: Member Joined: 8/17/2010 Posts: 110 Location: Nairobi
This is actually a very good idea if only jubilee can see it through to fruition.
Its time we are facilitated with dignity of owning something new. The industry and pricing will correct itself - you just need a proper and firm policy and investors will put up new car plants, supply and choice will increase and prices will come down.
The government should position this whole initiative from aspiration/ self dignity angle.
Can they also ban mitumba clothes? Again; it will take couple of years to adjust but we shall get there somehow.
As for mass manufacturing - we lost the plot 30 years ago and we should be happy with assembly plants. We are just waking up to basic secondary industries while some folks are into quaternery quinary industries - data, technology etc.
If we improve our self dignity and 'buy kenya build kenya', we can then discuss as a country what is our role in global value chain. I think positioning ourselves as the place you come to do leisure is not a far-fetched ambition. Not just tourism, leisure in all its dimensions.
maka wrote:hardwood wrote:MugundaMan wrote:Speaking of creating cars. Heck, forget even cars but hata piki piki or lawnmowers. How come our Kenyan engineers who have been to Harvard, Stanford, IIT, Oxford etc are unable to create even a simple home grown piki piki to match Boxer or a tattered car to match the Mahindra mkebes from India I usually see on the road. Is it laziness? Ujuaji in theory terms but zero ability to translate to practicality? Surely moulding an engine motor is not rocket science for someone who has gone to MIT and studied engineering, so in over 50 years of independence how come we are unable to produce even a home grown black mamba, jameni? Or is it because our engineers are all at bars, chasing slayqueens and discussing Ruto 2022 succession fuaaaaaaa every day? http://3.bp.blogspot.com...cKQ/s1600/Image0421.jpg And now others think that our engineers (with their useless degrees) can compete with BMW and Toyota in designing and manufacturing cars. We import TVs, phones, washing machines, cookers, fridges, motor cycles etc. Why should we be stopped from importing cars which are also essential equipment. @Hardwood jamaa wa mashamba is in order.... Explain to me why in 2019 we still import such things...Including solar panels yet we pride ourselves with guys who have gone to the best schools for crying out loud a Kenyan was Head of Engineering at Tesla or whatever his position was... There is something terribly wrong with this country I dont know how we will ever change that.... I guess you guys are missing the big picture. No single engineer ever builds a car, or a washing machine, or a fridge. If you bring the best engineer from Toyota or BMW and put him in Nairobi he would probably at best be able to build a more efficient jembe or design a better seating arrangement inside a matatu. A car is not the product of an engineer, it is the product of an industry, which is the product of a much larger social, political, cultural and economic ecosystem. The engineer and the car are the tip of the iceberg. The man most credited with the transformation of China , Deng Xiaoping was born in 1904 and then in 1919 at the age of 15 he left China for France to "To learn knowledge and truth from the West in order to save China." The rise of industrial China is a product of many years of chini ya maji changes to how that society functions that has given rise to industries and production of many goods. The engineer part is actually the easy part. It is easy for a guy to grow up in Kenya, go to Kenyan schools, become an engineer and work for the best car making company in the world as has been demonstrated by the guy who worked at Tesla. Creating the industry is the hard part because it needs to be supported by many other things that take time and a lot more to build.
[/quote] Quote: I guess you guys are missing the big picture. No single engineer ever builds a car, or a washing machine, or a fridge. If you bring the best engineer from Toyota or BMW and put him in Nairobi he would probably at best be able to build a more efficient jembe or design a better seating arrangement inside a matatu.
A car is not the product of an engineer, it is the product of an industry, which is the product of a much larger social, political, cultural and economic ecosystem. The engineer and the car are the tip of the iceberg.
The man most credited with the transformation of China , Deng Xiaoping was born in 1904 and then in 1919 at the age of 15 he left China for France to "To learn knowledge and truth from the West in order to save China." The rise of industrial China is a product of many years of chini ya maji changes to how that society functions that has given rise to industries and production of many goods.
The engineer part is actually the easy part. It is easy for a guy to grow up in Kenya, go to Kenyan schools, become an engineer and work for the best car making company in the world as has been demonstrated by the guy who worked at Tesla. Creating the industry is the hard part because it needs to be supported by many other things that take time and a lot more to build.
This is exactly what Mugundaman was trying to say.. to much talk/excuses and no substance whatsoever. Kwani Wright brothers who invented the aeroplane walikuwa wangapi. Few kenyan engineers can even assemble a car/ pikipiki engine. Its largely juakali guys who do it.. with hardly no qualifications. Or Wale kalasinga wa River Road From time to time we see in the press juakali guys coming up with various clever inventions but because they're ....well juakali.. They get very little or no support at all ( from the so called engineers) to hone their skills Show me one tangible invention a graduate Kenyan engineer has come up with hapa Jamhuri in the last 50 years. Hata mtego wa panya is made in PRC Looks like our engineers are taught Chinese dynasties and history and how others industrialised and NOT how Kenya can Industrialise. @ Kusadikika when is Kenya's Deng Xiaoping moment going to happen? Kenyan Engineers have let this Country down. Just like the Japanese in the 20th Century the Chinese have thrived at coping and perfected other people's innovations and technologies. The only thing Our Engineers can copy is an exam Kenyan Engineers need not to go anywhere like Deng Xiaoping did. All info is at finger tips courtesy of information technology They simply need to copy and modify the technology that is already there. The problem is 99% of their coursework is classroom based. Some graduate without wearing Workwear overall America Australia Europe don't sleep because they are worried the Chinese are stealing their technologies. And yes They are Africa is sleeping while China dumps sub standard products whilst stealing trillions of dollars worth of minerals While our engineers are reminiscing on Century old plus Deng Xiaoping ideology Bure kabisa
Rongla wrote:Quote:
I guess you guys are missing the big picture. No single engineer ever builds a car, or a washing machine, or a fridge. If you bring the best engineer from Toyota or BMW and put him in Nairobi he would probably at best be able to build a more efficient jembe or design a better seating arrangement inside a matatu.
A car is not the product of an engineer, it is the product of an industry, which is the product of a much larger social, political, cultural and economic ecosystem. The engineer and the car are the tip of the iceberg.
The man most credited with the transformation of China , Deng Xiaoping was born in 1904 and then in 1919 at the age of 15 he left China for France to "To learn knowledge and truth from the West in order to save China." The rise of industrial China is a product of many years of chini ya maji changes to how that society functions that has given rise to industries and production of many goods.
The engineer part is actually the easy part. It is easy for a guy to grow up in Kenya, go to Kenyan schools, become an engineer and work for the best car making company in the world as has been demonstrated by the guy who worked at Tesla. Creating the industry is the hard part because it needs to be supported by many other things that take time and a lot more to build.
This is exactly what Mugundaman was trying to say.. to much talk/excuses and no substance whatsoever. Kwani Wright brothers who invented the aeroplane walikuwa wangapi. Few kenyan engineers can even assemble a car/ pikipiki engine. Its largely juakali guys who do it.. with hardly no qualifications. Or Wale kalasinga wa River Road From time to time we see in the press juakali guys coming up with various clever inventions but because they're ....well juakali.. They get very little or no support at all ( from the so called engineers) to hone their skills Show me one tangible invention a graduate Kenyan engineer has come up with hapa Jamhuri in the last 50 years. Hata mtego wa panya is made in PRC Looks like our engineers are taught Chinese dynasties and history and how others industrialised and NOT how Kenya can Industrialise. @ Kusadikika when is Kenya's Deng Xiaoping moment going to happen? Kenyan Engineers have let this Country down. Just like the Japanese in the 20th Century the Chinese have thrived at coping and perfected other people's innovations and technologies. The only thing Our Engineers can copy is an exam Kenyan Engineers need not to go anywhere like Deng Xiaoping did. All info is at finger tips courtesy of information technology They simply need to copy and modify the technology that is already there. The problem is 99% of their coursework is classroom based. Some graduate without wearing Workwear overall America Australia Europe don't sleep because they are worried the Chinese are stealing their technologies. And yes They are Africa is sleeping while China dumps sub standard products whilst stealing trillions of dollars worth of minerals While our engineers are reminiscing on Century old plus Deng Xiaoping ideology Bure kabisa Aren't those juakali guys engineers for you to qualify to be called one you have to have undergone the 844 system? The wright brothers had 3 and 4 yr high school education. None received a diploma "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
If you have the bundles the phenomenon of low industrialization in Africa is addressed by Sir Paul Collier. It's an hour long lecture but useful https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e3lh3Lb1kes
Age of mtumba cars cut to 3yrs