SME
Ideas
Nipe Lift
Rank: New-farer Joined: 7/25/2010 Posts: 42 Location: Kenya
tom_boy wrote:Another potentially stupid question,
Which law governs operation of boda boda? For those injured on bodaboda, who pays them? Riding a motor cycle without insurance is an offence. http://kenyalaw.org/caselaw/cases/view/133944/
WakaWaka wrote:[quote=tom_boy]Another potentially stupid question,
Which law governs operation of boda boda? For those injured on bodaboda, who pays them? Riding a motor cycle without insurance is an offence. http://kenyalaw.org/caselaw/cases/view/133944/[/quote] Now you are deflecting issues. This thread is pertinently about PSV insurance and fare paying passengers. Kwani you did not learn about context in the school you attended, In kenyan pallance, "bodaboda" is a motorcycle used for conducting business of ferrying passengers mainly, and sometimes goods. Now you know. Sasa kindly direct me to relevant law on PSV for bodaboda. They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
tom_boy wrote:WakaWaka wrote:[quote=tom_boy]Another potentially stupid question,
Which law governs operation of boda boda? For those injured on bodaboda, who pays them? Riding a motor cycle without insurance is an offence. http://kenyalaw.org/caselaw/cases/view/133944/[/quote] Now you are deflecting issues. This thread is pertinently about PSV insurance and fare paying passengers. Kwani you did not learn about context in the school you attended, In kenyan pallance, "bodaboda" is a motorcycle used for conducting business of ferrying passengers mainly, and sometimes goods. Now you know. Sasa kindly direct me to relevant law on PSV for bodaboda. NATIONAL TRANSPORT AND SAFETY AUTHORITY (OPERATION OF MOTORCYCLES) REGULATIONS, 2015 [L.N. 19/2015.] http://kenyalaw.org/lex/...eg=No.%2033%20of%202012
Bodaboda should have PSV insurance - see Regulation 5(e).
WakaWaka wrote:tom_boy wrote:WakaWaka wrote:[quote=tom_boy]Another potentially stupid question,
Which law governs operation of boda boda? For those injured on bodaboda, who pays them? Riding a motor cycle without insurance is an offence. http://kenyalaw.org/caselaw/cases/view/133944/[/quote] Now you are deflecting issues. This thread is pertinently about PSV insurance and fare paying passengers. Kwani you did not learn about context in the school you attended, In kenyan pallance, "bodaboda" is a motorcycle used for conducting business of ferrying passengers mainly, and sometimes goods. Now you know. Sasa kindly direct me to relevant law on PSV for bodaboda. NATIONAL TRANSPORT AND SAFETY AUTHORITY (OPERATION OF MOTORCYCLES) REGULATIONS, 2015 [L.N. 19/2015.] http://kenyalaw.org/lex/...eg=No.%2033%20of%202012
Bodaboda should have PSV insurance - see Regulation 5(e). Ok. Point noted. Bodaboda should have PSV insurance. However what constitutes a PSV is not well defined in the Act. I think that is a loop hole for NipeLift They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
tom_boy wrote:WakaWaka wrote:tom_boy wrote:WakaWaka wrote:[quote=tom_boy]Another potentially stupid question,
Bodaboda should have PSV insurance - see Regulation 5(e). Ok. Point noted. Bodaboda should have PSV insurance. However what constitutes a PSV is not well defined in the Act. I think that is a loop hole for NipeLift What is the loophole? It's very clear that if you use your car for hire or reward, you should comply with PSV requirements.
WakaWaka wrote:tom_boy wrote:WakaWaka wrote:tom_boy wrote:WakaWaka wrote:[quote=tom_boy]Another potentially stupid question,
Bodaboda should have PSV insurance - see Regulation 5(e). Ok. Point noted. Bodaboda should have PSV insurance. However what constitutes a PSV is not well defined in the Act. I think that is a loop hole for NipeLift What is the loophole? It's very clear that if you use your car for hire or reward, you should comply with PSV requirements. Maybe I have missed the clause that says this explicitly. In fact exchange of money is not even mentioned, at least not in above quoted act. They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
tom_boy wrote:WakaWaka wrote:tom_boy wrote:WakaWaka wrote:tom_boy wrote:WakaWaka wrote:[quote=tom_boy]Another potentially stupid question,
Bodaboda should have PSV insurance - see Regulation 5(e). Ok. Point noted. Bodaboda should have PSV insurance. However what constitutes a PSV is not well defined in the Act. I think that is a loop hole for NipeLift What is the loophole? It's very clear that if you use your car for hire or reward, you should comply with PSV requirements. Maybe I have missed the clause that says this explicitly. In fact exchange of money is not even mentioned, at least not in above quoted act. @Mawinder has quoted the Act extensively. But Just a reminder. Section 2 of traffic Act reads: “public service vehicle” means any motor vehicle which— (a) is licensed under Part XI to carry passengers for hire or reward; or (b) plies for hire or reward or is let out for hire or reward; or (c) is carrying passengers for hire or reward; If a word is not defined in an Act, you go for the ordinary english meaning. Reward in ordinary English means "a thing given in recognition of service, effort, or achievement". Synonyms for reward include "price", "payment", "profit", "advantage", "tip", "consideration". https://www.google.com/s...id-browser&q=reward
WakaWaka wrote:tom_boy wrote:WakaWaka wrote:tom_boy wrote:WakaWaka wrote:tom_boy wrote:WakaWaka wrote:[quote=tom_boy]Another potentially stupid question,
Bodaboda should have PSV insurance - see Regulation 5(e). Ok. Point noted. Bodaboda should have PSV insurance. However what constitutes a PSV is not well defined in the Act. I think that is a loop hole for NipeLift What is the loophole? It's very clear that if you use your car for hire or reward, you should comply with PSV requirements. Maybe I have missed the clause that says this explicitly. In fact exchange of money is not even mentioned, at least not in above quoted act. @Mawinder has quoted the Act extensively. But Just a reminder. Section 2 of traffic Act reads: “public service vehicle” means any motor vehicle which— (a) is licensed under Part XI to carry passengers for hire or reward; or (b) plies for hire or reward or is let out for hire or reward; or (c) is carrying passengers for hire or reward; If a word is not defined in an Act, you go for the ordinary english meaning. Reward in ordinary English means "a thing given in recognition of service, effort, or achievement". Synonyms for reward include "price", "payment", "profit", "advantage", "tip", "consideration". https://www.google.com/s...id-browser&q=reward
Ok. Noted. They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
WakaWaka wrote:tom_boy wrote:WakaWaka wrote:tom_boy wrote:WakaWaka wrote:tom_boy wrote:WakaWaka wrote:[quote=tom_boy]Another potentially stupid question,
Thanks for highlighting and bringing out the truth about this criminal enterprise..
[quote=WakaWak @Mawinder has quoted the Act extensively. But Just a reminder. Section 2 of traffic Act reads: “public service vehicle” means any motor vehicle which— (a) is licensed under Part XI to carry passengers for hire or reward; or (b) plies for hire or reward or is let out for hire or reward; or (c) is carrying passengers for hire or reward; If a word is not defined in an Act, you go for the ordinary english meaning. Reward in ordinary English means "a thing given in recognition of service, effort, or achievement". Synonyms for reward include "price", "payment", "profit", "advantage", "tip", "consideration". https://www.google.com/s...id-browser&q=reward
[/quote] Where is reward captured if the passengers were to pay in kind and the vehicle owner is ok with that?. eg,If I have a bunch of bananas, I pay using that..
SME
Ideas
Nipe Lift