wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

6 Pages«<3456>
Nipe Lift
WakaWaka
#81 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2018 8:52:12 AM

tom_boy wrote:
[quote=uncleboni]Celebrating a major milestone today - 5,000+ app installs on @NipeLift app.

Thank you all for the love and support you have shown us the last two months. You give us the strength and resilience to keep pursuing this dream.

Remarkable that this feat has been accomplished with an almost zero marketing budget.

Download the app here - https://play.google.com/...?id=com.nipelift.mobile[/quote]

Keep going. You are on the right track. Wachana na kelele za chura. People have been giving lifts to neighbours to work and receiving something small for fuel since as long as I can remember.

People has also been taking Bhangi for as long as I can remember. Now go stock your shop with Bhangi.

Point is, this is an app to promote illegal business. Just a matter of time before someone goes to prison.
Jimmii
#82 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2018 1:09:43 PM

"Probox cars set to get PSV licences in matatus regulation" Business Daily 19th December 2018, Pg. 6.

NipeLift should stay put in my view, as the law is reactive, you innovate first and if you disrupt the market, the law will adjust to cater for useful innovations. If we waited for the law, we would still be riding horses and donkeys.

Quote from the Business Daily Probox Article:
"They are not defined as PSVs and we cannot regulate them. The idea is to bring them under a regulatory mechanism and we are looking at how to bring them on board,” Ms Koimett told the Business Daily on phone. “It is a matter of looking at the current law and making the necessary changes.” Ms Koimett said bringing the cars under the law will ensure they do not carry excess passenges"
#83 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2018 2:20:59 PM

Jimmii wrote:
"Probox cars set to get PSV licences in matatus regulation" Business Daily 19th December 2018, Pg. 6.

NipeLift should stay put in my view, as the law is reactive, you innovate first and if you disrupt the market, the law will adjust to cater for useful innovations. If we waited for the law, we would still be riding horses and donkeys.

"They are not defined as PSVs and we cannot regulate them. The idea is to bring them under a regulatory mechanism and we are looking at how to bring them on board,” Ms Koimett told the Business Daily on phone. “It is a matter of looking at the current law and making the necessary changes.” Ms Koimett said bringing the cars under the law will ensure they do not carry excess passenges"

Newbie praising Nipelift...Well...The article has nothing to do with nipelift, Nipelift is a mere illegal copy cat of Uber and there are already regulations covering such..This illegal nipelift shall be dealt with
WakaWaka
#84 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2018 10:23:03 PM

Jimmii wrote:

Matatu per the traffic laws carries 10-25 passengers (excluding driver). So you want probox to legally carry 11-26 people?
Jimmii
#85 Posted : Thursday, December 20, 2018 12:10:51 PM

Jimmii wrote:

Newbie praising Nipelift...Well...The article has nothing to do with nipelift, Nipelift is a mere illegal copy cat of Uber and there are already regulations covering such..This illegal nipelift shall be dealt with

This was just an example of how laws evolve to respond to the public needs, even PSVs already have regulations -which are about to be adjusted for Probox. And yes it has everything to do with what has been said here about the service legality. The service maybe illegal but if it becomes popular with the public, authorities will notice and start working on regulations, it has taken over a decade for Probox.

I have no interest in NipeLift and I wouldn't give lifts to strangers in my car but I'm surprised to see some of the so called ELDERS on Wazua really discouraging and becoming emotional about what the guy is trying to create. It's best to give negative or positive factual feedback but not just emotional criticism.
#86 Posted : Friday, December 21, 2018 4:27:49 AM

Jimmii wrote:

This was just an example of how laws evolve to respond to the public needs, even PSVs already have regulations -which are about to be adjusted for Probox. And yes it has everything to do with what has been said here about the service legality. The service maybe illegal but if it becomes popular with the public, authorities will notice and start working on regulations, it has taken over a decade for Probox.

I have no interest in NipeLift and I wouldn't give lifts to strangers in my car but I'm surprised to see some of the so called ELDERS on Wazua really discouraging and becoming emotional about what the guy is trying to create. It's best to give negative or positive factual feedback but not just emotional criticism.

What is not factual about operating an unlicensed PSV vehicle under the guise of Nipelift? What law allows for such games? Which insurance company vwill compensate customers in case of claims? Will the mtumba car owner have money to compensate a claim of say Shs 5m in case of accident? Sisi hapana wajinga hapa..Wewe najoin wazua kwa kazi ya kutetea hii ushenzi ya nipelift ambayo ni criminal kwa saa hii...
tom_boy
#87 Posted : Friday, December 21, 2018 4:53:53 AM

Wacha niulize ki ujinga

If I give you a lift in my car and make you sign a waiver acknowledging that in the event of an accident, you will not be compensated by anyone. If I make this a precondition to receiving the lift, can you then turn around and sue me in event of an accident?
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
tom_boy
#88 Posted : Friday, December 21, 2018 4:55:15 AM

Another potentially stupid question,

Which law governs operation of boda boda? For those injured on bodaboda, who pays them?
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
WakaWaka
#89 Posted : Friday, December 21, 2018 5:34:04 AM

tom_boy wrote:
Wacha niulize ki ujinga

If I give you a lift in my car and make you sign a waiver acknowledging that in the event of an accident, you will not be compensated by anyone. If I make this a precondition to receiving the lift, can you then turn around and sue me in event of an accident?

Such an agreement will be illegal, contrary to public policy, null and void.
tom_boy
#90 Posted : Friday, December 21, 2018 6:01:07 AM

WakaWaka wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
Wacha niulize ki ujinga

Such an agreement will be illegal, contrary to public policy, null and void.

In personal accident and life assurance policies issued by most ( if not all) insurance providers in KE, injuries incurred while riding on a motorcycle either as a driver or passenger are under exclusions.

How do you merge this legally with bodaboda operations in KE and your statement on contrary to public policy above.

In other words, its ok for an insurance company to tell you, " if you ride on a bodaboda and get hurt, you are on your own" but I cannot tell someone who wants to get in my car " hey boss, if you ride with me and get hurt, you are on your own"
WakaWaka
#91 Posted : Friday, December 21, 2018 7:27:03 AM

tom_boy wrote:
Another potentially stupid question,

Which law governs operation of boda boda? For those injured on bodaboda, who pays them?

Riding a motor cycle without insurance is an offence.

http://kenyalaw.org/caselaw/cases/view/133944/
tom_boy
#92 Posted : Friday, December 21, 2018 7:41:53 AM

WakaWaka wrote:
[quote=tom_boy]Another potentially stupid question,

http://kenyalaw.org/caselaw/cases/view/133944/[/quote]

Now you are deflecting issues. This thread is pertinently about PSV insurance and fare paying passengers. Kwani you did not learn about context in the school you attended, Shame on you

In kenyan pallance, "bodaboda" is a motorcycle
used for conducting business of ferrying passengers mainly, and sometimes goods. Now you know. Sasa kindly direct me to relevant law on PSV for bodaboda.
WakaWaka
#93 Posted : Friday, December 21, 2018 8:51:52 AM

tom_boy wrote:
WakaWaka wrote:

Now you are deflecting issues. This thread is pertinently about PSV insurance and fare paying passengers. Kwani you did not learn about context in the school you attended, Shame on you

used for conducting business of ferrying passengers mainly, and sometimes goods. Now you know. Sasa kindly direct me to relevant law on PSV for bodaboda.

NATIONAL TRANSPORT AND SAFETY AUTHORITY (OPERATION OF MOTORCYCLES) REGULATIONS, 2015
[L.N. 19/2015.]

http://kenyalaw.org/lex/...eg=No.%2033%20of%202012

Bodaboda should have PSV insurance - see Regulation 5(e).
tom_boy
#94 Posted : Friday, December 21, 2018 9:17:39 AM

WakaWaka wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
WakaWaka wrote:

NATIONAL TRANSPORT AND SAFETY AUTHORITY (OPERATION OF MOTORCYCLES) REGULATIONS, 2015
[L.N. 19/2015.]

Ok. Point noted. Bodaboda should have PSV insurance.

However what constitutes a PSV is not well defined in the Act. I think that is a loop hole for NipeLift
WakaWaka
#95 Posted : Friday, December 21, 2018 1:19:39 PM

tom_boy wrote:
WakaWaka wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
WakaWaka wrote:

[L.N. 19/2015.]

However what constitutes a PSV is not well defined in the Act. I think that is a loop hole for NipeLift

What is the loophole? It's very clear that if you use your car for hire or reward, you should comply with PSV requirements.
tom_boy
#96 Posted : Friday, December 21, 2018 1:43:28 PM

WakaWaka wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
WakaWaka wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
WakaWaka wrote:

[L.N. 19/2015.]

What is the loophole? It's very clear that if you use your car for hire or reward, you should comply with PSV requirements.

Maybe I have missed the clause that says this explicitly. In fact exchange of money is not even mentioned, at least not in above quoted act.
WakaWaka
#97 Posted : Friday, December 21, 2018 6:03:44 PM

tom_boy wrote:
WakaWaka wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
WakaWaka wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
WakaWaka wrote:

[L.N. 19/2015.]

Maybe I have missed the clause that says this explicitly. In fact exchange of money is not even mentioned, at least not in above quoted act.

@Mawinder has quoted the Act extensively. But Just a reminder. Section 2 of traffic Act reads:

“public service vehicle” means any motor vehicle which—

(a) is licensed under Part XI to carry passengers for hire or reward; or
(b) plies for hire or reward or is let out for hire or reward; or
(c) is carrying passengers for hire or reward;

If a word is not defined in an Act, you go for the ordinary english meaning.

Reward in ordinary English means "a thing given in recognition of service, effort, or achievement". Synonyms for reward include "price", "payment", "profit", "advantage", "tip", "consideration".

https://www.google.com/s...id-browser&q=reward

tom_boy
#98 Posted : Friday, December 21, 2018 7:56:42 PM

WakaWaka wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
WakaWaka wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
WakaWaka wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
WakaWaka wrote:

[L.N. 19/2015.]

@Mawinder has quoted the Act extensively. But Just a reminder. Section 2 of traffic Act reads:

Reward in ordinary English means "a thing given in recognition of service, effort, or achievement". Synonyms for reward include "price", "payment", "profit", "advantage", "tip", "consideration".

Ok. Noted.
#99 Posted : Saturday, December 22, 2018 7:22:57 PM

WakaWaka wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
WakaWaka wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
WakaWaka wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
WakaWaka wrote:

[L.N. 19/2015.]

Thanks for highlighting and bringing out the truth about this criminal enterprise..
Chaka
#100 Posted : Saturday, December 22, 2018 7:33:12 PM

[quote=WakaWak

[/quote]
Where is reward captured if the passengers were to pay in kind and the vehicle owner is ok with that?. eg,If I have a bunch of bananas, I pay using that..