wazua Mon, Jan 13, 2025

12 Pages<1234>»
Dumb investor...Thats me....KCB at 32.25
kyukkamba
#21 Posted : Tuesday, June 22, 2010 12:51:24 PM

Don't rely on any of these Brokers.Hakuna Good or Bad Brokers..They r all the same... This money is urs and it's u and u alone who'll be responsible if it grows or deminishes in value.U r in the diaspora and must be having libraries around you, nenda ukasome Mamaa for a week or so on how trades are done and all that surrounds Stock Markets.Then get back to Wazua and read all comments from Gurus here alafu make a move..Polepooooole don't b in a hurry ..This Market is here to stay....and as someone said here ....Opportunities are like Buses moja ikienda another one is on the way comming....Take ur time.. Ati a broker to guide youPray . Na iyo pesa kama ni nyingi si we join hands and do some construction work back homesmile All teh Best.
Ni Uhuru wa Mbesha...Niguo kana tiguo?
Gems
#22 Posted : Tuesday, June 22, 2010 12:58:05 PM

kizee wrote:
@ 2 cents

Bought 5,000 KCB at 32.35 then an additional 5,000 at 27-nini hii?

if indeed you are invseting for the long term averaging is actually the worst method because it ties up your money...it thus makes ur trading less effective in the long run because you miss out on oppurtunities...so what happens if the stock hits zero? what do avreagers do in such an example...please name 5 prominent investors or traders who advocate for averaging...i will wait

@Kizee, It was not 2 cents that bought like that..It was me the dumbest investor. It was recommended by my nice D&B broker and i authorized it. They could have waited for it to drop further but they wanted to put my money somewhere instead of it sitting idly in the account. Actually i have ksh55000 balance for last year that i need to put it somewhere, any ideas?
The Merchant
#23 Posted : Tuesday, June 22, 2010 1:02:27 PM

Guys, I was not suggesting that a broker be used as a guide. However, a good broker counts too. Fast execution of an order at/close to your order price reduces the emotional burden while trading. Nobody can ignore that.
About the broker recommending a trade, this is your choice and @gems situation was different since she was relying on D&BS ADVICE WHICH WAS COMPLETELY FLAWED.
sheep
#24 Posted : Tuesday, June 22, 2010 1:03:38 PM

kizee wrote:
@ 2 cents

Bought 5,000 KCB at 32.35 then an additional 5,000 at 27-nini hii?

if indeed you are invseting for the long term averaging is actually the worst method because it ties up your money...it thus makes ur trading less effective in the long run because you miss out on oppurtunities...so what happens if the stock hits zero? what do avreagers do in such an example...please name 5 prominent investors or traders who advocate for averaging...i will wait

Ben Graham and Philip Fisher actually strongly advocated for it...only in fundamentally sound co.s,the only way to find real bargains is during a panic or bear.

But for traders who dont care for fundamentals just price action,its a real killer
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
Gems
#25 Posted : Tuesday, June 22, 2010 1:05:39 PM

kyukkamba wrote:
Don't rely on any of these Brokers.Hakuna Good or Bad Brokers..They r all the same... This money is urs and it's u and u alone who'll be responsible if it grows or deminishes in value.U r in the diaspora and must be having libraries around you, nenda ukasome Mamaa for a week or so on how trades are done and all that surrounds Stock Markets.Then get back to Wazua and read all comments from Gurus here alafu make a move..Polepooooole don't b in a hurry ..This Market is here to stay....and as someone said here ....Opportunities are like Buses moja ikienda another one is on the way comming....Take ur time.. Ati a broker to guide youPray . Na iyo pesa kama ni nyingi si we join hands and do some construction work back homesmile All teh Best.

Appreciate your advise too. I will read more on this but since i cant trade from here or so i hear, i need someone to do it for me. I am not investing all in stocks, I have ventured into real estate/construction and the good and faithful guys back home have taken 150, 000 so far from me and i cant get approvals for drawings. I guess if they don't approve, i cant built and its very frustrating. Lands gave me the run arounds when i was in Kenya and 4 weeks flew by without ever getting much accomplished. I don't know if we all go through this many challenges but i have gotten my share of them, i wished they would ease up some.
ProverB
#26 Posted : Tuesday, June 22, 2010 1:05:43 PM

Everyone.. You are NOT dumb for buying KCB at 32...or access at 35...or KQ at 127..or Jubilee at 310..or eveready at 27...or mumias at 29..or any such price that characterised the NSE in 2008..
what lessons have you learnt that your investing now is profitable?
Learn your lessons.. move on..atleast you got a CPH certificate... certified punk'd hardknock!Brick wall
It is well....you r smarter than most.Applause
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
#27 Posted : Tuesday, June 22, 2010 1:07:46 PM

kizee wrote:
NEVER EVER average...averaging is adding good money to bad..treat each buy as a different position/trade

@Kizee i totally disagree with you if you average your accounts are much easier to manage and if you treat each buy as a different position in your books it still doesnt change the fact that you are AVEREAGING....

@gems choosing whether to average or to sell is all dependent on the fundamentals... if the price is falling because the companies fundamentals become negative then by all means sell...

but if the price is being brought down by things like market worries, profit taking and foreign outflows then thats your opportunity to buy good companies at bargain prices by all means average...

i give KCB a "screaming sell" recommendation due to little possibility of capital gains
Gems
#28 Posted : Tuesday, June 22, 2010 1:20:09 PM

guru267 wrote:
kizee wrote:
NEVER EVER average...averaging is adding good money to bad..treat each buy as a different position/trade

@Kizee i totally disagree with you if you average your accounts are much easier to manage and if you treat each buy as a different position in your books it still doesnt change the fact that you are AVEREAGING....

@gems choosing whether to average or to sell is all dependent on the fundamentals... if the price is falling because the companies fundamentals become negative then by all means sell...

but if the price is being brought down by things like market worries, profit taking and foreign outflows then thats your opportunity to buy good companies at bargain prices by all means average...

i give KCB a "screaming sell" recommendation due to little possibility of capital gains

@guru267, If i get you, you saying i should sell KCB shares now? All 10000 and loss money, since i bought at 32.25 and 27 (average 29) and sell at around 18.

@ProverB, ....I got my CPH certificate..:)
#29 Posted : Tuesday, June 22, 2010 1:57:43 PM

Gems wrote:

@guru267, If i get you, you saying i should sell KCB shares now? All 10000 and loss money, since i bought at 32.25 and 27 (average 29) and sell at around 18.

@ProverB, ....I got my CPH certificate..:)

@gems, recognition of your disease is the first step to your cure. congrats for asking for help.

Every investor knows that you should buy when the market/ share is low and sell when it is high.

However, no one knows the high nor the low - not even your broker, investment advisors, centum (look for their 2009 accounts), cfc stanbic holdings(they got really burn't last year).

Most wazuans got burn't in the 2008-9 bear (ask them).

unfortunately you entered the market at the peak, when it looked like the only direction for stocks would be up up up (as @qw says).

You were probably influenced by family, colleagues and friends who could not stop talking about how much they had made.

Right now you are in the thick of it. You must stop relying on your broker and friends for advice. Take it as serious business.

BTW KCB, SAFCOM and Access are not very bad investments. I would say your broker advised you well.

I agree on most of the posts above.

Before you take any step on your position, get yourself a copy of the "intelligent investor" and read it twice.

Post your email and i will send you the e-book free of charge.

My 2 cents
#30 Posted : Tuesday, June 22, 2010 2:05:14 PM

Sparkly, is that favourable treatment only reserved for the mamas????
kizee
#31 Posted : Tuesday, June 22, 2010 2:09:48 PM

so

averagers say u shud average to bring down ur cost and not because the stocks price action is giving a buy signal? does this make sense? if the stock hits zero what happens? maybe u cud buy at zero and even lower ur average further...im still waiting for sucess stories using this strategy

@guru..each new buy is a different possy because its assumed u sold at profit or loss thus each new trade is a new position..averaging never works...its adding good money to bad and tying capital up...the investors who make most money are those who stay longest in the game

@ sheep- where did those two gentlemen advocate for averaging? and how can one tell a company is fundamentally sound? in 07 lehmans was very fundamentally sound and we all know wat happened...anyway...if u guys wish to continue averaging then thats up to u no need to flog a dead horse here...im outta here

#32 Posted : Tuesday, June 22, 2010 2:10:32 PM

The truth @sparkly speaks. Listen well, my padwan...
ProverB
#33 Posted : Tuesday, June 22, 2010 2:19:46 PM

kizee wrote:
so

averagers say u shud average to bring down ur cost and not because the stocks price action is giving a buy signal? does this make sense? if the stock hits zero what happens? maybe u cud buy at zero and even lower ur average further...im still waiting for sucess stories using this strategy

@ sheep- where did those two gentlemen advocate for averaging? and how can one tell a company is fundamentally sound? in 07 lehmans was very fundamentally sound and we all know wat happened...anyway...if u guys wish to continue averaging then thats up to u no need to flog a dead horse here...im outta here

Dude.. It doesn't mean you cost average evrything or ANYTHING!!!! Eh?

cost average based on company's future prospects and NOT your personal cost cutting!!
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
The Merchant
#34 Posted : Tuesday, June 22, 2010 2:26:00 PM

@sparkly...please send me 'the intelligent investor' by ben graham as an ebook
My email is themerchant7448@gmail.com
Many thanks
kyukkamba
#35 Posted : Tuesday, June 22, 2010 2:40:34 PM

.....I will read more on this but since i cant trade from here or so i hear, i need someone to do it for me......
U are wrong U can SELL/BUY by ur own self just like the way am doing ...am in the disapora...and doing it through Dyer..Never ever place a "BEST PRICE" buy/sell orders ALWAYS state the price you want otherwise the'll eat you up.... Open your Nomura Account with Dyer, make ur proper research as said above then take a ka-leap and feel the heat.... akuna kutegemea ma rela... Hii ni pesa yako ... MANAGE IT.

I am not investing all in stocks, I have ventured into real estate/construction and the good and faithful guys back home have taken 150,000 so far from me and i cant get approvals for drawings.... [/quote]
What I don't understand is WHY you people have to rely on relatives...WHY... 4GETTHEM ...Just do it urself..Pick up that phone of urs and start talkin to the banks, do ur search get advice from WAZUA know what you want, take all the precautions u can. cALL them and fix the deal in BLACK nad WHITE period...U have to know that Relas. wanaungua back home sababu ya maisha ngumu na siasa mbovu and they think u r making Millions so wakikukanyagia some few shillings they dont think u understand and it's ok... but it's not.

Wacha ku rely on anyone ..kwani u cant think on ur own??Sad
Ni Uhuru wa Mbesha...Niguo kana tiguo?
Chaka
#36 Posted : Tuesday, June 22, 2010 2:46:51 PM

I could do with the ebook as well....
chakacrafts at email.com
theking
#37 Posted : Tuesday, June 22, 2010 2:55:51 PM

merchant,hope you received my e-book.
The Merchant
#38 Posted : Tuesday, June 22, 2010 3:16:44 PM

@the king....thanks alot your highness, just got the e book. I really appreciate.
#39 Posted : Tuesday, June 22, 2010 4:04:13 PM

Anyone who has "The Intellgent Investor" and any other e-book on stocks/personal finance please them to me at l.virtuoso@yahoo.com
I'm always thirsty for information
#40 Posted : Tuesday, June 22, 2010 4:15:37 PM

My 2 cents wrote:
Sparkly, is that favourable treatment only reserved for the mamas????

@my 2 cents Laughing out loudly not at all. Post your email and i will send it to you too.

@the merchant check your email.

@chaka is that email address real?

@youcant your's is coming up.