#1 Posted : Monday, November 26, 2018 10:29:34 AM

Disney trademarks 'Hakuna matata'

https://www.businessdail...67976-wyiem7z/index.html
#2 Posted : Monday, November 26, 2018 10:56:58 AM

[quote=Lolest!]Disney patents 'Hakuna matata'

https://www.businessdail...7976-wyiem7z/index.html[/quote]

They built a merchandising business around the phrase. Let them protect it.
#3 Posted : Monday, November 26, 2018 11:33:40 AM

Anti_Burglar wrote:
Kudos teachers and pupils for good effort in science Applause

I think we need to patent all these good traditional methods.... quickly before uncle SAM country offers "scholarship" (read brain drain) to the pupils and "steal" the discovery. Then few years down the line it comes out as modified, improved idea Pray

In fact, while @sitaki.kujulikana is working on patenting ugali, I'm working on patenting our African thatched roofing before somebody says it is "mzungu style", the way "kitenge" are targetted.

Do you get the patented drugs all the time for everything that ails you? Why should we respect your patents? Why don't you ...leave this patent business alone?

Link
#4 Posted : Monday, November 26, 2018 2:08:56 PM

Really??!
I didn't know you could patent popular phrases? Are they going to patent the name simba and our greetings as well??

#5 Posted : Monday, November 26, 2018 6:16:24 PM

Really??!
I didn't know you could patent popular phrases? Are they going to patent the name simba and our greetings as well??

not "Patent" but rather trademark. I don't get the complaints...

This is a little story about four people named Everybody, Somebody, Anybody, and Nobody.

There was an important job to be done and Everybody was sure that Somebody would do it.

Anybody could have done it, but Nobody did it.

Somebody got angry about that because it was Everybody's job.

Everybody thought that Anybody could do it, but Nobody realized that Everybody wouldn't do it.

It ended up that Everybody blamed Somebody when Nobody did what Anybody could have done.

#6 Posted : Monday, November 26, 2018 7:01:44 PM

Really??!

You're right baas...smile
Realtreaty
#7 Posted : Monday, November 26, 2018 7:50:45 PM

We can still ignore it as we have been using it all the time. We cannot be forced to it as we have it on our Clothes before that. We can beat them in court of law.

A business in Kenya cannot patent a community thing.

Kiondo gone with Japanise- few people using it now as people felt it was a stolen identity

Our Lawyers are to blame. Better they could have studied CRE/IRE/HRE/JRE

#8 Posted : Monday, November 26, 2018 7:53:20 PM

Realtreaty wrote:
We can still ignore it as we have been using it all the time. We cannot be forced to it as we have it on our Clothes before that. We can beat them in court of law.

Kiondo gone with Japanise- few people using it now as people felt it was a stolen identity

who are these people you are blaming? mbona wewe huku "patent" these things? secondly, who tells you people don't use Kiondos because it was a stolen identity? it's all economics my friend.
#9 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2018 9:30:37 AM

Realtreaty wrote:

I agree. There's no way we can go patenting every word and phrases. But also, this could be misleading, we need to check what the patent applies to and which regions. It could be for an animated feature produced for certain markets.

#10 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2018 3:24:47 PM

Realtreaty wrote:

I agree. There's no way we can go patenting every word and phrases. But also, this could be misleading, we need to check what the patent applies to and which regions. It could be for an animated feature produced for certain markets.

why are you guys calling it "patenting"? it's a trademark and it has a context!

While a patent, with the exclusion of a design patent, protects inventions of new processes.
copyright protects published and unpublished original works, including works in literature, music, art, architecture, software, and choreography. Like a patent holder, the copyright owner has exclusive rights, including the right to reproduce, make derivatives, distribute copies, display the work in public, or perform the work publicly.

Trademarks protect the words, phrases, symbols, logos, or other devices used to identify the source of goods or services from usage by other competitors. Trademarks give the owner exclusive use of certain images and phrases, and the right to prevent others from using a similar mark that would confuse consumers about who was producing the goods or services the consumer was buying.

Apple is a trademark - no one stopped people from growing them. Just stops random people from creating a company called 'Apple'
Virgin is a trademark...
Coca cola is a trademark
e.t.c.
plus who said "Hakuna Matata" is "ours"? it's a common expression from here to south africa!
MatataMingi
#11 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2018 4:13:24 PM

Very soon, someone is going to steal my username.
#12 Posted : Thursday, November 29, 2018 9:08:39 AM

Realtreaty wrote:

Moi recently got exclusive rights to use the word Kabarak even though it is the name of a place/village. That is like getting a trade mark for the word Nairobi.

https://www.businessdail...41560-e0arvjz/index.html
#13 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2018 12:52:02 PM

We moved on long time ago. Bora uhai is our thing