wazua Thu, Mar 26, 2026

10 Pages<12345>»
Marriage Survey
#21 Posted : Monday, June 21, 2010 6:12:26 PM

Wa_ithaka wrote:
Marry young, you get richer earlier.

Really? I thought women were all about draining our finances?
Tafadhali tuelezee bwana Waithaka.
Ric dees
#22 Posted : Monday, June 21, 2010 6:29:42 PM

It's interesting to read the views of different people and like many things in life people tend to rely a lot on opinions as opposed to results.

As a married person i will try and draw parallels on the different scenarios i have seen through the places i have been, then maybe we can all judge by ourselves.

It's true in the recent times, marriage esp in Kenya has taken a different step altogether, one of my priest friends in All Saints told me it's a shame that over 60% of marriages done in his church over the last 3 years have failed. I don't know how true this is but again what's his incentive for lying??

What is common in Nairobi is that there is pressure to conform, (some-one used a different name) forgetting our circumstances are all different, and one surprising thing is it's NOT what you find in the west.

I can give practical examples, in my work place our HR director is married to a messenger, been happily married for 20 years or so! She has hosted us for different functions at her place and she is proud of him and most importantly not embarrassed, but what i came to realize such a scenario only caught my attention, to the rest of my colleagues that is normal. my question is what is so wrong with with marrying someone who is better than you at something or has more money than you? that in essence does not even begin to define who you are or your worth!!

Probably what can best epitomize Kenya's relationship scene is: i know a friends sister who went on a sabatical to Kenya working for Oxfam as an accounts assistant, when she came back i remember her telling me that Kenya is such a beautiful country BUT she found it funny people think it's cool to have multiple sex partners or cheat on your spouse in her words " I found that weird"

What i can say, what many read or see on TV just does not exist, one thing i appreciate and love about the west is the focus on the family..you see on weekends in malls, men pushing their prams, shopping with their wives and kids, eating ice cream, i love that, but when you come home i am not sure it's demeaning but people just don't seem to have time with their families.

My ricdeelet has started recognizing stuff..when i was home i took them to Daphne Sheldrick and we had carried sandwiches, soft drinks..it was mad fun esp feeding the baby elephants with bottled milk and learnt bout how the elephant population has been growing though her conservation efforts..what was astonishing is that we were the ONLY BLACKS yet we were in Kenya and it is FREE!!

I think it's more than those soaps people are blaming them about, We as a people need to seriously search ourselves and get priorities right..Instead of going to those bars with bouncing castles and bumping into 10 year old girls on your way to the loo for Heaven's sake!!
Get a life and have the balls to cook for your wife/girlfriend/Children or even take out every Friday and have a name or even copy mine, FUN FRIDAY

Si lazima you go to Village Market or Bunny Rogers, go to Uhuru Park, row your boats with your wife/gilfriend.. i do , it will be amazing i tell you, lastly as we all know and some have painfullY found out the grass is never greener on the other side.

Marriage is beautiful easier than stocks..

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
#23 Posted : Monday, June 21, 2010 6:40:19 PM

Ric Dees, your wife must be one lucky woman. Not to mention your Ricdeelets.
You mentioned something that immediately caught my attention. Whats up with having bouncing castles next to Bars? Disgusting!
But I believe marriage is not easy(than stocks)
#24 Posted : Monday, June 21, 2010 7:45:21 PM

@ric dees, hats off.u,sokotele n mukiha paint marriage in its best colour.There's hope
#25 Posted : Monday, June 21, 2010 8:02:41 PM

My, my my.

Ric Dees is married, and has at least one child.

Famooz, do you read, over?
#26 Posted : Tuesday, June 22, 2010 10:05:11 AM

@ Mahegoat! Yeah copied!

i like his way of seeing stuff,our failed coffee date aside ;)
#27 Posted : Tuesday, June 22, 2010 10:47:01 AM

msotoville wrote:
@Mukiha - respected, kitu gani.
Infotrak are the same peeps who gave us the Yes 60-something%, No 20-something% bull****. Surprisingly, similar stats carried out on Citizen and KTN news bulletins gave a very different picture.

Respected, my *&^%$! Shame on you

What reason do you have to believe The Citizen & KTN reports and not the Infotrak one?

Truth is: marriage in Kenya is in trouble. I thank God every day that mine is intact and very happy indeed.

The fact that most marriages are on the rocks doesn't mean that yours [or mine] are in the same hot soup.

I guess that's why we are wazuans!
groupielove
#28 Posted : Tuesday, June 22, 2010 11:14:26 AM

I don't agree with anything that you've said above. That's so western. This is Africa my friend and though i don't have to whisper love words to my loved ones, they will know by my action that they are loved
#29 Posted : Tuesday, June 22, 2010 11:18:05 AM

groupielove wrote:
I don't agree with anything that you've said above. That's so western. This is Africa my friend and though i don't have to whisper love words to my loved ones, they will know by my action that they are loved

Which ACTIONS are your talking about? Please elaborate.

@RicDees takes his wife [and family] out to see and touch baby elephants. After that, he doesn't have to tell them he loves them; they will know it. But he tells them all the same [Ric, correct me if I'm wrong; you do tell them don't you?]

I take my family to Central Park, we eat chips together. The kids play at the swings and monkey bars while my wife sleeps on my lap as I read the paper and update her on what I'm reading. After that; I don't have to tell them that I love them - they know - but I tell them anyway.

@groupielove; have you ever been told "I love you" by your five-year-old child? Those are the sweetest words you can hear. I imagine they feel the same way when I tell them. So I do it.
#30 Posted : Tuesday, June 22, 2010 11:33:07 AM

By the way; there once lived a fellow called jammo in SK. He got married and moved out of the forum. I guess he spends the time with his wife instead of reading and making posts on the internet...
10 Pages<12345>»