781 Pages«<568569570571572>»
Kenya Airways...why ignore..
#11381 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2018 3:05:52 PM

NBO-West Africa-NYC could have captured a lot of traffic to/from USA-West Africa.
The 787 could have replaced some of the 737 seats on NBO-West Africa routes.
The disadvantage would have been the 787 can't do the matatu hops like the 737.

The two most crucial components of a flight remain take off and landing.. I would rather reduce the odds than increase them on route serviced by Delta. Which American would rather fly KQ out of Accra than their very own Delta!

The same Americans who fly KLM to AMS? Or AF to CDG? Or BA to LHR?

Check the NTSB stats and the Fly American state policy of the USA

The fly american policy only applies to US federal and state employees or private sector employees contracted by the federal or state(s) government of USA
#11382 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2018 3:11:17 PM

NBO-West Africa-NYC could have captured a lot of traffic to/from USA-West Africa.

The two most crucial components of a flight remain take off and landing.. I would rather reduce the odds than increase them on route serviced by Delta. Which American would rather fly KQ out of Accra than their very own Delta!

The fly american policy only applies to US federal and state employees or private sector employees contracted by the federal or state(s) government of USA

Fly America will also not apply for passngers going beyond the destinataion of the American Ailrlines .... therefore anybody going beyond Accra can board KQ officially bila wasiwasi.
Ali Baba
#11383 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2018 3:20:57 PM

Fly America will also not apply for passngers going beyond the destinataion of the American Ailrlines .... therefore anybody going beyond Accra can board KQ officially bila wasiwasi.
Personally,I wouldn't fly the NBO-JFK non stop KQ route.I like to stretch my legs after about 8hours.And reduce the risk of thrombosis.
#11384 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2018 3:26:31 PM

"Check the NTSB stats and the Fly American state policy of the USA"
I checked and like what the others have said... it does NOT apply to Americans flying on non-gov't business. USG employees can fly any airline for personal travel. Furthermore, non-US airlines can be taken if the logistics call for it.

USA-NBO pax also includes Kenyans, diasporans, other Africans (EAC, Somalia, southern Africa), Canadians, World Bank & IMF employees, UN personnel and Americans on personal travel.
Horton
#11385 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2018 3:27:45 PM

Ali Baba wrote:

Personally,I wouldn't fly the NBO-JFK non stop KQ route.I like to stretch my legs after about 8hours.And reduce the risk of thrombosis.

I did the flight and it’s very comfortable. DVT requires you to stretch not do a 100m sprint. It’s made flying to the US very easy and convenient. Going to the US I went via Europe and that was a headache 🤦🏽‍♂️🤦🏽‍♂️
#11386 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2018 3:38:22 PM

I checked and like what the others have said... it does NOT apply to Americans flying on non-gov't business. USG employees can fly any airline for personal travel. Furthermore, non-US airlines can be taken if the logistics call for it.

USA-NBO pax also includes Kenyans, diasporans, other Africans (EAC, Somalia, southern Africa), Canadians, World Bank & IMF employees, UN personnel and Americans on personal travel.

The problem with arguing for the sake is that you may get away with anything that you believe, even if it is not supported by facts. Codeshare under Fly American allows for the rest of the route to be covered on partner airlines. A good percentage of the travelers shall be US state officials. For the regular folk, especially in NYC; these are not 'poor' people intent on hops. They fly direct. Which is what KQ has offered

COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; IMH 5,000 ABP 35.55; KQ 604,200 ABP 6.96; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
Ali Baba
#11387 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2018 3:40:25 PM

Horton wrote:
Ali Baba wrote:

I did the flight and it’s very comfortable. DVT requires you to stretch not do a 100m sprint. It’s made flying to the US very easy and convenient. Going to the US I went via Europe and that was a headache 🤦🏽‍♂️🤦🏽‍♂️

I agree;but 15hours in one plane is not very interesting.If there was a 2hour stop over somewhere in west africa,it would be great.
#11388 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2018 4:16:01 PM

Ali Baba wrote:
Horton wrote:
Ali Baba wrote:

I agree;but 15hours in one plane is not very interesting.If there was a 2hour stop over somewhere in west africa,it would be great.

Non-stop baba

COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; IMH 5,000 ABP 35.55; KQ 604,200 ABP 6.96; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
#11389 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2018 4:25:26 PM

Ali Baba wrote:
Horton wrote:
Ali Baba wrote:

Non-stop baba

Those stops are chaos sometimes you have a delay and connecting flights leave, you have to be rescheduled and imagine you are attending a meeting that you had only one day rest that means you have to do with jetlag. Not once i have missed my connecting flight at LHR and CDG to JFK or coming back to Kenya and bags being left yet you had that perfect gift for your spouse in that bag then it comes when you have already gone back
#11390 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2018 11:16:37 PM

The problem with arguing for the sake is that you may get away with anything that you believe, even if it is not supported by facts. Codeshare under Fly American allows for the rest of the route to be covered on partner airlines. A good percentage of the travelers shall be US state officials. For the regular folk, especially in NYC; these are not 'poor' people intent on hops. They fly direct. Which is what KQ has offered

I take it the roaring success is why KQ went from 7/weekly to 3/weekly?
And even then it can't fill a 787? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
BUT since I am a shareholder via KQLC, I am Sad
I hope minorities support KQ's fund-raising efforts and leave the poor banks alone. Applause Applause Applause
#11391 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2018 11:19:26 PM

The KQ management went into a panic mode since such a massive withdrawal would have grounded many of its planes and in turn, led to major losses. d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Read more at: https://www.standardmedi...fuel-cash-to-parliament

Lakini, I spoke to Ohana to help KQ out. ASM is one of the oil vendors that has a contract with KQ. The firm, however, doesn’t have any major foothold in the country but is hosted by Kenol Kobil through an industry agreement known as “hospitality contract.”

After all, if we do not support our retarded, I mean "special" sibling, who will?
#11392 Posted : Wednesday, November 21, 2018 5:36:57 AM

The KQ management went into a panic mode since such a massive withdrawal would have grounded many of its planes and in turn, led to major losses. d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Lakini, I spoke to Ohana to help KQ out. ASM is one of the oil vendors that has a contract with KQ. The firm, however, doesn’t have any major foothold in the country but is hosted by Kenol Kobil through an industry agreement known as “hospitality contract.”

After all, if we do not support our retarded, I mean "special" sibling, who will?

You are related to Gichira? Pole sana! He doesn't seem retarded when speaking

ArrestedDev
#11393 Posted : Wednesday, November 21, 2018 7:36:22 AM

No more cartels holding the Airline for ransom. Why the arbitrary increase in fuel prices? With a decisive CEO there will be no more shocks.
#11394 Posted : Wednesday, November 21, 2018 8:54:19 AM

ArrestedDev wrote:

No more cartels holding the Airline for ransom. Why the arbitrary increase in fuel prices? With a decisive CEO there will be no more shocks.

Good call by KQ management. They sign an agreement with a 'reputable' firm that then turns around due to false 'monopoly' in supply and holds back stock, threatening flight disruptions.. Very cartelish of Gulf Oil

#11395 Posted : Wednesday, November 21, 2018 8:58:14 AM

ArrestedDev wrote:

Good call by KQ management. They sign an agreement with a 'reputable' firm that then turns around due to false 'monopoly' in supply and holds back stock, threatening flight disruptions.. Very cartelish of Gulf Oil

KK swooped in to save the day smile #TukoPamoja
#11396 Posted : Wednesday, November 21, 2018 9:12:23 AM

ArrestedDev wrote:

KK swooped in to save the day smile #TukoPamoja

Hapo napo twashukuru

Ericsson
#11397 Posted : Wednesday, November 21, 2018 9:17:32 AM

ArrestedDev wrote:

Gulf Oil is owned by politicians.The likes of Kiraitu have shares
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#11398 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2018 6:42:52 PM

KQ will now lease a plane(s) from ALS for the Mogadishu route... Double daily.
#11399 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2018 6:51:59 PM

Barring unforeseens such as the Italian kidnap yesterday.. KQ is most likely going to report a profit by H1 2019. With or without the KAA-KQ merger or Open Offer. Thank me later

#11400 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2018 7:31:07 PM

Barring unforeseens such as the Italian kidnap yesterday.. KQ is most likely going to report a profit by H1 2019. With or without the KAA-KQ merger or Open Offer. Thank me later

We are tired of these promises. Buy yourself more KQ and thank yourself later Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly