Investor
Property
Kiambu raises land rates by 300%
Your answers will be found in this Act "Kiambu County Valuation & Rating Act 2016" not in some colonial act published in 1956
Swenani wrote:Lolest! wrote:Kuja hapa wa migunda Quote:“agricultural rental value rate” means a rate levied on the annual value of agricultural land; “annual value”, in relation to an agricultural rental value rate, means— (a) in the case of land which is held on a lease from the Government for a term of 999 years and in respect of which an annual rent has been reserved by such lease, the annual rent so reserved; and (b) in the case of any other land, the annual rent which might reasonably have been reserved if such land had been held on a lease from the Government for a term of 999 years commencing with the year 1960; “area council” means any area council established under the Local That is still lease hold. What about free hold? Free hold/absolute is not timebound @Swenani, part a is leasehold, (b) is freehold. Seen this part? Quote:the annual rent which might reasonably have been reserved if such land had been held on a lease from the Government for a term of 999 years commencing with the year 1960
wukan wrote:Your answers will be found in this Act "Kiambu County Valuation & Rating Act 2016" not in some colonial act published in 1956 The Valuation for Rating Act was amended in 2015 which is the new constitutional dispensation That said, you are right on the final reference point for all issues rating in Kiambu
wukan wrote:jmbada wrote:MugundaMan wrote:https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/news/counties/Kiambu-raises-land-rates-for-homeowners-by-300pc/4003142-4836346-ysqdpt/index.html But why introduce taxes on freehold land? Is that even constitutional? All the more reason for all of you Kiambu landholders to move to d-bowl Jameni. You guys are being skinned alive with crazy taxes that make no sense! They CANNOT tax freehold land. It is the owner's to hold free and clear of all authority. They have no remedy if the tax is not paid as they can never take posession of the land. No freehold does not mean that. GoK can actually take away your land and compensate you for it. Freehold only means you do not have a time limitation like you do in leashold like 99 year lease. You also do not pay land rent to GoK The katiba you voted for is clear in Art 209(3) that a county may impose property rates(sorry if baba read for you). What the county needs to pass is the law to impose those rates like what kiambu has done. Surely if the county is grading the roads to your shamba you need to pay for those local services. Wahhhh. I have learnt something new 2day! ....I never voted for new katiba though. I trust politicians less than I trust banks.
Lolest! wrote:wukan wrote:Your answers will be found in this Act "Kiambu County Valuation & Rating Act 2016" not in some colonial act published in 1956 The Valuation for Rating Act was amended in 2015 which is the new constitutional dispensation That said, you are right on the final reference point for all issues rating in Kiambu I have seen the Kiambu Act and they did copy and paste from the Valuation Act so you are also right that agricultural land annual value is what you have defined from the Valuation Act so there is no escape from the rates for agricultural land. "rateable owner" is defined by Kiambu Act as "the owner of the registered freehold of, or the tenant for life of that property, in possession or in reversion or in remainder expectant upon a lease or interest" and where it is not yet registered then the person in possession or receiving rent or profits from the property. I hope Kajiado county also enacts a similar law so that @mugundaman can pay his fair share for the value of his plots in dustbowl. They need sewer lines and sewer treatment plants.
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/8/2018 Posts: 2,211 Location: DC (Dustbowl County)
wukan wrote:Lolest! wrote:wukan wrote:Your answers will be found in this Act "Kiambu County Valuation & Rating Act 2016" not in some colonial act published in 1956 The Valuation for Rating Act was amended in 2015 which is the new constitutional dispensation That said, you are right on the final reference point for all issues rating in Kiambu I have seen the Kiambu Act and they did copy and paste from the Valuation Act so you are also right that agricultural land annual value is what you have defined from the Valuation Act so there is no escape from the rates for agricultural land. "rateable owner" is defined by Kiambu Act as "the owner of the registered freehold of, or the tenant for life of that property, in possession or in reversion or in remainder expectant upon a lease or interest" and where it is not yet registered then the person in possession or receiving rent or profits from the property. I hope Kajiado county also enacts a similar law so that @mugundaman can pay his fair share for the value of his plots in dustbowl. They need sewer lines and sewer treatment plants. Keep hope alive, my braddah!
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/8/2009 Posts: 975 Location: Nairobi
wukan wrote:Lolest! wrote:wukan wrote:Your answers will be found in this Act "Kiambu County Valuation & Rating Act 2016" not in some colonial act published in 1956 The Valuation for Rating Act was amended in 2015 which is the new constitutional dispensation That said, you are right on the final reference point for all issues rating in Kiambu I have seen the Kiambu Act and they did copy and paste from the Valuation Act so you are also right that agricultural land annual value is what you have defined from the Valuation Act so there is no escape from the rates for agricultural land. "rateable owner" is defined by Kiambu Act as "the owner of the registered freehold of, or the tenant for life of that property, in possession or in reversion or in remainder expectant upon a lease or interest" and where it is not yet registered then the person in possession or receiving rent or profits from the property. I hope Kajiado county also enacts a similar law so that @mugundaman can pay his fair share for the value of his plots in dustbowl. They need sewer lines and sewer treatment plants. Someone please this explain clearly @mugundaman, wukan et al Will freehold land be rateable in kiambu? Should we expect rent also? Assuming that the constitution opened an avenue for such eventuality You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
XSK wrote:wukan wrote:Lolest! wrote:wukan wrote:Your answers will be found in this Act "Kiambu County Valuation & Rating Act 2016" not in some colonial act published in 1956 The Valuation for Rating Act was amended in 2015 which is the new constitutional dispensation That said, you are right on the final reference point for all issues rating in Kiambu I have seen the Kiambu Act and they did copy and paste from the Valuation Act so you are also right that agricultural land annual value is what you have defined from the Valuation Act so there is no escape from the rates for agricultural land. "rateable owner" is defined by Kiambu Act as "the owner of the registered freehold of, or the tenant for life of that property, in possession or in reversion or in remainder expectant upon a lease or interest" and where it is not yet registered then the person in possession or receiving rent or profits from the property. I hope Kajiado county also enacts a similar law so that @mugundaman can pay his fair share for the value of his plots in dustbowl. They need sewer lines and sewer treatment plants. Someone please this explain clearly @mugundaman, wukan et al Will freehold land be rateable in kiambu? Should we expect rent also? Assuming that the constitution opened an avenue for such eventuality The answer appears to be yes and yes according to Lolest and Wukan. All the more reason to start thinking of departing from Kiambu pronto. These punitive taxes will not only hit land owners pockets hard but will also discourage further NEW investment in land in Kiambu. If I am selling a small freehold plot in Kiambu for 3m with crazy amounts of land rents/rates attached, and taxes even to put up a pit latrine waiting for the buyer, Vs a slightly cheaper plot for the same size with ZERO taxes in dustbowl, it is a no-brainer where the buyers (and re-buyers)+ developers will flock to.
BTW Wukan I have realised what you are. You are a destroyer of capital You are not interested in seeing your neighbour get ahead. You want him taxed to death under the false pretense that "he needs sewer lines," yet we all know you want to punish developers of property who are making a kill cleanly and non-corruptly through sweat while other zones are being taxed to the neck.
MugundaMan wrote:BTW Wukan I have realised what you are. You are a destroyer of capital You are not interested in seeing your neighbour get ahead. You want him taxed to death under the false pretense that "he needs sewer lines," yet we all know you want to punish developers of property who are making a kill cleanly and non-corruptly through sweat while other zones are being taxed to the neck. According to Uhuru only 150,000 out of the 1.5 million plus property owners in Nairobi are rate payers. You can see all those joyriders in Nairobi yet they want local services provided. If i'm taxed to the neck in Nairobi and I still pay for private services then you can imagine how much of my capital has been destroyed. How am i still ahead of you? Paying rates will manage the speculation in plots and the rising property prices. You do not need plots all over dustbowl just one serviced plot tosha. The days of making a kill is coming to an end.
wukan wrote:MugundaMan wrote:BTW Wukan I have realised what you are. You are a destroyer of capital You are not interested in seeing your neighbour get ahead. You want him taxed to death under the false pretense that "he needs sewer lines," yet we all know you want to punish developers of property who are making a kill cleanly and non-corruptly through sweat while other zones are being taxed to the neck. According to Uhuru only 150,000 out of the 1.5 million plus property owners in Nairobi are rate payers. You can see all those joyriders in Nairobi yet they want local services provided. If i'm taxed to the neck in Nairobi and I still pay for private services then you can imagine how much of my capital has been destroyed. How am i still ahead of you? Paying rates will manage the speculation in plots and the rising property prices. You do not need plots all over dustbowl just one serviced plot tosha. The days of making a kill is coming to an end. Nonsense. That is not a valid quote and does not factor in the difference between leasehold and freeehold land. Plus the unjustified hatred for people buying land in anticipation of a future profit is sickening. It is like any other investment.
Habari ndio hiyo Quote:A Lake Magadi investor has fallen out with Kajiado County government over disputed land rates running into billions of shillings. Tata Chemicals Ltd, formerly Magadi Soda, which extracts thousands of tonnes of soda ash from the lake in Kajiado West Sub County, owes the county Sh17 billion for their 224, 991 acres for the last six years. According to the county's current Finance Act, an acre of land is charged land rates Sh14,000 a year per acre. https://www.nation.co.ke...6606-8yvepyz/index.html
wukan wrote:Habari ndio hiyo Quote:A Lake Magadi investor has fallen out with Kajiado County government over disputed land rates running into billions of shillings. Tata Chemicals Ltd, formerly Magadi Soda, which extracts thousands of tonnes of soda ash from the lake in Kajiado West Sub County, owes the county Sh17 billion for their 224, 991 acres for the last six years. According to the county's current Finance Act, an acre of land is charged land rates Sh14,000 a year per acre. https://www.nation.co.ke...6606-8yvepyz/index.html
the 14k per acre is for mining companies.
mkenyan wrote:wukan wrote:Habari ndio hiyo Quote:A Lake Magadi investor has fallen out with Kajiado County government over disputed land rates running into billions of shillings. Tata Chemicals Ltd, formerly Magadi Soda, which extracts thousands of tonnes of soda ash from the lake in Kajiado West Sub County, owes the county Sh17 billion for their 224, 991 acres for the last six years. According to the county's current Finance Act, an acre of land is charged land rates Sh14,000 a year per acre. https://www.nation.co.ke...6606-8yvepyz/index.html
the 14k per acre is for mining companies. I said it before. Despite his pretences at being a capitalist Wukan is a cruel destroyer of capital. He seems to believe that taxing people to death is a wonderful thing that boosts business. He is clutching at all straws to ensure dustbowl land owners are roped into his unforgiving tax net!
mkenyan wrote:wukan wrote:Habari ndio hiyo Quote:A Lake Magadi investor has fallen out with Kajiado County government over disputed land rates running into billions of shillings. Tata Chemicals Ltd, formerly Magadi Soda, which extracts thousands of tonnes of soda ash from the lake in Kajiado West Sub County, owes the county Sh17 billion for their 224, 991 acres for the last six years. According to the county's current Finance Act, an acre of land is charged land rates Sh14,000 a year per acre. https://www.nation.co.ke...6606-8yvepyz/index.html
the 14k per acre is for mining companies. Yes... possunt quia posse videntur
Investor
Property
Kiambu raises land rates by 300%