wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

5 Pages123>»
Marriage Survey
#1 Posted : Saturday, June 19, 2010 10:09:24 PM

Skerians are too silent on this.Members of the Sk marriage club:Brav,Pondi,Mukiha, Njunge, Wendz,Pretty(was this drama queen real?)mko wapi?
#2 Posted : Sunday, June 20, 2010 12:13:22 AM

Kweli kabisa! These guys should tell us if they agree with the findings
#3 Posted : Sunday, June 20, 2010 11:18:16 AM

What findings?...i don't seem to see anything
PONDI
#4 Posted : Sunday, June 20, 2010 2:27:56 PM

was in papers. apparently those in proper marriages are unhappier than those in 'come we stay' arrangements. more so those who had huge lavish ceremonies. I totally agree with those findings. all my uni mates who had the big fancy wedding are now separated or sleeping in different bedrooms. infact one of my boys even takes his chips funga to his bedroom. so breakfast table you find the 2 kids, wifey na 'aunty'. I pity the wife. have tried telling him about lodging... amekataa hio.
#5 Posted : Sunday, June 20, 2010 6:02:59 PM

It was an Infotrak Harris survey published in the nation on 19th June(Saturday)

Most married Kenyans are unhappySad

Men reported that wives' nagging and 'unrealistic expectations' are the chief reasons why they opt out of marriage(76% of men)Sad

Women are most likely to leave their marriage because of feeling they are not being treated equallySad

The rush for additional academic papers was blamed for the increase in unhappy familiesSad

I'm not married but I think that part of wife's pang'ang'a being a main cause is true.And these Mexican stuff, they must be the source of unrealistic expectations.

Mahegoat et al, are u still willing to join the marriage bandwagon?
#6 Posted : Sunday, June 20, 2010 6:11:47 PM

Single, and unattached.

But the pressure to get married is too much. Being the first born, 42 and all my siblings married or attached, I cannot visit "shags" and have peace.

But there is this lady.....
#7 Posted : Sunday, June 20, 2010 6:44:01 PM

PONDI wrote:
infact one of my boys even takes his chips funga to his bedroom. so breakfast table you find the 2 kids, wifey na 'aunty'. I pity the wife. have tried telling him about lodging... amekataa hio.

What is wrong with the wife? Who's holding her back from leaving? Don't tell me she's "doing it for the kids".
#8 Posted : Sunday, June 20, 2010 7:54:34 PM

kadonye wrote:
Skerians are too silent on this.Members of the Sk marriage club:Brav,Pondi,Mukiha, Njunge, Wendz,Pretty(was this drama queen real?)mko wapi?

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Kweli kabisa! These guys should tell us if they agree with the findings

That is an invalid question.

The research results must be true; after all the research was carried out by a respectable independent research outfit.

If I say I don't agree with the results, it would imply that I am familiar with the methodology and I know it shortcomings.

Having said the above; it does not mean that my marriage is in trouble. Quite the contrary. If I was given a chance to go back in history, I'd marry the same person, but five years earlier!
#9 Posted : Sunday, June 20, 2010 8:03:43 PM

Not married... but l believe most to blame is this mexican soaps our women are watching!

But are women their own worst enemies?? Maybe those in there know can enlighten us.
Jaina
#10 Posted : Sunday, June 20, 2010 9:04:09 PM

Where is Gift??.
Am sure she's very pregnant by now.

I hope they sorted their issues with Hard Hitter. Certainly the survey is very true.
Wa_ithaka
#11 Posted : Monday, June 21, 2010 10:19:59 AM

Marry young, you get richer earlier.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#12 Posted : Monday, June 21, 2010 10:56:58 AM

@pondi...hiyo lodging sasa ni ya nini?You surely want kuangukia!!!
SHINDWE!!!!

#13 Posted : Monday, June 21, 2010 12:01:22 PM

Research has proven that marrying a much younger and smarter woman is best for the marriage, i have always naturally reflected on the same (though a bachelor).I have pasted links to articles quoting the research. It also helps if you are wealthier than the young girl. Your natural wisdom will compensate for her intelligence, and her intelligence will help her appreciate your wisdom and money.

RECIPES FOR A MARRIAGE FROM HELL
1. Marry a woman who is almost or above your equal( money wise, intelligence-wise and age-wise).- Martha Karua, Wangari Maathai e.t.c
2. Marry a beautiful silly/clever woman and you don't have the resources to control her (money), examples are too many.
3. Marry any woman saying you will "make things work" because "we love each other"

SUMMERY FOR GOOD MARRIAGE
1. Marry for children and genetics :- A beautiful young shapely healthy and intelligent wife (check rhesus factor). The tendency for attraction to beautiful people has a natural evolutionary mechanism, the notion of "inner beauty" without outer beauty is a fallacy. A younger woman has higher fertility less complications at birth and research on the older mans quality sperm is inconclusive, there are no significant effects with evidence (especially late 30's to early 50's).
2. Marry for stability:- Marry a woman who is fully appreciative of your role as the head even from the courtship. Marry a woman who adores you like a dad and who is naturally quite dependent on you. (please don't be an arrogant bastard on this basis)
3. Marry for security:- marry a younger and more intelligent women than yourself

In all the above cases, a strong love will follow later!

CITATIONS
1. http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/health/8325579.stm
2. http://news.cnet.com/830...7852_3-10463132-71.html
A New Kenya
#14 Posted : Monday, June 21, 2010 12:11:35 PM

@much know:

Very true.Plus hakuna kitu kama love, its all about trust and trust.

msotoville
#15 Posted : Monday, June 21, 2010 1:48:22 PM

@Mukiha - respected, kitu gani.
Infotrak are the same peeps who gave us the Yes 60-something%, No 20-something% bull****. Surprisingly, similar stats carried out on Citizen and KTN news bulletins gave a very different picture.

Respected, my *&^%$! Shame on you

@Y'all
As a happily married father of three, I officially defecate on the Infotrak findings. Hiyo ni upuzi tupu ya kuuza gazeti - Lord knows those unfortunate mugs in the newspaper biz need the sales.

True; some women nowadays (courtesy of Telenovela Crap that's all the rage, not to mention the Intelligence Insulting, Wedding Show) have adopted a muigerekanio attitude of "keeping up with the neighbours" that's driving their hubbies up the wall.

True; both men and women have become so "liberated" that they believe there's nothing wrong with getting a little action on the side... that fueled by some doofus who's on air between 7 - 10am on a certain radio station which will remain nameless (sina 1 milli ya kulipa fine ya hate speechsmile)

HOWEVER...
76% is .....Eish! I'm not wealthy, look hideous, have the anatomy of a beer barrel - yet I've got a ka-supuu who's been with me through drama you wouldn't want to believe for a decade plus...and three little imps who (if you'd allow me to steal a line from those UAP ads) are my life.

One thing @Much Know forgot to mention in his twisted idea of a happy marriage is FRIENDSHIP & MUTUAL RESPECT.

I mean, guys, for real, if the chicki married you coz you got a nice ride and crib, what makes you think she'll stick around when your sorry behind is downsized, huh?
So nice that its nasty, so bangin' its busting,
So slick that its sick, so dope its disgusting!
#16 Posted : Monday, June 21, 2010 3:29:16 PM

Smart man + Smart woman = Romance
Smart man + Dumb woman = Affair
Dumb man + Smart woman = Marriage
Dumb man + Dumb woman = Pregnancy.

Most women are smart.As a man,even if you are smart,play dumb.
#17 Posted : Monday, June 21, 2010 3:30:48 PM

This, i go by msotoville....

what @muchknow has said is good points but when you grow older, you realize it doesnt work the way @muchknow would want to tell us it does. If there is no friendship and respect, it becomes very hard for things to fall in place... at least even those times that loves flies through the window and you want to strangle someone for doing or not doing something, the fact that you are friends first helps to sort out things in a more mature manner.

Its all good for the man to have more money... its all very good... but with the intelligent woman that @muchknow proposes, it will be only a matter of time and she will be able to manouvre her way up and possibly end up earning more than you.... or you could loose your job, or your business... and she will end up having more money than you... if this was one of the criteria of choosing your wife, then what happens at this time? you divorce? Now, what you essentially have done, is build a strong stone on which you will fall on when that happens.

And how do you measure intelligence to evaluate that she is not more intelligent that you? Just a thot..... may be she sits for an entrance/interview test? hehehehehe.... and who marks the test?

...Marry a woman who adores you like a dad and who is naturally quite dependent on you.

On this statement, i thought any man would want to marry a woman he will feel comfortable can handle things and the family will run when he is not there - take for instance when you have to work out of the country and you cant get anything done because they lady is waiting for the 'father' figure to give a go ahead... even if it means waiting for a month to make a decision? Just thinking aloud.....

I would say, look for a woman, whether richer than you or more intelligent but she has humility, is respectiful and most importantly is your friend.... you wont go wrong... forget the jungu's research... they live in a different world and will divorce for any kind of reason.... in any case, arent they the authors of the same soaps you say are spoiling your women?

On the report, i spoke to one of the renowned journalist and he told me if you see such stories, the newspaper has no headline story to give so it blows it out of proportion... If all you got is crap and people are willing to buy it, you sell it! Its business!
Sigiriri
#18 Posted : Monday, June 21, 2010 4:32:48 PM

The best thing about humans is that we are each unique. No matter how much researchers find out, pollsters interview and speculators speculate, humans are not alike entirely.

Wives nag, but immediately thereafter, return to good sense and make great company. Men mess about, but still pass by the shops and get the wife her favorite perfume. Ndio kawaida ya wanadamu.

Let no one fear marriage coz of such research.
Jaina
#19 Posted : Monday, June 21, 2010 4:40:44 PM

Wendz Umenena kama wanaume tano.

Theories dont work @ Muchknow. If anyone can discover a medicine that would treat a failing marriage, they would become richer than Bill Gates, Warren Buffet & Slim Helu combined.

All marriages are unique and success and failure factors are dependent on different circumstances some of which you have mentioned.
#20 Posted : Monday, June 21, 2010 6:11:01 PM

Njunge wrote:
Smart man + Smart woman = Romance
Smart man + Dumb woman = Affair
Dumb man + Smart woman = Marriage
Dumb man + Dumb woman = Pregnancy.

Most women are smart.As a man,even if you are smart,play dumb.

"Dumb man + Smart woman = Marriage" is especially true. You hit the nail on the head!