wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Car theft....Brainstorm...
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2009 4:07:00 PM

U leave ua alarmed car on the st. to rush to the ATM,only to find the machine gone only 3 minutes later! I have heard so many depressing stories recently fm friends n their other friends,at least 10 cases in the last 3 months. Measures to counter modern car theft?? Firstly,cut out....

The only reason why some people are still alive is coz its illegal to shoot them!!
wanyo
#2 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2009 5:48:00 PM

Simonkabs,Do this vehicle have immobilizers.

or any other antitheft devices.
i too
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2009 7:01:00 PM

I think nowadays,its better to have a cut out instead of an alarm.
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2009 9:41:00 PM

Install inner gear-lock device. It gives you peace of mind whenever you leave your car. Alarms can be disabled. But with this,they can't drive it! The worst they can do is steal what is inside,but you save your car.

http://www.sobo-lock.com...amp;area=25&cat=119

AKS
#5 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 2:42:00 AM

@wanyo,alarms r no longer a deterrence,they r easily disabled. Cut outs r better,if the switches/buttons r not placed in obvious places. @alphdoti,pliz elaborate on this gear lock thing. Btw is it possible to have more than 1 immobilizer switches installed?

The only reason why some people are still alive is coz its illegal to shoot them!!
Chaka
#6 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 6:44:00 AM

@Alphdoti

Can this thing be fitted as a DIY job?

@All,

Can someone advise me where I can have good door security locks fitted?
#7 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 7:02:00 AM

1st level cut outs dnt allow current flow thus the car wont start,but thats not how cars a re stolen,the thugs will have watched you for a while and they know all the steps you take before the engine starts,its also known that cut outs are never placed far from the drivers seat... simple test..leave your car at the carwash/mechanic without letting them know of the cut out..chances of it being moved are up to 99%.
2rd level cut-out might sound safe until you are in a position where the thugs are in the car with you..its know to them that such immobilisers work in a duration of 1st 10 min or a distance of 2 kms..so it will be simple,you will ride with them and show them how it works...most immo` are channeled through the car alarm system thus the warning sound is heard by everyone..so am thinking..why not have it separate and make it silent?..in anycase..its only you/driver who is supposed to know of such...

why keep one fish in a glass aquarium while you can have all the fish in the ocean?
Etuga
#8 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 7:09:00 AM

I meant immobilisers,the ones that cut fuel lines/enabla ignition system with the immobiliser key (ussually attached to car keys).
Unless the thiefs are so high tech,it is not posible to break this code (usually transmitted by radio waves when you press the immobiliser key) to identify as the owner. Without this key it is not posible to start the car.

I know stuffs like alarms,tracking devices don't guarantee total security. But it is good they be there to improve security.

make money no way out
wanyo
#9 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 7:11:00 AM

I meant immobilisers,the ones that cut fuel lines/enables ignition system with the immobiliser key (ussually attached to car keys).
Unless the thiefs are so high tech,it is not posible to break this code (usually transmitted by radio waves when you press the immobiliser key) to identify as the owner. Without this key it is not posible to start the car.

I know stuffs like alarms,tracking devices don't guarantee total security. But it is good they be there to improve security.
i too
wanyo
#10 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 7:35:00 AM

to SK Admin,
I claim ownership of the below post,
I am in no relation to @Etuga - ps let give credit where its due.
i too
#11 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 7:44:00 AM

@wanyo,

Tell that to the birds......and you mean you couldn't delete the second post?....Bure wewe...!!

Yombo dhier....!!
Lyanne
#12 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 9:05:00 AM

@ Mlefu,you are dead right. I left mine a week ago at Taidy's for a car wash and when i got back the cleaner had moved it ! I was shocked to say the least.

However,i was adviced to fit a gear lock when i bought it. I got it fitted at MPPS and they charge around 20K.

The Hedonist
#13 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 9:21:00 AM

So far...1. New door locks (solex?) 2. Alarm 3. Immobilizer 4. Gear lock 5. Tracking device........19. Get a pujo,esp a 504! 20. Not have a car at all.....

Chaka
#14 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 9:37:00 AM

@simonkabs,

Solex locks are useless

#15 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 9:40:00 AM

@Lynne MPPS are quite expensive. I did mine for only 6K at Luttas Car Locks.

They are at Muchai road,next to Madina Mosque,1km from Kenyatta Hospital.

The owner (0722616968) deals with all types of car locks.

Inner gear lock is clean installation that hides in the gear shift box.

Pin lock uses long pin to prevent shift bar to be moved when car is on park.

It prevents your car from being driven.

Before I installed it,one of my friends went to Uchumi Sarit.

When he came back after 15 minutes,his Toyota Surf was no more.

He went to report at Parklands only to be told 'what's wrong with Sarit? This is the 4th car stolen there this week!'

See image in the link http://www.sobo-lock.com...amp;area=25&cat=119
Lyanne
#16 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 10:05:00 AM

@ Alpha

What is the inner lock you are talking about ? Which is better the Pin Lock or the inner lock you are talking about ?

All in all if one was to steal a car with a gear lock,'you will have to put in 4 man hours of un-interrupted hard labour' atleast thats what the technician told me.

The Hedonist
giddy
#17 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 10:10:00 AM

Gear lock is the ultimate preventive measure.It physically prevents the vehicle from being moved in whatever circumstance.Most electronic gadgets are bypassed by the thugs since some of them are ex-mechanics and they know the trick.I actually have it fitted and then only trick is to make sure you learn to lock it everywhere.You can also add the cut out as the secondary security device.
But all this gadgets assist to prevent the car from being stolen when you are not inside.The driver is the weakest point of all this security.
I would also recommend lotus locks for the gear lock.They do a very good job at a fair price.
Kwanini
#18 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 10:38:00 AM

Great People of SK,I salute you all !

The best car security you can install is good insurance. once thats done,you could do anything else to delay / deter theft

The thugs are quite clever nowadays. Wakiamua wanataka katoyota nano kako... ehe what are you meant to do when they wait hapo kwa gate yako? you tell me.

Does anyone know any insurance which gives rebates once you install any of the antitheft devices? Isipokua Tejani na watu wake?

For i am the master and the captain of my fate !
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
Sigiriri
#19 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 12:17:00 PM

I believe that car theft is a thing that goes up and down depending on what you drive. Right now for example,Carinas are not really getting stolen as much as they are being vandalised. I saw one with nothing left but the body and engine - lights,window strips,bumpers,kila kitu gone. You walk to the car,you know it's yours,but it will cost you close to 150K to replace all the missing bits..

My point is,dont be too attached to your car. Follow what they are after - kama ni carina,uza,nunua fielder,wakifikia hiyo,uza! nunua ingine.

Huu ni ugonjwa wa watu wote,lakini toyota wamewezwa!

The only sure way - buy an audi,merc,skoda,vw,opel,bmw etc... Those have no ready market to sell to in Kenya - in SA maybe,but here,pple only get in and take ur stereo and leave ur car right there - even ukija after 1 month,it will be righ there....

Bidii yangu
#20 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 12:37:00 PM

Lockable steering wheel quick release unit.....................Any time you leave the car,you take the steering wheel with you..............Used to be common with Volvos but i doubt we have them anymore.They would be impossible to mount on vehicles which have an airbag on the steering wheel.

Yombo dhier....!!