wazua Mon, Dec 23, 2024

Red hot Ngong Rising
MugundaMan
#1 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2018 9:16:26 PM

I couldn't agree more that Ngong is the best kept secret in terms of some of the best suburbs of Nairobi. When Ngong road dualling is done, Kerarapon exclusivity will move up further to Ngong and prices will rocket like no mans business, especially once Ngong SGR station opens. Then Ngong town at the foot of the Ngong Hills is very scenic, and so are the suburbs. The roads are rapidly being tarmacked thanks to the upcoming SGR but this must be said: Ngong CBD planning and roads are a huge disappointment. This town could easily rival Kitengela as another jewel in the crown of the dustbowl but it is not living up to its potential. Quick fixes that can remedy this situation.

- Tarmack or at least cabro all the roads in the cbd. They are not very many and all are very short. Why on earth this has never been done is a mystery. Little wonder the quality of buildings beyond the tarmac is wanting, because nobody wants to venture deep inside due to the terrible roads! At the very minimum these roads should be graded. I have never met a road in Ngong CBD that has been properly graded in the past 5 years, except the one they are trying to grade now near the new matatu terminus (which is a beauty by the way)

- Drainage jameni. No culverts, no mtaros for water to flow into during the rains. Red soil all over the roads during the rainy season. Please fix this.

- Building of 30 semi permanent units or more on 1/8 in some of the nice suburbs of Ngong, simply out of greed. These types of things can easily turn such areas into slums. County officials and Ngong township officials should strictly enforce laws so such developments do not ruin things for everybody else.

Otherwise Ngong is definitely the next big thing. Once the road to Kimuka and on to Suswa (currently being tarmacked) is done, Ngong will boom properly.

I also like the fact that unlike other towns, it was very well planned in terms of the layout of the streets even in the suburbs. Those roads on the hills in the suburbs (Kibiko, Matasia, Zambia, Ololua, etc) are quite a delight to drive on, and the area is always very green with plenty of trees all over the place. And most plot owners prefer well trimmed green live fences (kei apple) rather than the ugly concrete things that ruin landscapes IMHO.

For sure, Ngong is the town to watch. Can't wait to see it live up to its full potential in the coming 5 years and beyond.
MugundaMan
#2 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2018 4:37:39 PM

Juliette Kurie building homes in Oloolua Ngong is quite easy on the eyes. And there is something about an attractive woman who can talk construction. Mmmm mmm mmm. Auuuuwiii let me stop there for now.

Dustbowl properties now seem to be a steady feature of this show for obvious reasons. I wonder why some people are so against this? Palipo moshi kuna moto. 10 years from now I hope those who did not invest in dustbowl will not be crying "why did you not tell us!"
MugundaMan
#3 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2018 9:24:24 PM

When I said red hot I meant red hawttt my frens!

https://businesstoday.co...rive-land-prices-ngong/

If you are looking to buy land in Ngong, Kajiado County then be prepared to pay top dollar as the different developmental projects being undertaken in the area are expected to drive the prices of land to an all-time high.

The Ksh4 billion 70 kilometre Ngong-Ewaso Kedong-Suswa road launched on August 15 and expected to be completed on August 2019 as well as the dualling of the Ngong Road are the projects expected to fuel the proliferation of land prices in the fast developing town.

The construction of the Southern bypass has also eased transportation making Ngong easily accessible from Kikuyu, Ongata Rongai, Magadi and Nairobi.

Dualling of the 2.5 kilometre Ngong Road Phase 1 stretching from The National Library to Prestige Plaza which cost the taxpayer Ksh 1.3 billion was completed in January this year.

Phase 2 of the project stretching from Prestige to Dagoretti corner (3.4 kilometres) which will cost Kenyans Ksh2.2 billion was launched in March is expected to be complete by July 2019.

Completion of the Ngong-Ewaso Kedong-Suswa road will allow motorists a shorter access to Narok County from Kajiado while the dualling of the Ngong road is intended to ease movement of traffic, urbanize towns along the route and spur economic growth of Nairobi and Kajiado counties.
mmpw

Karen and Ngong will be the biggest beneficiaries of these projects
and this is where land dealers come in.

A report by Username Properties, an investments company, released on September 29 revealed that once these projects are complete, land in Ngong will be unaffordable for most Kenyans.

“It is advisable to invest in Ngong now because land is relatively affordable. We won’t be able to say the same thing in two years once the projects are complete. By that time the prices will have skyrocketed,” reads the report.

In April, The Kajiado County Land Prices Report indicated that Ngong town closed 2017 at an average of Ksh18.9 million an acre, up from Ksh10.3 million at the close of 2012, recording the highest growth in 2017, at 12.9 percent.

Land dealers have forecasted a growth of land prices in the area this year.

According to the report, investors prefer to invest in Ngong because of the town’s urban feel, accessibility of building material facilitated by proximity to quarries which makes it easy to venture into construction.

Accessibility of water from underground reservoirs in Ngong remains an attractive proposition for investors looking to settle in the area.
#4 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2018 10:00:57 PM

He he he he....
#5 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2018 10:25:30 PM

The insecurity in Ngong area used to be crazy, how are things nowadays. Matasia, Ololua, Bulbul, Research, etc
MugundaMan
#6 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2018 10:53:53 PM

The insecurity in Ngong area used to be crazy, how are things nowadays. Matasia, Ololua, Bulbul, Research, etc

That was well over 7 to 8 years ago my sista. Ngong security is nywee unless one lives close to Mathare slum.

Kibiko A and B, Matasia (upper and Lower), Oloolua, Olkeri, Kahara, Vet, Zambia, Elpaso all nywee and "poshing up" fast with lots of lovely new developments. BulBul (just like Kerarapon)is not really Ngong IMHO so don't know what's going on there. I always just see very many waislamus coming out of mosques in that place whenever I pass by. If I could choose the best/fastest developing areas that I like in Ngong in order of how prime it is I would choose in this order.

1. Kibiko B (closer to Ngong Town) - Extremely scenic up on the hills, beautiful mansions coming up, no untidy flats except very close to town centre. This will tbe the "Runda" or "Beverly Hills" of Ngong within 5 years, mark my words! Lovely homes, very cosmopolitan (representing the face of Kenya) and very green. Roads in the area also got recently tarmacked. Prices are already rocketing. I doubt by next year they will be affordable to the average Joe any more.
2. Upper Matasia - very scenic, nice developments coming up. Has a LOT of potential to get better
3. Kibiko A (on the other side of Ngong Suswa rd; - Not as scenic but lots of huge empty parcels here ripe for development. In 5 years this place will be a force to reckon with
4. Kahara - very scenic up the hill as well, beautiful homes popping up pole pole.
5. Oloolua and Olkeri - Nice but are down the hill so not as scenic
6. Ngong CBD - as I have stated above..it is fast growing but needs massive improvements because it is punching well below its weight. A few tweaks and this town will give even my beloved Kitengela a serious run for its money!
7. Lower Matasia - same reason as 4 above. Nice homes but not as scenic
8. Zambia, Elpaso, Vet in that order: The only reasons I give these ones low marks is because they are overpriced and becoming very high density. Flats kila mahali and greenery is disappearing fast. But at least the quality of flats is improving steadily and I love the fact that many of the roads in the area are getting beautifully tarmacked.

Ni hayo maoni yangu tu!
#7 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2018 11:25:34 PM

Asante for the comprehensive response. Am getting old what I called research is actually Vet smile ...

Any comment on titles & chances of obvious/common duplicity of titles.

Plus general price guides, if you are in the know?
MugundaMan
#8 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 5:48:20 AM

Asante for the comprehensive response. Am getting old what I called research is actually Vet smile ...

None that I know of, in fact Ngong land registry is one of the most efficient I have ever encountered IMHO. Titles are processed quite fast once all the due diligence, sale agreements etc are done by the lawyer and the deal is sealed between buyer and seller. And Ngong registry is way easier to access than the Kajiado one out in the boonies! Digitisation has been a Godsend, all those old tactics of graft (eg hiding of files/duplicating titles) are rapidly fading away across the country. I can't wait for all the registries to come fully online once the lawsuits about this end. Prices vary but for now there are still many bargains to be had..but not for long!
#9 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 6:21:08 AM

It was sorted... Even Kiserian... Nkoroi... Rimpa had the same problem... If am not wrong a reshuffle of some cops sorted it out....
#10 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 6:25:50 AM

It was sorted... Even Kiserian... Nkoroi... Rimpa had the same problem... If am not wrong a reshuffle of some cops sorted it out....

Sadly it's the bad cops who create insecurity by either lending out the firearm or actively participating in crime

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#11 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 4:55:59 PM

MugundaMan wrote:

None that I know of, in fact Ngong land registry is one of the most efficient I have ever encountered IMHO. Titles are processed quite fast once all the due diligence, sale agreements etc are done by the lawyer and the deal is sealed between buyer and seller. And Ngong registry is way easier to access than the Kajiado one out in the boonies! Digitisation has been a Godsend, all those old tactics of graft (eg hiding of files/duplicating titles) are rapidly fading away across the country. I can't wait for all the registries to come fully online once the lawsuits about this end. Prices vary but for now there are still many bargains to be had..but not for long!

Asande tena. When i come visiting i will look around red hot Ngong for 'something' (and maybe look for you smile before you go for your 'cheap' holiday).

@maka asande pia kwa comment ya hiyo side ya Kiserian though i have never liked it.
Wakanyugi
#12 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 8:22:38 PM

MugundaMan wrote:

Asande tena. When i come visiting i will look around red hot Ngong for 'something' (and maybe look for you smile before you go for your 'cheap' holiday).

@maka asande pia kwa comment ya hiyo side ya Kiserian though i have never liked it.

I recently came upon a company called Hillside Homes. They have some great deals on Maisonettes that side of Kibiku, very near the new SGR station. The finishes are pretty good too. I am very tempted to invest and flip. Once the SGR is complete these houses will be worth a packet.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#13 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 9:07:28 PM

Sadly it's the bad cops who create insecurity by either lending out the firearm or actively participating in crime

Also if one lives in an insecure place they can apply for a firearms licence, and buy a gun for own protection
MugundaMan
#14 Posted : Friday, October 19, 2018 2:16:20 AM

MugundaMan wrote:

Karibu!
MugundaMan
#15 Posted : Friday, October 19, 2018 2:18:05 AM

Wakanyugi wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

I recently came upon a company called Hillside Homes. They have some great deals on Maisonettes that side of Kibiku, very near the new SGR station. The finishes are pretty good too. I am very tempted to invest and flip. Once the SGR is complete these houses will be worth a packet.

Wise man! Now that is a "flip" I can fully support smile ! You will never go wrong on those.