SportPesa IPO
Thitifini
#21 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 12:26:23 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Mature business, time to rope Wanjiku in and scatter like #Amanya. cc. HAFR smile

How quickly we forget. Anyone remember Bonanza Win? Carl Esprey? Atlas Africa??? All the best. I pass.

Wazuans are suspicious of everything-Sportpesa,horton,penis enlargement adverts, cytonn, Mugundaman, kate mbarire, FEP, economy etc. How do you guys make money and enlarge your penises?

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
#22 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 12:35:35 PM

Thitifini wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:
Mature business, time to rope Wanjiku in and scatter like #Amanya. cc. HAFR smile

How quickly we forget. Anyone remember Bonanza Win? Carl Esprey? Atlas Africa??? All the best. I pass.

Wazuans are suspicious of everything-Sportpesa,horton,penis enlargement adverts, cytonn, Mugundaman, kate mbarire, FEP, economy etc. How do you guys make money and enlarge your penises?

atlas was coated with sweet international image,i don't blame wazua community for pessimism,the monkeys clothed well have been so many
Fyatu
#23 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 12:54:00 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:

That matapaka Carl Esprey disappeared in thin air and even pulled down Atlas website. From that day, i swore never to touch anything floated by Burbidge capital or Kestrel. These two firms are run by white(muzungu)criminals. I also remember the isle of Mann... sijui isle of Guernsey. Wanjiku BEWARE

P.S. Will i ever receive anything from Atlas? Is there any wazuan who knows what happens to minority shareholders of firms such as Atlas?They promised to wind down the company and send us our breadcrumbs way back in 2016. Up until now hata barua ya posta ya kutu salimia hakuna.

Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#24 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 12:56:44 PM

Fyatu wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:

That matapaka Carl Esprey disappeared in thin air and even pulled down Atlas website. From that day, i swore never to touch anything floated by Burbidge capital or Kestrel. These two firms are run by white(muzungu)criminals. I also remember the isle of Mann... sijui isle of Guernsey. Wanjiku BEWARE

P.S. Will i ever receive anything from Atlas? Is there any wazuan who knows what happens to minority shareholders of firms such as Atlas?They promised to wind down the company and send us our breadcrumbs way back in 2016. Up until now hata barua ya posta ya kutu salimia hakuna.

I know it is serious and sad lakini let me Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly kidogo.

Why i cannot join the Sportpesa bandwagon.
Superprime1
#25 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 1:14:18 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly They all have one thing in common: 'How to lose money'!
#26 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 1:15:55 PM

Thitifini wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I don't think IF Sportpesa was to list it would be a nyani. But trust me, these guys know how the future is likely to pan out hence would obviously want to sell their stake earlier. If you buy at IPO, exit early.

On the other hand, they were to expand into many African countries. Don't know how far their plans have gone.
the deal
#27 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 1:59:04 PM

Can't be worth more than 12 Billion... Anything beyond that is a stretch...
#28 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 2:05:40 PM

What does sportpesa own apart for the 'service' which is even not guaranteed/sio lazima watu wabet (unlike safcom whose service(s) are tangible? Hapa munachezwo my frens.
the deal
#29 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 2:09:38 PM

What does sportpesa own apart for the 'service' which is even not guaranteed/sio lazima watu wabet (unlike safcom whose service(s) are tangible? Hapa munachezwo my frens.

It's a viable business... Sportspesa is equivalent to Safaricom in terms of brand power...

Remember the odds are set in such a way that the house always wins...

Betting has been around for centuries...

We need companies like Sportpesa at the NSE...

It's Kenyas biggest success story after Mpesa...
#30 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 2:28:52 PM

Sportpesa denies IPO rumours. Says it's fake news.

https://www.standardmedi...hares-says-sportpesa-ceo
Mike Ock
#31 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 2:30:26 PM

Sports betting is not as lucrative as people think. The loss rate is the lowest out of any form of gambling. But maybe with the way sportpesa has turned people on to multibets which add risk to the gambler, their margins may be higher than usual.
cyruskulei
#32 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 3:15:52 PM

Anyone who could know where one can buy this company OTC. inbox me on cyruskulei@yahoo.com
Work hard at your job and you can make a living. Work hard on yourself and you can make a fortune.

#33 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 3:30:37 PM

We really like throwing figures around.

100B in revenues ? 300M per day ?? That would make them the second largest company in Kenya.

I usually fact-check such claims inthe a very simple manner.

From my circle of say 10 people, how many are their customers ?

KRA collects 15% of gross revenue. Was 35% before 18/19 budget. If above figures are true, then this would be KRA's top cash cow.

Superprime1
#34 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 3:55:46 PM

I would bet on the company itself; much less risk than placing bets on its platforms!smile

But, like someone noted earlier, these 'birrionaires' would not gift Wanjiku free money; they'd only bring it to you when they know it's on its death-bed.d'oh!
#35 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 3:57:33 PM

We really like throwing figures around.

100B in revenues ? 300M per day ?? That would make them the second largest company in Kenya.

I usually fact-check such claims inthe a very simple manner.

From my circle of say 10 people, how many are their customers ?

KRA collects 15% of gross revenue. Was 35% before 18/19 budget. If above figures are true, then this would be KRA's top cash cow.

If your circle does not include watchie,dere,gardener, car wash guy, junior accountant etc it is an invalid sample
Chaka
#36 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 4:05:46 PM

Does Safcom make money via Sportpesa paybill 955100?
the deal wrote:

It's a viable business... Sportspesa is equivalent to Safaricom in terms of brand power...

mulla
#37 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 4:47:34 PM

Mike Ock wrote:
Sports betting is not as lucrative as people think. The loss rate is the lowest out of any form of gambling. But maybe with the way sportpesa has turned people on to multibets which add risk to the gambler, their margins may be higher than usual.

It would be nice to see their financials....though I once heard Karuri say its not as rosy as people may think as they deal with alot of small payouts - whether that statement is true or it's PR - to downplay their profits to the public - can only be judged by their financials.
ombaalbt
#38 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 5:29:11 PM

Yes. They have the standard paybill charges. Depositing a mere 9bob costs you as much as 3b0b for instance

Chaka wrote:
Does Safcom make money via Sportpesa paybill 955100?
the deal wrote:

Learning to sit on my hands
1masha
#39 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 6:49:24 PM

Thitifini wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I don't think IF Sportpesa was to list it would be a nyani. But trust me, these guys know how the future is likely to pan out hence would obviously want to sell their stake earlier. If you buy at IPO, exit early.

On the other hand, they were to expand into many African countries. Don't know how far their plans have gone.

There is a high chance their future will get worse
Good judgement is often the result of experience. Experience is often the result of bad judgement.
Mujiza
#40 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 9:13:32 PM

[quote=hardwood]Sportpesa denies IPO rumours. Says it's fake news.

https://www.standardmedi...ares-says-sportpesa-ceo[/quote]
They deliberately leak the idea to gauge public reception and if found unfavourable then shelf it as they work on their reputation.