wazua Mon, Dec 23, 2024

6 Pages<1234>»
Has the real estate bubble burst????
MugundaMan
#21 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2018 2:59:11 PM

I got under Sparkly's skin today. I have never seen him this annoyed on Wazoo before. Hata Wakina Double A are very composed even in the heat of debate. Sijui nini imehappen with our good broda. I hope it is not because he is upset that his HAFR mkebe stock is headed for the ground Laughing out loudly
#22 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2018 4:08:05 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
I got under Sparkly's skin today. I have never seen him this annoyed on Wazoo before. Hata Wakina Double A are very composed even in the heat of debate. Sijui nini imehappen with our good broda. I hope it is not because he is upset that his HAFR mkebe stock is headed for the ground Laughing out loudly

I will deal with you later. Let me close some outstanding matters at work first.
#23 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2018 4:46:00 PM

@Mugunda is correct in that "depreciation" is an accounting concept BUT it is rooted in reality too.
Some buildings. depending on their nature, may last for centuries though they may require increasing maintenance or major renovation.

The depreciation may be "even" in accounting but as we know the repairs/replacement/renovations are anything but regular and equal.

As for rental yields, they have generally been sub-par, often below inflation and/or T-Bond returns, in Kenya. The capital appreciation was fueled by the "herd mentality" and "pyramid" nature of investment. Those returns (exceeding inflation or T-Bond yields) are unlikely to be seen in the near future unless economic potential increases.

Let's use Centum as an example.

Unless the Vipingo Area sees an influx of INDUSTRIAL and COMMERCIAL users, the land values will stagnate. The influx can only be driven by ECONOMIC factors which require decent fiscal management of the economy and good infrastructure to open up the area. Both factors are unlikely to happen in the near future.

Two Rivers: The mall is as good as it gets for now but it could get worse. For Centum, it is a loss leader. The "extra" land is up for sale but the demand is low. Do not expect any significant positive cashflows.

Firms which have debt and have "land" as their primary business are going to face a very tough time.

I don't know much about HAFR but I like Centum [discussing the business not the share price] since it has positive cashflow businesses (NBL, Almasi, etc) that can sustain the operations through the lean years.
MugundaMan
#24 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2018 4:59:13 PM

@Mugunda is correct in that "depreciation" is an accounting concept BUT it is rooted in reality too.
Some buildings. depending on their nature, may last for centuries though they may require increasing maintenance or major renovation.

The depreciation may be "even" in accounting but as we know the repairs/replacement/renovations are anything but regular and equal.

As for rental yields, they have generally been sub-par, often below inflation and/or T-Bond returns, in Kenya. The capital appreciation was fueled by the "herd mentality" and "pyramid" nature of investment. Those returns (exceeding inflation or T-Bond yields) are unlikely to be seen in the near future unless economic potential increases.

Let's use Centum as an example.

Unless the Vipingo Area sees an influx of INDUSTRIAL and COMMERCIAL users, the land values will stagnate. The influx can only be driven by ECONOMIC factors which require decent fiscal management of the economy and good infrastructure to open up the area. Both factors are unlikely to happen in the near future.

Two Rivers: The mall is as good as it gets for now but it could get worse. For Centum, it is a loss leader. The "extra" land is up for sale but the demand is low. Do not expect any significant positive cashflows.

Firms which have debt and have "land" as their primary business are going to face a very tough time.

I don't know much about HAFR but I like Centum [discussing the business not the share price] since it has positive cashflow businesses (NBL, Almasi, etc) that can sustain the operations through the lean years.

VVS,

-The economy has averaged out at approx a red hot 5% p.a. GDP growth rate for the past 16 years or so
-The Kenyan middle class has grown at an exponential pace in sync with that growth rate, and this middle class is fueling domestic demand at a blistering pace.
-The housing deficit in Kenya has not been bridged since independence

Jameni what more do you want?
Where is the "herd mentality" there? It is plain and simple supply and demand driving capital appreciation.

I am still challenging all of you guys to repeal the law of supply and demand before I take such statements above seriously. So far besides anecdotal opinions, no one has made a convincing argument to repeal said law.
tony stark
#25 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2018 5:12:13 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
Kenyans are very funny!

Does anyone remember Lukorito Jones (what a name by the way) and his doomsday articles many years ago about the "imminent" collapse of the R.E sector in Kenya.
I will say it again for the umpteenth time.

WAKE ME UP WHEN SOMEONE ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD MANAGES TO REPEAL THE LAW OF SUPPLY AND DEMAND.

Stalin tried in Russia, slaughtering 10 million people there trying to prove it and failed miserably.
The Chinese tried it until 1978 until the genius Deng Xiao Ping got religion fast and baptised the capitalism he legalised as a "unique brand of socialism with special characteristics" Laughing out loudly. The Chinese have been as capitalistic as the rest of us ever since!

When supply exceeds the whopping housing deficit in Kenya, come and tap me from my comfy bed where I will be slumbering and snoring away over this non-topic.

A slightly empty mall or apartment somewhere tells us nothing. The housing sector is not monolithic, and a temporary oversuppply in high end mall or office space in one or two buildings does not mean the entire sector is under collapse! Unless of course you are a big fan of the reasoning of Lukorito Jones. Laughing out loudly

I agree with you 100%

I also think the real estate market is about to get hotter with the low housing development scheme. I think it will have a few benefits
1. Introducing and removing stigma of alternative building strategies like pre built panels etc. This will have a knock on effect on the other levels because and probably bring down the cost of the middle and upper brackets.
2. The low income houses create a new middle class. A senior nurse in Kenya earns 50-70K p.m. How is she to afford a house even with a combined income. This scheme will increase the middle class by providing an asset through which this class can increase their revenue.
3. Opening up the counties as a viable investment destination.

I think this market is about to get hotter and the cold spot in the upper bracket wont detract the overall market. Looking forward to seeing what will be done through the low cost housing.
MugundaMan
#26 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2018 5:17:33 PM

tony stark wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
Kenyans are very funny!

Does anyone remember Lukorito Jones (what a name by the way) and his doomsday articles many years ago about the "imminent" collapse of the R.E sector in Kenya.
I will say it again for the umpteenth time.

WAKE ME UP WHEN SOMEONE ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD MANAGES TO REPEAL THE LAW OF SUPPLY AND DEMAND.

Stalin tried in Russia, slaughtering 10 million people there trying to prove it and failed miserably.
The Chinese tried it until 1978 until the genius Deng Xiao Ping got religion fast and baptised the capitalism he legalised as a "unique brand of socialism with special characteristics" Laughing out loudly. The Chinese have been as capitalistic as the rest of us ever since!

When supply exceeds the whopping housing deficit in Kenya, come and tap me from my comfy bed where I will be slumbering and snoring away over this non-topic.

A slightly empty mall or apartment somewhere tells us nothing. The housing sector is not monolithic, and a temporary oversuppply in high end mall or office space in one or two buildings does not mean the entire sector is under collapse! Unless of course you are a big fan of the reasoning of Lukorito Jones. Laughing out loudly

I agree with you 100%

I also think the real estate market is about to get hotter with the low housing development scheme. I think it will have a few benefits
1. Introducing and removing stigma of alternative building strategies like pre built panels etc. This will have a knock on effect on the other levels because and probably bring down the cost of the middle and upper brackets.
2. The low income houses create a new middle class. A senior nurse in Kenya earns 50-70K p.m. How is she to afford a house even with a combined income. This scheme will increase the middle class by providing an asset through which this class can increase their revenue.
3. Opening up the counties as a viable investment destination.

I think this market is about to get hotter and the cold spot in the upper bracket wont detract the overall market. Looking forward to seeing what will be done through the low cost housing.

Amen!
#27 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2018 5:20:40 PM

@mugundaman

The law of demand and supply is alive and kicking.

We came off a "lost decade" under moi and so from 2002 onwards so we had the benefit of starting off from a low base.

Growth Rate: 5% is not "red-hot" given some countries like India and China (if you believe the official stats) had 7-10% growth for more than a decade. Some areas will continue to see an increase in prices if access (eg roads) make in-roads.

Middle Class: It will continue growing but 'affordability' of real estate remains key. People benefit from living closer to where they work and the "affordable" plots further out may have a commuting cost.

On an all-cash personal/individual portfolio, one can get 11% (after tax) on IFBs.
In some "middle-class) parts of Nairobi, the gross rental yields are 6% (pre-tax), then discount maintenance costs, etc. Plus the hassle of owning real estate - dealing with tenants, etc.
[Rents usually increase but IFB yields will not]

Will the property increase in value by 5% annually to match the IFBs?

There are many other factors that come in play. This is a not a comprehensive analysis.

If one is buying a plot, without building a rentable structure, then the capital appreciation required is at least 11%.
#28 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2018 5:33:07 PM

Subsidies distort the market.

So @tonystark, if GoK is going to subsidize the "low-cost housing" then one can't beat GoK. It was like the imported maize.

New tech will benefit new housing and those with land (or an old building that can be torn down) will benefit.

I "own" real estate indirectly through some NSE investments but most are not in the primary business of real estate.
tony stark
#29 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2018 5:54:51 PM

So @tonystark, if GoK is going to subsidize the "low-cost housing" then one can't beat GoK. It was like the imported maize.

New tech will benefit new housing and those with land (or an old building that can be torn down) will benefit.

I "own" real estate indirectly through some NSE investments but most are not in the primary business of real estate.

I agree that GoK playing in the market distorts the market but GoK can not supply enough even with the 3% tax. What GoK is doing si helping to reduce the inequality because there is a group of people who are certainly being ignored by th protery developer.
My point is is that without GoK intervention there is a huge group of people who are being left out from the market because developers are looking for a 30-40% return on investment!
Also by intervening GoK creates a "new" middle class bu enabling a group of people to obtain an appreciating asset cheaply and also provides the "new" middle with an asset to enable borrowing of the new asset. This also has an effect on the general economy.
MugundaMan
#30 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2018 7:05:32 PM

@mugundaman

Amen!

We came off a "lost decade" under moi and so from 2002 onwards so we had the benefit of starting off from a low base.Growth Rate: 5% is not "red-hot" given some countries like India and China (if you believe the official stats) had 7-10% growth for more than a decade. Some areas will continue to see an increase in prices if access (eg roads) make in-roads.

Danganya wengine! Africa's GDP growth rates have been second only to India, China and one or two other Asian economic giants the past decade and a half. Not even Europe and North America comes close. And East Africa is the lynchpin of this growth (see article below) To discount this is to live in a fantasy land.
http://www.theeastafrica...860-112q638z/index.html

Middle Class: It will continue growing but 'affordability' of real estate remains key. People benefit from living closer to where they work and the "affordable" plots further out may have a commuting cost.

But what has this got to do with anything? Booming middle class is buying property both near and far from where they work, high cost or low cost. If it wasn't affordable they would not be buying!

On an all-cash personal/individual portfolio, one can get 11% (after tax) on IFBs.
In some "middle-class) parts of Nairobi, the gross rental yields are 6% (pre-tax)
, then discount maintenance costs, etc. Plus the hassle of owning real estate - dealing with tenants, etc.

But who told you rental yields are where the money is for real estate? Laughing out loudly

Of course! I bought one plot in January this year and have already made an easy 22% return in cap gains if I were to sell today. And the year is not even over yet. I have made as much as 2000% total return on plots bought a decade or more ago. And this is TYPICAL in the R.E. Industry in this here our lovely Kiinya. And this is BEFORE rental yields added on top! 11% tax free IFB are crumbs baba Laughing out loudly. Many many years ago I used to be a corporate drone in the finance industry who used to think the same way you do..that these 11%'s are big gains so I don't blame you-oo.

There are many other factors that come in play. This is a not a comprehensive analysis.

If one is buying a plot, without building a rentable structure, then the capital appreciation required is at least 11%.[

Which an average plot bila structure EASILY beats per annum. As I told you bro, 11% is crumbs in the R.E. Industry. Someone who buys one acre and subdivides into 7 parcels of 1/8ths can make a 200%+ return NET quite easily without breaking a sweat in a few MONTHS let alone a year. This is not rocket science or some theory in a book my broda this is FACT.
Wakanyugi
#31 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2018 7:12:19 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
Mike Ock wrote:
High end rentals are nowadays making zero sense in terms of time to break even. But most of the money in the high end wasn't really looking for a quick return anyway.

Depends on what you mean by "break even" smile
I personally do not even look at rental yield as a factor in Kenya given the nature of cost structure in the industry. If you buy a 30m apartment for example and then hope to "break even" on the rents soon, you might be waiting decades. But what you lose in rental yields you gain in cap gains. This is why you are absolutely correct to say money in high end is not looking for a quick return (cash flows) and are very happy to wait 3, 5, 10 and even 20 years+ to make their real mint.

Buildings depreciate and in 20 years the apartment is half way through its useful economic life.

I think you are stretching this accounting fix to unreasonable levels.

I bought a house in 1997 for 2M. According to you it should now be worth less than 1M. Yet recently I got it valued, on orders of a Bank, the best accountants there is.

Value? 18M. Where has your depreciation gone?
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
Wakanyugi
#32 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2018 7:25:38 PM

@mugundaman

We came off a "lost decade" under moi and so from 2002 onwards so we had the benefit of starting off from a low base.

Growth Rate: 5% is not "red-hot" given some countries like India and China (if you believe the official stats) had 7-10% growth for more than a decade. Some areas will continue to see an increase in prices if access (eg roads) make in-roads.

In some "middle-class) parts of Nairobi, the gross rental yields are 6% (pre-tax), then discount maintenance costs, etc. Plus the hassle of owning real estate - dealing with tenants, etc.

If one is buying a plot, without building a rentable structure, then the capital appreciation required is at least 11%.

I spent some time at the Home expo last week and got to visit the Ministry of housing stand. The young man I found took me through the plans they have to achieve, and eben exceed one of Uhurus legacy big 4. I was impressed.

I was also reminded that many advanced economies have been lifted to there current levels by their housing sectors (forget the once in a decade contraction outliers).

If this plan takes off and the middle class is able to access cheap houses and 25 year mortgages, the puny 5% economic growth rates will be history.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#33 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2018 7:27:02 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
Mike Ock wrote:
High end rentals are nowadays making zero sense in terms of time to break even. But most of the money in the high end wasn't really looking for a quick return anyway.

Depends on what you mean by "break even" smile
I personally do not even look at rental yield as a factor in Kenya given the nature of cost structure in the industry. If you buy a 30m apartment for example and then hope to "break even" on the rents soon, you might be waiting decades. But what you lose in rental yields you gain in cap gains. This is why you are absolutely correct to say money in high end is not looking for a quick return (cash flows) and are very happy to wait 3, 5, 10 and even 20 years+ to make their real mint.

Buildings depreciate and in 20 years the apartment is half way through its useful economic life.

I think you are stretching this accounting fix to unreasonable levels.

I bought a house in 1997 for 2M. According to you it should now be worth less than 1M. Yet recently I got it valued, on orders of a Bank, the best accountants there is.

Value? 18M. Where has your depreciation gone?

Wachana na @sparkly

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#34 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2018 7:27:06 PM

tony stark wrote:

I agree that GoK playing in the market distorts the market but GoK can not supply enough even with the 3% tax. What GoK is doing si helping to reduce the inequality because there is a group of people who are certainly being ignored by th protery developer.
My point is is that without GoK intervention there is a huge group of people who are being left out from the market because developers are looking for a 30-40% return on investment!
Also by intervening GoK creates a "new" middle class bu enabling a group of people to obtain an appreciating asset cheaply and also provides the "new" middle with an asset to enable borrowing of the new asset. This also has an effect on the general economy.

The government should not subsidize the units for a few but allow for others to build quality as cheaply as possible by encouraging competition.
Some builders may be willing to build for a 10% margin if all the other factors are constant i.e. not dealing with delayed payments from buyers, onerous local authority requirements, not installing infrastructure usually provided by local authorities, lower taxes/VAT, etc.
#35 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2018 7:33:18 PM

@mugunda wrote : "Which an average plot bila structure EASILY beats per annum. As I told you bro, 11% is crumbs in the R.E. Industry. Someone who buys one acre and subdivides into 7 parcels of 1/8ths can make a 200%+ return NET quite easily without breaking a sweat in a few MONTHS let alone a year. This is not rocket science or some theory in a book my broda this is FACT."
>>> You are a wholesaler/trader. Good for you.
Those buying 1/8ths from you aren't going to make much in capital gains in the near term.
What you are describing is a pyramid scheme of sorts.

I am not knocking your business model of buy wholesale and sell retail. Very sensible business.
MugundaMan
#36 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2018 7:45:55 PM

@mugunda wrote : "Which an average plot bila structure EASILY beats per annum. As I told you bro, 11% is crumbs in the R.E. Industry. Someone who buys one acre and subdivides into 7 parcels of 1/8ths can make a 200%+ return NET quite easily without breaking a sweat in a few MONTHS let alone a year. This is not rocket science or some theory in a book my broda this is FACT."
Those buying 1/8ths from you aren't going to make much in capital gains in the near term.

I am not knocking your business model of buy wholesale and sell retail. Very sensible business.

I see you are now shifting goalposts after we proved your arguments held no water. For the record I am NOT a wholesaler. I just gave you an example of how I have earned a 22% return on one plot I bought in January. What more do you want, my broda?
Saying that 1/8ths don't appreciate in Kiinya is like saying the sun will not rise tomorrow. Ask anyone who has bought an 1/8th in Kenya since 1963 if it has appreciated or not year over year.
#37 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2018 7:56:22 PM

MugundaMan wrote:

I see you are now shifting goalposts after we proved your arguments held no water. For the record I am NOT a wholesaler. I just gave you an example of how I have earned a 22% return on one plot I bought in January. What more do you want, my broda?
Saying that 1/8ths don't appreciate in Kiinya is like saying the sun will not rise tomorrow. Ask anyone who has bought an 1/8th in Kenya since 1963 if it has appreciated or not year over year.

Let us be realistic on time-frame, how long would it take you to get the title into your name, sub divide and sell all the subdivided plots for you to get the return. Anyway good for those making such 'outrageous' profits but I KNOW it is not a walk in the park as it is being portrayed here verses 'other' investments.

Let me sleep easy with bonds courtesy of @maka.
MugundaMan
#38 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2018 8:03:33 PM

Let us be realistic on time-frame, how long would it take you to get the title into your name, sub divide and sell all the subdivided plots for you to get the return. Anyway good for those making such 'outrageous' profits but I KNOW it is not a walk in the park as it is being portrayed here verses 'other' investments.

So in other words you are telling us you are very lazy Laughing out loudly
nani alisema real estate is "a walk in the park"
A lazy person cannot even wake up to go on a site visit to inspect a plot on a good Saturday, let alone anything beyond that. That would be expecting too much of them, my sista. Reminds me of one of my relatives. The guy is so lazy to go and deliver an envelope across town may take him three weeks but he always has a very creative excuse as to why the delivery has not happened yet. And it keeps changing daily. Bure ghabisa!
#39 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2018 8:05:30 PM

MugundaMan wrote:

So in other words you are telling us you are very lazy Laughing out loudly
nani alisema real estate is "a walk in the park"
A lazy person cannot even wake up to go on a site visit to inspect a plot on a good Saturday, let alone anything beyond that. That would be expecting too much of them, my sista. Reminds me of one of my relatives. The guy is so lazy to go and deliver an envelope across town may take him three weeks but he always has a very creative excuse as to why it has not happened.

KTN news discussing @MigundaMan right now

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#40 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2018 8:11:24 PM

MugundaMan wrote:

OK. You are right. Good luck!