wazua Wed, May 21, 2025

52 Pages«<678910>»
Question for a4architect
Tito44
#141 Posted : Thursday, June 17, 2010 6:10:50 PM

@nimimi and newfarer - Kindly go through the entire post. The cost depends on the finishes you go for. Working with a well finished house; the cost has been put at about 20,000 psm. Therefore, 105 sqm is 105*20000 = 2.1m
Alternatively, follow Pablo's, Rahatupu's, e.t.c advise and the cost comes down to about 14000 psq.
Therefore, 105*14000 = 1.47m
In short, it depends all depends with you
nimimi
#142 Posted : Friday, June 18, 2010 12:32:03 PM

@Tito44 - The reason i ask is im currently doing my first project which is an estate of 10 and the cost is coming to 25,700 psq. This includes infrastructure development and professional fees. Also we have to do septic tanks for each unit as there is no sewer line there. After going through the post i'm wondering whether i have been taken for a ride. The finishes are good as the units are for sale and i'm looking at quick sales but the differential between my cost and experiences of other members is just too wide.
Pablo
#143 Posted : Friday, June 18, 2010 5:41:18 PM

If your contractor is buying materials and you have to spend an amount for infrastructure and youre building on black cotton then maybe.

However that cost is just to high. 28M for 10 houses. Thats 2.8M just to break even? Even if you have included the cost of the land something doesnt add up. Someone will make more money than you in developing the houses.
#144 Posted : Friday, June 18, 2010 6:02:23 PM

Do we have anyone with knowledge and experience of construction with hydraform blocks

http://www.hydraform.com/Products/Index.asp
nimimi
#145 Posted : Monday, June 21, 2010 1:17:31 PM

@Pablo - Thanks for your input. Any specifics in terms of what other have done?

@a4architect - Please send me your email so that we can discuss this offline. I would be very happy to appoint you to independently verify the BQs for my project.
nimimi
#146 Posted : Monday, June 21, 2010 1:25:55 PM

@Pablo - no need to respond to above post as I've seen your/others advice on the specifics in earlier posts.
#147 Posted : Monday, June 21, 2010 6:18:59 PM

@Alpha2, the cost relatively oaky, not factoring in the cost of land as Pablo puts it. (Government land is not valued at market rate anyway, plus no real cost was incurred in this particular case). Given that the government paid only 2m per flat, kick backs etc factored in I think if you are in the business of putting up low cost flats then the cost per unit in this case was reasonable. My units are almost similar and the cost going by the BQ is around 15m for 16 flats.

@Titi44, it cost me close to 600k for the foundation, the level of the plot was not even, on the lower side the foundation is 8 courses of stone while on the other side it is 3 courses, the back filling was very expensive. If yours is even and regular then you may save on back filling costs. Otherwise, do the septic and soak pits first before commencing the foundation as the soil and murram will greatly aid in cost reduction.
fuchu
#148 Posted : Monday, June 21, 2010 6:31:11 PM

@ Pablo Rahatupu Luttz and all,
Thanks for the info on this thread. Its excellent.

Am planning to do my house, 3BR ensuite starting in August for max 6 weeks. I hope to have done more than 95% of the house by then. I have read through the thread several times and I got some issues where your advice will be most welcome. these are
Roofing: I intend to use Red Bricks (matofari). Where can I get them? Are there some whose harvested water is good for consumption. I intend to harvest the water. On the trick of buying a tree to get your timber, how long did it take for the timber to cure? Whats the lead time to buying a tree to be used for roofing? The roof has been designed as heap - with a slab area of approx 122sqm, how much would it cost to roof by use of matofari?

haiyaa
#149 Posted : Wednesday, June 23, 2010 11:15:11 AM

The National Social Security Fund (NSSF) is constructing 688 units in Nyayo Estate Embakasi Phase II to be completed by 30th June, 2011.

The houses are now available for sale either on cash basis or Tenant Purchase Scheme.

They will be ready for occupation provisionally by 1st August, 2011.

The Site

Nyayo Estate Embakasi is strategically located 18 kilometres from the City Centre and is easily accessible from the City Centre via Outering Road and Mombasa Road.

The site infrastructure includes tarmac roads, perimeter wall, street lighting, ample parking space and play grounds among others.

NSSF is also in the process of sinking boreholes to supplement the supply of water by Nairobi Water and Sewerage Company Limited.

Design Concept

The concept of the estate is to provide a serene and secure environment to cater for self sufficient community with nursery and primary schools, shopping centres and community centres.

Interior Finishes

MDF cabinets and wardrobes
Ceramic tiles on wet areas
Cubicle shower
Sale Prices

3 Bedroom Flat - Kshs. 5.28 million
3 Bedroom Standard Maisonette - Kshs. 6.48 million
3 Bedroom Corner Maisonette - Kshs. 6.68 million
3 Bedroom Duka Maisonette - Kshs. 7.5 million

Where exactly is the location of these houses?

Isnt it much cheaper to build your own especially the maisonette?
hugumadede
#150 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 5:31:26 PM

Hi Guys,
I'm just about to start building a house in Syokimau and I need fundi's who can do some good work for me. I'll need like 2 or 4 guys whom I will ask to quote for labor. Please get in touch if you know anybody
atiriri
#151 Posted : Wednesday, June 30, 2010 3:19:07 PM

@archi

unachora plan ya 3 bedroom massionate na pesa ngapi inbox me please.japuonjluke@hotmail.com
ECHOKENYA
#152 Posted : Thursday, July 01, 2010 5:14:33 PM

I wish to know the depth one should go when building on black-cotton soil?
http://echoproperties.kbo.co.ke
Echo estate management Limited
atiriri
#153 Posted : Monday, July 12, 2010 4:25:59 PM

atiriri wrote:
@archi

unachora plan ya 3 bedroom massionate na pesa ngapi inbox me please.japuonjluke@hotmail.com

Still waiting
#154 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 6:26:42 PM

@Echo, you must get to the hard surface- mawe or rather where the black cotton soil ends and marram starts. Thus there is no standard lakini it depends on the specific area and the gradient and marshiness of the place.
Gatheuzi
#155 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 9:41:47 PM

I just came across an article in today's Daily Nation in the Money magazine pg 6. A4architect is featured there about his online consulting.
Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
tom_boy
#156 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 11:18:24 PM

I am in a dillema. I am putting up a 4br maisonette that is slightly unique in that the upper floor walls only go up by 1.1m and then I have dormer windows and part of the room is in the roof. When doing the ground floor, we put a 450mm thick ring beam which includes a 150mm thick slab. House is on red soil, measures 18m by 9.5m. To me, this ring beam seamed extra thick compared to what I see on other buildings lakini since it was indicated in the architectural drawings we went ahead and put it. Sasa, I am almost at the 1.1m mark and the fundi insists there must be another ring beam before we secure the roof. This second ring beam is not indicated in the drawings and I have seen houses with roofs that are not sitting on a ring beam. Pesa inakwisha bwana and I am wondering if this second ring beam is necessary. Please give me your inputon this.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
Pablo
#157 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 10:16:13 AM

It is true that you need a ring beam before the roof. Typically youd do this ring beam complete with the chumas then do another two courses before roofing.

You however say your upper walls are 1.1m. The purpose of the upper ring beam among others is to ensure the 2.5M or so of wall is well belted.

With 1.1M of walls, I dont see you needing too many chumas for the second ringbeam as the forces are much less than kawaida. I hope youve spoken to a friendly engineer on the same. Fundis will not know how to design that beam and will do how other ring beams are normally done.

But prepare yourself for a ring beam anyway.

atiriri
#158 Posted : Monday, August 09, 2010 10:20:09 AM

@Pablo,

where are your offices?
Pablo
#159 Posted : Monday, August 09, 2010 4:15:13 PM

By the way am not a builder just been baptised with fire during my ongoing mjengo. You can contact me at pnganga at mailcity dot com
qadaffi
#160 Posted : Wednesday, August 18, 2010 3:54:35 PM

@Pablo,

I would still like to seek your counsel.

Do you have any tips regarding roofing? I am approaching that stage in about 3 weeks time hence any word from one who has gone before would be quite helpful.

I am currently shopping for a reasonable vendor who can give me a good range of products to choose from. So far have been in touch with Duratile and Metrotile but would like to compare more.

Sitaki kuumiza mfuko sana, if you get my drift.