wazua Mon, Dec 23, 2024

What is the Kenyan dream?
MugundaMan
#1 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2018 6:11:19 PM

Now before you start quoting the National Anthem or the Kenya Loyalty Pledge (by the way how come we never said this pledge beyond primary school parade/assembly?), I am talking of it in social terms of an achievable target for a University educated Kenyan who does NOT engage in grand corruption, to achieve in his or her lifetime.

For the Americans, their dream is a simple one:

1. A house you own in the suburbs, with a two car garage, a backyard on which the kids can play in and a white picket fence (low fence) over which to peek at the friendly neighbours.

2. 2.5 kids MAXIMUM (do not ask me what the 0.5 of a kid means)

3. The pretty, well educated All American wife on your arm that is the envy of many.

4. Ability to have at least one exotic vacation (meaning anywhere overseas - but Hawaii counts too) once a year

5. A new or late model vehicle for both hubby and wife

6. Enough of an income to e able to afford all the above and invest as well (but this elelment died long ago in the 60s when most Americans began to live on debt, credit cards and loans)

7. A stable church family and life to attend to on Sundays (this also long ago died in the late 50s.

So what is the definition of the Kenyan dream?

My opinion?

1. A house in the suburbs within 40km of Nairobi built with one's own sweat: anywhere between 1/8th of an acre to 1 acre in size, 3 to 5 bedrooms, a high wall with electric fence to keep out the jambazis, a security guard for good measure, a 20,000 litre underground tank to ease water woes and two decent cars parked outside.

2. A wife that is not a slay queen material, is well educated and bila ndrama mingi who won't make you dread going home from your business or work

3. Three kids MAXIMUM. All of them attending good academies that will help them secure their future very well.

4. A good church life and family for Sundays

5. A few additional investments in plots or apartments or other land acquired over a long period of time, to provide financial security. Perhaps a small farm further away from town for extra income. Very little money put in the casino (NSE) or other pyramid schemes like greenhouse plot deals or Unit Trusts, Cytonn and so on.

6. Ability to afford a vacation or three to the coast or a different destination in Kenya each time, and if you are doing very well, maybe to Dubai or beyond, once a year

7. Ability to support struggling or lazy/drunkard relatives in their time of destitution without enabling them to continue their tabias.

8. Ability to afford decent medical care in case of emergency, with NHIF as backup (thanks Jubilee!)

Ni hayo maoni yangu tu.

What in your opinion makes the Kenyan dream?
Kenyan Oracle
#2 Posted : Tuesday, September 25, 2018 6:19:59 PM

Well put MugundaMan, couldn't have put it better.
You lose money chasing women, but you never lose women chasing money - NAS
Kate_Mbarire
#3 Posted : Wednesday, September 26, 2018 10:03:20 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
Now before you start quoting the National Anthem or the Kenya Loyalty Pledge (by the way how come we never said this pledge beyond primary school parade/assembly?), I am talking of it in social terms of an achievable target for a University educated Kenyan who does NOT engage in grand corruption, to achieve in his or her lifetime.

For the Americans, their dream is a simple one:

1. A house you own in the suburbs, with a two car garage, a backyard on which the kids can play in and a white picket fence (low fence) over which to peek at the friendly neighbours.

2. 2.5 kids MAXIMUM (do not ask me what the 0.5 of a kid means)

3. The pretty, well educated All American wife on your arm that is the envy of many.

4. Ability to have at least one exotic vacation (meaning anywhere overseas - but Hawaii counts too) once a year

5. A new or late model vehicle for both hubby and wife

6. Enough of an income to e able to afford all the above and invest as well (but this elelment died long ago in the 60s when most Americans began to live on debt, credit cards and loans)

7. A stable church family and life to attend to on Sundays (this also long ago died in the late 50s.

So what is the definition of the Kenyan dream?

My opinion?

1. A house in the suburbs within 40km of Nairobi built with one's own sweat: anywhere between 1/8th of an acre to 1 acre in size, 3 to 5 bedrooms, a high wall with electric fence to keep out the jambazis, a security guard for good measure, a 20,000 litre underground tank to ease water woes and two decent cars parked outside.

2. A wife that is not a slay queen material, is well educated and bila ndrama mingi who won't make you dread going home from your business or work

3. Three kids MAXIMUM. All of them attending good academies that will help them secure their future very well.

4. A good church life and family for Sundays

5. A few additional investments in plots or apartments or other land acquired over a long period of time, to provide financial security. Perhaps a small farm further away from town for extra income. Very little money put in the casino (NSE) or other pyramid schemes like greenhouse plot deals or Unit Trusts, Cytonn and so on.

6. Ability to afford a vacation or three to the coast or a different destination in Kenya each time, and if you are doing very well, maybe to Dubai or beyond, once a year

7. Ability to support struggling or lazy/drunkard relatives in their time of destitution without enabling them to continue their tabias.

8. Ability to afford decent medical care in case of emergency, with NHIF as backup (thanks Jubilee!)

Ni hayo maoni yangu tu.

What in your opinion makes the Kenyan dream?

A good balance of both career and motherhood for the wife

Ability to support retired ageing parents with a good medical cover and activities to keep them busy and provide income

Several bedsitters for rent in Ngara Nwest et Al for much needed side income (Wukan do you feel me...)

Ability to support several needy kids in shagz with school fees.

#4 Posted : Wednesday, September 26, 2018 11:58:51 PM

some nys like lifetime deal Drool Drool Drool
#5 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2018 6:23:27 AM

Shindwe 😁

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
MugundaMan
#6 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2018 6:51:05 AM

Kate_Mbarire wrote:

Ability to support retired ageing parents with a good medical cover and activities to keep them busy and provide income

Several bedsitters for rent in Ngara Nwest et Al for much needed side income (Wukan do you feel me...)

Kate_Mbarire,
Good ones. What is it with you and Wukan when it comes to bedsitters, thoughsmile? I know the cash flows are very good and they are almost always fully occupied lakini the hassles of managing and maintaining them are something else, at least according to what I have heard. But more power to you both. Everyone has their strategy that works for them.

wukan
#7 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2018 10:48:12 AM

MugundaMan wrote:
Kate_Mbarire wrote:

Kate_Mbarire,
Good ones. What is it with you and Wukan when it comes to bedsitters, thoughsmile? I know the cash flows are very good and they are almost always fully occupied lakini the hassles of managing and maintaining them are something else, at least according to what I have heard. But more power to you both. Everyone has their strategy that works for them.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly cash flow is everything especially in old age. Your kids must provide pesa ya wazee... 99% occupancy while I'm on a cruise to Mauritius and cape town
MugundaMan
#8 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2018 11:42:41 AM

wukan wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
Kate_Mbarire wrote:

Kate_Mbarire,

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly cash flow is everything especially in old age. Your kids must provide pesa ya wazee... 99% occupancy while I'm on a cruise to Mauritius and cape town

You know this will be impossible when your tenants...;

*JK wa MashiniCut (quarry guy) is blowing up your phone complaining his bedsitter has been broken into and you must hurry back to sort his woes out

* Mama Josh is doing the same complaining water to her unit at the top has completely stopped

* Ephantus below Mama Josh is complaining a massive leak from Mama Josh's apartment slab is flooding his apartment

* Ground floor occupants Omari and Kakwitu are complaining that green seweage is backing up into their house from septic because of karatasis, nappies, weaves and other crazy debris flushed down the drains by upper units. And that septic itself has cracked and is oozing sludge down the hill.

* Ochieng on second floor is complaining that his KPLC prepaid meter has been ripped out, he is in darkness at night and you need to come sort

*The security guard at the gate is being complained about for taking bribes to allow strange people in who have broken into several apartments

* Abdul on second floor is complaining his neighbour Ochieng blasts lingala music (Defao specifically) 24/7 and this is interrupting his prayer schedule

The list is endless braddah. With bedsitters you will have no peace so vacays are out of the question!

And if you hire someone to manage it that is the worst mistake. You will find the problems have magically doubled times two and of course additional money from the rents is needed in order to sort them, leaving you in the red or barely breaking even.

Then there is the issue of resale. Very few people want to touch bedsitter blocks upon resale. They know the landlord is selling because of headaches, or because he knows the SANYS are growling their way towards them soon.

Ni hayo maoni yangu tu
#9 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2018 1:02:18 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
Kate_Mbarire wrote:

Kate_Mbarire,
Good ones.What is it with you and Wukan when it comes to bedsitters, thoughsmile? I know the cash flows are very good and they are almost always fully occupied lakini the hassles of managing and maintaining them are something else, at least according to what I have heard. But more power to you both. Everyone has their strategy that works for them.

Bibi na bwana ♡♡♡♡
wukan
#10 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2018 1:41:19 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
Kate_Mbarire wrote:

Kate_Mbarire,
Good ones.What is it with you and Wukan when it comes to bedsitters, thoughsmile? I know the cash flows are very good and they are almost always fully occupied lakini the hassles of managing and maintaining them are something else, at least according to what I have heard. But more power to you both. Everyone has their strategy that works for them.

Bibi na bwana ♡♡♡♡

Angelica sweetie please do something huyu @sparkly amezidi
Ryko
#11 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2018 1:44:54 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
wukan wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
Kate_Mbarire wrote:

Kate_Mbarire,

*JK wa MashiniCut (quarry guy) is blowing up your phone complaining his bedsitter has been broken into and you must hurry back to sort his woes out

* Mama Josh is doing the same complaining water to her unit at the top has completely stopped

* Ephantus below Mama Josh is complaining a massive leak from Mama Josh's apartment slab is flooding his apartment

* Ground floor occupants Omari and Kakwitu are complaining that green seweage is backing up into their house from septic because of karatasis, nappies, weaves and other crazy debris flushed down the drains by upper units. And that septic itself has cracked and is oozing sludge down the hill.

* Ochieng on second floor is complaining that his KPLC prepaid meter has been ripped out, he is in darkness at night and you need to come sort

*The security guard at the gate is being complained about for taking bribes to allow strange people in who have broken into several apartments

* Abdul on second floor is complaining his neighbour Ochieng blasts lingala music (Defao specifically) 24/7 and this is interrupting his prayer schedule

The list is endless braddah. With bedsitters you will have no peace so vacays are out of the question!

And if you hire someone to manage it that is the worst mistake. You will find the problems have magically doubled times two and of course additional money from the rents is needed in order to sort them, leaving you in the red or barely breaking even.

Then there is the issue of resale. Very few people want to touch bedsitter blocks upon resale. They know the landlord is selling because of headaches, or because he knows the SANYS are growling their way towards them soon.

Ni hayo maoni yangu tu

@Mugundaman You have forgotten this one

Nowadays, if the landlord does not refund deposit, the tenants buy 1 bag of cement at 600 bob, koroga it in a bucket and pour it in the toilet and all major sinks. I hear you have to redo the f***ed up sewer systems on a whole floor

Meanwhile, @Wukan will be sailing in Mauritius at 67 yrs old with a slay queen licking the deposit, while Generation Y kids who don't want to buy land are busy cementing his bedsitters drainage coz they cant fork 10M.
I work so I can afford the amount of alcohol required to continue going to work
Kate_Mbarire
#12 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2018 3:45:09 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
[quote=Kate_Mbarire]

Kate_Mbarire,

Bibi na bwana ♡♡♡♡[/quot

Sparkly...I see you are into teasing meLaughing out loudly ....if I was sure you were Male/man would've sent you a bale of high quality mogoka that my granny harvests for top market sale as a peace offering...
Kate_Mbarire
#13 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2018 3:50:21 PM

Ryko wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
wukan wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
Kate_Mbarire wrote:

Kate_Mbarire,

Ni hayo maoni yangu tu

Mugunda Man...your analysis is true and scary...yes these are the headaches you may get with bedsitters.

Am adding to my list above ..

5)Maintain a good Emergency fund for one of those days when you need it

6) Establish a good side hustle? eg a thriving bookshop???

7) Maintain healthy body weight and keep slaying...Ketos here we come!

Nowadays, if the landlord does not refund deposit, the tenants buy 1 bag of cement at 600 bob, koroga it in a bucket and pour it in the toilet and all major sinks. I hear you have to redo the f***ed up sewer systems on a whole floor

Meanwhile, @Wukan will be sailing in Mauritius at 67 yrs old with a slay queen licking the deposit, while Generation Y kids who don't want to buy land are busy cementing his bedsitters drainage coz they cant fork 10M.

wukan
#14 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2018 4:42:23 PM

Ryko wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
wukan wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
Kate_Mbarire wrote:

Kate_Mbarire,

Ni hayo maoni yangu tu

I don't do them Githurai bed-sitters. By the time you are doing lifts and pools you won't be targeting reja reja tenants. By the way for rentals i usually require my prospective tenants to have credit score above 700 and 2 referrals and not more than 2 kids.
MugundaMan
#15 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2018 5:12:19 PM

wukan wrote:
Ryko wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
wukan wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
Kate_Mbarire wrote:

Kate_Mbarire,

Ni hayo maoni yangu tu

I don't do them Githurai bed-sitters. By the time you are doing lifts and pools you won't be targeting reja reja tenants. By the way for rentals i usually require my prospective tenants to have credit score above 700 and 2 referrals and not more than 2 kids.

wukan, which person in their right mind with money will rent a bedsitter (with a pool and lift) and pay you Lavington money for it? You will be struggling forever to keep those units filled. Are you in Kenya? Bedsitter in Kenya by definition is for those who cannot afford even a one bedroom apartment. So rents in these units are very low and renting them out is quick. Only shida is the headaches above. I think your idea of bedsitter is a studio apartment like in New York and not the bedsitter we all know about hapa Kiinya.
MugundaMan
#16 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2018 5:13:58 PM

Ryko wrote:

That is cruelty of the highest order. I cannot touch bedsitters unless they were given to me free.
muandiwambeu
#17 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2018 7:00:02 PM

Ryko wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
wukan wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
Kate_Mbarire wrote:

Kate_Mbarire,

Ni hayo maoni yangu tu

Not possible. Unless in a very idle plot with zero water supply. Ordinary Portland cement slarry can not aggregate in water. Anyway, as you move your personal effects I will be there to inspect my house. Or the caretaker has to. No renting in my house without a tenancy agreement and a signed house inspection report on acceptance and a presigned blank vacation inspection report. No cash payments. Bring the deposit slip na sio ya agent or mobile banking. Nikashindwa kukuvunja shingo before exiting, I will Sharon you otherwise tukutane industrial area kamwana. Nah.
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
MugundaMan
#18 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2018 7:31:43 PM

muandiwambeu wrote:

Not possible. Unless in a very idle plot with zero water supply. Ordinary Portland cement slarry can not aggregate in water. Anyway, as you move your personal effects I will be there to inspect my house. Or the caretaker has to. No renting in my house without a tenancy agreement and a signed house inspection report on acceptance and a presigned blank vacation inspection report. No cash payments. Bring the deposit slip na sio ya agent or mobile banking. Nikashindwa kukuvunja shingo before exiting, I will Sharon you otherwise tukutane industrial area kamwana. Nah.

Laughing out loudly I am not sure wukan would be able to take such measures on his tenants Laughing out loudly (Jokes tu wukan) This thread has made my day.
#19 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2018 9:16:18 PM

muandiwambeu wrote:
Ryko wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
wukan wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
Kate_Mbarire wrote:

Kate_Mbarire,

Ni hayo maoni yangu tu

These are scare tactics for prospective property owners, those who actually own real estate will tell you that bedsitters are good income earners.. Of course they will have higher tenancy turnover but overall it's not a bad investment as you would never have an empty unit unlike a three or four bedroom in Kitisuru

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Mike Ock
#20 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2018 10:17:01 PM

Then some good investments and a life of debauchery mpaka kifo. Ukweli usemwe.