#1801 Posted : Wednesday, September 12, 2018 7:13:19 PM

rwitre wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
Thitifini wrote:
pops wrote:
Why is the executive so silent on these key matters such as VAT on fuel and the debt situation? It's been over a week now.

They know we are screwed whichever lane we take.Sad

It will actually be worse if the fuel tax is reversed.. Wacha tupambane na hali

For once and after lengthy self introspect I agree with you Gentleman. I am also able to note that it would have been better to to impose that tax in a different category, let say petrol base rate since the Government would have an hand to moderate it appropriately to manage inflation, this taxable base item being a dominant inflationary factor,and also equitable and distributable.

Let me leave this here https://www.businessdail...55584-kwm550/index.html

By the way do we still have middle-income country status? Ama ata hiyo imeenda

Additional job losses inevitably on the way to add onto the over 20,000 who fell off the salaried income line last year https://www.businessdail...p/539546-4753784-mqdh0s/

COOP 70,000 ABP 15.20; HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#1802 Posted : Wednesday, September 12, 2018 7:49:35 PM

housing agenda lessons

https://en.radiofarda.co...its-unsold/29483891.html
Ericsson
#1803 Posted : Thursday, September 13, 2018 2:28:41 PM

UPDATE 1-Kenya says IMF stand-by deal over, will continue engaging with the fund

NAIROBI, Sept 13 (Reuters) - Kenya’s stand-by arrangement with the International Monetary Fund has expired, Finance Minister Henry Rotich said on Thursday but the country will continue to talk to the Fund.

Kenya had secured a six-month extension for its stand-by credit arrangement of $989.8 million from the International Monetary Fund in March, which was due to expire in mid-September.

“Yes, the program has ended,” Rotich told reporters, when asked about the IMF stand-by arrangement. “We will continue engaging the fund going forward,” he added.

The Finance Ministry’s Principal Secretary Kamau Thugge had said earlier on Thursday that not having an IMF precautionary arrangement would not hurt the economy.

Kenya had not drawn on the precautionary arrangement last year despite a drought, Thugge said.
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
muandiwambeu
#1804 Posted : Thursday, September 13, 2018 2:35:39 PM

[quote=newfarer]housing agenda lessons

https://en.radiofarda.co...ts-unsold/29483891.html[/quote]
And then this,,
https://www.reuters.com/...own-warns-idUSKCN1LT1LJ
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
muandiwambeu
#1805 Posted : Thursday, September 13, 2018 3:38:30 PM

Ericsson wrote:
UPDATE 1-Kenya says IMF stand-by deal over, will continue engaging with the fund

NAIROBI, Sept 13 (Reuters) - Kenya’s stand-by arrangement with the International Monetary Fund has expired, Finance Minister Henry Rotich said on Thursday but the country will continue to talk to the Fund.

Kenya had secured a six-month extension for its stand-by credit arrangement of $989.8 million from the International Monetary Fund in March, which was due to expire in mid-September.

“Yes, the program has ended,” Rotich told reporters, when asked about the IMF stand-by arrangement. “We will continue engaging the fund going forward,” he added.

The Finance Ministry’s Principal Secretary Kamau Thugge had said earlier on Thursday that not having an IMF precautionary arrangement would not hurt the economy.

Kenya had not drawn on the precautionary arrangement last year despite a drought, Thugge said.

And the market did too have a say, 27 counters into and majority slipping with significant margins into the red, 8 counters barely afloat into the green, and the rest MIA.
You could now as well, review your position accordingly.
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
Liv
#1806 Posted : Thursday, September 13, 2018 9:40:05 PM

Uhuru rejects the finance bill and sends it back to parliament. VAT on fuel to remain
#1807 Posted : Thursday, September 13, 2018 9:49:52 PM

Liv wrote:
Uhuru rejects the finance bill and sends it back to parliament. VAT on fuel to remain

There was never going to be another option

COOP 70,000 ABP 15.20; HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#1808 Posted : Thursday, September 13, 2018 9:54:59 PM

Liv wrote:

There was never going to be another option

Yep...
#1809 Posted : Thursday, September 13, 2018 10:02:24 PM

Ericsson wrote:
https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/business/article/2001295244/looming-economic-meltdown-should-kenya-miss-imf-facility

Kenyans might have to reconsider their opposition to the 16 per cent value-added tax (VAT) on petroleum products as the alternative might be a financial crisis whose effects will be more painful than those of the punitive tax measure being pushed by the IMF. For example, Financial Standard, has learnt that should the Government fall out with the IMF for failing to meet commitments it made to the lender, some of the bondholders of the $2 billion (Sh200 billion) Eurobond Note will be at liberty to immediately recall outstanding interests and principals, throwing the country into a tailspin.

The fuel tax must remain

Jubilee has destroyed what Kibaki put in place kabisa. very shameful. Yaani all economic news is negative stuff or this is deliberate.

In the law capping interest rate thread, we foretold the dilemma ahead caused by the two men. It's not yet even bad at this point. Let the big four agenda start utilizing cash ndio utajua hatujui.. Meanwhile people are buying goats worth 10m? Kukula nyama uki meza mate?

Agenda changed,president said his legacy now is fighting corruption.
Big 4 arap singh was to reap big through tenders and deals

Are you sure that the agenda changed. Did you listen to his speech in DC, and the one in China

Wait as you watch the unfolding events

Rejected! Watch what? The fuel tax was never going to be dropped. I speak to the president regularly

Horton
#1810 Posted : Thursday, September 13, 2018 10:18:39 PM

http://www.imf.org/exter...,ADVEC,WEOWORLD,KEN,AFQ

Looking at the excel on the imf website. Where’s the beef? Our loan:gdp has followed a similar path since 2002 with a few exceptions
#1811 Posted : Thursday, September 13, 2018 10:20:33 PM

Liv wrote:

blueman...link please
Horton
#1812 Posted : Thursday, September 13, 2018 10:44:27 PM

Liv wrote:

blueman...link please

Hmmmm so banks resume sub-50 levels?!
Ericsson
#1813 Posted : Friday, September 14, 2018 9:40:15 AM

https://ntv.nation.co.ke...58604-yhjd10/index.html

Mumias Sugar Company's workers go without pay for 12 months
Horton
#1814 Posted : Friday, September 14, 2018 2:20:11 PM

https://af.reuters.com/a...kenyaNews/idAFL5N1W01PS

IMFs view on standby facility and Kenya’s economy

“It should be stressed that Kenya’s external position remains strong and foreign exchange reserves are at a very comfortable level”
Ericsson
#1815 Posted : Saturday, September 15, 2018 8:51:40 AM

Horton wrote:
https://af.reuters.com/article/kenyaNews/idAFL5N1W01PS

“It should be stressed that Kenya’s external position remains strong and foreign exchange reserves are at a very comfortable level”

No money has been allocated to development since July.
Counties haven't received anything from central government.
Debts owed money by GOK are being auctioned left, right,center
#1816 Posted : Saturday, September 15, 2018 11:00:11 AM

Ericsson wrote:
Horton wrote:

IMF just that saying good things coz they know they have cornered Kenya. If we renegade on the things they want, they will shift goal post with crazy negative rating being churned out regularly. Very selfish institutions.
mnandii
#1817 Posted : Saturday, September 15, 2018 12:59:28 PM

Crude Oil should fall to under $50 soon. A move below $75 will be confirmation that the downtrend has started. Don't sweat the VAT tax.
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
#1818 Posted : Saturday, September 15, 2018 3:35:12 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Horton wrote:

IMF just that saying good things coz they know they have cornered Kenya. If we renegade on the things they want, they will shift goal post with crazy negative rating being churned out regularly. Very selfish institutions.

True...
Horton
#1819 Posted : Saturday, September 15, 2018 9:03:55 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Horton wrote:

Meh conspiracy theories 😆
limanika
#1820 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2018 8:50:34 PM

limanika wrote:
mikanjoroge wrote:
limanika wrote:
Why does govt make promises to IMF they know to realise same they would have to rely on parliament? Parliament which can decline?

Cause when you have thieves in government negotiating on our behalf and money is being dangled, they will agree to any conditions. Damn the consequences.

When you make promise you know you don't have 100% capacity to fulfill, that's what we call living a lie.

And who, when you haven't paid rent, takes the only cash at hand and goes on holiday? That's what we're doing ---spending 10's of billions tarmacking village cattle tracks just coz people are obsessed with tarmac, yet you will strain to count 10 vehicles down that road in a whole day, building electricity infrastructure in every nook and cranny just to light homes yet people could still survive with kerosene lamps if the pending debts were paid first..the list could go on

This, my fren, is the only way to steal...give the people infrastructure they dont need!

And, dont give them too much credit. You don't build bypass around chalbi desert just so you can steal. This is what they're doing