Culture
Making the Ugali Machine
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
Once I invited some visiting Chinese associates of mine home. And I informed them they were going to eat a special delicacy... My wife cooked ugali and I had someone to roast a mbuzi... Later they told me, they had never eaten anything so tasteless in this world than that white thing! I understood kumbe only ourselves know the value of our unique food - the ugali!
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
AlphDoti wrote:Once I invited some visiting Chinese associates of mine home. And I informed them they were going to eat a special delicacy... My wife cooked ugali and I had someone to roast a mbuzi... Later they told me, they had never eaten anything so tasteless in this world than that white thing! I understood kumbe only ourselves know the value of our unique food - the ugali!  That said it is extremely uncouth to talk negatively about your host's food.
hardwood wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Once I invited some visiting Chinese associates of mine home. And I informed them they were going to eat a special delicacy... My wife cooked ugali and I had someone to roast a mbuzi... Later they told me, they had never eaten anything so tasteless in this world than that white thing! I understood kumbe only ourselves know the value of our unique food - the ugali!  That said it is extremely uncouth to talk negatively about your host's food. However, I'd never join them for some chinese food.  
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
hardwood wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Once I invited some visiting Chinese associates of mine home. And I informed them they were going to eat a special delicacy... My wife cooked ugali and I had someone to roast a mbuzi... Later they told me, they had never eaten anything so tasteless in this world than that white thing! I understood kumbe only ourselves know the value of our unique food - the ugali!  That said it is extremely uncouth to talk negatively about your host's food. First, understand that English vocabulary to them is limited, so tasteless is direct translation which is another way saying "no flavour" etc. Secondly they are kinda honest in giving opinion. So we didn't take it personal. We laughed it off... and they struggled with nyamchom...
AlphDoti wrote:hardwood wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Once I invited some visiting Chinese associates of mine home. And I informed them they were going to eat a special delicacy... My wife cooked ugali and I had someone to roast a mbuzi... Later they told me, they had never eaten anything so tasteless in this world than that white thing! I understood kumbe only ourselves know the value of our unique food - the ugali!  That said it is extremely uncouth to talk negatively about your host's food. First, understand that English vocabulary to them is limited, so tasteless is direct translation which is another way saying "no flavour" etc. Secondly they are kinda honest in giving opinion. So we didn't take it personal. We laughed it off... and they struggled with nyamchom... Asian food has alot of spices so they may have expected some spices in the ugali. Personally i dont like spices coz they mask the flavour of the food.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,823 Location: Nairobi
hardwood wrote:hardwood wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Once I invited some visiting Chinese associates of mine home. And I informed them they were going to eat a special delicacy... My wife cooked ugali and I had someone to roast a mbuzi... Later they told me, they had never eaten anything so tasteless in this world than that white thing! I understood kumbe only ourselves know the value of our unique food - the ugali!  That said it is extremely uncouth to talk negatively about your host's food. However, I'd never join them for some chinese food.   I bet hiyo mbwa iko na flavour kushinda ugali! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
I bet hiyo mbwa iko na flavour kushinda ugali!
Compare like for like. Ugali, the starch bit of a meal, can only be compared to their rice or noodles. Anyway from your comments it seems when you go asian, there is no turning back...you go the whole hog ...or is it the whole serpent?
masukuma wrote:Ugali ... 0 creativity steps to cook ugali 1) boil water 2) pour flour into water 3) stir 4) wait 5) repeat 2, 3 and 4 until the house stinks Just about to enjoy my ugali dinner. Continue barking.....mimi niko sawa with ugali. 
Finally here is the machine.... Almost there
This is cool, number ten unga from a counter top kisiagi, get dry maize from ocha mill kidogo kidogo, I bet the price is prohibitive Muharata guys who make kisiagis should come-up with a cheaper kenyan version. To Each His Own
kayhara wrote:This is cool, number ten unga from a counter top kisiagi, get dry maize from ocha mill kidogo kidogo, I bet the price is prohibitive Muharata guys who make kisiagis should come-up with a cheaper kenyan version. $169.00 from Amazon "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
@hardwood will never go hungry when visiting Mexico  "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,823 Location: Nairobi
AlphDoti wrote:Once I invited some visiting Chinese associates of mine home. And I informed them they were going to eat a special delicacy... My wife cooked ugali and I had someone to roast a mbuzi... Later they told me, they had never eaten anything so tasteless in this world than that white thing! I understood kumbe only ourselves know the value of our unique food - the ugali! lol...it is pretty tasteless... All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!