Lolest! wrote:simonkabz wrote:Lolest! wrote:alma1 wrote:i once had a conversation with a few mzees about this kikuyu tradition things.
They told me about a lot of traditions that they decided to get rid of. Very many. As someone said, talk to an old mzee and you will understand what tikiteta means.
So I asked, nicely.
So you got rid of tradition a, and tradition b, and c and d.
So why keep this nonsense of paying parents money to eat for the so called right to marry.
They said, it's god's way. I asked them why this god of theirs only deals with such matters with a group of 10 million humans. But has not seen the need to ask for bloody goats for the rest of the 5 billion.
Wah!
I was told things like, if you don't do it. You'll be cursed.
By whom I asked. After all, that same god of yours told you to circumscise your women and I see none of you cursed. Even worse, your men are taken to Aga Khan instead of the river. Why haven't I seen you drop down dead?
Boss, nilitukanwa. About the need of following "our" traditions. I had to remind them again that they had just told me that there are traditions they don't follow.
Paying for a woman is simple slavery. And a way for parents to make money off their children. It is not a tradition. Just a money milking scheme. It is that simple and clear. That is why parents conveniently decide to ignore all other traditions but keep this one. Because that's how they make their money. For the first time in a long time I agree with what you've said and how you've said it! Especially the rationale. It's just a way of making money, period!! You read Jomo Kenyatta's Facing Mount Kenya(written in 1938 when people were still by and large following traditions) and you'll see how far people who claim to keep their traditions have wandered from them. Among the Agikuyu, there was female circumcision, adultery(where you allowed people of your age-group to copulate with your wife when visiting),prayer and sacrifice to ancestors, divination through medicinemen and use of potions to gain love(Jomo says he used it once and it worked!), raiding for cattle and women esp against Maasai, non-penetrative intercourse was also allowed for young men and women after initiation I see people claiming how true to traditions they are because they have been admitted into men's council and wonder what they mean. Heck, even their kids can't speak a word in their mother tongue and they are proud of it! You two want us to blindly follow PCEA and its gods, and discard our cultures coz of this and that contradiction. First tell us the corruption and power struggles in that PCEA. Allow me to be Alma this time. You two have no moral authority whatsoever. You are essentially very intolerant hypocrites, sth very close to that woman Guru. Wewe ukiboeka unakuwanga na maneno!! No, do not follow PCEA, follow pure Gikuyu culture. Go full throttle, pick everything from food, clothing, rites of passage, construction, gender relations, medicine,beer... Even the most diehard traditionalist knows he has veered off in many aspects because they are impractical. Hypocrisy is lecturing us on strict adherence to tradition while you know you don't subscribe to the same fully. You got that right. I'm not a fundamentalist, I don't fully adhere to any particular belief. Who told you that you must? Kwani wewe ni Al Shabaab? I follow what sounds right, rational, moral and fun. Anything else I put aside, ignore and leave those who are interested to enjoy their faith or whatever you people call it. You wont find me attacking GROUPS or communities for religious or cultural practices and beliefs, its not my business if you worship a mountain or an airport. With your STRICT adherence to PCEAism, why are you here, in a website full of crazies? Maybe the intolerance is only in your head. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!