wazua Mon, Dec 23, 2024

Homeownership Journey. Smart man.
#21 Posted : Wednesday, September 12, 2018 2:33:02 PM

MugundaMan wrote:

Kenyans are funny. They buy 1m plots in the middle of nowhere without power, sewer, roads, security, fibre, basic facilities and building regulations. They then build a 20m mansion on the plot. Si afadhali people buy a 4m plot in a controlled development like Migaa then build a 16m house?

Some Kenyans are even funnier. Why are they so worried daily that other Kenyans have chosen dustbowl and do not want to be their neighbours at Migaa? Si they start a Migaa thread where the wonders, beauties and financial brilliance of investing there can be extolled day and nite? :)

Both projects cost the same, plus it's not easy to rent out a 5 Br mammoth of a house in the middle of nowhere when owner is not in occupancy.
MugundaMan
#22 Posted : Wednesday, September 12, 2018 2:35:01 PM

MugundaMan wrote:

You guys are just dummies.

You pay taxes,no?

What are they supposed to do? Take the Mpigs gashungwa to itarey?

I mean no wonder you are used and abused all the time. If you paid for taxes, then raise the funds and remove the fool who should be building the brary road.

What are you going to build next time? Probably fund the salaries for your cops. Why not just build public toilets. I mean, the kenyan voter can't be that dumb? ooopps IT is.

Yes indeed we are dummies. Does it pain you that we are dummies? Let dummies be while your tax shillings develop that neighbourhood where you are as we speak (by the way is there anywhere in Kenya, even in Runda and Muthaiga where our tax shillings have been put to perfect use? If you choose to wait for the day that will happen then we are happy for you. Sisi twasonga mbele in our own small ways upende usipende, serikali or no serikali. I love this concept though. Gives the property owners a sense of ownership in their own neighbourhoods. Someone who has a stake in something is less likely to damage it and will glady help in maintaining it. That's how the concept of gated communities came about. If you wait for serikali to come build your toilet and your road inside your gated community you might wait 300 years baba. Run for president and change this for us otherwise it is a waste of time telling us what we already know :)

I don't know which school you went to but 320 landlords in Kitengela is not a "gated community". That's the beginning of uncontrolled developments aka slums.

So the next 150 landlords start building theirs and soon enough the gov't does nothing but preaches how you should all own your community and build your own roads.

I mean come on.

Those landlords are silly. They've been had, been took and bamboozled. So where are they going to dump their shit, for a lack of a better word. At the county waste disposal unit? Who's going to pay for it? the county? Who's going to manage it? they county.

My fren this is a very slippery slope. If you want good housing follow sparkly's advise and stop buying buroti maguta maguta. If you want to be a slum lord, there's a thread on wazua on the exact process. You can't be both.

If these slumlords really see a need for building shit holes, then they should organize themselves and start voting in like minded individuals.

It would be cheaper. I can guarantee that.

Ara.

Please tell us where you live and what the government and county have done for you and then we can talk. Why are you worried about "slumlords being had" anyway? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
MugundaMan
#23 Posted : Wednesday, September 12, 2018 2:36:31 PM

MugundaMan wrote:

Kenyans are funny. They buy 1m plots in the middle of nowhere without power, sewer, roads, security, fibre, basic facilities and building regulations. They then build a 20m mansion on the plot. Si afadhali people buy a 4m plot in a controlled development like Migaa then build a 16m house?

Some Kenyans are even funnier. Why are they so worried daily that other Kenyans have chosen dustbowl and do not want to be their neighbours at Migaa? Si they start a Migaa thread where the wonders, beauties and financial brilliance of investing there can be extolled day and nite? :)

Both projects cost the same, plus it's not easy to rent out a 5 Br mammoth of a house in the middle of nowhere when owner is not in occupancy.

How sure are you of this Laughing out loudly . Does it even make mathematical sense to you given location and cost price for both vs market value?
MugundaMan
#24 Posted : Wednesday, September 12, 2018 2:38:50 PM

jamplu wrote:

A sense of ownership... Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Of course! What would you define a stakeholder or a shareholder as? I see people harping about stocks here day in day out. Don't they have a sense of ownership of the firms they own as a consequence of their investment. This not rocket science my braddah smile
#25 Posted : Wednesday, September 12, 2018 2:42:00 PM

MugundaMan wrote:

Please tell us where you live and what the government and county have done for you and then we can talk. Why are you worried about "slumlords being had" anyway? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Bwana Mugunda

please note that on wazua we have had very many many many "property experts". Including some who sell greenhouses without roofs.

You can't sound sweet and logical when the very premise of your argument is total hogwash.

Building a house in deep bushes of outer Kitengela is not and shall not in the near future become a worthy investment. I was once there. I had to carry a mop for my face for all the dust. So that ain't washing on me soon. Washa nikae kwa haka ka slum kangu.

Come srowry with us tafadhali. A dust bowl is a dust bowl. Unless the people in the dustbowl decide to actually make a difference in their lives. That is not happening if all I have is an 50x100 costing me 1 million birrion in Kitengela.

Washa nilipe rent

And my fren don't peddle the property prices don't fall crap. Even in that Kitengela I know of many property firms that could not sell their tubrotis that have now moved on to selling you the land "without interest". Can I send you to one?

MugundaMan
#26 Posted : Wednesday, September 12, 2018 2:44:50 PM

MugundaMan wrote:

Bwana Mugunda

please note that on wazua we have had very many many many "property experts". Including some who sell greenhouses without roofs.

You can't sound sweet and logical when the very premise of your argument is total hogwash.

Building a house in deep bushes of outer Kitengela is not and shall not in the near future become a worthy investment. I was once there. I had to carry a mop for my face for all the dust. So that ain't washing on me soon. Washa nikae kwa haka ka slum kangu.

Come srowry with us tafadhali. A dust bowl is a dust bowl. Unless the people in the dustbowl decide to actually make a difference in their lives. That is not happening if all I have is an 50x100 costing me 1 million birrion in Kitengela.

Washa nilipe rent

And my fren don't peddle the property prices don't fall crap. Even in that Kitengela I know of many property firms that could not sell their tubrotis that have now moved on to selling you the land "without interest". Can I send you to one?

#27 Posted : Wednesday, September 12, 2018 2:50:36 PM

MugundaMan wrote:

Bwana Mugunda

Washa nilipe rent

Washa kucheka..Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly you are making me feel bad.

I just can't imagine how someone who's a Mugunda man can compare a Kitengela bush plot with Migaa or Kiambu estates.

Lakini, kila mtu na sumu yake. Wewe uza Kitengela. Washa sisi tukae gishagi.

MugundaMan
#28 Posted : Wednesday, September 12, 2018 2:58:54 PM

Washa kucheka..Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly you are making me feel bad.

I just can't imagine how someone who's a Mugunda man can compare a Kitengela bush plot with Migaa or Kiambu estates.

Lakini, kila mtu na sumu yake. Wewe uza Kitengela. Washa sisi tukae gishagi.

Amen! smile
jamplu
#29 Posted : Wednesday, September 12, 2018 3:02:42 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
jamplu wrote:

A sense of ownership... Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Of course! What would you define a stakeholder or a shareholder as? I see people harping about stocks here day in day out. Don't they have a sense of ownership of the firms they own as a consequence of their investment. This not rocket science my braddah smile

Knock yourself out bro... i think you have enough money to waste mpaka unasaidia serikali!!!Applause Applause Applause Applause

Ryko
#30 Posted : Wednesday, September 12, 2018 3:52:50 PM

kayhara wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
wukan wrote:
Dustbowl residents are becoming Nairobians pay taxes for services and they pay some more to provide them privately

Kitengela residents have opted to raise own funds for construction of a Sh39 million sewer line after years of unfulfilled promises by county and national governments that has left them exposed to infectious diseases.

The residents, comprising at least 279 landlords with property in the Export Processing Zone Authority (EPZ) area, are the sole financiers of the project that seeks to improve hygiene and sanitation in the area. The EPZ neighbourhood has been picked to pilot the project that promoters hope to extend to the wider Kitengela township.

The sewer line that seeks to cover 45 kilometres and join the EPZA Athi River Sewerage system in neighbouring Machakos County will benefit at least 300 rental flats and 100 homes with a population of more than 20,000 is set to be operational in six months.
https://www.businessdail...55480-o6eqo4/index.html

Awesome development! We should do the same with feeder roads in the estates as well!

I like this, we recently collected funds along our access road had it graded, murrum and compacted plus a decent drain done, plus had all the street lights repaired,all for 150k which was only about 2,500 per person
sometimes we need to do it ourselves since if we wait for our taxes to trickle down we shall continue to live
in degrading environments.

You guys are just dummies.

You pay taxes,no?

What are they supposed to do? Take the Mpigs gashungwa to itarey?

I mean no wonder you are used and abused all the time. If you paid for taxes, then raise the funds and remove the fool who should be building the brary road.

What are you going to build next time? Probably fund the salaries for your cops. Why not just build public toilets. I mean, the kenyan voter can't be that dumb? ooopps IT is.

@Mugundaman kindly take time also analyse several factors, to my knowledge I still believe its waaay better to build your home on a plot in controlled estates i.e. Kiambu as @sparkly has put it than in dusty Kitengela.

Infact the worst thing is it costs the same amount. You will be amazed by the quality of life of some places. Wewe vuta tu Vuuuumbiii as unazeeka. Dustbowl Issa fat lie!!
I work so I can afford the amount of alcohol required to continue going to work
MugundaMan
#31 Posted : Wednesday, September 12, 2018 4:24:56 PM

Ryko wrote:

@Mugundaman kindly take time also analyse several factors, to my knowledge I still believe its waaay better to build your home on a plot in controlled estates i.e. Kiambu as @sparkly has put it than in dusty Kitengela.

Infact the worst thing is it costs the same amount. You will be amazed by the quality of life of some places. Wewe vuta tu Vuuuumbiii as unazeeka. Dustbowl Issa fat lie!!

he he he he AGAIN I ask, why are you worried about what wakina Mugundaman are doing even if it appears to be a "terrible decision" in your eyes? There are very nice controlled estates in dustbowl as well. Plus SGR corridor which will determine the future of Kenya for the next 150 years. Plus a way bigger upside that I will not get into for want of revealing trade secrets. It also costs the same amount to build in Runda as well but I do not see you using the same logic to tell us to all run to Runda and flee from Kiambu County! And this is not to say Kiambu County is a bad place to invest. Now if you guys are crying about kina Mugundaman in dustbowl, what will you say about their investments headed towards Lodwar, Isiolo and Marsabit where PURE DUST isLaughing out loudly ? For the umpteenth time kila mtu na sumu yake. There are risktakers and there are conservatives in investments..and never the twain shall meet. Live and let live.
#32 Posted : Wednesday, September 12, 2018 8:14:23 PM

Soon kitengela will be full as people continue to debate whether to buy in the dustbowl or not. Lucky are the ones who made the move earlier and got 1 acre, 1/2 and 1/4 acres kama hawa.

Even these ones on their 50x100 tuplotis are not late....

#33 Posted : Wednesday, September 12, 2018 8:52:15 PM

The good news is that there is still alot of tuplotis available in kitengela unlike in other areas neighbouring nairobi... So the time to take position (buy) in the dustbowl is now.

MugundaMan
#34 Posted : Wednesday, September 12, 2018 9:22:51 PM

Good stuff hardwood. he he he he let sleeping dogs lie. Remember most of Nairobi CBD was once a flea and fly infested swampland that (was it Delamere?) had to drain. Some Kaburus saw it and said their brethren were crazy for wanting to settle in such a useless waterbowl. They fled to Uganda thinking it was a paradise. The rest is history. Nairobi has no peer north of the Limpopo.
#35 Posted : Wednesday, September 12, 2018 9:27:49 PM

Also with the kind of gated communities and developments coming up in kitengela, the dustbowl is the place to be. Much better than syokimau, rongai etc.

#36 Posted : Wednesday, September 12, 2018 9:33:27 PM

Nice apartments also coming up in the dustbowl....

MugundaMan
#37 Posted : Thursday, September 13, 2018 8:32:42 AM

kayhara wrote:

I like this, we recently collected funds along our access road had it graded, murrum and compacted plus a decent drain done, plus had all the street lights repaired,all for 150k which was only about 2,500 per person
sometimes we need to do it ourselves since if we wait for our taxes to trickle down we shall continue to live
in degrading environments.

Very true bro. Plus this increases everybody's property value so it is a win win for everybody including the government which is clearly overstretched in terms of having funds to pave every road in the country.
MugundaMan
#38 Posted : Friday, September 14, 2018 10:51:18 AM

Fanisi Capital pumps 400m into dustbowl

https://www.businessdail...8416-14xmqaw/index.html

Funny how some say dust is the only mainstay of our beloved dustbowl. These companies do not just pump money ovyo ovyo without research. They know where the middle and upper middle classes are fanning into as they leave Nairobi core.
wukan
#39 Posted : Friday, September 14, 2018 2:45:38 PM

MugundaMan wrote:

Funny how some say dust is the only mainstay of our beloved dustbowl. These companies do not just pump money ovyo ovyo without research. They know where the middle and upper middle classes are fanning into as they leave Nairobi core.

You left the urban core like Ngara for low income earners, students, hawkers, street urchins and whores.

In the 80s, Ngara was a middle-class estate. It was clean, there was ample playgrounds and parking spaces and the sewerage system was working.

Ngara is now less appealing even to investors, as hundreds of hawkers crowd the streets, and kiosks and makeshift garages mushroom on access roads.

The estate has deteriorated as others located near the central business district such as Upper Hill, Parklands and Westlands sprout with skyscrapers. Property prices also have stagnated and a number of buildings are vacant.
https://www.businessdail...59216-k98ea2/index.html
MugundaMan
#40 Posted : Friday, September 14, 2018 5:01:08 PM

wukan wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

You left the urban core like Ngara for low income earners, students, hawkers, street urchins and whores.

In the 80s, Ngara was a middle-class estate. It was clean, there was ample playgrounds and parking spaces and the sewerage system was working.

Ngara is now less appealing even to investors, as hundreds of hawkers crowd the streets, and kiosks and makeshift garages mushroom on access roads.

The estate has deteriorated as others located near the central business district such as Upper Hill, Parklands and Westlands sprout with skyscrapers. Property prices also have stagnated and a number of buildings are vacant.
https://www.businessdail...59216-k98ea2/index.html

The article says a 3 br house goes for as low as 15m in Ngara? No way that can be true. That would be a great bargain worth the long term risk!