MugundaMan wrote:Swenani wrote:MugundaMan wrote:I think you are asking the wrong question You should not be seeking to be rich but to be financially independent, which is not something one puts an amount or target on. Besides, beyond a certain point, more money does not afford you a better lifestyle. Just bigger toys. And you can only sit your backside in one toy (house, car, plane etc) at a time. So the financially independent guy who is able to have a comfortable life for him and his family is no different from the uber-wealthy Greek billionaire if they are able to travel to the same places, eat at the same restaurants and breathe the same dust in any city they live in. And if you are looking for money to bring you happiness or lasting joy in life you will be sorely disappointed.
Ni hayo maoni yangu tu money doesn't bring joy but it can buy you things which bring joy and happiness Swenani, I don't want to get too philosophical on you (especially of the Tycho variety  ) but study after study has shown that money and material things never bring lasting happiness. Ask Socrates, Plato and the rest. Even in Economics, there is a marginal utility aspect that can be applied to money. Think of buying a brand new Range Rover. Exciting on day one. You drive it home and can't wait to drive it kesho. Then it is all downhill from there. In 1 years time you are complaining about how much it costs to run. In 5 years time you want to dispose it and buy a newer one. Your initial thrill you had on day one for it is long forgotten. Pesa ni kitu bure my friend. The only people that money was found to make happy are those in dangerous situations eg in the slums where crime disease and extreme hunger may be rife. Getting them out of that terrible environment into safety and relative comfort was measured to bring a sort of happiness that lasted longer than normal. But when they adjusted to their new circumstances after a couple of years they became like the rest of us; bored with their toys and wanting more every day; chasing the wind to the grave. @shamba man-Which one do you prefer? Money brings joy regardless of your status. If you were driving a merc and upgrade to a RR, you will adjust to the RR in 1-2 yrs.If you have no money to upgrade, you'll definitely be depressed. But if you 've the cash you will find joy in a lamborghin etc If Obiero did it, Who Am I?