wazua Tue, Jul 22, 2025

Xi Jinping
#21 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 12:22:13 PM

Meanwhile the British Prime Minister, leader of our former colonial master was here juzi and pledged a laughable Ksh 903m (less than USD 1B). How things have changed. We dont even know what Trump promised other than mumbling something about security and a new mombasa road which will infact be a toll road where you pay as you use.

Meanwhile we see chinese daily on the ground working on our roads, rails, power plants, dams, water pipelines, sewerage systems, constructing hospitals, apartments, hotels, high rise buildings etc etc. Kenya benefits greatly.

Soon the chinese will also be working hard in YOUR bedroom...chunga! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#22 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 1:31:58 PM

Meanwhile the British Prime Minister, leader of our former colonial master was here juzi and pledged a laughable Ksh 903m (less than USD 1B). How things have changed. We dont even know what Trump promised other than mumbling something about security and a new mombasa road which will infact be a toll road where you pay as you use.

Meanwhile we see chinese daily on the ground working on our roads, rails, power plants, dams, water pipelines, sewerage systems, constructing hospitals, apartments, hotels, high rise buildings etc etc. Kenya benefits greatly.

Soon the chinese will also be working hard in YOUR bedroom...chunga! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Most of the funds given by the west UK, US, EU etc go to amorphous things like strengthening governance, reforms, elections, security, conservation etc. The money ends up with maina kiai and the civil society that is why size-wise they all look like over-inflated balloons ready to burst. Some of the cash ends up in the pockets of expatriates/consultants in big 4x4s who all live in gigiri or runda. Some cash ends up with laikipia wazungus to conserve rhinos and other wildlife. Still some cash ends up abroad after their companies supply expensive weapons, vehicles, ballot papers, obsolete IEBC kits etc.

What wanjiku needs is a sewer line, piped water, electricity, roads, housing etc which the chinese are doing very well.

NB in our trade agreements with the UK we are required to sell them unprocessed coffee which they will process, blend and sell back to us at unaffordable prices. Meanwhile the chinese happily accept our processed macadamia (shelled) and other nuts making farmers more money.
#23 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 2:23:44 PM

See who is speaking. At least the new colonizer isnt stealing our land, putting us in detention camps and forcing us to provide slave labour. The west as expected is very jealous.

This is what the Telegraph newspaper in the UK wrote.

https://www.telegraph.co...-fears-new-colonialism/

China raises fears of 'new colonialism' with $60 billion investment across Africa

#24 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 2:34:12 PM

Mzungu would want Africa to remain a dark continent where he would come on safari and re-live the colonial dream in an unspoiled (undeveloped) African bush. Interestingly when mzungu was building Africa during colonialism it was all about him coz he thought this was the new australia or canada where he would settle forever attended to by hordes of African servants.

Mzungu is like a jealous ex who doesn't want the divorced partner (who he had tormented and enslaved) to move on and find happiness elsewhere.
#25 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 3:12:21 PM

KENYANS TELL UHURU TO BORROW LOANS FROM DP RUTO, NOT CHINA

https://nairobinews.nati...-from-dp-ruto-not-china/
#26 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 3:22:28 PM

[quote=hardwood]Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

KENYANS TELL UHURU TO BORROW LOANS FROM DP RUTO, NOT CHINA

https://nairobinews.nati...from-dp-ruto-not-china/[/quote]

They are right!!

Wakanyugi
#27 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 3:42:50 PM

Most of the funds given by the west UK, US, EU etc go to amorphous things like strengthening governance, reforms, elections, security, conservation etc. The money ends up with maina kiai and the civil society that is why size-wise they all look like over-inflated balloons ready to burst. Some of the cash ends up in the pockets of expatriates/consultants in big 4x4s who all live in gigiri or runda. Some cash ends up with laikipia wazungus to conserve rhinos and other wildlife. Still some cash ends up abroad after their companies supply expensive weapons, vehicles, ballot papers, obsolete IEBC kits etc.

What wanjiku needs is a sewer line, piped water, electricity, roads, housing etc which the chinese are doing very well.

Hii ni ukweli mtupu.

I have worked in this sector for over two decades and I gave up long ago trying to convince these, so called donors, that their mantra to wit: "we don't fund hard ware" was not only self defeating, but would make them eventually irrelevant. Well, it seems to have happened, and about time too.

If the strident anti China diatribes that are increasingly appearing on Western, media are anything to go by, mostly warning Africa against taking Chinese money, these condescending colonial masters might just be starting to get the message. Wanjiku does not eat platitudes, no matter how well they are dressed.

In fact yesterday in a long CNN article attempting to throw mud on Ethiopias decision to build their infrastructure with Chinese support, there was an acknowledgment that neither the World BanK, nor IMF would have funded the kind of infrastructure projects that China is doing.

And it was not for lack of asking. For instance, if we had gone to China instead of the World Bank to fiance the Airport to Rironi elevated highway, the project would have been completed by now. Instead we have inherited perpetual traffic gridlock as Thika Highway pours thousands of vehicles into a congested city.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#28 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 4:06:47 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:

Hii ni ukweli mtupu.

I have worked in this sector for over two decades and I gave up long ago trying to convince these, so called donors, that their mantra to wit: "we don't fund hard ware" was not only self defeating, but would make them eventually irrelevant. Well, it seems to have happened, and about time too.

If the strident anti China diatribes that are increasingly appearing on Western, media are anything to go by, mostly warning Africa against taking Chinese money, these condescending colonial masters might just be starting to get the message. Wanjiku does not eat platitudes, no matter how well they are dressed.

In fact yesterday in a long CNN article attempting to throw mud on Ethiopias decision to build their infrastructure with Chinese support, there was an acknowledgment that neither the World BanK, nor IMF would have funded the kind of infrastructure projects that China is doing.

And it was not for lack of asking. For instance, if we had gone to China instead of the World Bank to fiance the Airport to Rironi elevated highway, the project would have been completed by now. Instead we have inherited perpetual traffic gridlock as Thika Highway pours thousands of vehicles into a congested city.

So if they are not ready to fund infrastructure wanataka tufanye nini? They want us to remain without roads, power, water etc? It's like Equity bank telling you "we wont fund construction of your flat coz we only fund education" and then they tell you not to take cash from Coop bank which is willing to fund the project.
#29 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 4:50:34 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:

Hii ni ukweli mtupu.

Truer words have not been spoken. I fully agree with both of you and this has been my stand for many years. The west has always been out of step with the real needs of needy people. Maybe they want the poor to remain poor and underdeveloped.

Illustration: The UN, donors and other NGOs spend upwards of USD 2b (I cannot recall the exact figure) in South Sudan to supply food, blankets, condoms, shelter, tissue paper, toilets and some security. What does this mean? South Sudanese in the urbanized areas mostly eat, shit, f*** then sleep, no work at all.........repeat this every day for several decades and tell me what happens to the economy. It is totally wrecked. Very few people engage in farming. Why farm yet free food is available , in plenty, everywhere?

This in turn means the biggest resources, land and water, are underutilized and therefore nearly not beneficial. People dont work, they sit in small groups under trees gossiping about Kiir this, Machar that, all day, and spreading any hot rumour. USD 2b going to nonsense, while the country has only 200km of paved highway. A slice of all that money every year, even as little as USD 200m (KSh20b) can do 400km of roads annually. Roads are the very foundation of development and real growth.

Mzungu will:
1. Fund what makes you lazy or not work at all.
2. Fund 'amorphous' projects, oh sijui good governance, oh census, oh corruption, oh birth control........all these are largely nonsense to me.

He is slowly waking from his slumber though. Competition is a great thing.
#30 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 5:24:16 PM

I hope that Kenya too borrows some of the ideological features of China.

The big danger is that our party and cultural structures are averse to ideology.

This in the end, may nullify all the pros for looking East and magnify the cons that the West may have tried to minimize.

It may thus be difficult for us to say that China is better than the West at the moment.
Wakanyugi
#31 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 5:43:32 PM

I hope that Kenya too borrows some of the ideological features of China.

The big danger is that our party and cultural structures are averse to ideology.

This in the end, may nullify all the pros for looking East and magnify the cons that the West may have tried to minimize.

It may thus be difficult for us to say that China is better than the West at the moment.

Tycho, I don't think it is a question of better or worse but rather of realpolitik. China is looking out for its interests, just like the West has always done. So should we.

Moi was right, "Muafrika hapendwi na Wazungu, wala anatumiwa."

We should politely listen to all these foreigners when they spout their, often hollow homilies, but when their interests do not align with ours, we should equally politely, invite them to go jump in the lake. Sorry but this is the World we live in.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
Ericsson
#32 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 6:11:05 PM

Africa is a critical partner for china to become a developed partner.
Their economic growth is slowing down due to trade issues with Europe and America so alternative is us Africa
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#33 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2018 5:05:10 AM

Ericsson wrote:
Africa is a critical partner for china to become a developed partner.
Their economic growth is slowing down due to trade issues with Europe and America so alternative is us Africa

Laughs and slaps the knee!!!
Funnier words have never been written. I personally look at these two as Tycho does - Yin & Yang. it's one thing to fund "real" things! Infrastructure e.t.c. then we end up being waarabu... people with stuff but poor state institutions. Ever heard the statement "If you not careful, your talent will take you places that your character can't keep you"? The character of a nation is not based on "stuff" but on accepting, aligning and acting consistently on the "fiction" that is rule of law, good governance, human rights e.t.c.
And as someone has said... let's not kid around both China and the West are not "our friends"... Uganda is our friend. These two groups want to use us... let's make sure that we get the most out of this being "used"! let's engage where our interests align... you have an interest in living in a country with rule of law, good governance and that enforces human rights! you may not think they are important now but you will as soon as you land on the hands of the state or the state lands it's hands on you.
#34 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2018 5:58:28 PM

#35 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2018 7:26:54 PM

Nkt! What is he talking about and the South African economy is in recession.

Even us, we're not that far behind.

#36 Posted : Friday, September 07, 2018 11:55:05 AM

#37 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 9:34:28 PM

Why are zambians opposing the recruitment of chinese as police officers in zambia while africans are happy to be recruited as police officers in europe and other foreign lands? Why the double standards? Why are africans so racist? What if the british or germans rejected the recruitment of blacks into their police force?

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-42413330

BBC wrote:
Zambia's police force has scrapped plans to employ eight Chinese nationals barely 24 hours after it unveiled the scheme, following a public outcry.

Dickson Jere, a lawyer and former presidential spokesman, said the constitution was clear on the matter.

He told the BBC's Focus on Africa radio programme that the entire incident was an "insult" - to others in the police, but also other Zambians.

"When we see a uniform of the police, it signifies our identity. It signifies our sovereignty," Mr Jere said. "How would we be feeling to see a police officer and be saluting a Chinese [national] in our own country?"

However police spokeswoman Esther Mwata-Katongo defended the move to recruit the Chinese as police officers.

"We had Indians who were police reserves and people were OK with it. Why should the Chinese be discriminated on race?" the Lusaka Times quoted her as saying.

Africans are happily serving as police officers in Europe and elsewhere. What if the europeans also said that it is an insult to salute a black police officer?

#38 Posted : Saturday, September 15, 2018 11:49:18 AM

smile smile smile

#39 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2018 9:42:33 AM

Why are zambian's complaining that their newspaper is publishing in chinese? They want it in english not chinese. So one foreign language (power) is better than the other? Why not insist that the paper publishes in their local language and not foreign ones?

https://www.the-star.co....es-in-mandarin_c1828786

#40 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2018 9:57:32 AM

Why are zambian's complaining that their newspaper is publishing in chinese? They want it in english not chinese. So one foreign language (power) is better than the other? Why not insist that the paper publishes in their local language and not foreign ones?

https://www.the-star.co....es-in-mandarin_c1828786

English is a domesticated foreign language. It is the OFFICIAL language in many African countries and Africans understand it and I'm using it to communicate to you!

CHinese should not be used in projects in Africa like we see in Ngong because we haven't domesticated it! Not unless the Chinese give us discounts on loan interest to have their language in signboards for projects funded by them but paid by our taxes