wazua Wed, Jul 23, 2025

Xi Jinping
#1 Posted : Monday, September 03, 2018 9:44:10 PM

I don't know why people think that Trump and Putin are the most powerful men in the world.

#2 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 1:52:43 AM

It's no joke summoning 53 presidents to your office. He must be the most powerful leader ever. Though the good news is that the Africans left the chinaman's palace USD 60B richer.

#3 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 5:45:24 AM

It's no joke summoning 53 presidents to your office. He must be the most powerful leader ever. Though the good news is that the Africans left the chinaman's palace USD 60B richer.

Also remember, they are the biggest lenders to the US and Russia.

#4 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 5:56:40 AM

Richer or poorer smile
#5 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 8:17:16 AM

Let them try and take one US or Russian asset like they do to us third world idiots....we see who are the real men LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL
#6 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 8:20:19 AM

Richer or poorer smile

This is why China rules Africa, because we think loans make us richer!

#7 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 9:06:02 AM

Let them try and take one US or Russian asset like they do to us third world idiots....we see who are the real men LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL

They can do more damage to the US by discrediting them instead of trying to take the assets. They already have Russia where they want them. China wants to dominate the world, not repayment of debt.

#8 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 10:05:00 AM

Richer or poorer smile

When someone advances you cash without conditions and at very low interest rates, then you are certainly in a better situation. The alternative for africa would have to go to the world bank or IMF and kneel to plead for the cash which would have come with very tough conditions and msomo.

Just like if a friend advances you a 60m soft loan to put up a flat, you are better of than going the bank for the same cash, and you'd be worse off if you fear borrowing from either your friend or the bank, ie if you do nothing. Of course you will be indebted to your friend for some time but will be richer in the long run. Loans make us richer coz they enable us undertake projects that we'd never do even if we saved all our lives.
#9 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 10:15:07 AM

Richer or poorer smile

When someone advances you cash without conditions and at very low interest rates, then you are certainly in a better situation. The alternative for africa would have to go to the world bank or IMF and kneel to plead for the cash which would have come with very tough conditions and msomo.

Just like if a friend advances you a 60m soft loan to put up a flat, you are better of than going the bank for the same cash, and you'd be worse off if you fear borrowing from either your friend or the bank, ie if you do nothing. Of course you will be indebted to your friend for some time but will be richer in the long run. Loans make us richer coz they enable us undertake projects that we'd never do even if we saved all our lives.

Never. Loans don't make us richer. We're borrowing money to pay salaries!! and do projects we can do without. Even you as an individual, when things are thick or you lose your job, the first thing is you downgrade, move to a cheaper house, sell the SUV and start walking or using mats.
Africa needs to find ways of increasing trade and adding value to raw materials also need to start manufacturing the cheap goods and toys we get from China etc... Kenya doesn't even take the initiative to get people earning good money in the informal sector into the tax net. Beaten down matatus make a minimum of 4k a day.

#10 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 10:15:08 AM

Also do you know that china is training hundreds of kenyan students annually at post graduate level in chinese universities? This is akin to the famous US airlift of the 1960s. The USD 60B chinese finance covers not just infrastructure but also other sectors like education.

FYI even the private sector has looked east and firms such as safaricom run on chinese hardware (huawei). So at safcom, our money as shareholders and customers is going to china to service our loans.
#11 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 10:30:19 AM

Richer or poorer smile

Never. Loans don't make us richer. We're borrowing money to pay salaries!! and do projects we can do without. Even you as an individual, when things are thick or you lose your job, the first thing is you downgrade, move to a cheaper house, sell the SUV and start walking or using mats.
Africa needs to find ways of increasing trade and adding value to raw materials also need to start manufacturing the cheap goods and toys we get from China etc... Kenya doesn't even take the initiative to get people earning good money in the informal sector into the tax net. Beaten down matatus make a minimum of 4k a day.

You are the same people enjoying the good roads throughout the country courtesy of the chinese funding and expertise. Same for rail. Airports. Geothermal projects. Dams all over. Water and sewer projects all over including the muranga tunnels. Hundreds of chinese scholarships each year. Housing huko mlolongo, westlands and elsewhere. The new KU hospital etc.

On the other side our macadamia farmers are smiling all the way to the bank thanks to the booming chinese market. Same for tobacco farmers, hides and skin pastoralists, donkey farmers etc etc. The affordable chinese water pumps, generators, dairy, poultry equipment etc have transformed rural agriculture. Have I mentioned that the millions of affordable chinese boda bodas have created employment mpaka mashinani and solved transport problems even in remotest of areas?
#12 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 10:32:43 AM

Also do you know that china is training hundreds of kenyan students annually at post graduate level in chinese universities? This is akin to the famous US airlift of the 1960s. The USD 60B chinese finance covers not just infrastructure but also other sectors like education.

FYI even the private sector has looked east and firms such as safaricom run on chinese hardware (huawei). So at safcom, our money as shareholders and customers is going to china to service our loans.

Like really? To service GoK loans, how?
Ericsson
#13 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 10:33:52 AM

The courses they are training Africans aren't of any significant benefit
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#14 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 10:37:39 AM

Like really? To service GoK loans, how?

Safcom loans. Am talking as a safcom shareholder.
#15 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 10:40:11 AM

Ericsson wrote:

The courses they are training Africans aren't of any significant benefit

Can you list the courses you are talking about?
#16 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 10:55:08 AM

Richer or poorer smile

Misguided thinking and lies. China loans are for Chinese enrichment: nothing is cheaper than commercial, and projects are for their benefit, not yours. They are not your friends. See your president here behaving like their employee

#17 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 10:56:11 AM

Details of the USD 60B cash. Its a very good deal. Its like Equity bank giving you cash in a gunia "without conditions" and telling you "wewe kijana enda ujisaidie na hiyo pesa".

Chinese President Xi Jinping on Monday pledged $60 billion in financing for projects in Africa in the form of assistance, investment and loans, as China furthers efforts to link the continent's economic prospects to its own.

Speaking to a gathering of African leaders in Beijing, Xi said the figure includes $15 billion in grants, interest-free loans and concessional loans, $20 billion in credit lines, $10 billion for ``development financing'' and $5 billion to buy imports from Africa.

In addition, he said China will encourage companies to invest at least $10 billion in Africa over the next three years.

China's outreach to Africa aims to build trade, investment and political ties with a continent often seen as overlooked by the U.S. and other Western nations. That has provided lucrative opportunities for Chinese businesses, while African nations are often happy to accept China's offers that come without demands for safeguards against corruption, waste and environmental damage.

"China's investment in Africa comes with no political strings attached,'' Xi said. ``China does not interfere in Africa's internal affairs and does not impose its own will on Africa.''

Read more at:
//economictimes.indiatimes.com/articleshow/65659339.cms?utm_source=contentofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cppst
#18 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 11:09:38 AM

Meanwhile the British Prime Minister, leader of our former colonial master was here juzi and pledged a laughable Ksh 903m (less than USD 1B). How things have changed. We dont even know what Trump promised other than mumbling something about security and a new mombasa road which will infact be a toll road where you pay as you use.

Meanwhile we see chinese daily on the ground working on our roads, rails, power plants, dams, water pipelines, sewerage systems, constructing hospitals, apartments, hotels, high rise buildings etc etc. Kenya benefits greatly.
#19 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 11:20:59 AM

Richer or poorer smile

Misguided thinking and lies. China loans are for Chinese enrichment: nothing is cheaper than commercial, and projects are for their benefit, not yours. They are not your friends. See your president here behaving like their employee

I agree with the dictator.

However, the only real problem I see with Unye's post is Political Incorrectness, otherwise it is 100% factual- Would have been better if whoever did it never typed those words. All "free money" is never free. Western "free" money is far worse, only that the severely enslaving conditionalities are never mentioned.....but he who knows, knows.
#20 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 11:27:29 AM

Richer or poorer smile

I agree with the dictator.

However, the only real problem I see with Unye's post is Political Incorrectness, otherwise it is 100% factual- Would have been better if whoever did it never typed those words. All "free money" is never free. Western "free" money is far worse, only that the severely enslaving conditionalities are never mentioned.....but he who knows, knows.

When we get funding from the US, UK etc, it furthers their interests. And that is why they focus more on security. Right now the US has demanded that we must accept that they dump mitumba clothes in africa for us to continue trading. What kind of a trade relationship is that?