wazua Mon, Dec 23, 2024

BuruBuru history. Very interesting
MugundaMan
#1 Posted : Monday, September 03, 2018 3:44:22 AM

- Houses were going for under 80k (yes 80,000 kshs only) in 1973. Whoever says mugunda is a poor investment should check the prices of one of these houses in buru today (despite all the chaos in this estate) and revert to us

- Well designed but mired by corruption (in allocations) from day one

- The usual land grabbers moved in and caused chaos

- Original houses still look OK but extensions and overpopulation messing it up.

-Each resident needs to do a better job of maintaining their house before complaining that there are no services. Are no services from the county an excuse for you to have a weatherbeaten house with construction garbage strewn behind it and the house has not been re-painted since 1973?

This is why strict enforcement of all bylaws is necessary. No extensions should be allowed and the SANYs should move in on the playground grabbers.

And why do the courts take 15 years to sort out a playground grabbing case? Maraga should jail judges who take this long. Justice delayed is justice denied.

Provides good lessons for new upcoming estates and suburbs of Nairobi on what NOT to do in future IMHO.

Ni hayo maoni yangu tu

Kudos to the young man doing this area code series. Good research and very interesting stuff.
webish
#2 Posted : Monday, September 03, 2018 9:46:10 AM

Very interesting History indeed.
Still very Proud to have spent 10 yrs as a teenager in that neighbourhood.

Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
wukan
#3 Posted : Monday, September 03, 2018 10:26:50 AM

-80k is the equivalent of 10m that is now the standard for decent middle class home. Those are not migunda they are well-planned real estate investment. Taking a mortgage for it made a lot of sense.

-The population of nairobi tehn was tiny less than 1m for a current population of 5m. Buru was not going to remain the same so the extensions were going to built to accommodate the extra "watu wa kucome"

-Extensions were done with approval of Kanjo. There was need to increase the density in some of these which were serviced with sewer, water etc. The extra population has not strained services. The problem was the design of extensions which did not blend in. That's a problem of the architects and home owners who did not have enough capital.

-Income levels got a real battering during the economic recession of late 80's and 90s which explains the weather-beaten houses. A lot of the young folks left for diaspora or to other posh neighborhoods leaving the place to decay.

-As pointed out in the video the old parents needed extensions as form of pension. Most of the parents are now dying out or relocating to shagz which created some urban renewal among the younger generation who are insisting on minimum decent standard for the neighborhoods. Too bad for the vibanda people.

-There is now a gentrification trend in the older Nairobi estates where new buyers are moving in and renovating the houses to give a fresh look. Original houses were well designed and built to British standards all that needs changing is the interiors and roofing. I have seen some beautiful manicured lawns in the video plus sonko has been demolishing the vibandas so there is hope for regeneration of this hood.

-The best thing I like about buru the sense of community plus people still use public transport and are quite okay. There is a buru culture which evident from the pimping of the ganyas.

Ni hayo maonin yangu tu
MugundaMan
#4 Posted : Monday, September 03, 2018 10:47:32 AM

wukan wrote:
-80k is the equivalent of 10m that is now the standard for decent middle class home. Those are not migunda they are well-planned real estate investment. Taking a mortgage for it made a lot of sense

On what planet?

Hebu adjust those kshs 80k for inflation or purchasing power parity equivalent today and revert with a better answer. And ati "those are not migunda they are well planned estates". What do you think the sacco and private real estate company driven housing estates coming up in Nairobi's satellite towns are? Open fields with no planning and nothing happening on them? Laughing out loudly Danganya wengine!

wukan
#5 Posted : Monday, September 03, 2018 11:03:32 AM

MugundaMan wrote:

On what planet?

Hebu adjust those kshs 80k for inflation or purchasing power parity equivalent today and revert with a better answer. And ati "those are not migunda they are well planned estates". What do you think the sacco and private real estate company driven housing estates coming up in Nairobi's satellite towns are? Open fields with no planning and nothing happening on them? Laughing out loudly Danganya wengine!

When you do 5000 housing units in that dustbowl we can talk. Stop showing us the same pics every time. That is a very small estate. This is the real picture of investing in suburbia.

When Joseph Mutua, an employee of a government agency, received an offer from his employer to buy a home three years ago, he could not resist the invitation despite owning another home on Nairobi’s outskirts, where he lives.

“I shopped around for a house in suburbs that neighbour Nairobi. Got one, a three-bedroom bungalow at 65,000 U.S. dollars, which I bought,” he narrated to Xinhua.

His strategy was to acquire the property through the mortgage and make some rental income of it since he already had another home. The property was located in Kitengela, an area to the South of Nairobi and true to its location, things went South for Joseph shortly thereafter.

Mutua, is now grappling with the reality that he may not complete repaying the loan, as tenants have become a scarce commodity.

“In the about three years I have owned the house, it has been occupied for only 11 months. This year someone stayed in for only two months and is now vacant,” he said

“At least three blocks of five-story apartments have been constructed in the neighbourhood. And they are charging 220 dollars for a three-bedroom flat a month. Myself I charge 250 dollars, which I still consider low considering the size of my house,” he noted.

Joseph’s story mirror’s the plight of several other Kenyans who acquired rental properties in suburbs around Nairobi on mortgage whose strategies were invalidated by the market.

MugundaMan
#6 Posted : Monday, September 03, 2018 11:10:41 AM

Wukan,
"LOANS" seem to be the central component of all your stories on matters real estate hapa.
On units. Have you even been to dust bowl let alone know what estates and numbers of units are coming up there? smile Highly doubt it but you can prove me wrong.
Fyatu
#7 Posted : Monday, September 03, 2018 11:17:14 AM

Unfortunately we never learn. That mzee has said that some people were allocated more than one houses...I can wager my bollocks(both of em) that this will happen with H.E. Uhuru's social housing where some wazuans will elbow out wanjiku and other walala hoi using their financial muscle and buy 5 houses through corruption

This video has actually vindicated me on what i have strongly opposed....building houses vi holela holela without a care and also why i believe it is the government role to provide housing(especially in shithole countries like Kenya) whereby greedy landlords are lurking like a whiff of fresh mavi to exploit wananchi.

Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
wukan
#8 Posted : Monday, September 03, 2018 11:56:41 AM

MugundaMan wrote:
Wukan,
"LOANS" seem to be the central component of all your stories on matters real estate hapa.
On units. Have you even been to dust bowl let alone know what estates and numbers of units are coming up there? smile Highly doubt it but you can prove me wrong.

I gathered from one of your posts you've been majuu so you know about Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac and credit unions. Hakuna real estate without loans. Until recently I used to maintain a PYT in the dustbowl, I know the place and I've seen the place grow. It has no infrastructure to support a large town. The titles are freehold so there are no rates to support an urban service.
MugundaMan
#9 Posted : Monday, September 03, 2018 12:01:33 PM

wukan wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
Wukan,

I gathered from one of your posts you've been majuu so you know about Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac and credit unions. Hakuna real estate without loans. Until recently I used to maintain a PYT in the dustbowl, I know the place and I've seen the place grow. It has no infrastructure to support a large town. The titles are freehold so there are no rates to support an urban service.

You keep claiming one thing but your statements betray something else. What estate did your PYT live in and when were you last there to see her? smile
MugundaMan
#10 Posted : Monday, September 03, 2018 12:04:51 PM

Fyatu wrote:
Unfortunately we never learn. That mzee has said that some people were allocated more than one houses...I can wager my bollocks(both of em) that this will happen with H.E. Uhuru's social housing where some wazuans will elbow out wanjiku and other walala hoi using their financial muscle and buy 5 houses through corruption

This video has actually vindicated me on what i have strongly opposed....building houses vi holela holela without a care and also why i believe it is the government role to provide housing(especially in shithole countries like Kenya) whereby greedy landlords are lurking like a whiff of fresh mavi to exploit wananchi.

Same thing happened with the slum upgrading units. The corrupt mandarins moved in and elbowed out mtu wa chini. Glad Jubilee has started cracking the whip on impunity. If the war remains sustained, such incidences will disappear over time. Jail a few of them in Kamiti to munch on weevils and half baked ugali and people will learn fast.
Country Girl
#11 Posted : Monday, September 03, 2018 3:24:33 PM

If Kenyan government really followed the law, they would make urban planning and development a priority. We are growing at a very fast rate and the government is not planning adequately. Proper allocation of land,proper roads built that doesn't pass through someone's home like as if you are in a maze, proper underground sewage system and power lines. The way this government is wasting wanainchi's money to line their pockets is shameful.
tony stark
#12 Posted : Monday, September 03, 2018 3:28:01 PM

wukan wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
Wukan,

Thank you!
This idea that real estate should not be funded by loans is ridiculous. Salaries are quite low in Kenya even in the dust bowl property is bought through sacco loans or other credit vehicles like chamas which are pooling money etc. There is no real estate without credit.

#13 Posted : Monday, September 03, 2018 3:40:57 PM

tony stark wrote:
wukan wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
Wukan,

Thank you!
This idea that real estate should not be funded by loans is ridiculous. Salaries are quite low in Kenya even in the dust bowl property is bought through sacco loans or other credit vehicles like chamas which are pooling money etc. There is no real estate without credit.

Only the corrupt buy property in Cash.
MugundaMan
#14 Posted : Monday, September 03, 2018 5:55:40 PM

ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!
You guys are funny!Laughing out loudly

Dustbowl alone has literally HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS of property owners who bought CASH. Are they all corrupt?

Kenya has under 20,000 mortgages last time I checked.
Saccos do play a huge part but even then, as a % of the huge and vibrant property buyer market the numbers may not be that big.

The fact is, in the overwhelming number of cases, the average Kenyan who owns property in Kenya bought the plot cash or next to cash, then built upon it slowly over time. But of course you will blame the person for corruption too once the fruit of their careful sweat finally becomes visible!

Yes corruption is a fact of life in Kenya and needs to be strongly condemned but those buying 1/4 or 1/8th plots and building homes or apartments on them pole pole do not all work for gava! Some of them have sweated for 40 years saving and investing to get to that point!

I posted the storo of the kamzee who bought 200 acres of barren land and planted millions of trees juzi. Is he corrupt? He worked in USA for 30 long years as a professor and most likely paid cash for the plot. Savings from his salary over 30 years did the trick. He at no time worked for gava.

The average age of Kenyans going on site visits to buy plots is under 35 years of age. If you see these youngsters you will be shocked. They are not your flashy types driving expensive vehicles on loans and wearing sijui prada, renting in Kilimani while clubbing at Brew Bistro nightly (big hat no cattle types). In fact if you saw them walking the streets in CBD you would almost want to buy them a meal because some look like they are literally starving and their shoes need repairs. But looks can be deceiving.

These are people who save their money over long periods of time and invest in their future. Some of them are hawkers and hustlers with Mpesa kibandas! This is a very bitter pill for payslip nation (loud as it is) to swallow. So give us a break on the "everybody who buys property cash in Kenya is corrupt!" fallacy smile

The funniest thing is that the same same fellows who say these people "are corrupt" may be the same people who when presented with the opportunity to invest in their future by investing in suburbs like dustbowl, ruiru, Juja, ngong, Malaa etc will say never in a million years will they touch such places!
Thitifini
#15 Posted : Saturday, September 08, 2018 10:51:57 PM

Does anyone know a link with hard details on this estate esp its total land acreage, how it was planned, financed and constructed? Would love and I cant find much online.

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
#16 Posted : Sunday, September 09, 2018 10:39:31 AM

MugundaMan wrote:
ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!
You guys are funny!Laughing out loudly

Dustbowl alone has literally HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS of property owners who bought CASH. Are they all corrupt?

Kenya has under 20,000 mortgages last time I checked.
Saccos do play a huge part but even then, as a % of the huge and vibrant property buyer market the numbers may not be that big.

The fact is, in the overwhelming number of cases, the average Kenyan who owns property in Kenya bought the plot cash or next to cash, then built upon it slowly over time. But of course you will blame the person for corruption too once the fruit of their careful sweat finally becomes visible!

Yes corruption is a fact of life in Kenya and needs to be strongly condemned but those buying 1/4 or 1/8th plots and building homes or apartments on them pole pole do not all work for gava! Some of them have sweated for 40 years saving and investing to get to that point!

I posted the storo of the kamzee who bought 200 acres of barren land and planted millions of trees juzi. Is he corrupt? He worked in USA for 30 long years as a professor and most likely paid cash for the plot. Savings from his salary over 30 years did the trick. He at no time worked for gava.

The average age of Kenyans going on site visits to buy plots is under 35 years of age. If you see these youngsters you will be shocked. They are not your flashy types driving expensive vehicles on loans and wearing sijui prada, renting in Kilimani while clubbing at Brew Bistro nightly (big hat no cattle types). In fact if you saw them walking the streets in CBD you would almost want to buy them a meal because some look like they are literally starving and their shoes need repairs. But looks can be deceiving.

These are people who save their money over long periods of time and invest in their future. Some of them are hawkers and hustlers with Mpesa kibandas! This is a very bitter pill for payslip nation (loud as it is) to swallow. So give us a break on the "everybody who buys property cash in Kenya is corrupt!" fallacy smile

The funniest thing is that the same same fellows who say these people "are corrupt" may be the same people who when presented with the opportunity to invest in their future by investing in suburbs like dustbowl, ruiru, Juja, ngong, Malaa etc will say never in a million years will they touch such places!

What is your understanding of a cash transaction?
MugundaMan
#17 Posted : Sunday, September 09, 2018 7:18:45 PM

Thitifini wrote:
Does anyone know a link with hard details on this estate esp its total land acreage, how it was planned, financed and constructed? Would love and I cant find much online.

This might help. Page 166 and beyond.