ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!
You guys are funny!
Dustbowl alone has literally
HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS of property owners who bought CASH. Are they all corrupt?
Kenya has under 20,000 mortgages last time I checked.
Saccos do play a huge part but even then, as a % of the huge and vibrant property buyer market the numbers may not be that big.
The fact is, in the overwhelming number of cases,
the average Kenyan who owns property in Kenya bought the plot cash or next to cash, then built upon it slowly over time. But of course you will blame the person for corruption too once the fruit of their careful sweat finally becomes visible!
Yes corruption is a fact of life in Kenya and needs to be strongly condemned but those buying 1/4 or 1/8th plots and building homes or apartments on them pole pole do not all work for gava! Some of them have sweated for
40 years saving and investing to get to that point!
I posted the storo of the kamzee who bought 200 acres of barren land and planted millions of trees juzi. Is he corrupt? He worked in USA for 30 long years as a professor and most likely paid cash for the plot. Savings from his salary over 30 years did the trick. He at no time worked for gava.
The average age of Kenyans going on site visits to buy plots is
under 35 years of age. If you see these youngsters you will be shocked. They are not your flashy types driving expensive vehicles
on loans and wearing sijui prada, renting in Kilimani while clubbing at Brew Bistro nightly (
big hat no cattle types). In fact if you saw them walking the streets in CBD you would almost want to buy them a meal because some look like they are literally starving and their shoes need repairs. But looks can be deceiving.
These are people who save their money over long periods of time and invest in their future. Some of them are hawkers and hustlers with Mpesa kibandas! This is a very bitter pill for
payslip nation (loud as it is) to swallow. So give us a break on the "everybody who buys property cash in Kenya is corrupt!" fallacy
The funniest thing is that the same same fellows who say these people "are corrupt" may be the same people who when presented with the opportunity to invest in their future by investing in suburbs like dustbowl, ruiru, Juja, ngong, Malaa etc will say never in a million years will they touch such places!