16 Pages«<1011121314>»
Affordable Housing by Government of Kenya
#111 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2018 10:15:00 PM

wukan wrote:
Anybody who has extensively ventured into Murang'a or East of Naro Moru highway? Lots and lots of idle roads. What for? What for, while thousands of Nairobi an kids are going to school in gumboots? Why serve a few whereas millions suffer? I thought public expenditure is about democracy........ Democratic expenditure......... Start with the majority, and proceed with the rest.....

Why underfeed the cow that feeds Kenya 🇰🇪?

Aki this is so true of Murang'a that place has some of the best roads I've seen in Kenya proper culverts, drainage, road furniture, they connect to each other yet so idle. Compared with what i saw recently in Murang'a without a doubt Nairobi has been really neglected

Are you saying that the govt should stop building roads in muranga, taita, bungoma, siaya etc (roads that connect major trading centres) until all the vichochoros in dandora, pipeline etc are tarmacked? Why do nairobians feel so entitled?

It's too much of a funny substance they call "tomato soss" which they eat with chips, hii tomato soss ndio ina wa affect vichwa! I usually end up suspecting tomato soss as the culprit.
#112 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2018 10:44:02 PM

All in all, let me remind you

JkMwatha #23 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2015 12:23:18 PM wrote:

#113 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2018 10:57:47 PM

Fyatu wrote:
First and foremost i wish to correct those who claim that Eastlands is sub-divded into 1/8s.

There is nothing wrong with living on a 50x100 plot. Infact alot of the world's urban population even in the west lives in houses on such plots or smaller. And an even bigger number live in houses "without land" ie suspended in the air aka flats/apartments.

#114 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2018 11:12:43 PM

That thing is very inadequate. Doesn't serve those living in umoja, donholm, hurlingham, roysambu etc. You may not agree with me but i believe matatus are the most efficient form of transport coz they are always available, are everywhere, cheap, efficient and convenient in terms of drop off points. It is also mwananchi owned so the money ends up in the pockets of wanjiku unlike this brt and tram monsters which iam 100% sure will flop due to plunder, that is if they ever materialize.
#115 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2018 11:43:35 PM

That thing is very inadequate. Doesn't serve those living in umoja, donholm, hurlingham, roysambu etc. You may not agree with me but i believe matatus are the most efficient form of transport coz they are always available, are everywhere, cheap, efficient and convenient in terms of drop off points. It is also mwananchi owned so the money ends up in the pockets of wanjiku unlike this brt and tram monsters which iam 100% will flop due to plunder, that is if they ever materialize.

What i did not indicate is that this was the 2012 plan.

In 2014 this one was developed

And others on those links.

I think we have a different definition of available, are everywhere, cheap, efficient and convenient in terms of drop off points.

I do not want a matatu everywhere because that is chaos

I want an accessible means of transport in price not one that hikes prices when there's scarcity or when it drizzles. Efficient in timing, convenient in that I do not need to walk for 30 minutes to get to the next connection point. If I alight at Muthurwa and I want to be in Westlands, I need to catch another means of transport bus/tram at the same terminal to take me to Westlands. That is convenience.
#116 Posted : Friday, August 31, 2018 12:12:35 AM

That thing is very inadequate. Doesn't serve those living in umoja, donholm, hurlingham, roysambu etc. You may not agree with me but i believe matatus are the most efficient form of transport coz they are always available, are everywhere, cheap, efficient and convenient in terms of drop off points. It is also mwananchi owned so the money ends up in the pockets of wanjiku unlike this brt and tram monsters which iam 100% will flop due to plunder, that is if they ever materialize.

I think we have a different definition of available, are everywhere, cheap, efficient and convenient in terms of drop off points.

I want an accessible means of transport in price not one that hikes prices when there's scarcity or when it drizzles. Efficient in timing, convenient in that I do not need to walk for 30 minutes to get to the next connection point. If I alight at Muthurwa and I want to be in Westlands, I need to catch another means of transport bus/tram at the same terminal to take me to Westlands. That is convenience.

Those who have been mayuu will tell you that in some places when you miss eg the 7.30am bus, you have to wait for 30m (sometimes in snow or rain) for the next one to arrive at 8.00am sharp. That means you get late for work or classes or have to hire a taxi. Woe unto you if phombe makes you miss the 1ast bus in the evening/night. Compare that to matatus that are always running, you miss one you get another one the next minute or second. Matatus represent efficiency in public transport. And because they are privately owned the owners have to make money to keep them on the road. That is unlike govt managed public transport that is normally subsidized by govt or in other words by wanjiku and is a drain to the economy.
#117 Posted : Friday, August 31, 2018 12:32:28 AM

Those who have been mayuu will tell you that in some places when you miss eg the 7.30am bus, you have to wait for 30m (sometimes in snow or rain) for the next one to arrive at 8.00am sharp. That means you get late for work or classes or have to hire a taxi. Woe unto you if phombe makes you miss the 1ast bus in the evening/night. Compare that to matatus that are always running, you miss one you get another one the next minute or second. Matatus represent efficiency in public transport. And because they are privately owned the owners have to make money to keep them on the road. That is unlike govt managed public transport that is normally subsidized by govt or in other words by wanjiku and is a drain to the economy.

Nditto

#118 Posted : Friday, August 31, 2018 1:31:02 AM

Where is guarantee that there's definitely going to a mat? The availability of a mat depends on the traffic.

Take the Syokimau train when its running efficiently- That train will take about 45mins at most to get to railway. Now try missing the train and opting to take the mat from Syokimau. How many hours will you spend on the road supposing you leave Syokimau at 7:30am?

#119 Posted : Friday, August 31, 2018 7:39:25 AM

Nditto

100%. We're it not for buses and taxis, those trams are grossly inadequate and super expensive to build.

The matatu or any other shared taxi system seals all loops, is self sustaining and offers a very cheap option. Fare during the day can be as low as 10 Bob. The light rail /tram will charge upwards of 50-100 Bob all day, unless it's subsidized by the GoK. It's important to note that any mass transport system is only efficient during peak hours only.

In my observation, nothing beats smaller capacity matatu's in terms of efficiency all day long. That's why you don't see those large Scanias and UDs in the city, they can't make any money during the day. Same with the Nairobi Commuter train.

Multi pronged approach, not a one size fits all.....
#120 Posted : Friday, August 31, 2018 7:52:08 AM

wukan wrote:
Anybody who has extensively ventured into Murang'a or East of Naro Moru highway? Lots and lots of idle roads. What for? What for, while thousands of Nairobi an kids are going to school in gumboots? Why serve a few whereas millions suffer? I thought public expenditure is about democracy........ Democratic expenditure......... Start with the majority, and proceed with the rest.....

Why underfeed the cow that feeds Kenya 🇰🇪?

Aki this is so true of Murang'a that place has some of the best roads I've seen in Kenya proper culverts, drainage, road furniture, they connect to each other yet so idle. Compared with what i saw recently in Murang'a without a doubt Nairobi has been really neglected

Are you saying that the govt should stop building roads in muranga, taita, bungoma, siaya etc (roads that connect major trading centres) until all the vichochoros in dandora, pipeline etc are tarmacked? Why do nairobians feel so entitled?

That's not the point. It's true that we have idle, barely used rural roads where you drive for one hour and only come across a few boda bodas. In terms of prioritizing by the govt, whom does such a road serve? Ultimately we still need to do the rural roads, but let's be guided by common sense and priorities.

I'll illustrate - Kariobangi in its entirety may only require 30km or so, to fully pave all those ugly streets. At a rate of max 30m per km, only 1b will be needed to dignify the thousands of people. Apply this general estimate on all concrete slums of Nairobi and you need less than 20b to dignify millions of Kenyans. I mean, it's that cheap!!!

GoK has offered 4b to start this, and the NCC is complimenting with another 3b. It's something, but they can do more.

The problem is we've had blockheads in govt all these years hence the rotten stinking dirty killer city.
16 Pages«<1011121314>»