wazua Wed, Jul 23, 2025

9 Pages<1234>»
Pinch me hard. Is this still Kenya?
#21 Posted : Wednesday, August 08, 2018 5:38:11 PM

I have never understood why people celebrate the demolition of buildings instead of taxing or taking over them... don't they see it as a loss to the collective? it's like killing a child who is a product of some bad sexual relation. Should the parents be punished - yes! I see people clapping when someone elses 1B goes down the drain instead of thinking... now this guy... tutafanya nini we profit from this thing?

instead of taxing or taking over them. = Legitimizing graft.

Promote impunitySad Sad Sad
#22 Posted : Wednesday, August 08, 2018 5:38:35 PM

I have never understood why people celebrate the demolition of buildings instead of taxing or taking over them... don't they see it as a loss to the collective? it's like killing a child who is a product of some bad sexual relation. Should the parents be punished - yes! I see people clapping when someone elses 1B goes down the drain instead of thinking... now this guy... tutafanya nini we profit from this thing?

@Makales.Some actions are necessary.Take South end for example...it is the cause of perennial flooding in that area.Do we look at the 1B or do we protect nature?Remember Wangari Mathai told us nature is unforgiving...

For others we celebrate "Ili iwe funzo "

A lot of theft and greed will go down when people know they have nowhere to invest.
#23 Posted : Wednesday, August 08, 2018 5:43:47 PM

@Makales.Some actions are necessary.Take South end for example...it is the cause of perennial flooding in that area.Do we look at the 1B or do we protect nature?Remember Wangari Mathai told us nature is unforgiving...

For others we celebrate "Ili iwe funzo "

A lot of theft and greed will go down when people know they have nowhere to invest.

Last time it rained heavily in June this year, you needed a 4 wheeler or a lorry to cross from Nairobi West to Langata/Mbagathi (either way) coz road was flooded kabisa hapo shell petrol station - Kamotho just before T-mall. one person inconveniencing the whole nation coz of greed. Akwende kabisa. Passed by there today and i felt good ... natural smile came my way!!!!
#24 Posted : Wednesday, August 08, 2018 6:16:32 PM

#25 Posted : Wednesday, August 08, 2018 8:41:48 PM

No... it's waste... regardless of how you look at it! It's pitiful waste!
safariant
#26 Posted : Wednesday, August 08, 2018 8:46:27 PM

Coolbull wrote:
I need somebody to pinch me hard and convince me I am still in Kenya.

1. A very senior government official is negotiating with the Lifestyle Audit team to return all that he has stolen.(Source?)

2. Yesterday they demolished Shell Kileleshwa and apartments coming down too.

3. Today, South-end mall, opposite T-Mall is already coming down.

4. NYS suspects secretly negotiating to return stolen wealth in exchange for softer sentences; jail or fines.(Source?)

I am amazed our prayers are being answered so swiftly. Is it really happening or even Wazua is an illusion.

Could it be I am in a trance? Who has witnessed what I am witnessing? May this dream not fade away.

Court backs plea deals in Sh468m NYS theft suit

Under the plea, suspects can strike a deal to compensate their victims, plead guilty or become witnesses 
The greatest act of bravery is chancing a fart while suffering from diarrhoea
#27 Posted : Wednesday, August 08, 2018 8:46:52 PM

How is it waste, please educate me?
Thitifini
#28 Posted : Wednesday, August 08, 2018 8:48:21 PM

Lazima wengine wapewe funzo. Otherwise the circles will never end.

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
Coolbull
#29 Posted : Wednesday, August 08, 2018 10:06:47 PM

safariant wrote:
Coolbull wrote:
I need somebody to pinch me hard and convince me I am still in Kenya.

1. A very senior government official is negotiating with the Lifestyle Audit team to return all that he has stolen.(Source?)

2. Yesterday they demolished Shell Kileleshwa and apartments coming down too.

3. Today, South-end mall, opposite T-Mall is already coming down.

4. NYS suspects secretly negotiating to return stolen wealth in exchange for softer sentences; jail or fines.(Source?)

I am amazed our prayers are being answered so swiftly. Is it really happening or even Wazua is an illusion.

Could it be I am in a trance? Who has witnessed what I am witnessing? May this dream not fade away.

Court backs plea deals in Sh468m NYS theft suit

Under the plea, suspects can strike a deal to compensate their victims, plead guilty or become witnesses 

Was about to post the above links then Kidero interrupted.

Today another senior official is also bargaining. I think by Friday the DCI will be dealing with over 200 plea bargains from senior officials. This audit is scratching really deep.
#30 Posted : Thursday, August 09, 2018 12:57:11 AM

Kuna mtu ako Nairobi Hospital, Karen Hospital ama Aga Khan? Life is about to get very stressful and difficult for billionaire land grabbers. Expect an epidemic of heart attacks, strokes, panic attacks etc. As one building goes down thousands who have been getting away with these things for years must be shitting in their pants.
#31 Posted : Thursday, August 09, 2018 2:06:34 AM

Thitifini wrote:

Lazima wengine wapewe funzo. Otherwise the circles will never end.

Agreed. You can’t equate grabbing, buildings on -riparian zones to illegitimate child (life) Let them come down Iwe painful funzo while also saving our water catchment areas for future generations.
#32 Posted : Thursday, August 09, 2018 6:44:34 AM

I wish nema could stop all effluents discharged directly into Nairobi river including from slums and industrial area too
#33 Posted : Thursday, August 09, 2018 9:15:55 AM

It's called Tragedy of the Commons. When people abuse common resources out of their own selfish interests. In the end everyone suffers.
Fyatu
#34 Posted : Thursday, August 09, 2018 9:31:00 AM

While I sympathize with your sentiment the level of impunity in matters land had reached epidemic proportions. There are buildings which were built in totally inappropriate places like riparian land and the only solution is to remove them.

In my view they are still only dealing with small people. I will believe it when they touch the big fish. My litmus test is Kiptagich Tea Factory. Just do a Google Map satellite view of Kiptagich Tea Factory uniambie. A guy just picked the most virgin beautiful part of the forest, akaenda akakata miti na akapanda chai and built a factory. That place is like heaven, freshest air and I am sure the tea produced there must be of the highest quality in the world. The kind that fetches the highest price. The day they will seize that is the day I will know they are serious. Seize it and make it a public assett or allow the forest to reclaim it or turn it into a nature conservancy. That whole thing as it stands now is private property. Also note that it is in Narok County.

You have a serious point here @Kusadikika which usually gets lost in all the excitement. Those tea factories/tea farms in the Mau should revert back to mali ya umma or better still reclaimed back to forest land.Mabwenyenye have also built hotels in the Maasai Mara huko katikati in complete disregard of ecosystem.In Taita Taveta, Tsavo west has been grabbed. Sagala hill and other Taita hills now have an epidemic known as the power saw, that decimated the forests of Nyeri in the 90's

Finally,When are they demolishing Taj Mall and Eastgate mall @outering road? When are they demolishing those slums huko South B?
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#35 Posted : Thursday, August 09, 2018 9:49:40 AM

Fyatu wrote:

While I sympathize with your sentiment the level of impunity in matters land had reached epidemic proportions. There are buildings which were built in totally inappropriate places like riparian land and the only solution is to remove them.

In my view they are still only dealing with small people. I will believe it when they touch the big fish. My litmus test is Kiptagich Tea Factory. Just do a Google Map satellite view of Kiptagich Tea Factory uniambie. A guy just picked the most virgin beautiful part of the forest, akaenda akakata miti na akapanda chai and built a factory. That place is like heaven, freshest air and I am sure the tea produced there must be of the highest quality in the world. The kind that fetches the highest price. The day they will seize that is the day I will know they are serious. Seize it and make it a public assett or allow the forest to reclaim it or turn it into a nature conservancy. That whole thing as it stands now is private property. Also note that it is in Narok County.

You have a serious point here @Kusadikika which usually gets lost in all the excitement. Those tea factories/tea farms in the Mau should revert back to mali ya umma or better still reclaimed back to forest land.Mabwenyenye have also built hotels in the Maasai Mara huko katikati in complete disregard of ecosystem.In Taita Taveta, Tsavo west has been grabbed. Sagala hill and other Taita hills now have an epidemic known as the power saw, that decimated the forests of Nyeri in the 90's

Finally,When are they demolishing Taj Mall and Eastgate mall @outering road? When are they demolishing those slums huko South B?

how is this better? really? use the productive land you have! don't waste it on forests. I am not saying that you go to forests now and cut them I am just saying that once an exotic forest has been cut down - it will take 100s of years to go back to the state it was - why not just profit from it? I don't get this demolition instead of take over... really Kenya is a poor country with a state that is heavily in debt - why act irrationally? if it was built on public land - let the public take it over but don't roll back to 0 so that people feel like you spited the concerned... totally backward way of thinking! you don't kill a child of rape! you punish the rapist!
#36 Posted : Thursday, August 09, 2018 9:53:28 AM

#37 Posted : Thursday, August 09, 2018 10:10:05 AM

Fyatu wrote:

how is this better? really? use the productive land you have! don't waste it on forests. I am not saying that you go to forests now and cut them I am just saying that once an exotic forest has been cut down - it will take 100s of years to go back to the state it was - why not just profit from it? I don't get this demolition instead of take over... really Kenya is a poor country with a state that is heavily in debt - why act irrationally? if it was built on public land - let the public take it over but don't roll back to 0 so that people feel like you spited the concerned... totally backward way of thinking! you don't kill a child of rape! you punish the rapist!

The developer is an Engineer and a former legislator who understands the consequences of breaching Riparian Laws. But impunity and greed got the better of him. It's time to pay. By refusing to demolish Tajmall embakasi (build on a road reserve and on top of an oil pipeline) residents of eastlands will forever have traffic/flooding/security issues due to the greed of just one man.

The best way out of this mess is for govt to ensure that no unapproved building is ever constructed. 100% enforcement. That safeguards the public interest and also saves the developer, banks and tenants/employees from future financial problems when the building is brought down.
#38 Posted : Thursday, August 09, 2018 12:09:46 PM

Fyatu wrote:

The developer is an Engineer and a former legislator who understands the consequences of breaching Riparian Laws. But impunity and greed got the better of him. It's time to pay. By refusing to demolish Tajmall embakasi (build on a road reserve and on top of an oil pipeline) residents of eastlands will forever have traffic/flooding/security issues due to the greed of just one man.

The best way out of this mess is for govt to ensure that no unapproved building is ever constructed. 100% enforcement. That safeguards the public interest and also saves the developer, banks and tenants/employees from future financial problems when the building is brought down.

My point is taking it from him and destroying it has similar consequences to hhim. Destroying it gives nothing to anyone.
tom_boy
#39 Posted : Thursday, August 09, 2018 12:18:55 PM

Fyatu wrote:

My point is taking it from him and destroying it has similar consequences to hhim. Destroying it gives nothing to anyone.

Destruction is the only final and equitable way of ensuring the public benefits. What good is money to the exchequer when you are shoulder high in flood waters in your sitting room?
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
#40 Posted : Thursday, August 09, 2018 1:12:47 PM

If the buildings are being demolished, then there must be a value for its absence. How much is the value?

Then we can subtract the 1B and see if there's a profit or loss to the collective.

Otherwise, saa hii naona wee ni mtu wa 'yetu'. Pia hizo buildings ni zetu. Si unajua?