Culture
Through the Dark Continent
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
tycho wrote:The analogy of a mzungu and a mwafrika being the same as of an educated adult and a five year old is quite telling.
Whose bar is being set low, and why is it being set low? Inaitwa inferiority complex. He needs prayers.
Pg 267 of the book says... Quote:The Kikuyu appeared to have no regular hour for eating, except in the evening, when the day's work is over. Then everybody, men, women, and children, could be seen sitting round a huge calabash, cut in half to form a kind of basin, all helping themselves from the contents of the vessel.
In connection with this custom of the evening meal, I may here make mention of the open-handed hospitality which is the rule rather than the exception. I have often noticed a native come into a village at the time of the evening meal, walk up to the circle, and sit down and help himself to the meal; and on my remarking to the headman on the number of his grown-up sons I have been told, *' Oh, that is not one of my sons ; he is a stranger." When I asked where he came from, I was told that they did not know ; they had not asked him even his name, and knew nothing whatever about him. He would settle himself by the fire for the night, and go on his way the next morning without his host being any the wiser as to his name or where he came from.
This is one of the points in which these natives so often set an example worthy of imitation by some of the so-called civilized Christians.
Kumbe technology was not restricted to Europe. It had also independently evolved elsewhere. Pg 269 Quote:The Kikuyu make all their own weapons spears, swords, and arrows—from the iron which is found in various parts of the country, and which they smelt. The native blacksmith uses a large stone as an anvil, and possesses a variety of hammers, some of them being simply ordinary pieces of stone, while others are in the form of a dumb-bell, which he grasps in the middle when striking with it. Singularly enough, the tongs which he uses to hold the heated iron are practically the same as those used by the English blacksmith.
For cooking or for storing large quantities of water they use earthenware pots, which are made in certain districts of the Kikuyu country in practically the same way as pottery is made in our own country, being fashioned out of a particular kind of clay and then burnt to harden them.
I do not think that I have mentioned that the Kikuyu cultivate a large amount of tobacco from which to make snuff, for, although they do not smoke, all the men take snuff. Many of the other tribes grow tobacco, but not to such an extent as the Kikuyu, who know better how to cure it than any of their neighbours ; in fact, the Kikuyu tobacco has such a reputation in the country that to my surprise I found that the natives about Lake Rudolph, and even right round as far as Abyssinia, were inquiring for Kikuyu tobacco.
masukuma wrote:A tiger does not proclaim his tigritude, he pounces! some of these things are self evident! the very fact that we have to rely on the words of a random white dude and not have our own well kept and documented narratives points to this very lack. Of course the Stanley Morton wrote based on his biases... I don't think he had the total entirety of African history to play with as he wrote his stories based on his experiences. So don't take quotes like Quote:The Kikuyu are excellent workers, and are now to be met with in every part of the dependency. In my opinion the Kikuyu will ultimately become the most important among the native races of this part of the continent, owing to their greater intelligence, industry, and adaptability. to be too damning or too comforting. It really doesn't matter - the fact that we didn't tell stories points to a deficiency or an immaturity of culture. In the same way you go visting your relatives and see a shrewd 5 year old boy... possibly a good reader or can play board games. The 5 year old is clearly different from his lot but while you are impressed...he impresses you FOR A 5 YEAR OLD! you don't really think he is the greatest polymath that ever existed... only that you did not expect him to do whatever he/she is doing. Thus was the Kikuyu - the bar was too low and that should not be props on them but damning on the rest. who told you we didn't tell stories? i.am.back!!!!
Rank: Member Joined: 5/22/2014 Posts: 321 Location: Ndeiya
hardwood wrote:Kumbe technology was not restricted to Europe. It had also independently evolved elsewhere. Pg 269 Quote:The Kikuyu make all their own weapons spears, swords, and arrows—from the iron which is found in various parts of the country, and which they smelt. The native blacksmith uses a large stone as an anvil, and possesses a variety of hammers, some of them being simply ordinary pieces of stone, while others are in the form of a dumb-bell, which he grasps in the middle when striking with it. Singularly enough, the tongs which he uses to hold the heated iron are practically the same as those used by the English blacksmith.
For cooking or for storing large quantities of water they use earthenware pots, which are made in certain districts of the Kikuyu country in practically the same way as pottery is made in our own country, being fashioned out of a particular kind of clay and then burnt to harden them.
I do not think that I have mentioned that the Kikuyu cultivate a large amount of tobacco from which to make snuff, for, although they do not smoke, all the men take snuff. Many of the other tribes grow tobacco, but not to such an extent as the Kikuyu, who know better how to cure it than any of their neighbours ; in fact, the Kikuyu tobacco has such a reputation in the country that to my surprise I found that the natives about Lake Rudolph, and even right round as far as Abyssinia, were inquiring for Kikuyu tobacco.
@ Hardwood, which book is this you are quoting? where to get it?
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Rank: Member Joined: 5/22/2014 Posts: 321 Location: Ndeiya
Thanks Hardwood....though it's blank for me. Was it a link?
Mtafiti wrote:Thanks Hardwood....though it's blank for me. Was it a link? Yes, I posted the link for 24hrs and then I deleted to protect siri za nyomba.
BTW there's also great literature by contemporary Kenyans on this subject of understanding our traditions in the present context.
And the good thing is most of it is online.
I haven't been celebrating Kenyan scholarship, but I think we are really trying. Cheers to Kenyan scholars!
Hehe. Exploration wasn't as tough as many would think. They had 4x4s, complete with a boot for the luggage .
hardwood wrote:Hehe. Exploration wasn't as tough as many would think. They had human 4x4s, complete with a boot for the luggage . I just wish this was a picture of a black man exploring England while being carried around by British men as he discovers the British countryside. And being amazed by the alien "primitive" British life and culture.
@Hardwood, please search for this youtube video "Black Man's Land - White Man's Country - ep 1 of 3 *RARE*" Very fascinating.
hardwood wrote:Hehe. Exploration wasn't as tough as many would think. They had 4x4s, complete with a boot for the luggage . Only Idi Amin knew how to handle the white man. Wish we had more amins in africa then we wouldnt have been repressed so much by whites. One day all the western ambassadors (UK, US, EU etc) were summoned and ordered to kneel and pledge loyalty to him as the ultimate ruler. He had conquered the whole world.
We may be interested in also looking at Africans who were integrated into the not so normally recounted countries like Iran, Paraguay ... Like today, I'm thrilled to scour the net for Afro-Iranians in Iran and how their lives are described... https://www.middleeastey...d-slavery-iran-970665328
Culture
Through the Dark Continent