wazua Sun, Jan 26, 2025

BACLAYS BANK OF KENYA
trizher
#1 Posted : Saturday, June 12, 2010 10:22:18 PM

This counter has done some serious trading in the last 2 wiks.
I cant read anything between then lines.
Anyone with a clue, thought, analysis, idea or anythin on this pleease share. . . . .so that i kan jump in!
...We do it for the $$$$!!
#2 Posted : Sunday, June 13, 2010 12:29:38 AM

trizher wrote:
This counter has done some serious trading in the last 2 wiks.
I cant read anything between then lines.
Anyone with a clue, thought, analysis, idea or anythin on this pleease share. . . . .so that i kan jump in!

BBK is a classic bluechip. Fairly priced, stable, always pays a good dividend. Go ahead and buy. Stagger your buys, might fall nominally due to recent fall in quarter profits.
trizher
#3 Posted : Sunday, June 13, 2010 1:39:34 AM

thanks sparkly.
Stagger it in 3 buys 10k tommorow, then a wik and a wik later.
Just bin told that suntra analysts put it on watch 4 next wik.
Hope its up afta monday.
qw25041985
#4 Posted : Sunday, June 13, 2010 9:49:45 AM

What are the reasons that this share shld rally. Any gud information ? All i know is that the stock broke its resistance and quickly went back to the resistance level. A bad side. Probably suntra ar just tryin to excit the stock. Dnt fall for this stockbroker tricks. Save your money !!!!!!!
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
#5 Posted : Sunday, June 13, 2010 10:06:05 AM

@qw are you not misleading the sister? BBK is still the most profitable bank in Kenya, lean, versatile and very efficient. It may not attract as much excitement as ECB and KCB but its a solid investment for the longterm. It is the biggest holding in my portfolio 18% at an average buy of sh 50 so am up sh 10 and get regular div.
qw25041985
#6 Posted : Sunday, June 13, 2010 10:24:06 AM

I agree with u @sparky. Bbk is a good bank . If it can get its costs right. But dnt expect an equity bank style rally come monday. That is asured. Why not invest that money in movin shares like kakuzi, cmc, co-op. That where my money is goin come monday.
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
#7 Posted : Sunday, June 13, 2010 1:11:03 PM

trizher, I just think there are much better buys in the NSE than Barclays. Hii kitu imefika plateau. Equity at 24 is better investment than Barclays at 60. Even co-op is a better buy than Barclays.
trizher, never mind what Suntra are saying, what do you yorself think?
While almost all banks have been on an expansion strategy, this guys were sitting content at the top of the perch. The Kenyan banking sector has undergone a radical shift in the previous years but Barclays doesn't seem to have adapted. I doubt in 5 years it will still be most profitable while growing at only a meagre 10%
But that's just me.
trizher
#8 Posted : Sunday, June 13, 2010 6:06:51 PM

@ qw. . . .sumtimes its not a must a rally 2 come due to info. . .
@ sparkly i agree wit u
@youkantstopusnow its hard to decide. . . . .those analyst talk abt a stock on friday and it goes up or down. . (av followed it for eight wiks)
the deal
#9 Posted : Sunday, June 13, 2010 9:03:10 PM

@all i would classify BBK as SPECULATIVE...due to the 1Q results...any mvmnt upwards depends on good 2Q results...i dont recommend EQTY @ current prices coz its expensive on every metric...i would go for NIC,DTB,COOP,CFC and NBK..
#10 Posted : Sunday, June 13, 2010 10:39:21 PM

@all, @triz sounds like a value investor, preferring an assured fair return as opposed to higher return with similar probability for loss. @the deal and @qw are obviously take all lose all aggressive investors
trizher
#11 Posted : Sunday, June 13, 2010 11:26:42 PM

@ the deal
thanx 4 the info.
@ sparkly
thats true and either way no one can b sure of anything . . . .unless the obvious ones
#12 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 7:11:57 AM

There was a time when folks said... KCB is a better buy than (steady) Barclays... We saw what happened...

BTW, it is bARclays not bAclays...