Father Paul Ogalo
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
The cultural and ritual constraints of the Catholic church at play.
What do they reveal?
Rap is part of hip hop culture, what implications are there for a hip hop kind of church?
We are truly living in dangerous times.
Can't a Priest rap any more?
Mukiri wrote:Can't a Priest rap any more? See the way the old mamas & nuns enjoyed. Let church be fun!!! In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
Hehe....hapo 3.52 he concludes the rapping with the words "jah bless". That must have really angered his bosses at the church.
There is a priest in Nyahururu who sings and preaches using Joseph Kamaru's, John De'Mathew's and other Kikuyu secular music. He is very popular. If they suspended him they would have a revolt in that area.
Extremism by the church. I have a couple of close friends who are priests. They are landing everywhere, on unmanned bushy airstrips, aircraft carriers, busy airports.....name it. The nuns too........ And the church knows these things. Bure. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
The old set of ideas, fictional doctrines don't hold any more. Sijui kama Yesu aliimba na kama aliimba - aliimba vipi? What people consider most "proper" is just what you found when you were born. The first guy who attempted to sing during worship or play an instrument run into severe headwinds All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
'Jah' isn't a taboo word. Even in Church. 'Secularism' isn't per se, a bad thing.
But 'Hip hop' as a philosophy and Church can never mix.
And I believe this is a critical issue here. Protestants of course lost the way after the reformation backfired, so it's easy for them to be swayed.
masukuma wrote:The old set of ideas, fictional doctrines don't hold any more. Sijui kama Yesu aliimba na kama aliimba - aliimba vipi? What people consider most "proper" is just what you found when you were born. The first guy who attempted to sing during worship or play an instrument run into severe headwinds Ignorance hidden by eloquence? If you were to be asked which 'fictional ideas' you're talking about, would you be able to show them?
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
Hi boss was interviewed on BBC, he said catholic liturgy and rap do not augur well. Lakini the guy is a natural entertainer. Life is short. Live passionately.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
tycho wrote:masukuma wrote:The old set of ideas, fictional doctrines don't hold any more. Sijui kama Yesu aliimba na kama aliimba - aliimba vipi? What people consider most "proper" is just what you found when you were born. The first guy who attempted to sing during worship or play an instrument run into severe headwinds Ignorance hidden by eloquence? If you were to be asked which 'fictional ideas' you're talking about, would you be able to show them? with the exception of this post (just so that you can use it for further reference) - have you noticed that i don't bother answering your queries. sio ati sijaziona or sina answer - just 0 taste for winding debates with you. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Kusadikika wrote:There is a priest in Nyahururu who sings and preaches using Joseph Kamaru's, John De'Mathew's and other Kikuyu secular music. He is very popular. If they suspended him they would have a revolt in that area. Is he on social media? FB? Rink
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
Mukiri wrote:Kusadikika wrote:There is a priest in Nyahururu who sings and preaches using Joseph Kamaru's, John De'Mathew's and other Kikuyu secular music. He is very popular. If they suspended him they would have a revolt in that area. Is he on social media? FB? Rink That's Bishop Joseph Ndembu Mbatia. He is all over in YouTube. Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Ogalo's bishop should relax kidogo.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
Kusadikika wrote:Ogalo's bishop should relax kidogo. Remember animal farm. 'All animals are equal but..... Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
masukuma wrote:tycho wrote:masukuma wrote:The old set of ideas, fictional doctrines don't hold any more. Sijui kama Yesu aliimba na kama aliimba - aliimba vipi? What people consider most "proper" is just what you found when you were born. The first guy who attempted to sing during worship or play an instrument run into severe headwinds Ignorance hidden by eloquence? If you were to be asked which 'fictional ideas' you're talking about, would you be able to show them? with the exception of this post (just so that you can use it for further reference) - have you noticed that i don't bother answering your queries. sio ati sijaziona or sina answer - just 0 taste for winding debates with you. Si eti sijui @Masukuma. But wewe ni a tiny fraction of watu wote wale watasoma. So, bado tu objectives zangu zinakuwa met. Na wewe, unajitokeza tu vizuuuri,mind yako inacheza aje. All in all, the challenge still stands. Winding debate, or not. And the answer is that Myths are not the things you claim they are. Swali, ukiona post yangu, unasomanga yote, ama a tenth, ama a tenth of a tenth?
tycho wrote:masukuma wrote:tycho wrote:masukuma wrote:The old set of ideas, fictional doctrines don't hold any more. Sijui kama Yesu aliimba na kama aliimba - aliimba vipi? What people consider most "proper" is just what you found when you were born. The first guy who attempted to sing during worship or play an instrument run into severe headwinds Ignorance hidden by eloquence? If you were to be asked which 'fictional ideas' you're talking about, would you be able to show them? with the exception of this post (just so that you can use it for further reference) - have you noticed that i don't bother answering your queries. sio ati sijaziona or sina answer - just 0 taste for winding debates with you. Si eti sijui @Masukuma. But wewe ni a tiny fraction of watu wote wale watasoma. So, bado tu objectives zangu zinakuwa met. Na wewe, unajitokeza tu vizuuuri,mind yako inacheza aje. All in all, the challenge still stands. Winding debate, or not. And the answer is that Myths are not the things you claim they are. Swali, ukiona post yangu, unasomanga yote, ama a tenth, ama a tenth of a tenth? Kama hii ni World Cup, tungesema muko 1-1?
Kusadikika wrote:Ogalo's bishop should relax kidogo. Agreed Lord, thank you!
Culture
Father Paul Ogalo