wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

52 Pages«<1516171819>»
ARM HY2017
Ericsson
#321 Posted : Friday, May 25, 2018 9:30:18 AM

Today we sight KES 2.70.. Very unsettling times for the NSE. Foreign investors taking cover

And we have sighted it as market opens
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Fyatu
#322 Posted : Friday, May 25, 2018 9:52:56 AM

muandiwambeu wrote:
Fyatu wrote:
heri wrote:
mlennyma wrote:
Fyatu wrote:
guru267 wrote:
I believe there is a deliberate plan to scoop up ARM shares at a throw away price. Time will tell though

1. Shake-off the weak Wanjiku of little faith who are prone to fear by creating uncertainty.

2. Have them stampede as they jump-off the boat.

3. Mop-up the mess(buy at low prices).

.....this NSE is not for the faint hearted. However, tell tale signs are all over. ARM not paying salaries, resignation of long serving directors, late reporting etc.

To me what makes me fear jumping in is the story about delayed salaries suggesting very low revenues, low sales etc. I will watch from the sidelines

Not paying salaries is like not paying rent in your rented premises,the next step is usually being kicked out and auctioned

But you could be parking a merc outside your rented premises

I see what you have done there....A market valuation of Kshs. 2.88B Vs. NAV of 26B as per HY 2017....very enticing but once bitten twice shy
What? NAV of 26bn? How now? Did you deduct liabilities from the assets?

24B to be exact. Check page 16 of this document

Very poor approach of valuing a distressed company. By the time you liquidate you will realise that nothing exists in the name of current assets for a specialized company like arm. Further forced sale value of plant and equipment is oftenly below acceptable levels of 65%. But let us be Mumias bandwagon optimist ie impair every asset by 65% ie
40bn X.65 approx. to26.00bn non current as
7bn X. 65 approx to 4.55bn. Current asset
Totaling to 30.55bn.
Now less all liabilities now that the company has not been able to honor debts as they fall due and factor in debt accumulation at a rate of say 25% of average debt levels per annum to account for such things as salaries in arrears, accumulating debt in general.
Current liab 10bn add 12 bn non current liabilities total liabilities/debt=22bn
Factor debt accumulation at 25%
Ie 22bn+22bn*0.25=27.55bn
Now find net assets for your valuation purposes
30.55bn less 27.55bn= 3bn
Net assets is 3bn.
Per share =3bn/959940200issued shares=3.1251946735848/=
And thats not all. Factor in current years loss of day 1bn.
Jemeni. Kwani hii hesabu ni ngumu aji mwanaume anaingiza kichwa ndani ya krokodile Akina. Anything above two bob is to me buying confusion at a premium especially if you are not a strategic investor like me. If you are not going in to give but to expect., just know karm is like a heifer on heat. It's a potential milker in future so long as you get her fertile body inseminated. https://media.giphy.com/...RF0v9WMAUVLNK/giphy.gif https://media.giphy.com/media/l4FGqUJjXKP2tkW5O/giphy.gif

Fair enough @muandi...atleast not technically insolvent. Here the thoroughly burnt Wanjiku can salvage crumbs falling off ma-bwenyenyes dining table. But i reiterate that this is one risky stock to purchase right now
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
Ericsson
#323 Posted : Friday, May 25, 2018 9:55:44 AM

Fyatu wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
Fyatu wrote:
heri wrote:
mlennyma wrote:
Fyatu wrote:
guru267 wrote:
I believe there is a deliberate plan to scoop up ARM shares at a throw away price. Time will tell though

1. Shake-off the weak Wanjiku of little faith who are prone to fear by creating uncertainty.

.....this NSE is not for the faint hearted. However, tell tale signs are all over. ARM not paying salaries, resignation of long serving directors, late reporting etc.

To me what makes me fear jumping in is the story about delayed salaries suggesting very low revenues, low sales etc. I will watch from the sidelines

Not paying salaries is like not paying rent in your rented premises,the next step is usually being kicked out and auctioned

I see what you have done there....A market valuation of Kshs. 2.88B Vs. NAV of 26B as per HY 2017....very enticing but once bitten twice shy

Very poor approach of valuing a distressed company. By the time you liquidate you will realise that nothing exists in the name of current assets for a specialized company like arm. Further forced sale value of plant and equipment is oftenly below acceptable levels of 65%. But let us be Mumias bandwagon optimist ie impair every asset by 65% ie
Totaling to 30.55bn.
Now less all liabilities now that the company has not been able to honor debts as they fall due and factor in debt accumulation at a rate of say 25% of average debt levels per annum to account for such things as salaries in arrears, accumulating debt in general.
Net assets is 3bn.
Jemeni. Kwani hii hesabu ni ngumu aji mwanaume anaingiza kichwa ndani ya krokodile Akina. Anything above two bob is to me buying confusion at a premium especially if you are not a strategic investor like me. If you are not going in to give but to expect., just know karm is like a heifer on heat. It's a potential milker in future so long as you get her fertile body inseminated. https://media.giphy.com/...RF0v9WMAUVLNK/giphy.gif https://media.giphy.com/media/l4FGqUJjXKP2tkW5O/giphy.gif

Fair enough @muandi...atleast not technically insolvent. Here the thoroughly burnt Wanjiku can salvage crumbs falling off ma-bwenyenyes dining table. But i reiterate that this is one risky stock to purchase right now

part of the 3bn will be used to pay off employees dues and severeties incase of retrenchment.
Shareholders may be left with even less than 1bn
muandiwambeu
#324 Posted : Friday, May 25, 2018 10:09:09 AM

Metch wrote:
Spikes wrote:
xxxxx wrote:
heri wrote:
Surely the net assets must be worth something? how can people wait for it at 1 bob

My point EXACTLY

The assets in practicality do not belong to the company but its debtors, hence the decapitation. Similar to Nakumatt, Uchumi! Its the bank debt that is killing Kenyan companies and nothing else..

Maximum capitulation and thereafter rocket rally with at least 50% return in one month or so.

One month or so? Rocket rally? We still wait.. :)

What could possibly inspire a rocket rally in the short term?
I'll tell you what will not;
1. FY results (recall the handsome profit warning)
2. Looming threat of regulatory action (this is not a GOK firm- options are on the table)
3. Fear. Too many rats scampering to get off this sinking ship. A small gain will inspire more sellers

We may have a temporary ceasefire till those who jumped in at +3bob realize there is a real possibility of 1 Bob. Then we'll see maximum capitulation

I concur. I don't have to wait to regret to thank you metch. Whatever volumes or T. A SAYS lacks one vital ingrident for salvation. Acceptance, confession and changing your old ways. A moot for a better tomorrow. No one has come out to vision this lost camp out of its self greed and self bestowed destruction. Assistant captains abandoned their ship recently, causing further despondency rather than assurance. Pray Pray Pray
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
winmak
#325 Posted : Friday, May 25, 2018 10:11:37 AM

Ericsson wrote:
Fyatu wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
Fyatu wrote:
heri wrote:
mlennyma wrote:
Fyatu wrote:
guru267 wrote:

Totaling to 30.55bn.
Net assets is 3bn.

part of the 3bn will be used to pay off employees dues and severeties incase of retrenchment.
Shareholders may be left with even less than 1bn

And we are quickly heading to @Muandi's 2/=
For investors as a whole, returns decrease as motion increases ~ WB
lochaz-index
#326 Posted : Friday, May 25, 2018 10:26:32 AM

Wow! The capitulation witnessed (still ongoing) has been unbelievable. Not sure I have seen that kind of a drop in such a short span of time. Debt fueled puffing up if not well managed ends with catastrophic consequences. Don't see the possibility of an outright buyout, asset stripping is the more plausible option if at all.
The main purpose of the stock market is to make fools of as many people as possible.
#327 Posted : Friday, May 25, 2018 10:29:19 AM

Ericsson wrote:
Today we sight KES 2.70.. Very unsettling times for the NSE. Foreign investors taking cover

And we have sighted it as market opens

Mtu amechokoza with 100 shares at 2.70.

Supply of 100k at 2.70 with no other takers.
#328 Posted : Friday, May 25, 2018 10:30:14 AM

lochaz-index wrote:
Wow! The capitulation witnessed (still ongoing) has been unbelievable. Not sure I have seen that kind of a drop in such a short span of time. Debt fueled puffing up if not well managed ends with catastrophic consequences. Don't see the possibility of an outright buyout, asset stripping is the more plausible option if at all.

do you mean the recent partners will just do nothing and watch the river washing away their money?
#329 Posted : Friday, May 25, 2018 11:15:26 AM

mlennyma wrote:
lochaz-index wrote:

do you mean the recent partners will just do nothing and watch the river washing away their money?

Its beyond their control

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
cyruskulei
#330 Posted : Friday, May 25, 2018 12:12:18 PM

https://live.mystocks.co...f+the+premium+valuation
Work hard at your job and you can make a living. Work hard on yourself and you can make a fortune.

#331 Posted : Friday, May 25, 2018 12:18:59 PM

cyruskulei wrote:
https://live.mystocks.co.ke/research/73+Is+ARM+Cement+a+buy+in+spite+of+the+premium+valuation

for the lazy folks>>>>

Is ARM Cement a buy in spite of the premium valuation?

By Rufus Mwanyasi (myStocks Contributors)
Comments
Tuesday, March 03, 2015 at 10:11 AM EAT

I think that the argument, “the stock price is too high relative to earnings, therefore it’s a bad investment can be faulty.” All too often, we give ourselves a pat on the back for setting up a system of criteria, screen to find stocks that match that criteria, and buy these kind of stocks. All too often, people say that they want a stock that has high growth prospects and is also extremely cheap. But all too often, I almost never find those kinds of investments. Plus, in the rare instance that something does, in fact, show up on a screen, there’s usually a caveat, a high-risk, for a very high reward. Sometimes the business is heavily cyclical, or in other cases, the growth rate was inflated due to an asset sale or some favorable tax treatment. In other words, I have found that in many instances, a criteria-driven investment model, where a high valuation translates into the stock being a bad investment, can be ineffective.

Latest victim of high valuation equals bad investment is ARM Cement

. The cement manufacturer, with a current price-to earnings (P/E) ratio of 32.7, is almost 10 times higher than its sectors P/E. With such a high ratio, usually criteria-driven models will automatically “vote-out” such high multiple stocks. I differ from this approach. To support my argument, I look at a closely related multiple: price-to-sales ratio (P/S ratio) to prove that ARM is still a valid purchase in spite of the premium valuation.

ARM’s Price to Earnings/Sales Ratio

As you can see from chart below, ARM's P/S ratio has fluctuated laterally over the last two years. It has range from a high of 3.91 in November 2013 to a low of 2.22 in January 2013. At the moment it is near the midpoint in the two-year range, being 3.07. As a result, I believe there is scope for it to move higher and recent momentum has shown that ARM’s P/S ratio has been showing an upward trend over the last two months. However, what impresses me about the trend is how stable (firm support at 2.78) it is relative to changes to its P/E ratio. Often stable, stable upward movements are a good indication that there has been a gradual change in market sentiment and, as such, we would expect to see ARM’s P/S ratio continue its upward movement over the short term.

Indeed, the two-year chart above shows that there is considerable scope for ARM’s ratio to move higher. That’s because it is currently 25% below its tow-year high of 3.91, which indicates that the counter could offer good value for money at current levels. Sure, the last year has seen the P/S ratio trade in a narrower range than in the previous year, but the recent up-turn shows there is scope for a higher valuation.

Conclusion

I believe that ARM represents good value for money at current price levels. That’s because its P/S ratio is at the midpoint of its one-year range and has been trending upwards over the last several months. The trend has been fairly stable, which indicates that it could continue and such, ARM could see share price strength. Therefore, I remain bullish on ARM’s prospects going forward.
muandiwambeu
#332 Posted : Friday, May 25, 2018 12:23:28 PM

cyruskulei wrote:
https://live.mystocks.co.ke/research/73+Is+ARM+Cement+a+buy+in+spite+of+the+premium+valuation

for the lazy folks>>>>

Comments

I think that the argument, “the stock price is too high relative to earnings, therefore it’s a bad investment can be faulty.” All too often, we give ourselves a pat on the back for setting up a system of criteria, screen to find stocks that match that criteria, and buy these kind of stocks. All too often, people say that they want a stock that has high growth prospects and is also extremely cheap. But all too often, I almost never find those kinds of investments. Plus, in the rare instance that something does, in fact, show up on a screen, there’s usually a caveat, a high-risk, for a very high reward. Sometimes the business is heavily cyclical, or in other cases, the growth rate was inflated due to an asset sale or some favorable tax treatment. In other words, I have found that in many instances, a criteria-driven investment model, where a high valuation translates into the stock being a bad investment, can be ineffective.

. The cement manufacturer, with a current price-to earnings (P/E) ratio of 32.7, is almost 10 times higher than its sectors P/E. With such a high ratio, usually criteria-driven models will automatically “vote-out” such high multiple stocks. I differ from this approach. To support my argument, I look at a closely related multiple: price-to-sales ratio (P/S ratio) to prove that ARM is still a valid purchase in spite of the premium valuation.

As you can see from chart below, ARM's P/S ratio has fluctuated laterally over the last two years. It has range from a high of 3.91 in November 2013 to a low of 2.22 in January 2013. At the moment it is near the midpoint in the two-year range, being 3.07. As a result, I believe there is scope for it to move higher and recent momentum has shown that ARM’s P/S ratio has been showing an upward trend over the last two months. However, what impresses me about the trend is how stable (firm support at 2.78) it is relative to changes to its P/E ratio. Often stable, stable upward movements are a good indication that there has been a gradual change in market sentiment and, as such, we would expect to see ARM’s P/S ratio continue its upward movement over the short term.

Indeed, the two-year chart above shows that there is considerable scope for ARM’s ratio to move higher. That’s because it is currently 25% below its tow-year high of 3.91, which indicates that the counter could offer good value for money at current levels. Sure, the last year has seen the P/S ratio trade in a narrower range than in the previous year, but the recent up-turn shows there is scope for a higher valuation.

Conclusion

I believe that ARM represents good value for money at current price levels. That’s because its P/S ratio is at the midpoint of its one-year range and has been trending upwards over the last several months. The trend has been fairly stable, which indicates that it could continue and such, ARM could see share price strength. Therefore, I remain bullish on ARM’s prospects going forward.

Involuted=convoluted mindset.
If u can not explain it simply then you don't understand it
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
lochaz-index
#333 Posted : Friday, May 25, 2018 1:57:50 PM

mlennyma wrote:
lochaz-index wrote:

Its beyond their control

Quite frankly CDC never did their homework before sinking their money here. Being a govt backed fund the lack of due diligence is not surprising. That said, once bitten twice shy, I don't think they have the cojones to double down on their investment.
The main purpose of the stock market is to make fools of as many people as possible.
#334 Posted : Friday, May 25, 2018 2:58:52 PM

cyruskulei wrote:

for the lazy folks>>>>

Comments

Conclusion

And even with all that literature, the PPT could never protect ARM from a historical plunge. No share has ever fallen soo sharply in such a limited amount of time, at the NSE. Incase results are announced at any time now, noting CMA uplift of intra-day 10% +/- limits on material announcement, sub KES 1 will be automatic

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
lochaz-index
#335 Posted : Friday, May 25, 2018 3:51:24 PM

cyruskulei wrote:

for the lazy folks>>>>

Comments

Conclusion

In what world does someone use price to sales ratio as the only valuation metric in stock picking? At 90 it was punching way above its weight. Fair valuation at the time was mid 40s. Irrational exuberance at its best. It had to pay the piper on the downside too.
Spikes
#336 Posted : Friday, May 25, 2018 4:25:04 PM

ARM just like KQ is dying gracefully .
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
#337 Posted : Friday, May 25, 2018 5:03:23 PM

Spikes wrote:

KQ can't die because it Will be under government's live support machines upto the bitter end but ARM is another nakumatt
Ericsson
#338 Posted : Friday, May 25, 2018 5:09:29 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Spikes wrote:

KQ can't die because it Will be under government's live support machines upto the bitter end but ARM is another nakumatt

KQ hasn't stopped offering it's staff medical cover and defaulted on employee pension obligations
#339 Posted : Friday, May 25, 2018 6:14:00 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Spikes wrote:

Even ARM is under UK government support.
VyaBureSiachi
#340 Posted : Friday, May 25, 2018 6:31:03 PM

Spikes wrote:

This savagely ruthless and humiliating stock market mob justice is graceful dying?
The CEO/owner is busy asset stripping his company ensuring that the creditors and his shareholders will be left with a bag of cow dung. This is graceful dying? While his best defence is "blah blah headwinds blah blah perfect storm blah blah an army of experts invested in us so get off my back..blah blah". This is graceful?
If the radiance of a thousand suns were to burst at once into the sky that would be like the splendour of the mighty one.