wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

Worst ad ever
chris79
#1 Posted : Friday, June 04, 2010 10:59:01 AM

Who's seen the new Zain jikonnect ad? Easily takes the accolade for the wackest ad in the history of advertising in Kenya...
#2 Posted : Friday, June 04, 2010 11:03:32 AM

My kids say the worse ad most boring is Zain network ad. Looks like Zain takes the cake for wasting money on boring ads.
akowally
#3 Posted : Friday, June 04, 2010 12:07:30 PM

NAKUFEEL
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
brav
#4 Posted : Friday, June 04, 2010 12:20:14 PM

to me the "Nakufeel" ad is the worst
#5 Posted : Monday, June 07, 2010 6:46:37 AM

There is some bank that claims in an ad to be the first Kenyan bank to use ATMs for fund raising. Surely...!!!
#6 Posted : Monday, June 07, 2010 7:31:29 AM

My car, my life. (Isn't that an insult?)

What a bad take of Equity's I'm a member ads by UAP? If you are going to copy an existing concept at least try and make it better than the original.

kiriita
#7 Posted : Wednesday, June 09, 2010 7:33:58 PM

How about the current one for Kenol GTS 3?
Sheila
#8 Posted : Thursday, June 10, 2010 5:46:05 AM

@ Kiriita,

Waaa that one has got to be the worst of the worst of the worstest!!!!!!!!!!! I cant believe their creative agency got paid for that...
gk
#9 Posted : Thursday, June 10, 2010 12:23:58 PM

folks

...kwani what is the whole purpose of an ad?

...to entertain or catch one's attention? do bad Ads necessarily translate into -ve perception of a product? Meseems that some of these "bad" ads are deliberate
chikita
#10 Posted : Thursday, June 10, 2010 12:37:44 PM

kiriita wrote:
How about the current one for Kenol GTS 3?

I liked it up to the point the woman drives by, but after she opens her mouth wolololo, its disastrous! as they say, it heads down southest!

@gk, ads are meant to create awareness e.g for new products, inform for instance about benefits of a product or to simply remind your consumers you're still around! and in a world where we are bombarded with ads everywhere, you just have to make yours stand out creatively. e.g Sony Bravia- you cannot ignore those ads!
suwan
#11 Posted : Thursday, June 10, 2010 12:59:09 PM

Bad ads stand out too.....and the viewers end up knowing detail by detail of the product/service featured in the advert;

see below...
suwan
#12 Posted : Thursday, June 10, 2010 1:00:32 PM

Pray
@ Chikita wrote....

I liked it up to the point the woman drives by, but after she opens her mouth wolololo, its disastrous! as they say, it heads down southest!
chikita
#13 Posted : Thursday, June 10, 2010 1:07:04 PM

suwan wrote:
Pray
@ Chikita wrote....

it does not mean i remember what she says!!! All i know is that it's not worth lisening from there!!smile these days i just switch channels!!

but i tend to agree tha even 'bad' ads work too , eg Harpic and the Nakufeel one quoted above!smile
#14 Posted : Thursday, June 10, 2010 8:57:42 PM

The Harpic Ads with Nyambane disgust me. Who wants to see a filthy toilet at meal time? Bure Kabisa. And to make matters worse, the conversation(s) don't even look real - more like a bad lower primary play!!!
#15 Posted : Thursday, June 10, 2010 9:05:47 PM

On a brighter side, heard the Safcom advert on free minutes in the morning - the ad is on point. Made me laugh like a nonsense!

I'm talking about the one where a dude is being asked about a harambee and decides to read the speech he had given on phone. Hilarious spech - especially the part he was welcoming guest from all over Kenya and also the ones from North Eastern!!!. And after the voice over, the dude (with free minutes), suggest calling the other guy (if he has time) the next morning to "read you a few paragraphs of my new novel" - that part I burst out laughing - and I was alone in the car. Other motorists were looking at me like "what the...".

Loved that advert! Creative stuff!
#16 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 7:35:57 PM

My worst ever ad has to be the sickening singing of NMG staff...kwanza Nagila just gets on my nerves and the fact that he appears more than once drives me up the wall....that add is so corny..eish!